Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17901 – 17925
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  716  717  718  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 1-27-2011
great bridge

I bought a dbz guitar and could never get it intonated right. I bought this bridge and the intonation is dead on, and the tone increased dramatically. I would definitely buy another. Highly recommended.

mike brown  pa
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
5 1-27-2011
Economy Covered Gear Tuners

I purchased these for my grandsons mini electric that I got from goodwill and decided to upgrade the tuners, specifically because one was missing. Installation was a snap and they hold tune like a dream.

Thanks, Stewmac, for offering such great deals.

suprdave  Evansville,In
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 1-27-2011
Very nice

I bought these for my Cigar box guitar project. Worked out real nice! Fast shipping, quality part

jeffreyz75  Warminster,pa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 1-27-2011
all good.

Good part, fair price. Quick shipping.

jeffreyz75  Warminster,pa Read my reviews (6)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
5 1-27-2011
Natural wood binding

Got curly maple bindings-9pcs and all of them exactly what i needed!!! It ll be awesome bindings!!!

casket  Budapest, Hungary
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 1-27-2011
Essential!

The basic setup kit is a must for every guitarist and bassist out there, who's serious about their instruments. Proper setup is important for a guitar to perform at it's highest potential. This is an investment you're not going to regret!

Magnus Nordbye  Hamar, Norway
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 1-27-2011
Got Bigsby?

This item is a must have for anyone with a Bigsby tailpiece. Just like the item description states, it will fit on standard Gibson posts. My only complaint is that they do not come in nickel. Also, the rollers are NOT locked down, so be careful when you change your strings. Great item. Thanks Stewmac

KBH757  Newport News
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 1-27-2011
Shifting gears

I've used Grover tuners on all my instruments for over forty years or more. The quality is superior. The price is right. Thanks to Dan Erlewine for his article on plugging old screw holes. Although seldom seen except by the player, filling these holes is simply indicative of a true craftsman. Keep on keeping on!

jokerchuck  VA Read my reviews (4)
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
5 1-27-2011
I'm wired.

These wiring kits are great! Nicely packaged and the wiring diagrams easy to follow, even for the electrically challenged. Also, kudos to Erick Coleman for his most informative article on soldering. While you're working on this, I would also suggest you do the shielding thing. Nice and neat! Great sound. No hum. Don't forget those ukulele parts Stew-Mac.

jokerchuck  VA Read my reviews (4)
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
5 1-27-2011
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Great product! I mounted some of the cord in a dental floss frames. The results - better control when cleaning up string slots and I only need one hand.

jokerchuck  VA Read my reviews (4)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 1-27-2011
ukumania

Bone is bone and gives good tone; however, I wanted to try the Tusq product. The people at Tusq offer a pre-slotted nut for ukes, but the shipping cost is too high. Come on, Stew-Mac, people are going crazy for ukuleles these days. Please consider stocking more uke parts.

jokerchuck  VA Read my reviews (4)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 1-27-2011
not long enough

One thing that is standard on Les Paul's be they Gibbies or Epis is that nothing is standard. Stewmac's customer service came through for me again.

VicLP  Pittsburgh Read my reviews (5)
Bell Knob
Bell Knob
5 1-27-2011
Top hats off to Stewmac

Accurate to Gibson OEM knob. Perfect fit.

VicLP  Pittsburgh Read my reviews (5)
Pickup Height Screw for Humbucker
Pickup Height Screw for Humbucker
5 1-27-2011
Trial and error

Upon a change from all black hardware to chrome on a Les Paul, I have come to find out that whether it's a Gibby or Epi, there is no such thing as "standard" on replacement parts. This item however was one of the few that DID work, one problem, one was not threaded properly, so Stewmac promptly sent me another. They are great for customer service!

VicLP  Pittsburgh Read my reviews (5)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 1-26-2011
Great Value & High Quality

Grover has been around so long for a reason. You can pay twice the price and maybe get a 10% increase in quality but is it worth it? These are the go to tuners for me. Smooth, accurate operation and I don't have to sell my first child to pay for them. My last change out was a set of gold 18:1 Rotomatics to a vintage Ibanez M-340 with worn out stock tuners. Wow! Big, big difference and they fit right in with no alterations.

You have to perform due diligence and verify all your dimensions but they look beautiful and with the 18:1, huge improvement in quality/accuracy.

Mark Griego  Lancaster, Ca.
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
4 1-26-2011
A little extra

I'm no luthier but I can work with my hands some so I decided to change the plastic saddle on my Martin to bone and take advantage of a tonal increase. After some shaping and sanding, I fitted the saddle in the bridge just right. After some minor adjustments and bone end pins, the Martin is as sweet as new.

Bikewhisper  USA Read my reviews (2)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-26-2011
String Action Gauge

I have tried several methods of measuring string height. From expensive digital measurement devices to the go-nogo methods. I can say that the String Action Gauge is the easiest, fastest and just best way i have found to do this. I carry it around in my pocket. You'd be surprised how many times a day i reach for it. It's a must have in my opinion

Big Dave  Troy, Missouri Read my reviews (2)
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
5 1-26-2011
Great Upgrade

I recently bought a cheap chinese strat copy to practice on and kick around. About 2 months later, the electronics started to act up (no sound, shorting, etc) so I decided on a pre-wired to replace the junk. After a little dremel work, re-drilling and soldering the strat copy was ready to go. Plugged in and powered up and was amazed at the difference. The copy now sounds as close to the real thing even better than the MIM or MIJ models available now.

Bikewhisper  USA Read my reviews (2)
Pearl Diamonds
Pearl Diamonds
5 1-26-2011
fretboard inlays

I have cut my own inlays by hand with the setup Stew Mac offers and it works great. I have also ordered inlays from elsewhere. But i can say that the star position markers i have ordered from Stew Mac are very exact and precise. I will use them again when appropriate.

Big Dave  Troy, Missouri Read my reviews (2)
Zap-It EZ-Winder
Zap-It EZ-Winder
5 1-26-2011
Zap-it-EZ-Winder

I love the way it can wind at an angle. It does not bind up and fits most tuning knobs.

Jim Heintz  Plano, Texas Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
2 1-26-2011
Save your money

It's alright. It does what it says. but im not satisfied. The marker doesn't really 'put' the clear lacquer on the guitar like i thought it would. Overall, save your money and buy some q-tips, dip them in the lacquer and you'll get the same, if not better, results than the marker would. Also its not really worth 11 dollars. I'd say about 5 or 6 dollars tops.

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob and Bushing Puller
5 1-26-2011
Knob puller works great!

Got the knob puller recently as a Christmas present, and it works very well. The upgrades to a clear body and protective ring on the bottom are good, and let me work safely. Knobs and bushings come out quickly and easily!

Jim Haught  Germantown, Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
Speed Knob
Speed Knob
4 1-26-2011
Maybe a poor batch?

These knobs did not meet my expectations for the price. On close examination of the six I received, there were surface scratches and the bottoms had an abraded edge in one spot on the rim.

All had a similar radial scratch on the surface in the same location. From a distance, the faults are not apparent. For some customers, these small flaws may not be an issue.

Machining the bottoms flat then coating with acrylic paint followed by surface polishing, brought these knobs up to the quality I require.

On a positive note, the black knobs with white numbers are much easier to read than my previous knobs with white numbers on gold. It would be nice if they could produce a gold knob with dark numbers.

S.E.Vincent  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
5 1-26-2011
Fret Beveling File

So easy to use, results are impressive. A great time saver.

Thanks Stewmac

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 1-26-2011
sanding beam

works great for radiusing your fretboard, and your frets. I used this tool continuously when building my guitar. Glue your frets clamp it on and it holds them in!

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 17901 – 17925
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  716  717  718  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce