Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17926 – 17950
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  717  718  719  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Curly Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
Curly Maple Top Wood for Flat Solidbodies
4 1-26-2011
grain good but

I thought the quality of the grain was good but in my opinion the 2 pieces were way to bowed and had no square edge or strait edge. For a lot of people that are first time builders of making a guitar from scratch, it would be pretty hard to get the 2 pieces glued on to the bottom wood without showing a seam. I was able to do it but it was not easy. It would be better if you could ship them with some squared edges

fishman  huntington beach ca usa
Grover Mini Rotomatics
Grover Mini Rotomatics 6-In-Line
5 1-26-2011
tuners

When I build a really good guitar I only put Grover tuners on. They are the mainstay in reliable tuners. I've bought a lot of different tuners, some less expensive and some more expensive, however, Grovers are the ones I always rely on now.

guitar novice  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (4)
Battery Box
Battery Box
4 1-26-2011
Battery box

Great component that I have used on many occasions while modifying/upgrading my guitars. Easy installation if you have a router. It mounts almost flush to the body. Sometimes it's a little hard to open the battery compartments, but it keeps them from popping out - and you only open them when you need fresh batteries.

guitar novice  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (4)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 1-26-2011
Understring Radius Gauges

Very useful in determining fretboard radius and then setting saddles heights and pickup poles

KBarry  Altamonte Springs, FL
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg
5 1-26-2011
Love it

This peg should be factory equipment on every banjo. I replaced the right angle design peg on my fender fb58 with Waverly's and i love it. There is no post sticking up in the way, and smooth operation. The stewmac 5th string reamer(0618) made instillation very easy.

George McCoy  Point Pleasant, WV Read my reviews (2)
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
5 1-26-2011
Rosewood Veneer

The veneer came a lot bigger then i exacted. Would be enough for most pegheads and maybe some 12 string pegheads.
I asked for the darkest one they had and i got an almost black piece with a beautiful purple shade to it.

Smoke Wood Guitars  Natanya, Israel Read my reviews (5)
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 1-26-2011
Gotoh tuners for Ibanez Ergodyne Bass

I came to Stew-Mac because of the broad selection and because Ibanez no longer has the original part. The process and fulfillment was as fast and as efficient as Amazon. The genuine Gotoh tuners appear to be better than the clones on my mid priced bass.

Steve Heinje  Spokane, WA
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
5 1-26-2011
Great for CBGs!

I've used several sets of these tuners on my 3- and 4-string cigar box guitar, banjo and uke builds. These are elegantly simple, inexpensive tuners for my elegantly simple, inexpensive instruments!

Dr. Easy  Sheffield, MA
Customer supplied image for review
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 1-26-2011
Fantastic!!!

Used these to hold the radius sanding block on a re-fret to hold 5-6 frets down for the glue to set. Worked like a charm!

Chris Sumrall  Evansville IN
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 1-26-2011
Perfect

I decided to put some vintage split post tuners on my HWY 1 telecaster and bought these bushings and they fit and look perfect. The price is reasonable and shipping was fast unlike the major stores. I think they arrived in a couple days.

Jay_mci  Noblesville
Banjo Bracket Hooks
Banjo Bracket Hooks
5 1-26-2011
Quality Part

Great Quality Part, I had to buy the nuts also my Fender fb58 had different threads on the hooks.

George McCoy  Point Pleasant, WV Read my reviews (2)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-26-2011
a great tool

I added another great tool to my arsenal!! This really helps take the guess work out, no more guestimating!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
4 1-26-2011
Fret Slotting Fixture

The tool is decent quality and performs almost to expectations. Since there are no dimensional descriptions and the photos are not able to convey scale, a slight deficiency is not noted until you have the tool in your hands. The height of the guide blocks and guides will not allow a 1 inch thick neck blank (think Fender) under the guides and still function. This took a lot of time to fix. Perhaps a longer set of guides that extend higher, allowing the saw to clear a 1 inch neck blank should be made available as an option. For 1/4 thick fretboards the tool works exactly as advertised.
Timely delivery as usual. Thanks StewMac.

Wayne Redditt  Wyebridge, Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 1-26-2011
Perfect

I bought these to replace some badly worn tuners on a 1938 Gibson L-00 given to me by my grandfather. They fit perfectly and look great.

baunder  al
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 1-26-2011
Golden Age Restoration "Bent Tab" Tuners

These are great tuners and value for the money. I replaced two sets of stock Gibson tuners on a 1906 and 1926 L-1.(yes...I kept the original tuners) The old tuners had no torque and the tuner buttons were very weak. They look the part, too. This was easy and required minimal effort. Well done Stew-Mac.

DBinSing  Singapore
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 1-26-2011
Cuts Great!

I bought the set of two and have used them to hog out a ton of maple in my guitar and they have worked amazingly well! I would recommend getting an extra bearing for the 1/2 diameter because I was forced to buy an entire new bit from woodcraft because my bearing broke. But as always they replaced it free of charge!

Swish Guitars  Pittsford New York Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
3 1-26-2011
good.. but....

it looks great, but it didn't fit my Jackson DKMG

Roberto Rivera  El Salvador Read my reviews (4)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
5 1-26-2011
Truly great, but how about longer lengths for bass?

I couldn't do without your fret guards, they're truly great. But I hope that one day, you'll have longer lengths available, so I don't have to cut them up and tape 2 of them together for use on 5 & 6 string basses!

Marc Terreur - Marcus Guitars & Basses - luthier  Sint-Niklaas, Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 1-26-2011
BUY!

Really speeds up string changing when used with a cordless screwdriver. Essential if you have a lot of guitars or change strings often.

Robbin StÃ¥hl  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 1-26-2011
strat guitar project

I acquired a new strat w/rosewood board 4 yrs ago. I prefer maple boards so i ordered your replacement neck the same day. Fretwork was excellent, soft "v" profile feels great. I've rolled the edges and this neck has now been through several bodies. It reminds me of the neck on a Fender Clapton Signature Strat i owned. It has held up really well, finish aging nicely. It is without a doubt the best playing neck I've used.

bluesman53  myrtle beach,sc Read my reviews (2)
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
5 1-25-2011
stippled bronze Sloane classical guitar tuners

drop right in to my Martin with very precise fit. Absolutly top notch

john bange  Seattle, Wa. Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Knob Position Indicator
Knob Position Indicator
5 1-25-2011
Great knob indicator

These indicators are a nice addition to any guitar. Although not essential, they provide an accurate way of showing potentiometer settings for graduated knobs. I would recommend a thin washer as a spacer under the indicator to prevent surface scratches should it move.

S.E.Vincent  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 1-25-2011
Great product

I use these blocks to radius fretboards and flush up inlays. Indispensable. While you can make these yourself in your shop, the stew mac blocks are so well designed and inexpensive, it isn't worth the effort of setting up all the jigs and fixtures to make one from scratch.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 1-25-2011
Perfect match for the rest of hardware

The pickups I bought before building this guitar had the usual black plastic type rings. I thought that a chrome version would better match the rest of the chrome hardware. See the results for yourself!

Serge  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Laminated Wood Purfling
Laminated Wood Purfling
5 1-24-2011
Not bright white

I use these because the white wood is maple. Other bought purflings use white fiber that is very white, and that does not work well with my "all wood" aesthetic. This is the next best thing to shop-made flame maple purfling.

Kevin Smith  Atlanta, GA
Displaying 17926 – 17950
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  717  718  719  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce