Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17801 – 17825
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  712  713  714  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
5 1-31-2011
Perfect for Inlay

I use the black one for inlays on ebony and the results are superb. On occasion if the gap is too large you may have to drop fill, but once sanded you cannot tell at all.

Billy  UK Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 1-31-2011
all that I needed

I have a new shop in a new area so I used stuff off the DVD straight away. I got a new Dan book signed. What else do I need apart from customers, but they'll stop me from reading the EXCELLENT book

Ben  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (6)
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
2 1-31-2011
Disappointing

I have to agree with some earlier reviews. These clamps are overpriced and not up to the quality standard I usually see from Stew Mac. Yes, they will help you do the job, but I am hoping for an improved item in the future.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
4 1-31-2011
Nothing else like it

This is a great tool. There is no other tool that so easily helps to mark out spacing measurements. That said, it can be a little clumsy to bend the rule over a curved piece of material and hold it in place while trying to mark it. Other than that, a great tool.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
5 1-31-2011
Excellent product

Easy to work with, finish up nicely, and much classier than plastic.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
3 1-31-2011
too much?

I thought I would use these more than I do (in my small repair shop) but I don't. They are a little big and heavy for instrument work, and I find a lot of output jacks, for example, don't fit. I end up using the ESP multi spanner way more often.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 1-31-2011
small repair shop

I have a small repair shop and do setups all the time. Each item in this kit is one that I use constantly. Well worth the investment.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
Batt-O-Meter
Batt-O-Meter
5 1-31-2011
Great

Why didn't someone think of this about 450 batteries ago? Great tool for the repair shop and the working musician.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
5th String Peghole Reamer
5th String Peghole Reamer
5 1-31-2011
Specific

This is a great tool that does one thing and does it well - ream the hole for a geared 5th string tuner on a banjo. No, I don't use it everyday, but when that repair comes up and can get it done quickly and easily. If you ever get banjo repairs in your shop you need one of these.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
5 1-31-2011
Gets the job done

I bought these when I had a guitar with a stripped truss nut. I bought the whole set, figuring I'll need them eventually. I fixed the guitar is about 3 minutes. I'll be using these from now on instead of the cheapies that come in every new guitar box. Great wrench, no worries.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
Needle Files
Needle Files
4 1-31-2011
good for plastic, wood, metal

awesome for rounding off fret ends, or even on wood. Also useful on pickgaurds.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
Roller String Retainers for Guitar
4 1-31-2011
nothing wrong

do what they're meant to, cant complain on price

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
String-thru Top Ferrules
String-thru Top Ferrules
5 1-31-2011
great for string thru's

no problems, just remember that they come in packs of 6. I coincidentally ordered enough for six guitars last week lol.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
Saddlematic
Saddlematic
5 1-31-2011
Narrower Frets Not A Problem

The correct way to use the tool is to place the fret block (shorter, slotted aluminum block) in contact with the edge of the 12th fret closest to the nut, set the saddle block flush with the face of the nut/end of fretboard. Then reverse the tool and place the fret block in contact with the edge of the 12th fret towards the saddle. This eliminates any issues with narrower/wider frets.

If the instructions are followed, even narrow 3/32" saddles will provide adequate room for compensation. With wider saddle, make sure to follow the instructions on offset to the face of the saddle.

Greenridge Guitars  Germantown, MD
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
5 1-31-2011
fits gibson sg's fairly well

Gibson SG's are picky when it comes to strap buttons, Schallers do not work, they will bore to the fingerboard. Marvels do not fit at all with the farther strap holder. These work pretty well despite their price. Would still recommend other strap locks to the more expensive guitars.

Amos E  Las Vegas NV
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs 6-In-Line
5 1-31-2011
Like this one!!

I love this Tuners. Design is different from ordinary.

Hafetz  Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Straight Router Bits
Straight Router Bits
3 1-31-2011
Useful but get plenty of them

These are great for the detailed inlay work that is part and parcel of high-end guitar making. But expect to spend a good deal of time replacing bits, as these are by no means the most durable option on the market. And buy a few more than you think you need for the same reason. Low cost is good; short lifespan can be frustrating.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 1-31-2011
More than worth it.

If you make more than a couple of guitars a year, this more than pays for itself in accuracy, ease of use with the miter cutting box and efficiency of use.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 1-31-2011
Best option for the binding job

Fantastic solution to the binding quandary. This tape sticks without slippage and has the tension to hold wood bindings with confidence. Could be a little tougher on the corners, where it is liable to tear under high application pressure. But all told, this binding tape beats elastic bands and all measure of complicated clamping arrangements for obstructive binding materials.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
4 1-31-2011
slick and easy

I have no idea where the pick-ups come from. But for this price I guess does it really matter? They make strat noises and work fine in my Squier until I decide whether or not to invest in "real" pups.
Otherwise very good thing here. I was given an older Korean Strat where the switch and pots and wires were all shot, and this thing saved me a lot of work. I had to redrill one or two screw holes, but overall it was a breeze. Nice.

MrBiggs  Philadelphia Read my reviews (2)
6mm Tremolo Arm
6mm Tremolo Arm
5 1-31-2011
no rubber thing on the end

At first I was worried that I needed that rubber endy thing. But now I like it without.

MrBiggs  Philadelphia Read my reviews (2)
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
4 1-30-2011
Beautiful Abalone Dot Bone Bridge Pins

I bought these bridge pins after I had been looking around the internet considering making several small modifications to my guitar. I settled on these pins because I wanted some other items from this website. The price was very competitive, the pictures looked very nice, and StewMac seemed to have very good customer support.

I ordered these back about the beginning of January and finally installed them the end of January. Upon receiving the pins I was very impressed with their appearance (I had specifically requested that the abalone be vibrant and they seem to have complied). They were very well polished and looked identical in terms of size and shape. (I have one small complaint here though, one of the pins the I received was chipped at the bottom and another had a strange "bend" at the bottom. Neither of these imperfections affect the pins performance, but I was not completely impressed with that.)

Having installed the pins they look very good on the guitar, although the bone looks strange next to the cheap plastic saddle that the guitar came with. Either way they also seem to have made the guitar sound a little brighter and the guitar seems to be projecting slightly better now.

I will certainly recommend these pins. They have all that I have been looking for and StewMac was very good in providing me the product quickly and as requested.

Samuel Fleming  Dubuque, IA
Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 1-30-2011
Very nice

I recently picked up Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series DVDS. Great resource to have if your looking to get into the business. Thanks Dan for all years of wisdom and the willingness to share. I've learned a lot from you.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 1-30-2011
Can't imagine working without it

Quickly reads the fretboard and lets me know where the problem areas are. If you don't correct the fretboard first,your frets wont be right either.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Diamond Fret File
Diamond Fret File
5 1-30-2011
My favorite file

The best thing about this file is that you can file in both directions. Leaving only 300 grit scratches behind which are easy to sand out. Definitely high quality.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Displaying 17801 – 17825
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  712  713  714  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce