Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 18026 – 18050
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  721  722  723  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

TonePros Locking Studs
TonePros Locking Studs
5 1-19-2011
TonePros Studs

I've put these on every guitar I own (7), and they really do make a big difference in tone. You get the biggest difference when you use the locking bridge too! These are GREAT!!!

MJ Lewis  North Texas
How To Service Your Own Tube Amp
How To Service Your Own Tube Amp
2 1-19-2011
How To Service Your Tupe Amp

Has some good info and flow charts. But who needs a whole chapter on how a speaker was built in order to know how to check it. For me it was not much help.

smithguitars  kentucky
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 1-19-2011
Fret saw

a good tool with hard ridge, made it easy to work with and was adaptable to other cuts too :)

lilbiker  tarpon springs, floriDUH
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
4 1-19-2011
nice product

I really like the look and function of these tuners. Perfect for a vintage instrument. I do agree with the other reviewer that the top of the tuner is short, leaving old screw mounting holes to be filled and touched up.

Mike Marken  Glenview, IL
Shubb Deluxe Guitar Capo
Shubb Deluxe Guitar Capo
5 1-19-2011
Works Great

I bought an original Shubb about 10 years ago and it is still in great condition. Only problem is my 19 year old son is always "borrowing" it! So I bought the deluxe Shubb. I told him if he touches this one he's out of the will!

Carl Minks  Ewa Beach, HI
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 1-19-2011
Beautiful crafted

The SMD Precision Router Set is perfectly crafted and works very easy and accurate.
It works very well together with my new Dremel
(actualy I ordered both on the same day, Router set from Steward in the US and the Dremel (220v) in Holland, the Router Set was in my home within 3 days and the Dutch Dremel took 7 days :+)

1 think European buyers should think about..... the airpump is 110v and can't be used in Europe.
So, the Router set is Top, and probably the airpump to, but I cant use it :+( (my mistake)

Grizzly  Oosthuizen, Netherlands Read my reviews (2)
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 1-19-2011
Economy Tuners

These tuners brought hubby's old Decca back to life! The fit was perfect - even the screw holes matched and they were installed very easily. They look good, work great and the price can't be beat.

catmccall  Lebanon, Oregon
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-19-2011
The Best!

Really fantastic StewMac! I purchased a Tacoma guitar with the infamous finish cancer. A great little guitar with a 20 mil+ peeling poly finish. I removed the old finish with a heat gun, and did very little sanding. I applied the StewMac lacquer in thin coats. The lacquer was very easy to apply, and dried very fast, and laid very flat. After several coats the finish looked great, so I stopped. I used less than one of the three cans I purchased. I gave the lacquer several days to cure just to be safe. I buffed the finish with rubbing compound, that is all! I got an ultra thin mirror finish as the final result.

I showed the guitar to friends that saw it with the previous finish. "Unbelievable" was the overall response. There was even talk of the guitar sounding better with the thin finish. Thanks!

Ray"n"Spunk  Fortuna, CA
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 1-19-2011
No Hassle Replacement

I purchased these tuners to replace the stock tuners on an Affinity Telecaster. I knocked it over a while back and broke two of the stock tuners. These tuners slid right into place with no problems, and, the work very well. They hold tune so much better then the originals it is not even funny. If you need replacements for the Chinese made Fenders, I highly recommend these tuners. Actually, they would make a very good replacement for almost any guitar.

Roger Lane  So. Sioux City, NE
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 1-19-2011
Perfect fit and finish

You guys did it again. I noticed at first that the ring was lifted, then I realized I tightened the nut too hard. I backed it off 3/4 turn and perfect.

VicLP  Pittsburgh Read my reviews (5)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 1-19-2011
EXCELLENT BRIDGE

Recently installed a 1511-N on a '97 Epiphone LP Limited Edition PERFECT FIT! The sustain is noticably improved. After searching the very big market of standard Tune-O-Matic bridges I ordered this one and BINGO! Awesome Stewmac....as usual

VicLP  Pittsburgh Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
3 1-19-2011
jumbo fretwire

Bought 2, 2ft. sections. Overall quality good, except the ends looked like they were lopped off with shears or something..the 'rails' were bent and I needed to cut the ends again with a cut-off disc on my dremel to make them 'square', wasting some of the material.

speedcrank 
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 1-19-2011
Bridge Doctor

I have a Yamaha FG260 12 string. The belly bulge was so bad I couldn't begin to get the strings low enough to enjoy playing. I shortened the bridge and the belly bulge was so high that some of the strings went right over the bridge. The Bridge doctor pulled the belly flat and also improved the sound of the 12 string. It used to be so brassy that it was not enjoyable.

Now it is more balanced and sweeter, a bit lighter and far more usable. I thought the guitar was bulging beyond reasonable costs to repair. The Bridge Dr was something I could easily so myself. Thank you for having them on hand.

Jeff Minniear  Schenectrady, NY USA
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
4 1-19-2011
Tele Hang On

Great! How about some larger washer options? The included washer does not work well on some straps-Perhaps a larger 2-washer option.

LE  Texas, USA Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 1-19-2011
Just What I Needed.

The shielding tape was perfect! It was easy to apply and worked like a champ to keep my guitar project quiet! Thanks again STEWMAC!

Jeffry Swertfeger  Rochester, MN
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 1-19-2011
Pickguards & Spartan Smash

Nice!

LE  Texas, USA Read my reviews (2)
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
Vintage-style Tuner Knobs
5 1-19-2011
replacement tuners are the bomb!!!

Hey folks Don the maddog luthier here to tell you about the replacement knobs available from our friends at Stewmac. There high quality,easy to install,and profitable to the small shop owner. I used them on a restoration of a 1945 Gretch New Yorker, you couldn't tell the difference. So, when you need high quality replacement parts for your customers or project, Don't forget StewMac.

Donnie Humphries-Lefthan Guitars  Cumberland, MD. Read my reviews (2)
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 1-19-2011
side dot material is A#1

High everyone,Don the maddog luthier here to tell everyone about the side dot material available from Stewmac. Using an 1/8" drill bit,and some medium superglue is all it takes. The drill bit give a slight bit of wiggle room, which is great for the glue to get to all the surfaces,after drying I just come in with my flat surface nippers(fretting),cut, use a scraper for final surfacing. The material takes on finish very well,no complaints here. I can do 3-4 fingerboards per stick,and always try to keep some on hand.

Donnie Humphries-Lefthan Guitars  Cumberland, MD. Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Round Rod Tone Ring
Five-Star Round Rod Tone Ring
5 1-18-2011
Excellent upgrade item

I installed this tone ring in a cheap banjo with an aluminum rim (bottle cap rim) and the sound now rings out instead of being swallowed by the pot. I recommend this highly.

Terry Church  Australia
Pickup Kit for Strat
Pickup Kit for Strat
5 1-18-2011
Very Nice

Built many of these now. The entire process I find very fun and there are enough variables to really create or duplicate a desired sound.

The material in this kit is very good!

ValveAmps  Milwaukee, WI
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
5 1-18-2011
Excellent Tuners!

These came stock on my G&L S-500 and I wanted a set on my G&L ASAT Classic. Replaced the ASAT standard tuners with these in about 10 minutes and all is good. Excellent service from StewMac!

M Lauden  Keller, TX
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 1-18-2011
Superb quality

This diamond file is worth every penny. The angle of the file makes it so easy to re-crown frets and it also works great for minor unleveling jobs. A must buy for any luthier

Ric  Lakewood Read my reviews (8)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 1-18-2011
Very good tool

Great bang for the buck, does the job.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 1-18-2011
Expensive but really worth it

Couldn't not do fret job anymore without it.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 1-18-2011
Great tool

I love that tool, it's accurate, versatile and useful not only for frets, but for any situation where checking straightness of a small area of your design is needed.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 18026 – 18050
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  721  722  723  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce