Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18151 – 18175
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  726  727  728  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
4 1-10-2011
A decent kit with great potential

Alright, first, let me say I bought this kit at a discount because it didn't have any instructions. Luckily, there are a number of these kits branded by various retailers and it was no problem to download acceptable instructions in a pdf format.

OK, so my kit didn't have marvelously flamed maple back like the photos in the catalog. But ugly wood can sound just as good as pretty wood. The wood doesn't know. The top is fine and looks good.

I assembled the violin using the instructions, for the most part, except for the neck joint, where I only cut the top block and ribs, rather than the much harder maple neck. I managed to get the correct neck angle. The nut required some careful attention, filing the slots. I bought a new bridge for $16 from a music shop/luthier. French. Nice. 3-stars. HARD maple. Sounds like *tink!* when you drop it on a table top.
But here is the most important part--you have to graduate the plates. They are way too thick. Luckily, there are graduation calipers available that make this job easier. I found the measurements for an actual Stradivarius violin plate thickness online. I duplicated those figures on this fiddle. This was, as it turns out, just the thing to do. The violin has very uninteresting appearing wood on the back, but the sound of the violin is GIANT. When you hear it, you really won't care what it looks like. It has the potential to sound that good.
I have done blind comparison tests with a German fiddle from the 1950s and a $1500 Cremona fiddle two years old. This one wins. But you have to be prepared to copy the strad dimensions into this fiddle. Good luck. Took me over a year (most of the time, it sat in a box under my workbench. If I had known how it was going to sound, I would have finished it in six weeks! Build one!!

Uncle Bob  San Ansemo, CA USA
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
1 1-10-2011
junk

These things are garbage,but so are pretty much all the other ones you buy at other sites. I use them but drill a 1/16" pilot hole, then coat the screws in paste wax. They won't break off during installation that way. Just hope they'll hold over time.

SlackJack  Tennessee
Customer supplied image for review
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
4 1-09-2011
Nice clean look

Just the item to use if you don't want to cover your figured top with a pickguard. As mentioned in other reviews, due to the hole spacing there's not much room for error when cutting the pup cavities. For pickup height screws, use Tele-Bridge screws - the Tele screw head will not hit the pickup.

Alex S  Illinois
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-09-2011
Incredibly useful tool

This tool maybe somewhat deceptively named. I have not only used it to set string action, but pick up height as well. It has really improved my guitars' sound and feel. I just set up my Dbl Cutaway Les Paul last night and it plays better than it ever has. The rest of my 15 guitars play the same way, thanks to this easy-to-use tool.

Once again, Stew-Mac to the rescue and my guitars are now setup professionally (by me). Loads of money saved and the use of this tool is exceptionally easy, even for a beginner. Stew-Mac also included a suggested setup sheet with mine that tells exactly where to start fine tuning my guitars' setup.

This tool isn't one of those cheap plastic ones that tear up within a month, but is heavy gauge stainless steel and will last for years to come. Thanks Stew-Mac! I am one happy customer!

Michael Myers  Maryville TN Read my reviews (2)
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
1 1-09-2011
A big disappointment

I installed the LR Baggs Element Active (a Christmas gift) into my Gibson WM-45 last weekend, and had a chance to play it through the PA with a band yesterday. The reason I asked for this pickup over the K&K pure western or others was that it allegedly held up better before feedback in a band setting. What a mistake!

The WM-45 already has 90 degree holes for a Fishman Matrix, so I had to drill another hole (diagonally) for the pickup entry into the bridge slot, plus the extra area for the pickup at the other end of the bridge. (I am not a professional repairman, but I have installed Fishman and Duncan USTs and know what I'm doing.) The result? The EQ is boomy, and the high E string output isn't balanced with the B string -- it has less output. I don't have a Para DI (it has an active preamp, built in, right?) so I tried to use my Dano Fish & Chips EQ to fix things (with boost off), and instead, there are ugly loud pops every time I hit a string or chord with more than an average strum. It kept feeding back oddly on upper strings while playing at an average volume with the band through the PA on a flat setting.

I get better results with a cheap Dean Markley soundhole pickup and the Fish & Chips, and if I could return the pickup for a refund, I would.

J. Katsiaficas  Portland, ME Read my reviews (3)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 1-09-2011
Invaluable tool

I received these and immediately set about working on my Tele's and my Strat. Up until this point, I had always just "sight set" the radius on my Fender necks. I can't believe how much better my guitars play now and how simple it was to use these gauges. These are not the cheap plastic kind that will tear up easily, but are well designed metal and should last for years to come.

All of the guitar setup tools that I have bought from Stew-Mac have been top notch and have always improved the way that my guitars play and feel. Great playing guitars are where we guitarists love to live and Stew-Mac has the tools to make that possible.

Michael Myers  Maryville TN Read my reviews (2)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 1-09-2011
Awesome Improvement!

I had these put on by a pro and they are unbelievably easy to use and maintain! I tune a lot, and these tuners are going on every guitar I currently have, and any I may get in the future!

Guitar and Harmonica Player  Keymar, MD Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 1-09-2011
replaces lots of other stew Mac tools

In my opinion the length and accuracy allow these to replace other fret leveling tools for sale here. My biggest problem with non truss rod old necks is the wavy fingerboards. I pull out the first four and sometimes the last few frets then sand the exposed fingerboard ends with this tool. Checking all the time with a straight edge and feeler gauges to get the alignment parallel with the top of the remaining frets. Then replace the frets and level the tops all together. Of course one could remove all the frets but I am lazy. No more short files or diamond levelers here.

Ian  Toronto Canada Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 1-09-2011
Awesome

Quality tuners. Nice looking and smooth. I loved it!

Rafael Ferreira  São Paulo, Brasil Read my reviews (2)
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 1-09-2011
conversion bushings

These worked very well and the vintage nickel looked good.

Topher  SF Bay Area, California Read my reviews (2)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 1-09-2011
Bone nut

It was a bone nut, no problem.

Topher  SF Bay Area, California Read my reviews (2)
Pearloid/w/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
Pearloid/w/b/m Laminated Pickguard Materials
4 1-09-2011
final touches

The dependability of Stewmac's product selection continues on. I ordered this type of material from a different company and it was worthless. What I ordered from here, it was perfect and sweet looking. It is more than enough to complete any project.

Robh  USA Read my reviews (4)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 1-09-2011
A Must Have

If you work on or wind pickups you need this tool. If you don't know why, you shouldn't be working on pickups.

Bill Teeley  NY, NY Read my reviews (2)
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 1-09-2011
A Real Winner!

This is a fabulous tool. I'm the guitar tech for a Broadway show and care for about 25 guitars. When I arrived on the job, at least two thirds of the guitars had loose jacks. With Jack the Gripper and your ESP spanner or output jack wrench it took just seconds to snug up each jack. "Jack" paid his way his very first day! A great quick and easy fix for a potential showstopper. Particularly helpful on semi-hollowbodies like Hofners, Gretches and Epiphones.

Bill Teeley  NY, NY Read my reviews (2)
Hipshot 4-String Bass Bridge
Hipshot 4-String Bass Bridge
5 1-09-2011
Perfect

I was nervous about getting this for my main bass but after installing I am glad I did. The abilities of this bridge are phenomenal. Being able to not only adjust string height/intonation but the string spacing allowed me to love my bass even more. It changed the overall appearance as well, from a generic to something a bit better.

Robh  USA Read my reviews (4)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 1-08-2011
P-Bass Dome Knobs

Product was delivered FAST and was exactly as described. I'd love to upload a photo of the finished product, but I'm still waiting on parts I ordered from another supplier. Next time I'll order everything from Stewart-MacDonald!

Bart  Clarksville, TN
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 1-08-2011
Plecking for Cheap

I needed an accurate and fast way to crown my frets. Wow! I went for the plunge and am very happy. My customer can't say enough about the playability of the axe.

Mike Kalend  Lodi, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 1-08-2011
Shop Bible

I've had this publication on my bench since it's release and I wouldn't be without it.
Seems like there is always something I need refer to or a problem to solve and it's amazing how much information this book contains.
Thanks Dan!

Circle RU Guitars  Colorado
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
4 1-08-2011
Golden Age Restoration Engraved Tuners Revisited

I am upgrading my review to 4 stars. Most vintage guitars need some degree of touch-up, so this is a minor inconvenience when compared to the extremely high quality of these tuners.

SteinyGuitars  Beaverton/Portland, OR Read my reviews (3)
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 1-08-2011
Great saddles

Put these on a Squire 51, the guitar came alive with a great tone, not just my opinion but ALL others that have played it, including my professional instructor. Intonation was dead on too.

Steven1  Buford, GA
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 1-08-2011
Bridge replacement for Ibanez GB-10

I have a 1978 Ibanez GB-10 George Benson model guitar. This is the first model year of this instrument and I have owned it since 1981. For years, I had wished I could do a precision intonation but could not because of the standard archtop-style wooden pin bridge. I did not want to destroy the integrity of the guitar by installing something that was non-standard, and also didn't know what the Tune-O-Matic style bridge would do to the guitar's tone.

Well, I went ahead and ordered this bridge, figuring there was little risk since the bridge floats (not permanently attached to the guitar body). When I installed the bridge, I swapped its wooden mounting foot with the old inlaid one from the original Ibanez bridge - it fit perfectly. I located the new bridge to center it based on the original bridge location (just mark the location of the old one before you remove it with post-it notes), strung the guitar up, tuned up, intonated the bridge as I would for any of my other guitars, and in my opinion it sounds better than before - maybe just a bit brighter, but still warm and jazzy.

N. Pela  Phoenix, AZ
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
5 1-08-2011
Great deal

Stewmac fretboards are a tremendous work saver. Accurate, consistent and I like that they come 24 fret so you can cut and fit them to the job you are working on. EXCELLENT !!!!!!

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
5 1-08-2011
Black Tele Pick Guard

I purchased this for my custom tele project to keep costs down. It was a perfect fit and looks great!

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 1-08-2011
Great help

I found these to be of great help in setting up my guitars. Helps to eliminate buzz and improve playability.

hilbily  Maine
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 1-08-2011
0150 my favorite fretwire

very good frets

Platz Alexander  Russia
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18151 – 18175
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  726  727  728  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce