Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17951 – 17975
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  718  719  720  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 1-23-2011
Radius Gauges Understring

These are 3 in one tools I use them to find the Neck radius,Nut Radius Bridge, ect. You can even Make other gauges out of Hard Cardboard. Seting the (Radius) to your strings,I could Never do it without these. This should be one of the first tools to buy. My guitar never felt easier to play, and they will last you a life time

Bob Barcus  Dana Point Ca
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
2 1-23-2011
do not like me

I´ve been buying these sitka sound board for years and received all very good , now these latter are the worst I´ve received. Fibers are far apart and i will lose up to 2 inches on one edge

chikobandola  caracas
StewMac responds

chikobandola,
We're sorry to hear the sound boards were not the quality you expected. If any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
4 1-23-2011
Great!

I bought this one because I couldn't afford the big aluminum (I'm living off of what I call 'the 13 year old salary' ha) but if you can afford the aluminum one, buy it! But these work great too! But it comes down to what you can afford. If you can't afford patience, don't buy this, if you can afford patience, that's some more cash in your pocket. Great job stew mac!

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
5 1-23-2011
Bending Iron

I purchased a 220 volt version which sat in my workshop for several months before I tried using it. When I switched it on, the unit was faulty. Stewmac immediately sent me a replacement and refunded the postage costs back from Australia for the faulty iron. The replacement works beautifully. A very pleasing result indeed!! Full marks to Stewmac for their customer service and support.

Karl Redlich  Australia
Bass String Retainer
Bass String Retainer
5 1-23-2011
simple but great

it's simple, but isn't perfection in simple things?

gaetano costanzo  naples, Italy Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Plastic Dots
Black Plastic Dots
5 1-23-2011
useful

I've bought some just to keep them as i need, they're good to machine and beauty once finished.

gaetano costanzo  naples, Italy Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 1-23-2011
the best for clean routs

they're great by using them with the templates. very useful!

gaetano costanzo  naples, Italy Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Buffing Wheels
Buffing Wheels
5 1-23-2011
time saver

i used to spend a day in wet sanding and buffing my instruments by hand!!!

but now this waste of time is ended thanks to that great wheel! buy it!

gaetano costanzo  naples, Italy Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Jazz Bass Pickup Routing Templates
Jazz Bass Pickup Routing Templates
5 1-23-2011
fantastic

no more words to add...simply fantastic!!!! really recommended

gaetano costanzo  naples, Italy Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
1 1-23-2011
lefty trouble

This switch is useless if you are looking for a replacement switch in your lefty strat. It won't fit. Don't buy if you're putting this on a lefty.

lefty  Krommenie, The Netherlands
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
5 1-23-2011
Must Have.....

Besides the top quality of these files, there is no substitute for them. And they repaired my screw-up from not using them in the first place!

Gordo K.  Columbus, Ohio Read my reviews (2)
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 1-23-2011
Great Tuners

These tuners are great! Super smooth and look amazing. They are easy to install, don't require conversion bushings and give my guitar that "vintage" look I want.

emkalafa  Chicopee, MA
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
Voicing a Steel String Guitar
5 1-23-2011
Into the unknown!

I really enjoy Kents approach to this DVD and the way it has been planned.
The information that he gives to you is fantastic and said in a way that it is easy to understand.
As a budding Luthier I was fascinated by this DVD and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in this important stage of guitar building.

Dex  Manchester UK
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 1-23-2011
Great shielding

Really keeps the noise down. Looks great and easy to apply around corners and edges. Great shielding. Now all I need is an "11" on my amp's volume knob.

DavidJ  Cork, Ireland Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 1-23-2011
Every household needs a set

Awesome product. Used them to buff a mahogany body and got a high gloss I never thought would be possible.

My only complaint was I found the cloth separated from the foam core after being soaked overnight... but they still worked a charm.

Brinjen  Darwin, NT, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 1-23-2011
Re-crowning

I bought this file to re-crown a 25 year-old Hamer whose frets were worn fairly flat in a lot of places. After leveling and re-crowning with this file, the guitar plays like new. Absolutely great tool for the job.

DavidJ  Cork, Ireland Read my reviews (2)
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Peghead Bushing Reamers
5 1-23-2011
Perfect tool

It takes you 10 minutes to do a perfect job, instead of a 1 hour messy work, thanks !!!

Sebastien Col  Salles Arbuissonnas, France
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
Saddle Mounting Screw for Floyd Rose
5 1-22-2011
Good quality!

Stewmac.com have excellent spare parts to the Floyd Rose Original. I'm impressed of the quality and the finish of the screws.

Daniel J T  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Fine Tuner Screw for Floyd Rose
Fine Tuner Screw for Floyd Rose
5 1-22-2011
Good quality!

I have an older Floyd Rose Original, and I've always found it hard to find spare parts. The quality of the screws are impressive and the overall service from stewmac.com is very good. I'll be back when I need something more.

Daniel J T  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
3 1-22-2011
Some trouble with the router set

I was routing the binding ledge on my solid body guitar and although I had set the locking wheel properly the wheel began to spin downward with the vibration of the Dremel. I didn't notice this happening until the end and then the ledge was deeper the farther around the body I went. This was a bit of a disappointment. Also the wings on the brass guide attachment wouldn't allow me to route into the cutaway inside the lower horn of the tele style that I was building. I ended up re-routing the whole ledge again and bought the binding router bit set (that I probably will need in the future anyway) and that method worked wonderfully. When I use this tool again I am going to either keep my finger on the wheel while I route to prevent it from loosening or find a little O-ring to slide up under it. After seeing the great ledge the binding bits made though I am pretty sure that is the method I will use in the future. Can you tell this is my first guitar?

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
5 1-22-2011
A rookie's perceptive

I just finished my first guitar, a somewhat atypical Tele style with basswood body, figured maple topwood, and cherry neck, and with not a little trepidation I strung it up and tried out the Golden Age pickups. Being a rank amateur I tried not to expect much. Was I ever shocked when the sound coming out of that instrument exceeded any guitar I have ever played anywhere! I give all the credit to the Golden Age Pickups. No better bargain anywhere I think. Powerful, clean, spanky sound and so quiet with the copper shielding.

I know you supply the professionals but we rookies really appreciate the extra information and wiring diagrams you supply also. I think that I am hooked now.

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron
Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron
5 1-22-2011
Bridge Heater

I was very impressed with how well this tool worked. I heated it with a $5 hot plate from Harbor Freight and used an ordinary putty knife the same width as my bridge. Once the tool was heated to 250, you just rest it on one side of the bridge for about two minutes. Remove the tool and place it back on the hot plate while you slide your knife under the bridge from side to side. Repeat this process until it comes loose. You'll have it off in 20 min. with very little damage to the top or bridge.

Jim Barker  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
5 1-22-2011
Fine Quality Locking Machines

The unique design of these locking tuners with an 18:1 ratio makes them an ideal replacement for the low-end keys that came with my Hagstrom HJ-500. After much deliberation between the 0900, 0877 and 3933 models, the 0877 seemed to be the best choice based on function vs cost. Although a ¼" taller than the other units, this is not an issue. Should I ever move them to another guitar with a thicker headstock, then I’ll be set.

Observing the simple four step “Installation Instructions” provided, I was dazzled at how fast it was to string and tune. Once settled, they stay tuned. Smooth operation, good feel. For a reasonable price and lifetime guarantee, how can you go wrong. Thanks StewMac!

S.E.Vincent  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 1-22-2011
Love these tuners!

I purchased a set for a Tele build, and I like them so much I'm going to upgrade them to my Strat as well.

Craig  Columbus, Ohio USA Read my reviews (2)
Battery Box
Battery Box
5 1-22-2011
Dependable

A simple, dependable, easy to use battery box.

Guido  Clinton Township Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 17951 – 17975
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  718  719  720  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce