Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17876 – 17900
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  715  716  717  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
5 1-28-2011
Perfect

Perfect for 3 string instruments like cigar box and strum sticks. great quality for the money.

Quiet Bear  Hillsboro, OR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 1-28-2011
High Quality

Very high quality tool. Well worth the price.

Quiet Bear  Hillsboro, OR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Bosch Colt Router
Bosch Colt Router
5 1-28-2011
The router

Best thing made since swiss cheese

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 1-28-2011
Excellent Service quality items

I have been a new customer for only a short time and have learned a lot from all their video's and have bought a lot of excellent tools from StewMac.com and will continue to do so. I have not had the time to work on my items but do have the highest respect for stewmac.com

Willie N  Kanesatake, Qc. Canada Read my reviews (3)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 1-28-2011
good quality

they cut through wood just like butter

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 1-28-2011
perfect replacements

just what i needed

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 1-28-2011
Plain Maple Neck Blank

The climate I live in is pretty harsh on various woods, especially neck blanks. However, this piece of maple was straight as an arrow through the entire build-great quality Stew-mac.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-28-2011
A "must have" tool!

An essential tool for set ups.

RDL  New Mexico
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
5 1-28-2011
Conversion Bushings

So I picked a cheap partscaster that would not stay in tune, when i examined the bushings on the vintage type tuners they had been wrapped in paper to fit the late model neck! These bushings solved the problem instantly!

Cookie  Colorado
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
3 1-28-2011
Needs new saddle screws HW1 tele

The screws for the height adjustment of the saddles are way to long. When the action is lowered (had to go nearly all the way down when upgrading from vintage bridge) the screws dig into your palm and even hinder playing ability, HW1 Tele.

mattprestler  toledo OH
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
5 1-27-2011
Sampler Sandpaper

Excellent quality. I used the gold paper the most and you can't beat it. The grits of micro papers I used did very well also.

JHM  Oklahoma Read my reviews (4)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 1-27-2011
3M polishing Papers set of 6

Used these to final sand and polish a bone nut. They did an excellent job and I have not stop finding uses for them. Amazing.

JHM  Oklahoma Read my reviews (4)
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
5 1-27-2011
Vintage Bone Saddle

After finding, cutting and shaping a piece of bone by hand, the pre-shaped vintage bone saddle was worth every penny. Very few adjustments were made and great quality.

JHM  Oklahoma Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 1-27-2011
Super Glue

10 and 20 have many application. Both set up well for me. Great quality.

JHM  Oklahoma Read my reviews (4)
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
4 1-27-2011
Good but long posts!

I've tried these fine looking tuners, by carefully installing only one. The locking system is efficient, and the included instructions are useful.

But the post are really too long for my Martin D15, the aesthetics is lost. And you can hit something more easily than with the conventional Rotomatics. I suppose that is impossible for Grover to make shorter posts on this model?

martino_15  Spain Read my reviews (8)
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
2 1-27-2011
LP wire kit

Well let me say it showed up fast, but that's were the good news ends. First off the 3 way toggle switch only had to pols not 3. Middle n down wouldn't stay up. Second, wasn't enough wire for a lespaul and wasn't right kind of wire. The wire set up was for a SG and the volume and tone pots were all A500. Where you need 2 A500 and 2 B500. It's been to long since i got it and i already tried to hook it up so I don't know what to do, but spend more money so not a big help.

twiztidninja  warren RI
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 1-27-2011
Sperzel Trim-Lok Machine Heads

Bought these tuning pegs for my Squire Jagmaster, although not an expensive axe, I really love this thing. The neck is great however, low budget tuners. After installing these pegs (myself) using the template provided, I now enjoy increased tuning stability as well as ease of string replacement. Now I can use the tremelo. Great tuners.

Justin  Gloucester,MA
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Dome Knob
Ivoroid Dome Knob
5 1-27-2011
Ivoroid Dome Knob

These look really great and unique! High quality.

Tower Of One  PA
Guitar Grease
Guitar Grease
2 1-27-2011
Handy but small

Handy thing. But the price per use is very high, unless you are a luthier.

Vile Mary  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 1-27-2011
Only way to go!

I keep all four on my bench. I love not only the ease of use but the look of the finished work as well. Sure no one sees it once you close it up but knowing how solid the job is feels like the guitar is truly custom wired. Because it is! Not having to strip and tin wire is well worth the price of admission. Trust me you will not find a better product for the price. I always look before I leap. So leap!

Vince H  SC
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 1-27-2011
Great book!

Super book! It helped me out a great deal. I also bought the DVD and having the 2 of them is a great reference to have. Keep up the good work!

Rob Schuh  Phoenix, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 1-27-2011
Very forgiving.

The Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge has plenty of adjustments that make them very forgiving on my custom guitars.

K. G. Carpenter  Vienna, WV
Customer supplied image for review
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
5 1-27-2011
If you do nut work, buy these.

Pick up all three and save yourself a lot of trouble.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 1-27-2011
Throw your steel wool in the trash!

Gorgomyte is "the" product to use to clean your frets, bar none. It makes them shine and feel super slippery to the touch. It is safe for all types of fingerboards and best of all, its easy to use. This ones a no brainier folks.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 1-27-2011
Great tool with one exception.

The notched straightedge is a guitar repairman's "must have" tool. There is no way to accurately measure the fretboard without it. This is invaluable when setting up or doing fret and or nut work. By only using a standard straight edge, you are only measuring the frets. The notched edge lets you know if the fretboard is straight or bowed, without the guesswork of just measuring the frets themselves.

The only complaint one could have with the tool is that you need to be extremely careful not to scratch the guitar you are working on, as the edges of the little notches are very sharp. I accidentally slid it across my strat's top and got a nasty gouge. Oh well, it gives the guitar character.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 17876 – 17900
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  715  716  717  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce