Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17976 – 18000
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  719  720  721  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 1-22-2011
A rookie's perceptive

I just finished my first guitar, a somewhat atypical Tele style with basswood body, figured maple topwood, and cherry neck, and with not a little trepidation I strung it up and tried out the Golden Age pickups. Being a rank amateur I tried not to expect much. Was I ever shocked when the sound coming out of that instrument exceeded any guitar I have ever played anywhere! I give all the credit to the Golden Age Pickups. No better bargain anywhere I think. Powerful, clean, spanky sound and so quiet with the copper shielding.

I know you supply the professionals but we rookies really appreciate the extra information and wiring diagrams you supply also. I think that I am hooked now.

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron
Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron
5 1-22-2011
Bridge Heater

I was very impressed with how well this tool worked. I heated it with a $5 hot plate from Harbor Freight and used an ordinary putty knife the same width as my bridge. Once the tool was heated to 250, you just rest it on one side of the bridge for about two minutes. Remove the tool and place it back on the hot plate while you slide your knife under the bridge from side to side. Repeat this process until it comes loose. You'll have it off in 20 min. with very little damage to the top or bridge.

Jim Barker  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
5 1-22-2011
Fine Quality Locking Machines

The unique design of these locking tuners with an 18:1 ratio makes them an ideal replacement for the low-end keys that came with my Hagstrom HJ-500. After much deliberation between the 0900, 0877 and 3933 models, the 0877 seemed to be the best choice based on function vs cost. Although a ¼" taller than the other units, this is not an issue. Should I ever move them to another guitar with a thicker headstock, then I’ll be set.

Observing the simple four step “Installation Instructions” provided, I was dazzled at how fast it was to string and tune. Once settled, they stay tuned. Smooth operation, good feel. For a reasonable price and lifetime guarantee, how can you go wrong. Thanks StewMac!

S.E.Vincent  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 1-22-2011
Love these tuners!

I purchased a set for a Tele build, and I like them so much I'm going to upgrade them to my Strat as well.

Craig  Columbus, Ohio USA Read my reviews (2)
Battery Box
Battery Box
5 1-22-2011
Dependable

A simple, dependable, easy to use battery box.

Guido  Clinton Township Read my reviews (3)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 1-22-2011
Screws.

Pretty simple. I purchased a used Fender American Jazz Bass and it had 5 screws missing from the pickguard. These matched the look of the remaining ones perfectly.

Guido  Clinton Township Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 1-22-2011
Color Tone Nitrocellulose Lacquer

I have used this on 4 Ukuleles. It has been great extremely durable finish. And if you let it cure for at least 2 weeks it will buff out fantastic. And you will have a professional looking finish

Perry  Cottage Grove Or.
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
2 1-22-2011
Five-Star banjo tuners

Received a set of Five-Star tuners including a fith string geared tuner. The tuners I received did not fit 3/8" pegholes as advertised in the specs. When I miked the shafts they were five thousands over 3/8". That makes them around 10 mm. Without a reamer, I had to drill out the pegholes. Also, the replacement ebony knobs that I ordered did not fit as the tuner peg shaft is a little oversize. In addition, the fifth string tuner's knob and screw does not match the tuners. I should have sent the tuners back as now I have oddball pegholes. For all the work required to make these work, I would pop for the extra twenty bucks and buy the Waverley tuners.

Dan1  Atascadero, CA
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 1-22-2011
My personal favorites

I like the clean look of Gotoh sealed gear tuning machines. And you can't go wrong ordering from Stew Mac.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 1-21-2011
The double edge of a nut file

I own a Stevie Ray Strat, and to get the Stevie Ray sound I changed to a heavier gauge string. I went from about a 42 for e-bass and 9 on e-treble string to a 56 e-bass and a 13 e-treble string. Changing to heavier gauge strings caused the action to be too high. The problem was, the strings were too large to sit in the nut string space. I use the nut files to enlarge the string nut space. Having a file for each string space on the nut, made the job of enlarging the nut spaces a simple straight forward process--They worked superbly

LastNote  Spanaway,WA
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
5 1-21-2011
Baritone Ukulele

I recently built a Baritone Ukulele as a prototype for myself. I used the ukulele bridge, binding, and tuning machines from StewMac for that. A month after that I got an order for one just like it. My thanks to StewMac for being there. Making my own bridges is time consuming and costs more than the ones from StewMac.

I have others who want one of these too. It seems that few people realize that a Baritone Ukulele tunes as the first four of the guitar, which makes it easier for the guitar oriented to play in standard key. Interestingly, I just reviewed the Trade Secret newsletter by Erick Coleman, Jan. 20, 2011 on binding a Gibson fretboard. That was timely. I will bind my fretboard on this Ukulele using this method.
Thanks again for being there. Attached is a picture of the new Uke in progress.

Ed Vernon, Jan. 21, 2011

Baritone Ukulele  Rio Rancho, NM
Customer supplied image for review
Wiring Kit for Gibson SG
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
4 1-21-2011
Great for the price

Pots are great and works on Japanese, Korean, French, guitars

Switch is a little cheap (do the job but soldering slug would be better thicker)and I would have liked an amber knob.

I don't like the vintage layout that is proposed because in my case I don't have enough space put put the cap between tone and volume pots.

Wiring kit is great.

Good product for the price proposed

Micky  France Read my reviews (2)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 1-21-2011
That's the good ones!

If you're looking for pots for replacement or upgrade on a Japanese, Korean, French or any guitar that doesn't have 9.5mm holes, these pots are for you. They are logarithmic if you search the information, and yes you only need Audio taper pots for guitar application (for both volume and tone). They are heavy duty, smooth, affordable. They are just a little noisy, but it doesn't impact the sound of your guitar plugged. To summarize a must!

Micky  France Read my reviews (2)
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 1-21-2011
Get this!

Well made, accurate and worth every cent.

CaribeGuitars  USA Read my reviews (2)
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
4 1-21-2011
A Bit Pricey for what it is

Great caul, just a bit pricey for what it is. Add the cost of shipping and you may just decide to make one yourself next time.

CaribeGuitars  USA Read my reviews (2)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
5 1-21-2011
1383 = Best Strings!

I can trust custom light strings on any of my guitars. =D

xyhte  West Virginia
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 1-21-2011
Awesome Product

I was really skeptical about how this would work, but I was to the point with my newer Gibson Advanced Jumbo that it was either try a ToneRite or buy a new guitar to use for gigging. The ToneRite was cheaper. I put the it on for the recommended first treatment and noticed a huge difference in the tone. It loosened up dramatically. Then I left it on for a full week and my guitar sounded like it had aged 25+ years. Got it on my Martin now. Even though it has some years of playing on it, the tone has improved on this guitar too. Well worth the money.

Steve Parry  Stillwater, MN
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
2 1-21-2011
WHAT WILL I GET???

I ordered two of these clear pickguards in the Summer of 2010--both for gloss guitars. When they arrived, I found that they have a matte finish. I went back and revisited the listing on StewMac, and realized it doesn't say either glossy or matte. So I used them anyway. More recently, in December 2010, I ordered two more, because I'd picked up two new guitars, both with satin finish, one of which was a Seagull S6 (pictured). I assumed that when I received the pickguards, they would again be matte finish, but they were glossy finish. I'm not sure that StewMac knows what they actually have and would be concerned about ordering again without some clarification on their site. I am reluctant to reorder now not knowing whether I'll get glossy or matte finish clear pickguards.

VintageGuitars  Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
StewMac responds

VintageGuitars,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have checked stock and confirmed that all of these acoustic pickguards are glossy. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. When you are ready to reorder, feel free to call us 800-848-2273 and we will gladly verify our stock at that time.

Customer supplied image for review
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
1 1-21-2011
Rubs off

This dye does what it says, makes wood a very deep black, but doesn't dry completely. I used it on a fingerboard and had the stain transfer to my fingers weeks after it was applied. Thinking maybe I just applied it too thick, I used it later on an open-back banjo pot and the same thing happened, only this time transferring to my clothes. This was especially frustrating because I'd diluted it with alcohol, per the manufacturers recommendations (two parts alcohol, one part dye) and used a much thinner coat.

I would say try a different stain, if you really want your fingerboards all black. I threw the bottle I had out, and won't be using it again.

S. T.  Athens, OH Read my reviews (5)
StewMac responds

We're very sorry you didn't get the desired results from this oil. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products so please contact us if you have a problem in the future! May we suggest a thorough cleaning of the wood with naphtha to remove all contaminants that could prevent the stain from taking. After application, a good rub with 0000 steel wool will polish the surface.

String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-21-2011
String action Gauge

I have been Playing for 25 Years and have a Tech that sets up my Gear . I purchased this Gauge and it is a Time saver and makes setting up your Guitar a Breeze. I would recommend this for a beginner very easy to use . My Guitars just Play great.
Thanks Guys for another Great Product.

guitarman1  Orlando ,Florida
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 1-21-2011
Another winner

Makes for fast and accurate setups every time,another must have tool from StewMac

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-21-2011
A Winner

Now this is just the greatest little rule ever super smart idea.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
5 1-21-2011
A Winner

Makes for rapid cleaning of nut slots,does a great job,great file.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 1-21-2011
Another Winner from StewMac

Well made nippers with a nice action and flush cut, a must have tool.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 1-21-2011
grover tuning machines

I used these tuners on a ukulele I made. I am a big fan of washburn guitars which uses grover tuners. I bought them because of the name and was not disappointed. They are awesome.

PAUL JOSEPH  Fraser, Michigan
Displaying 17976 – 18000
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  719  720  721  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce