Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18076 – 18100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  723  724  725  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 1-17-2011
Med. Higher

I can see why this is Dan's Favorite fret wire. It easy to work and makes for a great job.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 1-17-2011
allen head truss rod

i really like this truss rod and use it extensively in all my banjos. it's the ease of installing which i like. For the truss slot i know a router bit is suggested but what i do is use 3 circular saw blades on the table saw and make only one clean pass down the center of the neck. then i just drop the rod in and fill the rest of the truss rod channel. it is a nice fit and the allen head ensures no slippage when adjusting the rod. i want quality in my instruments and this rod is the one i prefer.

D.M.Holzer Banjos  West Fargo, N.D.
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 1-17-2011
SG Repair

These dots fit perfectly into a '63 SG Junior repair. However, the pearl is really white and needs to be colored a bit to match the old inlays.

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-17-2011
Perfect Match

This color is a perfect match to a Gibson Les Paul Custom. It is a great spraying can and the color blends just right for patching repairs.

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-17-2011
Top Notch Nitro!

Great spraying can. Goes on even and smooth and looks great!

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 1-17-2011
This is a must have tool.

I originally purchased the plastic version of this tool because it was the only one I could find at the time, but after one use that tool was useless.
I found this one day by accident and ordered it immediately and the results paid for itself.
You can adjust the grip to an sized toggle switch and it does the job. I liked it so much, I gave one as a Christmas present!

Wookie 
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 1-17-2011
Roller Bridge Worked a Treat on an Epiphone Casino

I purchased the roller bridge hoping to improve tuning on my Bigsby equipped Casino. Well it did the trick, after a small amount of file work to adjust the width of the post holes only about 1/32" it fitted on and clamped up snugly with the Allen screws. Intonation is improved over the original bridge which could not be adjusted to correct the G string. Being so solid, it sounds great.
Tuning stability has definitely improved.

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 1-17-2011
Nut Slotting Gauge

This is an excellent tool, worth the money if you have several instruments.
I have checked and adjusted about a dozen guitars since receiving the gauge. Drop the gauge on and in a second you can see why its always been tough to play those bar chords! I caution people to be careful though, those thinners strings drop quickly if you are heavy handed with the file! I overcooked a couple of fine strings because I didn't have the right width file. I was measuring and filing not realizing I was filing a narrow groove and the string hung up and then suddenly drop (whoops). Have ordered more files from Stew Mac, so this won’t happen again! Its a great tool, my only suggestion for improvement would be a dial that was calibrated backwards as you are always pressing down and therefore deducting from the starting datum point.

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 1-17-2011
Excellent Tool for Re-Crowing Job

Recently ordered the Narrow/Med fret file to re-crown a Gibson ES-137.
I bought the guitar secondhand from a store and felt that the previous owner had traded it because the frets were like railroad sleepers (square profile).
I was told like many people, just get use to it and play with a softer feel!
I read about this issue on a number of online forums and decided to order the file from Stew Mac and give it a go. I followed Dan's tips and marked each fret with a felt tip pen and masked the board with Stew Mac thick paper tape before I started. I carefully recut each fret profile where it had been removed at the factory and then finished off with the Stew Mac sanding stick with a couple of grades of belt and then a final polish. Let me say, the tools worked a treat and the instrument has been transformed from a real handful to a pleasure to play.
I followed another tip and put a piece of tape over the top of the file to rest my finger and used it to control the pressure of each strokes. I following the fret radius and watching the width of my felt tip mark slowly reduce as the profile slowly reappeared. Very pleased with the result, thanks Stew Mac.

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
5 1-17-2011
Superb Quality!

You wouldn't think there would be much difference between sandpaper you get from a hardware store and any other sandpaper. You'd be wrong. The quality of these sandpapers is great! used several grits before switch to the micro mesh pads for a drop fill. Thanks again Stew Mac!

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 1-17-2011
Little wonder pads!

ANOTHER great product from Stew Mac!
Just finished a drop fill on a maple fingerboard and used these little wonder pads to buff it smooth. They're great! I used them wet with a little soap and the customer was amazed that the chip in the fingerboard was completely gone without a trace!

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
5 1-17-2011
Couldn't Live without it!

This tool is awesome! I HIGHLY recommend getting this sanding station. Its great for pretty much any sanding jobs. Nuts, Saddles, dowels, pickguards... you name it! I use it every day in my repair shop and couldn't go back! Great investment. Thanks again Stew Mac.

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 1-17-2011
Binding

Hi received and used your binding recently.Great product and price.Will be recomending it to my friends.Ray.

Ray Mole  Australia
Truss Rod Wrench for Fender
Truss Rod Wrench for Fender
5 1-16-2011
The right tool for the job

Like the title says - it's the right tool for the job. The quality is fantastic as usual with StewMac tools.

DLB  Ireland Read my reviews (2)
How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
4 1-16-2011
Lots of great tips

This is a great DVD if you are unfamiliar with Gibson/PRS/etc. electronics. Really great tips, and the section on loading and unloading an archtop guitar is worth the price of the DVD.

Bryan P.  Knoxville, TN Read my reviews (7)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 1-16-2011
Just perfect ..

Hey man before these I had some bad grover tuners. Grover said it's the finest tuner we can buy .. Sperzel prove me the contrary .. My neck is quite flexible so very sensitive to my hand pressure when I play and before it never return to normal tuning there was always a string which was not correctly tuned. I simply didn't tune my guitar again with Spertzel. Moreover they're are so beautiful!

Valentin  Poitiers, France Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 1-16-2011
Improve the overall quality of your guitar !!

HEY !! These are really great ! Heavy duty , perfect finish and perfect fitting ! I put them on my ESP FX400 and it's so great ! I don't understand why they do wonderful guitars and place crappy hardware on it like plastic p.u rings .. Anyway , perfect !

Valentin  Poitiers, France Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 1-16-2011
My favorite tuners

These tuners are fantastic. They look great, they work well and they are not expensive. I always use them without bushings to show off the headstock designs better.

William Wimley  Mandeville, LA
Customer supplied image for review
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
5 1-16-2011
Perfect Fit

These 10.5 mm bushings fit my Simon & Patrick guitar perfectly.

JB  Mississauga, Ontario Read my reviews (2)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 1-16-2011
Rosewood preslotted fretboard

I wasn't sure about the quality of the rosewood when I ordered, but when it came in I was pleasantly surprised. It looks great, and everything was spot on. Great job Stew-Mac!

Va
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
5 1-16-2011
High quality!

Been using the reference 1586 since 1996, high quality circuit wire is what you need and this one is the best on the market - period

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review

Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 1-16-2011
Excellent rod system!

I have been using them for many years...
I think that an improvement would be to make then less deep for thinner necks and also to perma weld the passive bar to the extremities, this would improve the overal strenght IMO...

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
5 1-16-2011
Plastic Mounting Rings

these mounting rings do the job very well and here is a picture...
I just regret that stewmac has discontinued the wooden rings...

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 1-16-2011
quick and painless parts...

long story short... was tuning an re-tuning a heap of times, tweeked a machine head one to many times an broke it! western australia is a long way from away from th best an most competitive products , but this time i could accept no substitute.one e-mail, a swift order an a short wait... an im playing death metal at tenth grade level!!! great work lads!!! blunt force trauma from w aust WILL be recomending you!!!

stumpy666  western australia
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 1-16-2011
Shielding made easy

I purchased the paint after using the foil tape for a long time. The foil can be difficult to use properly and if not done correctly will only cause problems. This paint is easy to apply, doesn't require additional soldering and seems to create a good shield against outside interference. I am glad that I made the switch.

Tom Drinkwater  Oakland, Maine Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 18076 – 18100
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  723  724  725  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce