Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17451 – 17475
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  698  699  700  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 2-17-2011
Buy both of these babies.

They really help out when doing basic maintenance. They're the perfect height for resting the guitar on the bench to do fret levels and such. They are a little pricey, but you pay for what you get.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 2-17-2011
Good stuff.

Very high quality compound for polishing finishes and whatnot.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 2-17-2011
mandolin make over

I have a mandolin that I was having problems finding the right tuners for.
I bought the Gotoh 1951's in black. I could order them as singles, so I got 4 for each side. They really look good on the light colored head stock, and they are really smooth tuning. No going back and forth to get in tune.
These really work great on mandolin or guitar & at a great price. Thanks
Stew Mac for fast shipment.

Bill's repair  Madisonville,TN. Read my reviews (8)
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 2-17-2011
Can't beat 'em for the price!

I bought the full set with the hotter bridge pickup to replace the stock pups in my '95 mexi strat. This being the first time I've replaced pups I really didn't know how much difference in tone to expect. Wow! what a difference - full, rich and warm with just the right amount of twang. In short it was beyond my expectations and I would purchase them again with hesitation. Kudos also to StewMac's excellent customer service - I was originally shipped the incorrect bridge pickup - I received the replacement the next day (and I'm across the border!)

jswoveland  Victoria, BC
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 2-17-2011
Great file with a downside to it...

I recently purchased this file because the 300 grit was on back order and I needed a new file (my old 300 is pretty worn right now) The 150 grit is great, removes a lot of material with very few strokes, but the downside to it is that it scratches the fret a bit too much, so the time you save re-crowning you spend it removing scratches. Other than that I love them both 150 and 300 grit

Dr Fretgood  Chicago IL
The Key
The Key
4 2-17-2011
Great tool

If the instructions were more detailed I would have given it 5 stars. But setting the intonation on my OFR went VERY fast thanks to this tool.

I set the string lock screws such that I could push them down to remove the tool for the saddles that had to be moved towards the nut to get the intonation right. For me, that solved the string-lock-screw-binding headache that a few folks have shared here.

Johnny  Austin, TX
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
5 2-17-2011
Humbucker rings

Good quality and fit well for my application - replacement for customers damaged rings.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
4 2-17-2011
Stewmac capacitors

Appear to be good quality, I use them regularly, never had a problem. Very Satisfied.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
5 2-17-2011
Good Reference manual to have around

I found this book to be a valuable reference to have on hand within my shop's library. I would recommend it.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
5 2-17-2011
Definite Improvement over Stock

I got a set of these to put on my "prized" Mexi-Strat. I have some more expensive guitars, but this old Mexican was my first Strat and it's my favorite.

The String Savers are easy to install and definitely add sustain. Not only do the notes ring out longer, but the note sustained is fuller and more harmonic. This guitar always stayed in tune pretty well, but it's definitely better now. I don't use the tremolo much, but I do use it and I have no problems keeping in tune. Also they don't look bad. (NOTE: I also added a Tusq Nut at the same time I added the string savers, so the combination could contribute to sustain.)

Intonation was pretty easy. I followed the steps in Dan Erlwine's "Guitar Player Repair Guide" and it was pretty simple.

All in all, a relatively inexpensive, non-invasive mod that has greatly improved the tone of this particular instrument.

Justin Wright  Grayson, GA
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 2-17-2011
Contact Cleaner

I have purchased other contact cleaners and all contact cleaners are not made the same and you get what you pay for. The DeoxIT does the job very well, I am very happy with it and I make sure I always have it on hand in my guitar shop.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 2-17-2011
I have been pegged!

I have a number of banjos that have Stew-Mac tuners on them and I am extremely pleased. One set of my 5 star's began to slip and I could not tighten them any further. I called Stew-Mac and was informed that they would replace the set. I was not expecting that. In a few days my new set arrived and I returned the old postage paid by Stew-Mac.

I have always been a fan of theirs and they just keep giving me reasons to continue. They are extremely professional and very personable to boot. I can't say enough.
Regards,
Les Thompson Founding member of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.

Les Thompson  N. Virginia
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 2-17-2011
Potentiometers

This is a good quality potentiometer. I make it a habit of flushing new potentiometers prior to putting them into the circuit, The STEWMAC pots have not let me down yet.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 2-17-2011
improved clarity

adding a bone saddle on my old Sigma acoustic brightened and added clarity to its sound. Would recommend having it installed by a guitar shop. Only cost about $30.

Matt H.  Milwaukee
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
5 2-17-2011
Great Product

I switched over to waterbased finishes a few years ago and these products work great. No more toxic fumes and finish buffs easily and looks great.

Brad Windsor  Ojai, California Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 2-17-2011
wide fretwire

I've always liked low- wide fretwire for electric guitars. I also am using them for cigar box guitars. Easy to use and need little finish work. Work great for diatonic scale.

mark g  webster city ia Read my reviews (2)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 2-17-2011
Best used

I have used several different brands of glue for attaching bindings. Weld-On is by far the best holding of all the brands I have used. I have had bindings come loose when I used the other brands, but never with this one. Highly recommend.

Brad Windsor  Ojai, California Read my reviews (2)
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
4 2-17-2011
Big sound, intonated well

Had to reverse one of the saddles to intonate the G/D strings. Nice long screws, and the saddles don't touch each other. Low E sits flat on the bridge with my setup. Should come as a package with the 3 saddle bridge. Unwound strings really came alive.

Will  Quebec, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
Vintage Style 3-Saddle Bridge for Telecaster
4 2-17-2011
Big improvement, perfect fit, one suggestion

I bought this to go from a 6 saddle tele bridge to a 3 barrel. My only complaint would be that Stew-Mac should offer this bridge with the 3 brass compensated saddles, as I'm sure the majority of informed buyers have to order the saddles separately.

Will  Quebec, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 2-17-2011
A great replacement for a gibson SG

A customer of mine was have tuner breaking problems with his sg and I suggested these because of all the good luck I've had in the past with grover. He loved them.

Hackl Guitars  Denver, CO Read my reviews (9)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
2 2-17-2011
Hit or miss

I bought one of these in maple a year or so ago and it was pretty nice - a mostly riftsawn cut which only started going flatsawn around the 19th fret, so it works on a 22-fretter. But then a few weeks ago I ordered another one, and I got total flatsawn garbage; it looked like the wood panelling in your grandfather's basement. By the time I decided I wasn't going to ruin a decent neck with it, I had already cut it for a Floyd nut, so I can't expect to return it.

Now I'm building a compound radiusing jig for my router table. Live and learn.

veganMalcontent  Baltimore, MD, USA
Small Guitar Western Red Cedar Soundboard
Small Guitar Western Red Cedar Soundboard
5 2-17-2011
THANKS FOR YOUR EXCELLENT AAAA EXTRAORDINARY WOOD

In order to bring up to date my concert guitar collection, I have been using your extraordinary model AAAA of your small guitar western red cedar soundboard. Thanks to that extraordinary wood and to the outstanding craftsmanship of Puerto Rico's top luthier, Miguel Mendez, all the guitars which have been repaired sound much better than before.

Federico A. Cordero  Puerto Rico
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 2-17-2011
I love this book

Thanks, Dan. This is definitely my favorite reference book. Enjoyable, entertaining and easy to follow.

Brendan O Ruaidh.

Sounds Guitar Repairs  Ireland
Hipshot 4-String Bass Bridge
Hipshot 4-String Bass Bridge
5 2-17-2011
Better than ever

Replaced the stock bridge, got a new bass. Feels tighter and more precise than ever before.

RobK  St. Albert, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
6 Steel Rule
6" Steel Rule
5 2-17-2011
A Basic Must Have

A beautiful, much overlooked workhorse.

RobK  St. Albert, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 17451 – 17475
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  698  699  700  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce