Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17426 – 17450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  697  698  699  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
Small Guitar Sitka Spruce Soundboard
5 2-18-2011
Sitka Top

For the money or double the money its a steal very nice.

Clinchriver Instruments  Andersonville Tennessee Read my reviews (4)
Uncarved Guitar Braces
Uncarved Guitar Braces
5 2-18-2011
Brace Wood

Very nice quarter-sawn Spruce

Clinchriver Instruments  Andersonville Tennessee Read my reviews (4)
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 2-18-2011
Most Versatile Bridge

The huge advantage with this bridge is being able to adjust the distance between strings as well as forward and back. I have a tune o matic bridge, which is GREAT, however the distance between strings is fixed. This Schaller bridge is more versatile and will accommodate any size (width) guitar neck, any gauge strings, and yet, in my case at least, it still fit like a glove on the bridge posts! Well worth the extra expense. Yeah Stewmac!

Jonesy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (3)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 2-17-2011
A Must Have

I bought a Gretsch Synchromatic G400 Archtop acoustic guitar. It is brand new but a reissue of the G400 made in the 1940s. The bridge is one piece of wood. Very nice, but impossible to get the guitar in perfect tune. Old technology and all that! Simple solution. Get the "tune o matic". It fits like a glove on the original base. Tuning each string individually allows perfect pitch (goodbye annoyance factor), yet you can put the wooden bridge back on anytime to restore it to original antique. Win, Win,Win! Thanks to Stewmac again!

Jonesy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (3)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 2-17-2011
my three cuatros

the bone nut came out just right for my cuatro

cacabco  bradenton fl. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 2-17-2011
my three cuatros

the bone saddle came out just right for my cuatro

cacabco  bradenton fl. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 2-17-2011
my three cuatros

the tuning machines came out just wright for my cuatro

cacabco  bradenton fl. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 2-17-2011
my three cuatros

the strap buttons came out just right for my three cuatros

cacabco  bradenton fl. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Refret Saw
Refret Saw
5 2-17-2011
Simple and functional

If I'd been asked before I purchased the set if I needed them I would have said no. Now that I've used them I won't be without them. The old adage "the right tool for the job" certainly applies to these saws. Use them in conjunction with the fret depth gauge if you need to deepen the slot.

Bob Littrell-Cardona Custom Guitars  Springfield, Illinois Read my reviews (9)
Guitar Bench Rest
Guitar Bench Rest
5 2-17-2011
Nice

Works great.

T Bone  Lake Havasu City, AZ. Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
5 2-17-2011
Fret Slot Saw

The fret saw I purchased was an excellent purchase. The blade is of the proper thickness to prevent the blade from flexing and works well with the fret wire I purchased from Stewart-MacDonald. The all-wood handle is just the right size for a nice firm grip to prevent that untimely slip. Also, the “spine” of the blade is rigged to keep the blade from bending and providing a large enough surface as stop for even a home made cutting jig.

I purchased the depth stop, which is made of clear plastic and an excellent investment. The set on the teeth is a bit much and makes it a little difficult to start the initial cut, but does a great job even with some of the hard woods I use. Overall I think it’s a great tool and well made.

Don Doerr  Lawton, MI Read my reviews (2)
Bridge Plate Stock
Bridge Plate Stock
4 2-17-2011
Versatile

I use these pieces for many projects usually as backing for very dense brittle woods. Works great to keep everything held together and workable.

rc  Brookfield, CT Read my reviews (3)
Archtop Guitar Bridge
Archtop Guitar Bridge
5 2-17-2011
Worked for me

I Purchased the Ebony Bridge for my 1970's Hagstrom Jimmy Oval Hole. Still have the original but this bridge helps with some of the intonation issues I was experiencing. The tone of the lower EA&D strings went from muddy to really sweet. I had experimented with a ABR Tune o matic bridge to help with intonation but found it changed the character of the tone while not bad not as woody as I like. I think I have found what was needed. Nice piece well made and you can make it work in a lot of situations.

rc  Brookfield, CT Read my reviews (3)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 2-17-2011
The Best Med/Med Fret Wire

I like to build mountain dulcimers in my spare time and have purchased my fret wire from other sources. However, I decided to try Stewart-MacDonald after my last order of fret wire came coiled so it could fit in a same shipping box. My first fret wire from Stewart-MacDonald was shipped in a nice long box that kept the wire nice and straight, which is nice sine the fingerboard on a mountain dulcimer is flat and not curved. The quality of the product was outstanding. I think I have found a new source for my fret wire.

Don Doerr  Lawton, MI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 2-17-2011
Very Nice

The Slotted Bone Bridge Pins fit my Martin DC-28 perfectly, a nice low cost upgrade. The plastic OE pins just didn't do it.

rc  Brookfield, CT Read my reviews (3)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
2 2-17-2011
Never Again

Looks nice and sounds fine, but its too flimsy and switches to the middle with the slightest touch. Will be replacing, and would never put this in a build for sale. I thought everyone was just being picky, but its true.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
4 2-17-2011
Fits perfectly

I was surprised when all I got was a piece of paper with words on it....

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
The Key
The Key
1 2-17-2011
Great idea - but not in real life

Nice idea but in real life its a pain to use. I had pictured just putting it on, loosening the set screw, intonating, re-tighten set screw and remove tool.

It turned out for me to be a waste of time. Hard to keep on. Hard to get on and off if you use the last screw hole.

Old Player  Kenai, AK
The Responsive Guitar
The Responsive Guitar
5 2-17-2011
finally there

If you are just fooling around with instruments, don't buy this, too complex, too much information you don't want to know or worry about. However, if you serious about he craft : definitely a must and finally available.
How come so many good guitars nowadays: because of sharing information. How come still so many bad guitars : not enough reading, not enough study !!
Thank you Ervin.

Hugo Valcke stringed instruments  Belgium
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 2-17-2011
Great Tool

This tool, along with Guitar Player Repair Guide, made installing a pickup in my Martin a piece of cake. Take from Dan Erlewine himself, jobs like this are always easier when you use the proper tools.

Vic K  Charlotte, NC
Swamp Ash Body Blank
Swamp Ash Body Blank
5 2-17-2011
Excellent!!!!!

If you are needing of a ash body blank don't think twice just buy from stewmac store that you will be happy with the quality of the product. This is the best online store that i ever bought!

Very good quality  Brazil
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
4 2-17-2011
A must

I used this in both the electronics and pickup cavities and it works great. It will go in every instrument i have. Thank you stewmac

Michael Grannis  Phoenix, Az Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 2-17-2011
Great product

I'm not sure how many more guitars I'll make in my life, but I know for sure I'll be using these fretboards. They save a ton of time and look great!

Brandon  Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 2-17-2011
Great glues for guitar work.

These are the glues to buy if you work on guitars.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 2-17-2011
The best sandpaper bar none!

Don't waste time on any other sandpaper. These are perfect for guitar work.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 17426 – 17450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  697  698  699  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce