Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17651 – 17675
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  706  707  708  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
2 2-09-2011
Almost there, but not for me

I experienced the same problem than the previous review entitled "almost but not quite". It would not stay firmly enough at one position. When putting it in one position, just shaking the switch puts it back in the middle position. Also, when its in the middle position, the arm is loose and rattles. If the switch is mounted on a hollowbody, the soundboard amplifies the rattle. I ended up installing another brand (more expensive though) on my Epiphone Casino. It might do the job for solid body guitars.

Vile Mary  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 2-09-2011
ColorTone Polishing Compounds

Simple to use, very useful

Beppe Manconi  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
4 2-09-2011
Natural Wood Bindings

Very nice simple to use, it's been on my last three years guitars.

Beppe Manconi  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 2-09-2011
Trem Spring

It's a trem spring, what can I say? I ordered to use on a newer USA So Cal Charvel and it was identical with the exception of chrome plating (which really doesn't matter). As always, Stemac delivered a quality product.

blackcloud45  Read my reviews (2)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 2-09-2011
Electrosocket Jack Mount

I installed one in my 66' tele and was very pleased with it's sturdiness. The electrosocket jack mount is the greatest invention for the telecaster since the tele was first invented. I think Leo Fender himself would have approved.

Texan76107  Fort Worth, TX
Gibson Truss Rod Nut
Gibson® Truss Rod Nut
5 2-09-2011
Good replacement

My original nut was rounded, and this seems to be a good replacement.

Tom F  VA Read my reviews (3)
Fret Scale Rule
Fret Scale Rule
5 2-09-2011
Excellent

It has various rules as described:24.562 , 24.625 , 24.750, 25.300
It is very useful to measure and also to cut. Very accurate! Good material.
Gibson rules. No more guesses!

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Gripper Strap Buttons
Gripper Strap Buttons
5 2-09-2011
Good alternative

Much cheaper ,and easier to deal with than some strap locks , especially if you don't do a lot of acrobatics on stage. :)

Tom F  VA Read my reviews (3)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 2-09-2011
Good file

As far as I can tell this is a pretty good file. I'm not an expert ,but it works for me.

Tom F  VA Read my reviews (3)
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
5 2-09-2011
Very good set

It is very accurate and it matches the Gotoh tremolo perfectly! Good material.

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
5 2-09-2011
Very accurate!

Very good!It is very accurate and there is no chance for error.The material is very good and a good price.

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 2-09-2011
Good wood!

The wood is very good and the quality is great. It is value for money! I just would appreciate if Stewart MacDonald listed the measures in cm or mm. It would be easier for a lot of people if we could have in inches and in centimeters or millimeters.

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
5 2-09-2011
Good bridge

I play the guitar for 17 years and I know Gotoh for a long time but I never had a guitar with Gotoh pieces. This is my first Gotoh and I am very pleased with the quality. The color that I´ve choosen (black) is a good contrast with the wood. I am very happy with my purchase.

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Alder Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
5 2-09-2011
A+++++ Wood!!!

It is an excellent wood! It has a good finishing, great color and I know that it will be perfect for my guitar! I am very pleased with the quality and I am very surprised how fast I received my order.I live across the ocean and it took only two days to arrive. Wow!!I strongly recommend it!

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
5 2-09-2011
Sanding Station

I put off buying this for a long while as I wasn't sure it would do what I wanted. I was looking for a method of bringing sheet and strip wood to size cleanly after cutting on a bandsaw. I think I will use it all the time now- immediately after preparing timber on my bandsaw. I can go straight to the Sanding Sation which is permanently installed on a pillar drill and sand to finish size. The adjustable fence is very accurate and I find I'm finishing down to tenths of a millimeter measured with a vernier. I hope it bears up to a lot of use; I've only had it a few weeks but I can't see much to go wrong.

Ian Gardner  England
Digital Humidity Gauge
Digital Humidity Gauge
5 2-09-2011
Mandatory!

Gotta have one of these if you want to control surroundings where axes are stored! Great piece of gear!!!

CW  USA Read my reviews (3)
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
5 2-09-2011
Wafflebacks

Very nice! Sturdy. One of them did have a hole drilled too small and screw wouldn't fit through it. Pain to fix, but easier than sending back. Otherwise a great period-correct addition to my '57 LP Custom reissue.

CW  USA Read my reviews (3)
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
5 2-09-2011
Pearloid Buttons

Very nice! Great detail and sheen. Good addition to a usually dull piece!

CW  USA Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Tension Bass Tuners
Adjustable Tension Bass Tuners
5 2-09-2011
Upgrade that Cheap Bass

I just purchased an Epiphone EBO which came with loosey-goosey tuning machines (what would you expect for a $200 bass guitar). These tight tuners fit in perfectly without any cutting, drilling or filing. Now this extremely fast necked bass stays in tune all night long. Well, worth the price.

PlayinBass  Pleasant Hill, CA
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 2-09-2011
pickgaurd material

The only negative I have is: I think the protective plastic covering should be on both sides of the material. Other than that it is an excellent product.

johns guitar 
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 2-09-2011
Step up!

These tuning machines are an improvement over the originals on my Alvarez PD90S.

BuckyRock  Small Town, USA Read my reviews (3)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
4 2-09-2011
nice replacement bridge

Nice replacement bridge. I purchased this as an upgrade for my Gretsch Electromatic 6125 which had a non-adjustable bridge. The StewMac bridge is slightly narrower than my original but you can't really notice. I used a little Teak oil on the rosewood prior to installing it and that really brought out the detail in the wood.

mlannoo  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 2-09-2011
Great screws!

Fender style chrome screws are great, fit perfectly!

Bruno Borges Paes e Lima  Florianópolis, SC, Brasil
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 2-09-2011
quality by professionals

The knobs I have purchased are just as good as possibly can be, and my order has been treated by serious and professional people. I strongly recommend these people and will surely have business with them very soon. Thanks !!!

Patrice  France
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 2-09-2011
Big gun

After years of trying pickups, my favorite pickups are the 57' classics. Since i can't get them for lower price, i searched an alternative pickup. This pickups are very similar, i simply can't hear any difference. I like the alnico 5 version, instead of the 2. It's crunchy, well balanced. It really shines. I installed them in my '59 Les Paul replica.

The 5 stars are for the sound and old price. I'm very-very disappointed with the new price, since i can get the 57 classics for the bucks. Maybe, it was my first and the last parson street order.

Mack Guitarworks  Hungary/Europe Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 17651 – 17675
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  706  707  708  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce