Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18126 – 18150
of 21001 reviews
< 1  ...  725  726  727  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 1-15-2011
One of my favorite tools!

I bought a second one recently because I dedicated one for saddle work and the other one is set up for very fine work like inlay and fret slot cleaning work.

Fallbrook Guitar Shop  Fallbrook, CA. USA Read my reviews (3)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 1-14-2011
Amazing little knobs!

I recently restored a Gibson LGO with 2 missing knobs, most local stores do not carry replacement knobs like these. So i didn't hesitate to order from Stew Mac. Adding them on was pretty simple, they fit great, they also pretty much are the same as the original ones! hey how cool is that?

Gia L.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Behlen Tung Oil
Behlen Tung Oil
4 1-14-2011
Does the job

This is the good stuff. I'm not thinking it's 100% pure Tung oil, but I could be wrong. You will definitely need to cut it with spirits/turps or it will leech from the pores forever. (that is if you don't do grain filling)

Barron Wesley Guitars  Palo Alto, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
4 1-14-2011
Azerbaijan Tar

I installed these pegs on my Tar (a traditional music instrument of Azerbaijan and Iran) and I loved them. I am still installing these pegs on my students instruments. thanks to Stewmac.
I wish Stewmac mangers were open to new proposals like this and they could design a proper peg for Azeri instruments like Tar, Kamancha, Qopuz. As you see in the picture I had to modify the peg head in order to match with the original look of Tar.

Tar Teacher  Azerbaijan
Customer supplied image for review
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 1-14-2011
;)

Excellent quality!!!

Yañez  Mex
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
Bridge Pin Hole Chamfer Tool
5 1-14-2011
Chamfer

This is the very best way to make your bridge pins seat perfectly. Works great for making new bridges and also great for re-shaping an old bridge.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Micarta Saddle
Micarta Saddle
4 1-14-2011
Micarta Saddle

This material is hard and should be fairly durable. Although it is easier to work than bone, it does not give the same brightness and tone as the old standby.

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Weissenborn Guitar Plans
Weissenborn Guitar Plans
3 1-14-2011
Weissenborn Guitar Plans

The plans were shipped promptly as always is the case with StewMac. I would like to see more info on the bracing and tone bars. The plans were very lacking in this area.

Wayne C  Schellsburg, PA Read my reviews (2)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 1-14-2011
Gripper

This wrench prevented me from being forced to replace a soundhole mounted truss rod that was rounded out. What a relief!

Custom Ware Guitars  Florida Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Thickness Caliper
Thickness Caliper
4 1-14-2011
Thickness Caliper

First class delivery service well protected, the caliper is of excellent quality, I'm currently building a Macafferi and finding the caliper indispensible.

Terry Harris  Northampton England
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
5 1-14-2011
Grover Tuning Machines

I bought these tuners to replace the Chinese tuners on a Morgan Monroe mandolin. Most of the holes lined up, had to drill two new holes for each plate. The tuning machines work great, much better than the originals.

Les Calger  Tuttle, OK
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 1-14-2011
Inexpensive, easy to install.

This work great. Inexpensive and easy to install. They will easily do several necks.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
5 1-13-2011
Quality parts at an affordable price.

This wiring kit went into a Fender Jazz Bass that has had everything changed. It sounds great. The wiring kit has better potentiometers than the stock Fender ones. Plenty of wiring and a good input jack make this kit the best out there. I will order from Stewart-MacDonald whenever I need electrical parts for an instrument. Thank you!

stfuente  San Luis Obispo, CA Read my reviews (3)
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 1-13-2011
The BEST STUFF out there

Amazing product and the only one i will use to clean my Fretboard and Shine my Frets

RichA  USA
Vibramate V7-LP Adapter for Bigsby B7
Vibramate V7-LP Adapter for Bigsby B7
3 1-13-2011
Expensive

Just like Mike, I put this and a Bigsby B7 on an Epiphone '56 model. The cons are the price and the arm is now 2" over the pick-guard (I'm not happy about that at all). It also creates a different string angle behind the bridge that may cause the bridge to rock a bit more when using the Bigsby. If you're sure that you want a Bigsby, it's definitely better to just mount it normally. It's too bad that you can't just rent this setup and try it for a week and see if a Bigsby is what you want. I'll probably end up just mounting mine to the body eventually. For right now I'll leave it as is because it does work. The Bigsby does seem to add to the feel and tone of the guitar without even using the vibrato. I really like it. The Vibramate, in my opinion, is way over priced. It was nearly $80 with shipping. It might be worth $35 or $40 with shipping - max.

Dave C  Massachusetts
Customer supplied image for review
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
Bullet Truss Rod Nut for Fender
5 1-13-2011
Great Bullet

Great replacement Bullet Nut, works perfectly on Fenders. Now if Stewmac would ad some metric ones for all those Tokai strats that have become the rage recently.

smsuperstrat  Kent, WA
Bridge Plate Stock
Bridge Plate Stock
5 1-13-2011
Solid

Ignore the first review, this bridge stock is a solid piece that would make a great replacement for any old worn out bridge plate! It is not flexible. There is more than enough stock to make two bridge plates!

Gia L.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Locking Tremolo System
Golden Age Locking Tremolo System
5 1-13-2011
Very nicely built

Excellente tremolo kit, for those that can't afford the real thing for projects, this is a great tremolo, stays in tune pretty well. Would buy more soon.

Bernard Ugalde  Guatemala Read my reviews (5)
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 1-13-2011
Fingerboard band clamp

I thought the clamps did a very nice job.A little time consuming putting them on but well worth it.

James Buckels  Canonsburg,Pa Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
2 1-13-2011
Bushings too loose

Bushings are too loose for my Robert Cray Strat. I bought the conversion bushings as suggested below, and those are too tight. Just an FYI for those of you who have this model guitar.

Iceman  Algonquin, IL Read my reviews (2)
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bit Set
5 1-13-2011
Binding Router bit set

This set worked great for me on my first two guitars. I had problem however keeping up with the bearing sizes and dropping the bearings every time I took them out to use. I made myself a carrying case out of an old plastic tool case with some scrap wood and 1/4 inch dowel rod. I use a rubber band to hold them in place when stored. See attached photo.

Phil Bates  San Antonio, FL
Customer supplied image for review
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 1-13-2011
Natural Wood Bindings

I make most of my Bindings myself, but sometimes I use Stewmac Natural wood Binding. And I love the quality!!

loefguitars  Finland Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
3 1-13-2011
To good - To long

A good review on guitar acoustic principles. Useful to the professional guitar maker, exploring those details that makes difference between regular and great guitars. Maybe the format (lecture) is not the best for a class on DVD, turning some topics a little long.

Julio-Luthier  Sao Paulo-Brazil Read my reviews (2)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 1-13-2011
Bellas!

Here in Mexico the pearl shell is a bit easy-to-find item but if you want some pre-cut pearls it's much easier to order to StewMc. It is true.

Jiro Narita  Mexico City Read my reviews (4)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 1-13-2011
Exellent...that´s it

Push-pull pots are usefull but not to be found in every music store.
The quality of these products is comparable to that of EMG originals.

Jiro Narita  Mexico City Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 18126 – 18150
of 21001 reviews
< 1  ...  725  726  727  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce