Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17751 – 17775
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  710  711  712  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 2-03-2011
Awesome file!

I recently bought a new Charvel Pro-Mod and it was shipped from the east coast to my home. After a few weeks when the neck settled into the dry midwest winter air, the fret ends became drastically exposed. Humidification didn't seem to help so I looked into getting the fret ends filed professionally. My local store said they would basically take a Dremel tool to the fret ends!!! What??? So, I looked here at STEW MAC and bought the fret end file for a fraction of the cost of what the music store was going to charge me for the "Dremel hack-job." After spending about an hour with the Stew Mac fret-end file, my neck feels as smooth as silk! This file is definitely worth every penny and very easy to use (I'm a novice and figured it out). Kudos to Stew Mac for supplying a great product and for all the different instructional videos which gave me the confidence to try this product! I will be back for more!!!

CoffeeDrinker71  Indianapolis, IN
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs 3L/3R
5 2-03-2011
Tuner Upgrade

Replaced the stock tuning machines on an Epiphone EL-00. Quality component and much more precise tuning.

Max Woehle  Florida Read my reviews (2)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 2-03-2011
Tusq Compensated Saddle

I installed the Gibson-style compensated bridge saddle on an Epiphone EL-00. The install was easy and the new saddle made a tremendous difference in the sound of this budget guitar. Highly recommended!

Max Woehle  Florida Read my reviews (2)
Shubb 5th String Capo
Shubb 5th String Capo
5 2-02-2011
Easy to fit, and works well

Small wire drill, and set the capo by eye, took 15 minutes or so. Works well without having to move the 5th string nut closer to the edge. by mounting a little high and moving bridge very slightly. Excellent price, range and service - Well done Stew-Mac!

Stephen Coleman  Australia
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
5 2-02-2011
Great time saving tool

I would highly recommend to build a body block (bolt-on neck body surrogate) as explained in the detailed instructions, this make the work simpler and permits secure your real bodies (see attached picture)

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
5 2-02-2011
Economy Tuners a great replacement for my Son's Hondo II

These tuners where a great replacement for the worn tuners on my son's 1980's Hondo II Guitar. Thanks.

Greg Brown  Somerset, NJ
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-02-2011
Reliable Quality

Stew Mac nut blanks are consistently top quality. The increase in tonal range over plastic is easy to hear. And, the vintage bone looks good too.

DJ1441JD  Verona, PA Read my reviews (3)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 2-02-2011
Looks good!

I bought this file to recrown the frets on my Epi Les Paul. Overall, I think it worked good. I just needed to polish some frets after recrowning them to get rid of a few harsh file marks. But i think this was my fault, cause it's the first time i have done it! Thumbs up for stewmac! ;)

Tadas Rudnickas  Denmark
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 2-02-2011
1993 charvel-japan he's back!

Thank you Stewart MacDonald you Rock!

rasit ozisik  Turkey
Customer supplied image for review
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 2-02-2011
A Wonderful Tool

Without a doubt one of the most useful tool I have ever purchased. Makes setup a breeze.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 2-02-2011
Time Saver

This is one of the best buys I've had for the money. What a time saver. No more de-tuning and re-tuning during nut height adjustments. Wish I'd got this sooner.

Tim B  NC Read my reviews (4)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 2-02-2011
Nice!

Got the Turbo Tune in a timely manner. Was extremely pleased at the quality and look of it. I have only used it once so far and it was very nice.

Martaan66  Coldwater, Michigan
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 2-02-2011
Easy to work with

The Tusq material is easy to work with. It files and cuts easily, but is hard enough that it can be fine fitted with 400 grit sandpaper. No unpleasant burnt bone dust smell, either. The tone was improved over a bone saddle that had been shimmed. Installed in a high end Ovation acoustic guitar.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 2-02-2011
It is as good as everyone says

It vastly improved the playability of a 12 string to get the string spacing correct. Super simple to use. Worth the money even if you only do one nut, but you'll want to make new nuts for all your instruments after doing the first.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
5 2-02-2011
Easy to make perfect

Tusq is an easy material to work with, and no unpleasant smell like bone. For a beginner I found it easy to file off quickly, yet a gentle sanding will only take off very small amounts. It even polishes up pretty well, though not as shiny as bone. Glued in firmly with plain white glue, just like bone. Tip: don't file the string slots to the final depth until the nut is glued in and the glue is dry.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 2-02-2011
Finest Strap Button Felt Washers in the World

If you are reading this you are probably a guitar/string instrument nut like myself and a StewMac devotee. Every instrument creates it's sound through a balance of many factors. Without the finest felt washers your instrument would not perform to our high expectations and meet our discerning tastes in regard to finished appearance. Then again you haven't seen what I've built. Either way, super fine felt washers! Enjoy. DL.

DanL11  Pelham, NY
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 2-02-2011
Excellent Color

After sanding the fretboard numerous times on my Bass defret project, I was worried about the color once I was finished. This oil was perfect. It went on well and really adds to the color of the bass.

jaddingtonii  Virginia Beach, VA
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Joint Steamer
Neck Joint Steamer
5 2-02-2011
Works great!

I used this along with my wife's portable steamer to get a fret board off a smashed Les Paul and then to remove the neck from the neck pocket. Took some time, but the neck came off like butter once I got good steam into the joints.

smashedguitars  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
5 2-02-2011
Excellent Product!

Much better than steel wool, shine frets like jewelry.

Rick C.  Halifax, MA Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Grooved Tension Hoops
Five-Star Grooved Tension Hoops
1 2-02-2011
12" Grooved Banjo Hoop

Grooved Hoop No.0236 Described as "for a 12"Diameter Banjo Rim". The Hoop measures EXACTLY 12" and sits perfectly on top of my 12" Orpheum rim.

Bill Salmond  United Kingdom
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-02-2011
Time saver!

The quality of the bone nuts are very good and the pre-cut shapes save me a lot of time installing a new nut. They polish up well to give a nice vintage look.

Gtr-Tek  Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 2-02-2011
it's all about the vintage look

I recently purchased these tuners to replace the ones on my LTD EC-400. The stock tuners were also Grover, but just didn't have the added flair that I wanted. These fit with no modifications and look fantastic, they hold tune great and have that vintage vibe. Kudos!

Kenny Page  Garner, NC, USA Read my reviews (3)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 2-02-2011
Pure HEAVEN!

I recently started binding my fingerboards and this tool shaved hours off fretting. I use it in conjunction with the fret bender and can lay 22 frets in about 30 minutes. Awesome tool!!

B. Jesson  Chandler, AZ, USA Read my reviews (4)
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 2-02-2011
Friggin love this stuff!

Lengths are perfect, price not bad, and goes on nicely especially if using the Stew-Mac router bit and bearings. I typically sand to flush it to the instrument surface then lightly scrape it to bring out the pure whites and blacks. Beautiful material!

B. Jesson  Chandler, AZ, USA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 2-02-2011
I don't use any other brand now...

I used to use the martin style truss rods until I used the two-way hot rods. With the ability to adjust in both directions I don't have to worry about any curvature. The best part is if the rod gets damaged in anyway they are not too difficult to remove and replace if the neck and slot were built correctly. All my builds now use the Hot Rod truss.

B. Jesson  Chandler, AZ, USA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 17751 – 17775
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  710  711  712  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce