Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17651 – 17675
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  706  707  708  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 2-07-2011
I Meg Control Pot

I bought a new loaded H/H strat pickguard off eBay. It was a very good deal and the product is very attractive and well made, but I had hoped the pickups would be more along the lines of PAF strength but they turned out to be hotter, hence a bit muddy for my needs. I tapped the coils by using a Stewmac 500K switch pot and, although it added versatility, it did not solve the issue. Stewmac support suggested I try 1 MEG pots for both volume and tone. It made sense to try this before investing another $150 in pickups, so that is what I did. Well, it worked! The pickups are much brighter with 1 Meg pots. Since there is currently no 1 MEG switch pot available I simply added a Stewmac mini-toggle switch for coil tapping. I am very pleased.
Thanks AGAIN to Stewmac support for their fast, courteous help!

Archiguitarchi  North, Alabama Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 2-07-2011
The perfect tool

This is a fantastic tool, that saves time, trouble, and heartache. It's made a complicated life a little simpler. And for that I thank it!

Kingtut  Philadelphia
Neck Joint Steamer
Neck Joint Steamer
4 2-07-2011
Steam needle

It seemed a little pricey but worked as advertised. I removed the neck from a 1965 Gretsch Country Club. I couldn't have done it without the steam needle.

Lloyd Snyder  Atlanta GA
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 2-07-2011
Great tuners.

Put these on an old National lap steel I was rebuilding. They fit great and I did not have any issues with installing them. They seem to hold well and where just the right thing to get the job done.

kzimmer  Brighton, IL Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 2-07-2011
Wow! Best $$ spent on my guitars.

If you only own one specialty tool for your guitar(s), this should be it! I use it for not only setting string height but for adjusting the bridge, measuring saddle width, pole adjustments, etc. Anywhere on your guitar that a small accurate measurement is needed, this tool has you covered. Great product!

kzimmer  Brighton, IL Read my reviews (2)
Jaws2
Jaws2
5 2-07-2011
Great fretting tool

I used to hammer frets, but since using the Jaws 2 I am sold on pressing frets in. The frets go in quickly, nice and even with no loose fret ends. Pressing frets is also easier on the guitar (and ears) than hammering.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 2-07-2011
Works great!

These work great for polishing nuts and saddles. Shines them up very quickly. I bought one set quite some time ago and have used them numerous times. Very useful and long-lasting product.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 2-07-2011
Notched Straightedges

An excellent tool. Gives a more accurate reading of the fingerboard and neck than a straightedge across the frets. A must have for fretwork and setups.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 2-06-2011
Great upgrade!

Replaced the stock bridge on my Epiphone G-400. The fit was a bit snug but I was able to get it on without much trouble. Just like other reviewers, I no longer have intonation problems and the tone is noticeably brighter. I also noticed more vibration in the guitar body while playing. This is an extremely worthwhile upgrade!

Weatherking  Chicago, IL Read my reviews (3)
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
1 2-06-2011
Downgraded

The "NEW" redesigned Grover tuners are not the same as old style Grover tuners. They are sloppy and are assembled without the post springs which make them sloppy in the holes. They rattle like a baby rattle! Sorry but I won't use these tuners again until they start reinstalling the springs.

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 2-06-2011
Best for touch up.

Very useful. Start at 1500 wet sanding and stop at 12000, there is nothing left but some final buffing and you are left with a gloss finish.

Bassic Dude  Richland, Wa Read my reviews (2)
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
5 2-06-2011
Touch up

Excellent quality and very useful for lacquer and finish repairs.

Bassic Dude  Richland, Wa Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Old-Time Banjo Pot
Five-Star Old-Time Banjo Pot
5 2-06-2011
great pots

a good quality well finished pot , just need a light sand and apply finish,thanks stewmac

Nick3260  Bookaar , Australia
Respirator Mask
Respirator Mask
5 2-06-2011
works good

i just wish i would have bought one sooner! Don't think you will be fine and can get by with out it. If you finishing guitars THIS IS A MUST

ariapro4ever  detroit,MI Read my reviews (4)
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 2-06-2011
good stuff

it works as it claims

ariapro4ever  detroit,MI Read my reviews (4)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
4 2-06-2011
its ok

It will work but the head is loose right out of the box. Little things like that bother me.

ariapro4ever  detroit,MI Read my reviews (4)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 2-06-2011
works like a charm

Up until now i haven't needed to really glue anything that was going to be under pressure. I bought this glue to a sg's broken headstock and it worked GREAT. I love this glue (and yes, the buyer knew it had been repaird) five stars i will use this every time

ariapro4ever  detroit,MI Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
4 2-06-2011
replacement switch

I replaced the switch in my austin les paul (it was one of those little box switches) with this one. Was fairly simple. Used the setup it showed for les paul on the paper that came with it. Only difference i noticed was that there were not quite as many threads sticking through for the nut to screw on. However there were enough and everything works great! no problems

zak  carlisle,pa
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 2-06-2011
Great upgrade for a Tele-style bridge

I got these for a parts-caster I've had for a few months (which I really love and play out with quite a bit). While these did not give me absolute perfect intonation, they got me so much closer than the original straight Fender saddles that it's just great. The added bonus, however, is that they added a little more dimension to the guitar's sound--now I really love this guitar! Thank you Stew-Mac!

Greg  Columbia, SC Read my reviews (9)
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
4 2-06-2011
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template

Perfect for under pickguard cavities but too big for open no-pickguard cavities. Template should be pickup sized like the Jazz Bass templates.

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 2-06-2011
Abalone dot inlays

Leaving a slight protuberance of the inlays above the fretboard, they were filed down level and maintained their color and brilliance. Excellent end results.

D. Morris  Cowley, Wy Read my reviews (3)
Jazz Bass Pickup Routing Templates
Jazz Bass Pickup Routing Templates
5 2-06-2011
Just perfect

couldn't ask for more to a template

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
5 2-06-2011
Set of both router bits

Perfect size for small cavities. Sharp and precise. Worth the money. This bits only need a top collar to be perfect.

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
Slotted Fingerboard for Paul Reed Smith and Dobro Guitars
5 2-06-2011
1956 Gretsch fretboard replacement

The PRS slotted fingerboard from Stew-Mac was perfect for a 1956 Gretsch. This provided exact fret spacing as the original fretboard on this guitar.

D. Morris  Cowley, Wy Read my reviews (3)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 2-06-2011
Medium fretwire results

I have used this size on Fender, Gibson, and Gretsch guitars with excellent results that required the least amount of fret leveling. My latest project on a 1956 Gretsch only necessitated dressing the fret ends.

D. Morris  Cowley, Wy Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 17651 – 17675
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  706  707  708  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce