Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17701 – 17725
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  708  709  710  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 2-06-2011
Outstanding!

Great colors, transparent,brings out the beauty in the wood and is easy to work with.

Mike McCallum  Windsor Ontario,Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 2-06-2011
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON OTHER BRANDS

These pickups could easily be the best I've ever used on any guitar. I built a guitar based on the prs custom 24 and installed two black exposed coils and they sound AMAZING. Amazing mellow tone and sustain

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Tremolo Bridge Mounting Screws
Tremolo Bridge Mounting Screws
5 2-06-2011
trem bridge mounting screws

Hard material. Far superior to Ping, Allparts or other Chinese screws! Ty M.

62es335  tennessee Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-06-2011
vintage bone nut

I always use vintage bone nuts as they are harder and much more beautiful when polished than bleached bone(colors are always different). They are more prone to chipping but vintage bone dust and superglue mix fills in nicely and non detectable to the naked eye. They do have soft spots sometimes but I don't mind, as they are the very best sounding and looking material. Period! Ty M.

62es335  tennessee Read my reviews (2)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 2-06-2011
Great Stuff

This polish is the best there is. It has no equal. If you are using something else, you need to try this. You'll never go back.

dwcpsc  South Africa Read my reviews (3)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 2-06-2011
Swirl Remover

This stuff works miracles. It is absolutely amazing and does just what it says. I could not believe how easy it is to use and the results were beyond expectations. If there was a way to give it more than 5 stars I would.

dwcpsc  South Africa Read my reviews (3)
Polishing Cloth
Polishing Cloth
2 2-06-2011
Good cloth but . . . .

The cloth is soft but doesn't bring a good shine like even an old cotton t shirt does. The flannel does tend to fray a bit as well. It may benefit from a run through the washing machine.

dwcpsc  South Africa Read my reviews (3)
Binding Router Bearings
Binding Router Bearings
5 2-06-2011
Can't buy them at the hardware store.

It's great that you have all different size bearings to chose from. They work well with stew/mac router bits.

Mike McCallum  Windsor Ontario,Canada Read my reviews (2)
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
5 2-06-2011
Banjo Tuner Knobs

I saw a blog where someone used these to replace tuner knobs on a copy of a Hofner violin bass. Not sure if they would work or if I could get them on, I took the chance. Anyways, it was a very easy switch, they fit and look great and dealing with StewMac was awesome.

MarkB  Meriden, CT
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 2-06-2011
Really....Why Pay More???

I have 2 Golden age humbuckers(reg. wound)in my 1990 Les Paul Special,and an overwound bridge in my ESP les paul copy(with coil tap-works great)and the sound I get from these guitars is AMAZING. These pickups really nail the "P.A.F." tone, which IMO, is the holy grail of guitar tones. They work exceedingly well with mahogany bodied guitars. If your guitar is alder/basswood you probably want to avoid the overwounds, as they can get muddy with those types of wood.

Don't fall for the "boutique pickup" hype. These are the real deal-Thanks Stewmac.

John B.  Long Island,New York
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 2-06-2011
gauged nut slotting files

Simply does the job first time every time quickly and properly. Nut slots are an important part of the setting up of any stringed musical instrument. Would buy these again

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
5 2-06-2011
adjustable toggle switch wrench

Still using the wrong tool for the job? We all have done it haven't we! Now we have no problem undoing a switch ring with one of these fantastic tools no more mauling, scratching, denting guitars

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
5 2-06-2011
tune-o-medic bridge and tailpiece tools

Man if you own or work on any guitar with a tune-o-matic bridge or with a stop tail you need these tools. My own gibson, a gold top needed some adjustments in that department. Did I use the wrong tools for the job? No way that would be a crime. See the on-line video for yourself.

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 2-06-2011
vintage push-back wire

This type of wire is expensive in England £4.65 per 16 inches. So if you're like me you use a lot of it buying in bulk is much cheaper. I used this to re wire a les paul and its so easy to use just push back the cloth, hold it back with a crock clip, solder the connection and pull back the cloth. Hay presto one neat finished piece of soldering.

I strongly urge you to buy this product its fantastic and you get the vibe of the early vintage guitars to boot

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Seam Separation Knife
Seam Separation Knife
5 2-06-2011
Well Made

The blade is hard with a finely ground surface and performs its purpose beautiful. I am also pleased it was made on this side of the ocean.

Thomas  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Glue Syringe
Glue Syringe
4 2-05-2011
Far Better than Disposables

The very small plunger and tabs on an ordinary syringe makes it difficult (and painful) to apply glue at the pressure needed to penetrate deeply into a crack. If the repair is long, it can be tiring as well. This syringe is easy to use and you can get a good grip for a high pressure delivery that can be maintained without discomfort. Attach 1/8" stiff plastic tubing and you can reach remote areas (the inside of guitars or furniture). Its easy to clean too.

Thomas  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 2-05-2011
Versatile Tool

This nipper works very well for trimming and pulling frets, however, it is also very useful in the machine shop. It trims milling burrs flush, it will grasp and pull items that protrude only a little above a surface. It will cut wire accurately to length and will trim shim stock without leaving a kink.

A word of caution - in order to cut flush, its edge must be thin and sharp. Cutting narrow hardened materials will damage this edge. It is a fine well made tool.

Thomas  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
5 2-05-2011
Nice Match

This wire was used on an old inexpensive Stewart archtop that the owner wanted to be playable but left, as much as possible, in its badly worn condition. The new frets are tight and match the originals almost perfectly. I am very pleased with the result.

Thomas  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
5 2-05-2011
pearl dots

They where easy to install. I will not hesitate to use them in future projects.

Dan Reid  Salem,Va.
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 2-05-2011
Just what I needed

I'm using the ColorTone Vintage Amber to finish Fender style necks. I mix a few drops of dye with a cup or so of denatured alcohol and apply it with a foam brush. Lightly sand with 600 grit sandpaper after the first coat then apply a second a second coat to even it out. After the second coat is dry I clear coat it with gloss nitro and it looks like an old Fender neck. Just what I needed!

Fat Al Johnson  Ann Arbor, MI
Pickup Kit for P-Bass
Pickup Kit for P-Bass
2 2-05-2011
+1 on "minor flaws"

The bobbin top and bottom do not line up. The supplied cover doesn't fit. Neither does a Fender cover. Other than that,they are nicely made.
This is the first problem I have had with any pickup kit.

Al K.  New Mexico
Standard Truss Rod Cover for Guitar
Standard Truss Rod Cover for Guitar
3 2-05-2011
Average

Does the job at a reasonable price. The curved edges were very rough cut, and needed sanding/filing to look good.

JC  MA Read my reviews (2)
Wilkinson/Gotoh Adjustable Bridge/Tailpiece
Wilkinson/Gotoh Adjustable Bridge/Tailpiece
5 2-05-2011
Great bridge.

Very nice quality. Easy drop-in replacement for Gibson Melody Maker. Keeps the vintage look, and intonates well.

JC  MA Read my reviews (2)
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo Arm
Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo Arm
5 2-05-2011
Just the same.

i buy this one in chrome to replace a lost tremolo arm from VS50II ,can i say that is the same one, i went to buy another one for backup.

Just the same.  Campinas ,Brazil
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-05-2011
Vintage Bone Nut Material

Unexpectedly? I think not, once again our friends at Stew- Mac have developed a product for repair shops saving time which we know = $$$.
The vintage bone material for saddles and nuts meets the "Low Void" test. My wife is a doctor and allowed her frankenstienian husband to use the x-ray machine to explore the cow bone for voids and found it hardy and solid, not like the fossilized ivory. However, not all instruments call for that. Great job fellas!
Shooz

Shooz  Atlanta GA USA
Displaying 17701 – 17725
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  708  709  710  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce