Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17626 – 17650
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  705  706  707  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
5 2-09-2011
Wafflebacks

Very nice! Sturdy. One of them did have a hole drilled too small and screw wouldn't fit through it. Pain to fix, but easier than sending back. Otherwise a great period-correct addition to my '57 LP Custom reissue.

CW  USA Read my reviews (3)
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
5 2-09-2011
Pearloid Buttons

Very nice! Great detail and sheen. Good addition to a usually dull piece!

CW  USA Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Tension Bass Tuners
Adjustable Tension Bass Tuners
5 2-09-2011
Upgrade that Cheap Bass

I just purchased an Epiphone EBO which came with loosey-goosey tuning machines (what would you expect for a $200 bass guitar). These tight tuners fit in perfectly without any cutting, drilling or filing. Now this extremely fast necked bass stays in tune all night long. Well, worth the price.

PlayinBass  Pleasant Hill, CA
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 2-09-2011
pickgaurd material

The only negative I have is: I think the protective plastic covering should be on both sides of the material. Other than that it is an excellent product.

johns guitar 
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 2-09-2011
Step up!

These tuning machines are an improvement over the originals on my Alvarez PD90S.

BuckyRock  Small Town, USA Read my reviews (3)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
4 2-09-2011
nice replacement bridge

Nice replacement bridge. I purchased this as an upgrade for my Gretsch Electromatic 6125 which had a non-adjustable bridge. The StewMac bridge is slightly narrower than my original but you can't really notice. I used a little Teak oil on the rosewood prior to installing it and that really brought out the detail in the wood.

mlannoo  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 2-09-2011
Great screws!

Fender style chrome screws are great, fit perfectly!

Bruno Borges Paes e Lima  Florian√≥polis, SC, Brasil
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 2-09-2011
quality by professionals

The knobs I have purchased are just as good as possibly can be, and my order has been treated by serious and professional people. I strongly recommend these people and will surely have business with them very soon. Thanks !!!

Patrice  France
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 2-09-2011
Big gun

After years of trying pickups, my favorite pickups are the 57' classics. Since i can't get them for lower price, i searched an alternative pickup. This pickups are very similar, i simply can't hear any difference. I like the alnico 5 version, instead of the 2. It's crunchy, well balanced. It really shines. I installed them in my '59 Les Paul replica.

The 5 stars are for the sound and old price. I'm very-very disappointed with the new price, since i can get the 57 classics for the bucks. Maybe, it was my first and the last parson street order.

Mack Guitarworks  Hungary/Europe Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
1 2-08-2011
not accurate! older golden age humbuckers Rule!

I have a couple of golden age humbucker bridge position from 8yrs ago and they are wound at about 9.3k or so,and by the time its hook up to my guitar its just right at 9.0k from measuring at the ouput jack, and it sounds warm and awesome! both lead playing and rhythm playing.

I just recently bought the newer golden age hums and am very dissapointed! they measure at 8.7k to about 8.9k bridge position. And by the time its hook up to my guitar its about 8.5k and they're is a huge change in tone, too trebly at times not as good as the older ones.

If you have the older ones that are wound at 9.3k or a little more,hold on to those cause to my experience its real tone all around! my set up is pretty simple,its humbucker(bridge and single coil neck and middle,with 5 way switch,500k CTS volume,ouput jack.

yerkool44  San Diego,CA U.S.A Read my reviews (2)
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 2-08-2011
Dreadnought Kit

The StewMac Dreadnought kit is a high quality kit that has everything you need to build a beautiful acoustic guitar. There is not a more thoroughly documented kit available. It has a beautiful full size set of plans to work from, a printed manual, and a DVD. This kit will help you successfully build a beautiful six-string acoustic guitar.

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Precision Straightedges
Precision Straightedges
5 2-08-2011
Precision Straightedge

Stewmac's Straightedges are very accurate with a beveled edge to be able to see in close to your work.
They are heavy, nicely made and have a good feel about them.

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 2-08-2011
Gauged Nut Slotting File

These files are worth the money. They are very well made and I find them a necessity in my shop for slotting nuts. I used to use a small set of jeweler's files but these files are superior by all standards.
You will love them!

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
5 2-08-2011
Just Got Mine...

This thing is awesome. I haven't installed it yet but the shear quality of the product is unbelievable. I looked and compared it to the tremolo that Steve Vai uses and they look identical to me. I will have this thing installed ASAP. I will also finish my review after playing with it for awhile.

DeanGuitarsDude84  St. Joseph, MO
Kerfed Lining For Mandolin
Kerfed Lining For Mandolin
5 2-08-2011
Works Great

These look very nice and for the cost i felt it was beneficial to use the stew mac kerfed lining instead of making my own. I used 8 pieces to make my first dulcimer.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Vintage Keystone-style Machines
4 2-08-2011
Very happy

I am very happy with these tuners as I have bought other tuners for my Les Paul before and they turned out to be the incorrect color. These look original.

Cobus van Rooyen  South Africa Read my reviews (2)
Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
4 2-08-2011
Very good quality

The order arrived in time and the quality was very good.

Cobus van Rooyen  South Africa Read my reviews (2)
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Dulcimer Tuning Pegs
5 2-08-2011
One millimeter makes a huge difference.

Your planetary dulcimer tuning pegs were the perfect fit and, most important, the perfect quality. They look great and work perfectly.

TasLuthier  Tasmania Australia Read my reviews (3)
Violin String Adjuster
Violin String Adjuster
5 2-07-2011
great tuners, greater if they were black

I used these tuners on 8 different violins. they are good solid tuners, but if they were black they would look better on an ebony tailpiece.

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 2-07-2011
Perfectly in Tune

I bought these to replace some cheaply made replacement tuners on a early 90s SG Special. They fit perfectly in the original screw holes. I have had them on for a couple of weeks now and they keep the guitar perfectly in tune. Most days I don't even need to tune it right out of the case. They look just like the originals only they are much better.

rnrchris  Rockville, MD
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
5 2-07-2011
Good tuners, nice fit!

I'm very pleased with my purchase of these tuners. The ones that were on when I purchased the guitar had posts that were too short. The head on this mid-30's Kalamazoo archtop is tapered and the posts need to be a little longer to accommodate the thicker part of the head. Previously I was only able to get one wrap on the low E string... not good. These tuners are closer to the original equipment, and the length of the posts is perfect for this style of guitar. Installation was easy because the Golden Age tuners fit the existing holes exactly, and the relic finish looks great.

raybob  Montague, CA
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
5 2-07-2011
great tuners....

I have a les paul jr custom shop w/a single humbucker. It came w/gibson vintage oval knob tuners in which the ratio sucks!Installed these and wow what a change. I like the oval heads better than the others because I have big hands and they work better for me.

jarrod  h-town,tx
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 2-07-2011
Very useful and convenient

A superb, cost-effective and easy to use shielding product. We use this on all of our Drew & Sebastian custom guitars and basses. Highly recommended for the luthier and amateur alike, won't peel off like shielding tape.

Jade Guitars  Herndon, VA
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 2-07-2011
Well worth the wait!

I had to wait because the bridge Alnico 2 PAF Parson's Street Golden Age wasn't available. Installation into a Glen Burton LP style was easy after removing the strings for access. Sound is so much better than the originals and I no longer get a squeal while playing rhythm. The tinny sound I had is gone. The only problem I had was I wish I put some shrink tubing over each shielded lead before soldering them in the control cavity. One of the shields touched the tone control pot and made it work as a volume control. A little electrical tape fixed it.

Barrett's Guitar  Port Orchard, WA
Wilkinson/Gotoh Adjustable Bridge/Tailpiece
Wilkinson/Gotoh Adjustable Bridge/Tailpiece
5 2-07-2011
Clean and simple bridge

The Wilkinson is a simple and elegant solution for a wrap bridge/TP. It also has a lower profile than some other brands - so it works well for guitars that have a smaller neck angle.

Stud threads are metric - so get replacement studs with US threads from another brand if retrofitting a vintage instrument.

Neal  NYC
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 17626 – 17650
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  705  706  707  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce