Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18176 – 18200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  727  728  729  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
5 1-12-2011
They look good and work well for the money

I recently installed these on an Irish Bouzouki I designed and built. They tune easily and hold the string tension. What more could I want.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Archtop Back/Side Set
Archtop Back/Side Set
5 1-11-2011
Good choice

I use grade AA set and I 'm very satisfied.
Buying three sets together, in addition to the lower price I have the option of tonality.
Set by set, there are differences in tonality, which is natural, but every set is in high level.
The flame varies from unremarkable to good enough, depending on the set.
The pieces of wood is big enough and gives me the opportunity to remove some useful parts in advance.
Also, the unvarying thickness of the sides makes bending easier.

fremediti guitars  Greece Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
5 1-11-2011
Great sound.

I've used the Matrix Infinity pick up in a number of my guitars, both carbon fibre round backs, and all wood bodied, and the responce is great with all of them. Three guitars are used for recording, and one for jazz concerts and I've only had good comments from the musicians.

CeeKerr  New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
1 1-11-2011
Poor quality

I was very disappointed with the quality of these nuts. I ordered 6 as they were substantially cheaper per unit (but still expensive). They are made from soft black plastic and worst of all, there are two hollow moulding holes, one under the B string which is not good for sustain. On one, the B string slot exposed the hole. I had to throw all 6 away!

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 1-11-2011
Bad to the bone

Great first project for a DIY luthier. Local shops wanted $100 just to cut a nut. Everybody has to make money, but wow! Know your limits. Make a plan. Take your time. Crack open a beer and start cutting. Polishes like a jewel too!

justified blues  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 1-11-2011
great stuff and lots of it!

Changing from a white accented archtop to black, I put masking tape on the material to trace the old pickguard. Cut it close to the trace line with a hand jig saw in about 5 minutes. Used 100 grit paper to get it to final shape. Then using the same grit, beveled the edge. Finished beveled edge with 300 and drilled the mounting holes. Pulled off the masking tape and protective film and mounted it. Done in 30 minutes, and it looks like a pro job. I have enough material to make at least 6 more!

justified blues  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
5 1-11-2011
The perfect substitute

I decided that the tuners on my Epiphone G-1275 were not up to scratch, so having had the experience of replacing stock tuners with this Gotoh model previously, I decided to go all out and purchase 18 of them! (two necks). All I can say is, they were made for it, and give a far more professional exact feel to the instrument. Best value for money for anyone considering an Epi upgrade.

Yukihyo  Tokyo, Japan. Read my reviews (2)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 1-11-2011
Good cut

This side cutter is great, because the cutting edge is really at the edge with no offset. This cuts the fret cleanly close to the fretboard.

Joachim  Baden, Switzerland Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 1-10-2011
A very versatile vise

This is a great vise. I have used several different types of vises in my shop and this one is my consistent go to. It is very delicate with the instrument yet it it hold the material as solidly as needed. This is one of the best tools I've added to my guitar shop.

Rick  Coral Springs, FL
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 1-10-2011
Great file

After using a small three corner file on the upper sides of the fret ends, I use the non-rounded end of this file to round the lower sides of the fret end. It works better than any other file I have used for this. I may make a bigger handle but I am getting used to the small size and may not need to. Also good for removing marks on the bevel. Great little file.

Jeremy C  Denver, CO Read my reviews (2)
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
4 1-10-2011
Nice and well finished but...

The ebony knobs that I ordered (to replace the plastic pearloid that I didn't like on the 5 Star banjo pegs) do not fit the shaft of the mechanic peg at first try. The hole is too narrow and I had to file the shaft a little. I tried to enlarge the hole but I ended with a crack on the knob, so file the shaft and do not touch the knob.
Otherwise, the knobs look great on the pegs, they are polished to a soft finish and they operate 1st class the mechanic pegs.

Alfonso Garcia-Oliva  Cantabria, Northern Spain Read my reviews (3)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
4 1-10-2011
Top quality material

These bone saddles are just as advertised; natural bone, nicely contoured. You'll probably need to do some cutting and shaping to fit your instrument, but there is ample material here to allow that. The only reason I gave only 4 stars is that there was a slight curve to my piece, which made things a little tricky when sanding. Bought this for a "restoration" of my old, beater acoustic -- with bone replacing the original plastic saddle, the guitar sounds better now than it ever did new. Next step will be a new bone saddle and nut for my "good" guitar.

PapaRomeo  Springfield, VA
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 1-10-2011
Good quality at fair price

I intend to use these pegs for a Hurdy-Gurdy, and they are just what I was looking for.
I do not like the plastic perloid knobs, but I purchased a set of replacement ebony knobs (which, by the way, do not fit at first instance: you'll have to file a little to get them fit). What I don't know is why they are not produced directly with more attractive knobs from the beginning.

Alfonso Garcia-Oliva  Cantabria, Northern Spain Read my reviews (3)
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
5 1-10-2011
Best for this price

You get everything you need to build a decent fiddle. The quality of the material could be improved a little (i.e.: no micro knots on the back or narrower veins on the belly), but overall, this is a good kit.
Instructions leaflet is clear and informative. Being a professional luthier since 1987, I'll have no trouble completing this kit.
The belly has eventually to be worked down at some spots to get a better acoustical response, but if you skip this fussy step, a good sound can be obtained anyway.
If you live in Europe (as I do) think about customs and taxes.

Alfonso Garcia-Oliva  Cantabria, Northern Spain Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
5 1-10-2011
A nice alternative to vintage tuners

Hello Everyone:
a lot of us want to replace the worn out tuners or put locking tuners on a guitar to keep the strings in tune, right?.

well these tuners offer a lot, best of all if you have a vintage strat or tele that has the kluson style tuners, it will work, it's also great for the newer reissues especially if you have a strat with a whammy.

why drill out new holes and ruin that investment when you can drop these right in.

now please note you might have to use different bushings depending on the holes drilled in the headstock, fender used two different sizes on their recent reissues, the USA models use the standard size in most cases, where the Imports from Japan and Mexico in some cases you might have larger holes.

they do make adapter bushings, and in most cases the original bushings will work with these tuning keys.

I purchased this set for my tele, big difference, nice and smooth, best of all no slop when winding the strings.

Take Care
George

George  Hobart, IN Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
GHS Banjo Strings
GHS Banjo Strings
5 1-10-2011
Great tone great price

I have used GHS strings on many of my instruments. That's why I chose them when restoring my clients banjo. Top quality, great tone, great price.

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
Economy Banjo Tuners
Economy Banjo Tuners
4 1-10-2011
Good replacements

I needed a set of tuners for an old budget banjo. The client was just trying to restore it to playable condition without spending much money. The original tuners were completely shot. After installing the "economy" tuners the banjo stays in tune and the pearl buttons added a nice touch.

Thanks for a quality replacement part that doesn't break the bank.

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
4 1-10-2011
A decent kit with great potential

Alright, first, let me say I bought this kit at a discount because it didn't have any instructions. Luckily, there are a number of these kits branded by various retailers and it was no problem to download acceptable instructions in a pdf format.

OK, so my kit didn't have marvelously flamed maple back like the photos in the catalog. But ugly wood can sound just as good as pretty wood. The wood doesn't know. The top is fine and looks good.

I assembled the violin using the instructions, for the most part, except for the neck joint, where I only cut the top block and ribs, rather than the much harder maple neck. I managed to get the correct neck angle. The nut required some careful attention, filing the slots. I bought a new bridge for $16 from a music shop/luthier. French. Nice. 3-stars. HARD maple. Sounds like *tink!* when you drop it on a table top.
But here is the most important part--you have to graduate the plates. They are way too thick. Luckily, there are graduation calipers available that make this job easier. I found the measurements for an actual Stradivarius violin plate thickness online. I duplicated those figures on this fiddle. This was, as it turns out, just the thing to do. The violin has very uninteresting appearing wood on the back, but the sound of the violin is GIANT. When you hear it, you really won't care what it looks like. It has the potential to sound that good.
I have done blind comparison tests with a German fiddle from the 1950s and a $1500 Cremona fiddle two years old. This one wins. But you have to be prepared to copy the strad dimensions into this fiddle. Good luck. Took me over a year (most of the time, it sat in a box under my workbench. If I had known how it was going to sound, I would have finished it in six weeks! Build one!!

Uncle Bob  San Ansemo, CA USA
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
1 1-10-2011
junk

These things are garbage,but so are pretty much all the other ones you buy at other sites. I use them but drill a 1/16" pilot hole, then coat the screws in paste wax. They won't break off during installation that way. Just hope they'll hold over time.

SlackJack  Tennessee
Customer supplied image for review
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
4 1-09-2011
Nice clean look

Just the item to use if you don't want to cover your figured top with a pickguard. As mentioned in other reviews, due to the hole spacing there's not much room for error when cutting the pup cavities. For pickup height screws, use Tele-Bridge screws - the Tele screw head will not hit the pickup.

Alex S  Illinois
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-09-2011
Incredibly useful tool

This tool maybe somewhat deceptively named. I have not only used it to set string action, but pick up height as well. It has really improved my guitars' sound and feel. I just set up my Dbl Cutaway Les Paul last night and it plays better than it ever has. The rest of my 15 guitars play the same way, thanks to this easy-to-use tool.

Once again, Stew-Mac to the rescue and my guitars are now setup professionally (by me). Loads of money saved and the use of this tool is exceptionally easy, even for a beginner. Stew-Mac also included a suggested setup sheet with mine that tells exactly where to start fine tuning my guitars' setup.

This tool isn't one of those cheap plastic ones that tear up within a month, but is heavy gauge stainless steel and will last for years to come. Thanks Stew-Mac! I am one happy customer!

Michael Myers  Maryville TN Read my reviews (2)
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
1 1-09-2011
A big disappointment

I installed the LR Baggs Element Active (a Christmas gift) into my Gibson WM-45 last weekend, and had a chance to play it through the PA with a band yesterday. The reason I asked for this pickup over the K&K pure western or others was that it allegedly held up better before feedback in a band setting. What a mistake!

The WM-45 already has 90 degree holes for a Fishman Matrix, so I had to drill another hole (diagonally) for the pickup entry into the bridge slot, plus the extra area for the pickup at the other end of the bridge. (I am not a professional repairman, but I have installed Fishman and Duncan USTs and know what I'm doing.) The result? The EQ is boomy, and the high E string output isn't balanced with the B string -- it has less output. I don't have a Para DI (it has an active preamp, built in, right?) so I tried to use my Dano Fish & Chips EQ to fix things (with boost off), and instead, there are ugly loud pops every time I hit a string or chord with more than an average strum. It kept feeding back oddly on upper strings while playing at an average volume with the band through the PA on a flat setting.

I get better results with a cheap Dean Markley soundhole pickup and the Fish & Chips, and if I could return the pickup for a refund, I would.

J. Katsiaficas  Portland, ME Read my reviews (3)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 1-09-2011
Invaluable tool

I received these and immediately set about working on my Tele's and my Strat. Up until this point, I had always just "sight set" the radius on my Fender necks. I can't believe how much better my guitars play now and how simple it was to use these gauges. These are not the cheap plastic kind that will tear up easily, but are well designed metal and should last for years to come.

All of the guitar setup tools that I have bought from Stew-Mac have been top notch and have always improved the way that my guitars play and feel. Great playing guitars are where we guitarists love to live and Stew-Mac has the tools to make that possible.

Michael Myers  Maryville TN Read my reviews (2)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 1-09-2011
Awesome Improvement!

I had these put on by a pro and they are unbelievably easy to use and maintain! I tune a lot, and these tuners are going on every guitar I currently have, and any I may get in the future!

Guitar and Harmonica Player  Keymar, MD Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 1-09-2011
replaces lots of other stew Mac tools

In my opinion the length and accuracy allow these to replace other fret leveling tools for sale here. My biggest problem with non truss rod old necks is the wavy fingerboards. I pull out the first four and sometimes the last few frets then sand the exposed fingerboard ends with this tool. Checking all the time with a straight edge and feeler gauges to get the alignment parallel with the top of the remaining frets. Then replace the frets and level the tops all together. Of course one could remove all the frets but I am lazy. No more short files or diamond levelers here.

Ian  Toronto Canada Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 18176 – 18200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  727  728  729  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce