Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18051 – 18075
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  722  723  724  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
5 1-18-2011
Excellent Tuners!

These came stock on my G&L S-500 and I wanted a set on my G&L ASAT Classic. Replaced the ASAT standard tuners with these in about 10 minutes and all is good. Excellent service from StewMac!

M Lauden  Keller, TX
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 1-18-2011
Superb quality

This diamond file is worth every penny. The angle of the file makes it so easy to re-crown frets and it also works great for minor unleveling jobs. A must buy for any luthier

Ric  Lakewood Read my reviews (8)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 1-18-2011
Very good tool

Great bang for the buck, does the job.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 1-18-2011
Expensive but really worth it

Couldn't not do fret job anymore without it.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 1-18-2011
Great tool

I love that tool, it's accurate, versatile and useful not only for frets, but for any situation where checking straightness of a small area of your design is needed.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 1-18-2011
Squier Fat Tele re-birth

I installed a Golden Age humbucker on a Squier Fat Tele. Now it's one of my absolute favorite instruments. My "go to" slide guitar. The Golden Age HB made all the difference in the world over the original HB. Great product, great price.

Mike Vidallier  New Iberia, LA Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
5 1-18-2011
Great Replacement Bridge

I swapped out the stock bridge on my Squier 77 jazz for a Gotoh bridge, and what an amazing difference in tone, note quality, and sustain.

The stock bridge wasn't bad, but this inexpensive yet solid piece of chromed rolled steel woke the bass right up; the new clarity is really amazing. The replacement was direct--but make sure your string spacings are in line with the Gotoh you choose (mine is a Gotoh 201) because its string spacing isn't adjustable. Also check to make sure screw hole alignment is what you want, especially if you want a direct replacement with no drilling.

Great value, and a huge improvement over the stock bridge! Highly recommended.

Tgill  Vermont
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 1-18-2011
Precision Router Base

beautifully machined - works great!

Richard B  CT
Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig
Archtop Bridge Fitting Jig
5 1-18-2011
Works Great

Used this to fit a new bridge on an old archtop guitar - worked great - much better than by hand...

Dave C09  Toronto
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-18-2011
Aerosol Nitro

I got outstanding results on an after maket Tele neck using Colortone Clear Aerosol Guitar laquer. I shot the neck 3 times a day, waiting 2 hours between coats,for a few days. Each day before spraying, I would sand the previous days work lightly with 400 grit paper. The back of the neck ended up with 12-15 coats, and the headstock got maybe twice that because i was trying to cover a decal to make it look original ( I would never sell it as a Fender, this was purely for me!!).

I did not wet sand and buff the neck, but left it with a semi-flat finish. It looks and feels absolutely awesome!!! Everyone who has touched it loves it, and I am gonna get some work out of this for sure. I think I have one order already!!!

Wesmont  Florida
Five-Star Head
Five-Star Head
5 1-18-2011
Five star banjo heads

Have been using 5 star heads for many years without a single failure. Stew -Mac's service is excellent. I often get my orders in 5-8 days to Australia

alan funk  , REYNELLA EAST, Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire
Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire
5 1-17-2011
42-AWG

Well I've used this wire before on winding single coils. It worked so well that I went on to try my hand at Humbucker winding using the 43AWG. Well I'm back using the 42 until I get better. It is stronger and easier to use than the 43.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 1-17-2011
Med. Higher

I can see why this is Dan's Favorite fret wire. It easy to work and makes for a great job.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 1-17-2011
allen head truss rod

i really like this truss rod and use it extensively in all my banjos. it's the ease of installing which i like. For the truss slot i know a router bit is suggested but what i do is use 3 circular saw blades on the table saw and make only one clean pass down the center of the neck. then i just drop the rod in and fill the rest of the truss rod channel. it is a nice fit and the allen head ensures no slippage when adjusting the rod. i want quality in my instruments and this rod is the one i prefer.

D.M.Holzer Banjos  West Fargo, N.D.
Customer supplied image for review
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 1-17-2011
SG Repair

These dots fit perfectly into a '63 SG Junior repair. However, the pearl is really white and needs to be colored a bit to match the old inlays.

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-17-2011
Perfect Match

This color is a perfect match to a Gibson Les Paul Custom. It is a great spraying can and the color blends just right for patching repairs.

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-17-2011
Top Notch Nitro!

Great spraying can. Goes on even and smooth and looks great!

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 1-17-2011
This is a must have tool.

I originally purchased the plastic version of this tool because it was the only one I could find at the time, but after one use that tool was useless.
I found this one day by accident and ordered it immediately and the results paid for itself.
You can adjust the grip to an sized toggle switch and it does the job. I liked it so much, I gave one as a Christmas present!

Wookie 
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 1-17-2011
Roller Bridge Worked a Treat on an Epiphone Casino

I purchased the roller bridge hoping to improve tuning on my Bigsby equipped Casino. Well it did the trick, after a small amount of file work to adjust the width of the post holes only about 1/32" it fitted on and clamped up snugly with the Allen screws. Intonation is improved over the original bridge which could not be adjusted to correct the G string. Being so solid, it sounds great.
Tuning stability has definitely improved.

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 1-17-2011
Nut Slotting Gauge

This is an excellent tool, worth the money if you have several instruments.
I have checked and adjusted about a dozen guitars since receiving the gauge. Drop the gauge on and in a second you can see why its always been tough to play those bar chords! I caution people to be careful though, those thinners strings drop quickly if you are heavy handed with the file! I overcooked a couple of fine strings because I didn't have the right width file. I was measuring and filing not realizing I was filing a narrow groove and the string hung up and then suddenly drop (whoops). Have ordered more files from Stew Mac, so this won’t happen again! Its a great tool, my only suggestion for improvement would be a dial that was calibrated backwards as you are always pressing down and therefore deducting from the starting datum point.

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 1-17-2011
Excellent Tool for Re-Crowing Job

Recently ordered the Narrow/Med fret file to re-crown a Gibson ES-137.
I bought the guitar secondhand from a store and felt that the previous owner had traded it because the frets were like railroad sleepers (square profile).
I was told like many people, just get use to it and play with a softer feel!
I read about this issue on a number of online forums and decided to order the file from Stew Mac and give it a go. I followed Dan's tips and marked each fret with a felt tip pen and masked the board with Stew Mac thick paper tape before I started. I carefully recut each fret profile where it had been removed at the factory and then finished off with the Stew Mac sanding stick with a couple of grades of belt and then a final polish. Let me say, the tools worked a treat and the instrument has been transformed from a real handful to a pleasure to play.
I followed another tip and put a piece of tape over the top of the file to rest my finger and used it to control the pressure of each strokes. I following the fret radius and watching the width of my felt tip mark slowly reduce as the profile slowly reappeared. Very pleased with the result, thanks Stew Mac.

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
5 1-17-2011
Superb Quality!

You wouldn't think there would be much difference between sandpaper you get from a hardware store and any other sandpaper. You'd be wrong. The quality of these sandpapers is great! used several grits before switch to the micro mesh pads for a drop fill. Thanks again Stew Mac!

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 1-17-2011
Little wonder pads!

ANOTHER great product from Stew Mac!
Just finished a drop fill on a maple fingerboard and used these little wonder pads to buff it smooth. They're great! I used them wet with a little soap and the customer was amazed that the chip in the fingerboard was completely gone without a trace!

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
5 1-17-2011
Couldn't Live without it!

This tool is awesome! I HIGHLY recommend getting this sanding station. Its great for pretty much any sanding jobs. Nuts, Saddles, dowels, pickguards... you name it! I use it every day in my repair shop and couldn't go back! Great investment. Thanks again Stew Mac.

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 1-17-2011
Binding

Hi received and used your binding recently.Great product and price.Will be recomending it to my friends.Ray.

Ray Mole  Australia
Displaying 18051 – 18075
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  722  723  724  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce