Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18126 – 18150
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  725  726  727  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 1-16-2011
Amazing value for money!

My Epiphone G-1275 has always been a very playable instrument, but at best, it sounded mediocre. The main problem was an imbalance between the pups on the two necks, so I decided (after reading all of the other glowing reviews) to bite the bullet, and replace all 4 pups with these Parsons St versions. I went for the Alnico V at the necks, and Alnico 11 at the bridges.
They have turned it from a very ordinary instrument into a fantastic sounding (and looking) guitar that is going to get a lot of playing from here on. From the first opening bars of "Hotel California", I knew I was on a winner. I also replaced the 18 tuners with Gotoh Keystones (see my review) also purchased from Stew-Mac's.
Thanks guys..... you're on a real winner here.

Yukihyo  Tokyo, Japan. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 1-16-2011
Excellent Stains

This was only my second guitar build and the first time using liquid stains under a clear coat. I learnt a bunch from this build and the stains were very easy to use with excellent coverage diluted in methylated spirits. This body received lemon stain under orange on the front and black for the back.

Ibaneedz  Brisbane, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
5 1-15-2011
Yay, finally my mandolin sounds good!

I have an old crappy Kay mandolin from the 50's. I think it sounds cool and I love it. But the tuners were so bad. I purchased all kinds of tuners and none of them fit. I got these in the mail, drilled the holes a little bigger, and installed the tuners in probably 30 minutes. They are really great I love them. Thanks for making these tuners!

Taylor  Dallas, TX
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 1-15-2011
Stew-Mac - The Best!

While I was recently putting together a new bass for a friend, I realized I needed a new stereo jack for it. I immediately went to the computer and ordered several from Stewart-MacDonald. I received them within a couple days and they were exactly what I needed and worked great! Excellent products at great prices and quick shipping! Stew-Mac is the BEST! They really saved me.

MacDonald  Mayfield Hts., Ohio
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 1-15-2011
Best thing from stew mac i've ever purchased

Easily one of the best things I've bought from stewmac. Works like a charm and i can easily recrown frets like a boss.

Bernard Ugalde  Guatemala Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
4 1-15-2011
Fretwire

Big and cosy! Just fine to use and good quality.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 1-15-2011
Jack the Gripper

A great tool to use with the recommended ESP Multi Spanner. You feel very reassured to know that you will not spin a jack and break wiring connections behind. Just make sure you tension the tool first before tightening as the cam movement has a lot of play between clockwise and anti-clockwise tightening.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Soprano Ukulele Kit
Soprano Ukulele Kit
3 1-15-2011
uke

I do think the uke kit is good. Wish it came with cardboad cut outs make it a little easy for the kids

guiter hero  ma Read my reviews (4)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 1-15-2011
ESP Multi Spanner

Low profile and works well. Highly recommended when used in conjunction with the "Jack The Gripper" tool.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 1-15-2011
great

pickups sound absolutely amazing.

johnnyx  farmington, pa Read my reviews (2)
Wiring Kit for Gibson SG
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
3 1-15-2011
small problem

i replaced what was in my epi sg to kill the buzz i had in my sg but it didnt get rid of it so it maybe in the body.

johnnyx  farmington, pa Read my reviews (2)
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
5 1-15-2011
.38 mm Abrasive Cord

Great for finishing nut slots, and exceptional for flossing after corn on the cob !!

mike hieb  duluth, minnesota
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
4 1-15-2011
Hole size is not 13/32

Glad I didn't drill the hole before I got the tuners. The midsize 6-in-line package says 25/64 hole size. the web description says 13/32

Dan Vines  Aberdeen, Washington Read my reviews (4)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 1-15-2011
Great!

I have not taken it off since I got it. I dont know how I did fret dressing before the optivisor. I highly recommend this product. I wouldnt use it without the light

jakemit1  Cibolo,Tx Read my reviews (15)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
4 1-15-2011
Very handy tools

These are quite nice to have around. I haven't had them very long, but I have already used them a few times and I foresee that they will get used a bunch in the future. They work great for all my nut tighening needs.

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 1-15-2011
My new favorite

This file rocks! I used it for the first time today, and I have to say that it makes the fret ends feel very professional and the smoothest I have ever felt. This is a high quality tool that I recommend to anyone who does lots of fret work.

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 1-15-2011
Laminated Ebony Binding

The quality of these bindings is superb. The laminations hold up well when bending as long as you don't use much more than a misting to bend them.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 1-15-2011
Works great on old and new guitars

I have used this on several guitars - from handmade beauties to vintage classics, new and old - and it worked on all of them. Every guitar I tried it on has opened up and increased in volume. If you can't wait a few years, this is an excellent shortcut! If your vintage guitar isn't getting much love, this will bring it back to life. You just need patience. The longer you use it,the better the results. Put the ToneRite on your guitar and let it sit for several days - or a week! You'll get an even bigger improvement. (It helps to change the "tone" dial occassionally.) It works best on fully acoustic instruments (including archtops).

e_black  Atlanta Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 1-15-2011
Suggestion to further improve a great tool!

I simply LOVE your double-edge nut files! I use them in my shop every day. I'm a bit sorry though, that the smallest is now a .012"-.020". I really miss that .016" from before. But do you know what I would really like? That both gauges would be marked on the handle or on the file itself. You see: on some files, both sides look almost identical. This makes it hard to determine the right gauge for the slot. Now that would turn a GREAT tool into a PERFECT tool...

Marc Terreur - Marcus Guitars & Basses - luthier  Sint-Niklaas, Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 1-15-2011
One of my favorite tools!

I bought a second one recently because I dedicated one for saddle work and the other one is set up for very fine work like inlay and fret slot cleaning work.

Fallbrook Guitar Shop  Fallbrook, CA. USA Read my reviews (3)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 1-14-2011
Amazing little knobs!

I recently restored a Gibson LGO with 2 missing knobs, most local stores do not carry replacement knobs like these. So i didn't hesitate to order from Stew Mac. Adding them on was pretty simple, they fit great, they also pretty much are the same as the original ones! hey how cool is that?

Gia L.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
4 1-14-2011
Does the job

This is the good stuff. I'm not thinking it's 100% pure Tung oil, but I could be wrong. You will definitely need to cut it with spirits/turps or it will leech from the pores forever. (that is if you don't do grain filling)

Barron Wesley Guitars  Palo Alto, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
4 1-14-2011
Azerbaijan Tar

I installed these pegs on my Tar (a traditional music instrument of Azerbaijan and Iran) and I loved them. I am still installing these pegs on my students instruments. thanks to Stewmac.
I wish Stewmac mangers were open to new proposals like this and they could design a proper peg for Azeri instruments like Tar, Kamancha, Qopuz. As you see in the picture I had to modify the peg head in order to match with the original look of Tar.

Tar Teacher  Azerbaijan
Customer supplied image for review
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 1-14-2011
;)

Excellent quality!!!

YaƱez  Mex
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
5 1-14-2011
Chamfer

This is the very best way to make your bridge pins seat perfectly. Works great for making new bridges and also great for re-shaping an old bridge.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 18126 – 18150
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  725  726  727  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce