Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17726 – 17750
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  709  710  711  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Pickup Height Screw for Humbucker
Pickup Height Screw for Humbucker
3 2-03-2011
Know your screw sizes

Ordered humbucker screws (4386 Humbucker, nickel) for a Samick Royale RL-2. The thread size was too small and the screw slipped right through the hole in the bracket. I probably needed a 4-40 screw or maybe something more exotic in a metric size. Off to the hardware store.

TLF  Cleveland, OH
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
Neck Mounting Ferrule Screws
3 2-03-2011
Could be better

They are kind of soft and they bend easily. As important as they are I would gladly pay a little more for Stainless Steel screws. Problem is this is all I can find from anyone.

Anthony  Fort Wayne, IN
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 2-03-2011
Stewmac, the specialist.

There wasn't a shop in all of Chicago that had replacement tuners for my bass. I couldn't believe it. One shop in Worth IL could get them but knew it would be just as easy for me to get them myself. They directed me to Stewart McDonald. I was able to get a new set of tuners in just a few days and had them installed right away. StewMac saved the day.

David Johnson  Chicago IL
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 2-03-2011
Radiado Perfecto!!

Necesitaba rectificar el mástil de Maple de mi Strat. antes de colocar nuevos trastes. Con éste artículo ha quedado el mástil con su radio de 9,5" perfectos y sin esfuerzo. Os lo Recomiendo!!

Alfredo  NA - Spain
Customer supplied image for review
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
4 2-03-2011
Where's my Hot Rod?

Great video! Excellent info/close ups, but come on, throw in some hot rodding techniques to make it perfect!

Itchy's  Texas
Black Plastic Binding
Black Plastic Binding
5 2-03-2011
BLACK PLASTIC BINDING

Great product

banjograham  UK Read my reviews (3)
Waverly Banjo Tailpiece
Waverly Banjo Tailpiece
2 2-03-2011
WAVERLEY TAILPIECE

Not impressed with this tailpiece which is meager in thickness and lacks the traditional "meat" of the trad Waverley.

banjograham  UK Read my reviews (3)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
2 2-03-2011
Cheap Anodizing

Folks, I bought the black anodized screws for my project. Problem is, the anodizing is very thin, comes off with a screwdriver almost immediately, which kinda defeats the object.

Larry Lion  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 2-03-2011
What I needed

Just what I needed at a fair price.

Rockymo  Little Rock, Ar Read my reviews (2)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 2-03-2011
Awesome file!

I recently bought a new Charvel Pro-Mod and it was shipped from the east coast to my home. After a few weeks when the neck settled into the dry midwest winter air, the fret ends became drastically exposed. Humidification didn't seem to help so I looked into getting the fret ends filed professionally. My local store said they would basically take a Dremel tool to the fret ends!!! What??? So, I looked here at STEW MAC and bought the fret end file for a fraction of the cost of what the music store was going to charge me for the "Dremel hack-job." After spending about an hour with the Stew Mac fret-end file, my neck feels as smooth as silk! This file is definitely worth every penny and very easy to use (I'm a novice and figured it out). Kudos to Stew Mac for supplying a great product and for all the different instructional videos which gave me the confidence to try this product! I will be back for more!!!

CoffeeDrinker71  Indianapolis, IN
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs 3L/3R
5 2-03-2011
Tuner Upgrade

Replaced the stock tuning machines on an Epiphone EL-00. Quality component and much more precise tuning.

Max Woehle  Florida Read my reviews (2)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 2-03-2011
Tusq Compensated Saddle

I installed the Gibson-style compensated bridge saddle on an Epiphone EL-00. The install was easy and the new saddle made a tremendous difference in the sound of this budget guitar. Highly recommended!

Max Woehle  Florida Read my reviews (2)
Shubb 5th String Capo
Shubb 5th String Capo
5 2-02-2011
Easy to fit, and works well

Small wire drill, and set the capo by eye, took 15 minutes or so. Works well without having to move the 5th string nut closer to the edge. by mounting a little high and moving bridge very slightly. Excellent price, range and service - Well done Stew-Mac!

Stephen Coleman  Australia
Erlewine Neck Jig
Erlewine Neck Jig
5 2-02-2011
Great time saving tool

I would highly recommend to build a body block (bolt-on neck body surrogate) as explained in the detailed instructions, this make the work simpler and permits secure your real bodies (see attached picture)

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
5 2-02-2011
Economy Tuners a great replacement for my Son's Hondo II

These tuners where a great replacement for the worn tuners on my son's 1980's Hondo II Guitar. Thanks.

Greg Brown  Somerset, NJ
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-02-2011
Reliable Quality

Stew Mac nut blanks are consistently top quality. The increase in tonal range over plastic is easy to hear. And, the vintage bone looks good too.

DJ1441JD  Verona, PA Read my reviews (3)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 2-02-2011
Looks good!

I bought this file to recrown the frets on my Epi Les Paul. Overall, I think it worked good. I just needed to polish some frets after recrowning them to get rid of a few harsh file marks. But i think this was my fault, cause it's the first time i have done it! Thumbs up for stewmac! ;)

Tadas Rudnickas  Denmark
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 2-02-2011
1993 charvel-japan he's back!

Thank you Stewart MacDonald you Rock!

rasit ozisik  Turkey
Customer supplied image for review
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 2-02-2011
A Wonderful Tool

Without a doubt one of the most useful tool I have ever purchased. Makes setup a breeze.

Mason R.  CO Read my reviews (6)
String Lifter
String Lifter
5 2-02-2011
Time Saver

This is one of the best buys I've had for the money. What a time saver. No more de-tuning and re-tuning during nut height adjustments. Wish I'd got this sooner.

Tim B  NC Read my reviews (4)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 2-02-2011
Nice!

Got the Turbo Tune in a timely manner. Was extremely pleased at the quality and look of it. I have only used it once so far and it was very nice.

Martaan66  Coldwater, Michigan
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 2-02-2011
Easy to work with

The Tusq material is easy to work with. It files and cuts easily, but is hard enough that it can be fine fitted with 400 grit sandpaper. No unpleasant burnt bone dust smell, either. The tone was improved over a bone saddle that had been shimmed. Installed in a high end Ovation acoustic guitar.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 2-02-2011
It is as good as everyone says

It vastly improved the playability of a 12 string to get the string spacing correct. Super simple to use. Worth the money even if you only do one nut, but you'll want to make new nuts for all your instruments after doing the first.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
5 2-02-2011
Easy to make perfect

Tusq is an easy material to work with, and no unpleasant smell like bone. For a beginner I found it easy to file off quickly, yet a gentle sanding will only take off very small amounts. It even polishes up pretty well, though not as shiny as bone. Glued in firmly with plain white glue, just like bone. Tip: don't file the string slots to the final depth until the nut is glued in and the glue is dry.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 2-02-2011
Finest Strap Button Felt Washers in the World

If you are reading this you are probably a guitar/string instrument nut like myself and a StewMac devotee. Every instrument creates it's sound through a balance of many factors. Without the finest felt washers your instrument would not perform to our high expectations and meet our discerning tastes in regard to finished appearance. Then again you haven't seen what I've built. Either way, super fine felt washers! Enjoy. DL.

DanL11  Pelham, NY
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 17726 – 17750
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  709  710  711  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce