Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18151 – 18175
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  726  727  728  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 1-15-2011
great

pickups sound absolutely amazing.

johnnyx  farmington, pa Read my reviews (2)
Wiring Kit for Gibson SG
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
3 1-15-2011
small problem

i replaced what was in my epi sg to kill the buzz i had in my sg but it didnt get rid of it so it maybe in the body.

johnnyx  farmington, pa Read my reviews (2)
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
5 1-15-2011
.38 mm Abrasive Cord

Great for finishing nut slots, and exceptional for flossing after corn on the cob !!

mike hieb  duluth, minnesota
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
4 1-15-2011
Hole size is not 13/32

Glad I didn't drill the hole before I got the tuners. The midsize 6-in-line package says 25/64 hole size. the web description says 13/32

Dan Vines  Aberdeen, Washington Read my reviews (4)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 1-15-2011
Great!

I have not taken it off since I got it. I dont know how I did fret dressing before the optivisor. I highly recommend this product. I wouldnt use it without the light

jakemit1  Cibolo,Tx Read my reviews (15)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
4 1-15-2011
Very handy tools

These are quite nice to have around. I haven't had them very long, but I have already used them a few times and I foresee that they will get used a bunch in the future. They work great for all my nut tighening needs.

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 1-15-2011
My new favorite

This file rocks! I used it for the first time today, and I have to say that it makes the fret ends feel very professional and the smoothest I have ever felt. This is a high quality tool that I recommend to anyone who does lots of fret work.

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 1-15-2011
Laminated Ebony Binding

The quality of these bindings is superb. The laminations hold up well when bending as long as you don't use much more than a misting to bend them.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 1-15-2011
Works great on old and new guitars

I have used this on several guitars - from handmade beauties to vintage classics, new and old - and it worked on all of them. Every guitar I tried it on has opened up and increased in volume. If you can't wait a few years, this is an excellent shortcut! If your vintage guitar isn't getting much love, this will bring it back to life. You just need patience. The longer you use it,the better the results. Put the ToneRite on your guitar and let it sit for several days - or a week! You'll get an even bigger improvement. (It helps to change the "tone" dial occassionally.) It works best on fully acoustic instruments (including archtops).

e_black  Atlanta Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 1-15-2011
Suggestion to further improve a great tool!

I simply LOVE your double-edge nut files! I use them in my shop every day. I'm a bit sorry though, that the smallest is now a .012"-.020". I really miss that .016" from before. But do you know what I would really like? That both gauges would be marked on the handle or on the file itself. You see: on some files, both sides look almost identical. This makes it hard to determine the right gauge for the slot. Now that would turn a GREAT tool into a PERFECT tool...

Marc Terreur - Marcus Guitars & Basses - luthier  Sint-Niklaas, Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 1-15-2011
One of my favorite tools!

I bought a second one recently because I dedicated one for saddle work and the other one is set up for very fine work like inlay and fret slot cleaning work.

Fallbrook Guitar Shop  Fallbrook, CA. USA Read my reviews (3)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 1-14-2011
Amazing little knobs!

I recently restored a Gibson LGO with 2 missing knobs, most local stores do not carry replacement knobs like these. So i didn't hesitate to order from Stew Mac. Adding them on was pretty simple, they fit great, they also pretty much are the same as the original ones! hey how cool is that?

Gia L.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
4 1-14-2011
Does the job

This is the good stuff. I'm not thinking it's 100% pure Tung oil, but I could be wrong. You will definitely need to cut it with spirits/turps or it will leech from the pores forever. (that is if you don't do grain filling)

Barron Wesley Guitars  Palo Alto, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
4 1-14-2011
Azerbaijan Tar

I installed these pegs on my Tar (a traditional music instrument of Azerbaijan and Iran) and I loved them. I am still installing these pegs on my students instruments. thanks to Stewmac.
I wish Stewmac mangers were open to new proposals like this and they could design a proper peg for Azeri instruments like Tar, Kamancha, Qopuz. As you see in the picture I had to modify the peg head in order to match with the original look of Tar.

Tar Teacher  Azerbaijan
Customer supplied image for review
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 1-14-2011
;)

Excellent quality!!!

YaƱez  Mex
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
5 1-14-2011
Chamfer

This is the very best way to make your bridge pins seat perfectly. Works great for making new bridges and also great for re-shaping an old bridge.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Micarta Saddle
Micarta Saddle
4 1-14-2011
Micarta Saddle

This material is hard and should be fairly durable. Although it is easier to work than bone, it does not give the same brightness and tone as the old standby.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Weissenborn Guitar Plans
Weissenborn Guitar Plans
3 1-14-2011
Weissenborn Guitar Plans

The plans were shipped promptly as always is the case with StewMac. I would like to see more info on the bracing and tone bars. The plans were very lacking in this area.

Wayne C  Schellsburg, PA Read my reviews (2)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 1-14-2011
Gripper

This wrench prevented me from being forced to replace a soundhole mounted truss rod that was rounded out. What a relief!

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Thickness Caliper
Thickness Caliper
4 1-14-2011
Thickness Caliper

First class delivery service well protected, the caliper is of excellent quality, I'm currently building a Macafferi and finding the caliper indispensible.

Terry Harris  Northampton England
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
5 1-14-2011
Grover Tuning Machines

I bought these tuners to replace the Chinese tuners on a Morgan Monroe mandolin. Most of the holes lined up, had to drill two new holes for each plate. The tuning machines work great, much better than the originals.

Les Calger  Tuttle, OK
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 1-14-2011
Inexpensive, easy to install.

This work great. Inexpensive and easy to install. They will easily do several necks.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
5 1-13-2011
Quality parts at an affordable price.

This wiring kit went into a Fender Jazz Bass that has had everything changed. It sounds great. The wiring kit has better potentiometers than the stock Fender ones. Plenty of wiring and a good input jack make this kit the best out there. I will order from Stewart-MacDonald whenever I need electrical parts for an instrument. Thank you!

stfuente  San Luis Obispo, CA Read my reviews (3)
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 1-13-2011
The BEST STUFF out there

Amazing product and the only one i will use to clean my Fretboard and Shine my Frets

RichA  USA
Vibramate V7-LP Adapter for Bigsby B7
Vibramate V7-LP Adapter for Bigsby B7
3 1-13-2011
Expensive

Just like Mike, I put this and a Bigsby B7 on an Epiphone '56 model. The cons are the price and the arm is now 2" over the pick-guard (I'm not happy about that at all). It also creates a different string angle behind the bridge that may cause the bridge to rock a bit more when using the Bigsby. If you're sure that you want a Bigsby, it's definitely better to just mount it normally. It's too bad that you can't just rent this setup and try it for a week and see if a Bigsby is what you want. I'll probably end up just mounting mine to the body eventually. For right now I'll leave it as is because it does work. The Bigsby does seem to add to the feel and tone of the guitar without even using the vibrato. I really like it. The Vibramate, in my opinion, is way over priced. It was nearly $80 with shipping. It might be worth $35 or $40 with shipping - max.

Dave C  Massachusetts
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18151 – 18175
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  726  727  728  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce