Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17826 – 17850
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  713  714  715  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Radius Gauges
Radius Gauges
5 1-30-2011
A must in any repair shop

I love these radius gauges. Now I can see if there's a compound radius on the fretboard. Great tool to have.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 1-30-2011
Great tool

I've used everything from business cards to my wife's quilting ruler. Finally I know exactly what the height is. Looks great too.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
1 1-30-2011
Low quality product

Just not as good as real fret dressers

Ric  Lakewood Read my reviews (8)
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines
5 1-30-2011
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines

Wonderful tuners. Hold a tune great,feel good, VERY good quality. They look great on my Les Paul. These are my new favorite tuners. Almost fun to tune!

Fiddleboy  USA
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
5 1-30-2011
Strong bonding stuff!

I ordered the slow setting clear epoxy to hold a couple carbon fiber rods in place in a guitar neck, and the stuff works great. It has a viscosity similar to that of honey or syrup, so it was easily spread to cover the entire cavity without flowing back to one end or the other.

A word of advice though... Be sure to use in WELL VENTILATED areas!!! the resin was not so bad but the hardener is one of the most foul smelling chemicals I've ever came across. It does dry scent free though :)

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
3 1-30-2011
Not bad, could be better

It's a well done tool. It's not very easy to use, it's a bit too long so when you turn the handle, it tends to escape from the machine knob if you're not perfectly in his axle. The second point is that the handle refuses to turn freely without modification (simple), unscrew the handle, pass a coat of wax on the part in contact between handle and arm then screw it again leaving a very small gap and you're done.
After having doing this it's better, just a bit too long.

Trabalon Guitares  Moissac France
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
5 1-30-2011
Wow!

Nothing brings the wood to life like a good shellacking. My first French polish went well and looks great. The second and third are looking even better. Great stuff.

Huntzmeyer  IL Read my reviews (5)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 1-30-2011
Nothing beats the right tool

Nothing beats the right tool for the job. These work great, even the fine 010. Don't waste time improvising.

Huntzmeyer  IL Read my reviews (5)
Jaws3
Jaws3
4 1-30-2011
Great tool but you must be careful

I bought a j-3 when it first came out. Almost immediately I screwed the middle screw down too far and ruined the retaining ball bearing. S.M. folks are such great people - they sent me a new one immediately - no charge. After not needing to use the tool for several months (I have all their other fretting tools, J1,J2, fret press, and hammers - and use them regularly) I forgot about the bearing and once again broke it. My own fault. No excuses this time. I do think the plastic knobs for pressing down the brass inserts are weak (metal or a different type would be nice) - I cracked one tightening it. So all in all - The tool has it's uses, but YOU also have to know it's limitations. Like many of S.M.'s tools, it's meant to be used by professional, trained luthiers - not wood workers who think they are guitar "builders". I applaud S.M. for all their recent "training" videos as it has expanded their market place and helped many a player. I am a big S.M. supporter and have many/most of their tools. I am glad I bought this tool. Sometimes it's just what you need to get the job done. Time is money. Just wish they sold replacement bearings/parts for forgetful people like me. :)

Dave - Siesta Key Guitars  Sarasota Florida
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 1-30-2011
Great Switch

At a show recently my bass player got a bit over zelous and knocked my backup guitar off it's stand and broke the toggle switch. Got my replacement from stew mac. It works fantastic-and even better they send both black and white switch covers. Orders are always delivered in record time. Stew Mac you rock!

Michael Powers  Topeka,Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 1-30-2011
Works Wonders

I recently purchased the Fret Rocker because I was having trouble finding high spots on the setups I'd been doing. This is a perfect tool to find that one high spot on a fret board, without the expense and hassle of leveling the entire board. Best purchase Ive made in a long time! Gotta Love Stew Mac!!

Michael Powers  Topeka,Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
5 1-30-2011
Micarta Nuts

I bought Micarta nuts since I read good reviews on it at Stewmac. I used it for the first time on a quite cheap bass of Jazz model, and could immediately experience much better sound even listening to the acoustic sound without pluging in to an amplifier. I will keep on using these for coming repairs and recommend them to my customers. Easy to shape and slot.

maronima  Karlstad, Sweden
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 1-30-2011
Awesome bridge!

I was unable to intonate my Epiphone Sheraton so I purchased this bridge. It gave plenty of room to properly adjust the bridge for proper intonation. I love it. Thank you Stew Mac

Bill S  Chicago
No Knot Banjo Tailpiece
No Knot Banjo Tailpiece
5 1-30-2011
Pretty little tailpiece

I have purchased a few of these lately. They are well designed and manufactured and look good on my banjos.

Steve Skinner  Kokomo, IN Read my reviews (4)
Tailpiece Bracket
Tailpiece Bracket
5 1-30-2011
Nice parts.

This bracket works very well and is pretty to boot.

Steve Skinner  Kokomo, IN Read my reviews (4)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 1-30-2011
Good thing I bought this one

After finishing my last neck I noticed it has lost it's straightness in the direction away from string tension. By turning the nut counterclockwise I was able to take the curvature out of the neck in just a moment. First time I ever had a neck bow in that direction.

Steve Skinner  Kokomo, IN Read my reviews (4)
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
5 1-30-2011
very nice sleeves

These sleeves are great and long lasting.

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
4 1-30-2011
Great saw but...

A great saw blade that cut smooth and easy but the handle is awkward.

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 1-30-2011
The ones to use

Although the 150 grit discolor white wood (maple) and actually leaves a yellow powder the 3M Gold Fre-Cut is a great sanding paper. I use every grade except for the 150 grit because of the discoloring. The others does not do that.

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3 1-30-2011
Rust?

I have several brands of high quality routing bits and none of them rust. These one does they rust on the edges and I don't know why? I think that the ball bearing is too thin. Otherwise, it does the job.

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 1-29-2011
fret wire

what can I say all of the fret wire I have purchased from Stewart McDonald has been perfect. I cant say enough about the products and service I get from the staff at Stew mac thanks to everyone keep up the good work.

ERIC SELLS  COLORADO Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 1-29-2011
HOT ROD

I use the Hot Rod truss rod in all my guitars for me it is easy to install and works like a champ every time and has never let me down. I will continue to use it in all my custom builds Electric or Acoustic hands down its the best.

ERIC SELLS  COLORADO Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
5 1-29-2011
Luthier Fretting Hammer

A must have tool for the beginner or serious luthier! Makes fretting a joy. Well worth the extra cost. Very usable. Buy it,you won't regret it!!

furynut69  Germantown,WI. Read my reviews (7)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
1 1-29-2011
very low quality screws

Screwing these into piloted holes, and they still broke leaving metal bits in the head of my guitar. I've never seen screws so prone to breaking as these!

Nathan  Arlington, VA
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
Fret/Fingerboard Levelers
5 1-29-2011
I love it

I use this beam all the time,it's great. Takes all the guess work out of it. Planning on getting the other sizes too.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Displaying 17826 – 17850
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  713  714  715  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce