Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17426 – 17450
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  697  698  699  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 2-19-2011
The Best

There's a reason why they are used on the best instruments, they hold tune, look amazing and built to last.

Bucket of Bolts  Brampton, Ontario Read my reviews (5)
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 2-19-2011
All Good

Perfect fit and this part makes my Waverley's sit in the headstock like it's hand made.

Bucket of Bolts  Brampton, Ontario Read my reviews (5)
White Pickguard Material
White Pickguard Material
5 2-19-2011
Excellent customer service experience!

I recently purchased a sheet of single ply pickguard material to make a guard for a customer. Through some Post Office error the sheet got lost in the mail, but Stewart MacDonald's staff knew I was on a tight time schedule with my customer and overnighted me another sheet of plastic to meet my deadline! The representative I spoke to demonstrated a sincere concern for and understanding of the needs of my business and really helped me out of a jam. Thanks very much Stewart MacDonald!

Protocaster Guitars  Brooklyn, NY
Customer supplied image for review
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 2-19-2011
Pimping my Mikro

Ibanez Mikro Bass knobs are shiny but lightweight so I ordered the black 6mm.
They fit well, feel solid, and look "rich, not gaudy" as Polonius would say.

Sitka Sound  Sequim, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
5 2-19-2011
Ibanez Mikro Upgrade

I liked almost everything about the Mikro except its tuners. Checked the StewMac replacement tuners, did some measuring and was convinced the Mikro tuners had to be Gotoh knock-offs.
The new Gotoh's dropped right into place -- even the screw holes matched perfectly.
And the black color added a classy look I didn't expect.

Sitka Sound  Sequim, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
4 2-19-2011
Super Glue

Exactly what I was looking for, really liked the long nozzle for those hard to reach areas.

Hometown Music  Urbana OH USA
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
5 2-19-2011
Diamond Fret Levelers

I use mine to sharpen my carving knives. They work great to get the proper angle on the knife or tool edges. No limit to good uses.

Roy M  New Windsor, MD
Thompson Belly Reducer
Thompson Belly Reducer
4 2-19-2011
Effective but awkward to use

Apart from the construction of acoustic steel guitars I now and again get the opportunity to repair vintage ones. Most require neck reset and bridge problems resolved. I've used the TBR on a 1931 Gibson LO and various Martins including circa 1890 2 1/2- 18, 0-28 and a 1926 0-18.

The difficulty I found is getting the inner plate in position while hot and keeping it there until the top plate is firmly clamped. Thin gloves help, the use of thick gloves is just prohibitive. Where bellying is behind bridge area on straight bridges, usual, the use of the belly bridge clamp has proved effective. Inner clamps would benefit from either a removal handle or built in positioning clamp.

Martin Pollard  Sussex UK Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-18-2011
Wow!

I will be using these for all my builds. Everything is so much louder and clearer. There seems to be a bell like quality that envelopes every note. They polish like glass too.

jLam Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Side Bending Practice Wood
Side Bending Practice Wood
4 2-18-2011
Bending for beginners

I tried the practice side bending wood with my homemade bending iron. The wood was pretty much as stated in the website listing; unmatched wood of some species (Maple I believe). The first one bent very oddly (my technique and inconsistent heat across the pipe)and I am not sure that it was actually quartersawn.

The second one was quite "flamey" making it a more of a challenge to bend (it split in three places as I thought it might) although the bends actually came out better. The pieces weren't the "easy to bend type" I thought they would be. Never the less, I think trying these two pieces first gave me a chance to see how challenging bending can be. I am attempting now to find a local source of straight grain, dried quartersawn hardwood to resaw and practice on for a while before I attempt real instrument wood.

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
Metal Mounting Rings for Single-coil Pickups
5 2-18-2011
pick up rings

I have used these on Tele builds and will be doing a Strat build using these. I use the ring as the template and have had no problems. I used them on pre made bodies and you just need to be careful and mark where the holes go. Plus they are cheaper here than most other sites. Thanks StewMac

RL Guitars  Yorktown, VA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
10.5mm Round Conversion Bushings
3 2-18-2011
Sloppy Fit for Telecaster project

Bought a set of 10.5 conversion bushings for a Telecaster project. Also bought a brand new set of Fender vintage winders for the job. The shafts on the winders measure .235 while the inner I.D. of the bushing is .262 That is a lot of "play" in there. I would have liked a tighter fit. Yes, they will work, but you may want to measure up your shafts on your winders first.

Bruce A.  Connecticut Read my reviews (2)
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 2-18-2011
More scale lengths please!

This is a very solid and accurate tool- does exactly what it is supposed to and won't ever need replacing. BUT I think they should offer a lot more scale lengths. When you're making your own guitar from scratch, you shouldn't be confined to a 25.5" scale! Make them longer, for extended conversion necks! And what if I want to make 24" scale necks, for M*stangs and J*guars? Make me a 24" scale template! Five stars when I get a 24" scale...

AndrewDoesHair  Corona, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Triple-O Guitar Kit
Triple-O Guitar Kit
5 2-18-2011
All You Need

If you're interested in the theory and mechanics of building an acoustic guitar this kit has all you'll need. The 'how-to' instructions, DVD, and pre-cut, pre-shaped wood can save you thousands of dollars in equipment, time, and books with conflicting theories about how to do it right. This is as close to building side by side with experienced luthiers and top quality woods as you can get.

Panu  St. Pete., FL. Read my reviews (2)
Violin Setup
Violin Setup
5 2-18-2011
Fantastic for the guitar repairman

As a guitar builder/repairman I was finding that a lot of violins were coming to my door for setup and minor repair work. I decided to purchase this DVD and see what I could learn. After watching it I now feel very confident doing violin setups and minor repair. With the average cost of a setup running $50-$75 and taking less than an hour to do, it's a no brainer for any guitar repairman to add to his arsenal plus you'll pay for the DVD after one violin goes through your shop.

Chris Alvarado  Destin, FL
SAE Mounting Nuts
SAE Mounting Nuts
5 2-18-2011
quality

I use the 3/8' x 32 nuts and they far surpass the nuts that come on CTS pots (and Fender guitars).
I buy them by the 100's !

popiel52  williamsburg, MI Read my reviews (2)
Side Bending Practice Wood
Side Bending Practice Wood
3 2-18-2011
Nice wood, but too short for actual use

Pay attention to the length of this wood, it is too short for an actual guitar. Would be perfect for a mandolin or Uke though. Otherwise, very nice.

Jim Kath  Santa Fe, NM, USA
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
5 2-18-2011
String Retainers

Made with excellent quality material. They provide an ideal lowering the strings. Necessary if you are riding a project like the Stratocaster.

Cunha, Bruno Henrique  Brasília-DF, Brasil Read my reviews (7)
Jack Plate for Strat
Jack Plate for Strat
5 2-18-2011
Strat Style Jack Plate

Made with excellent quality material. Exactly like those used in Fender Stratocaster.

Cunha, Bruno Henrique  Brasília-DF, Brasil Read my reviews (7)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 2-18-2011
Neck Mounting Plate

Made with excellent quality material and can be customized with your logo. Exactly like those used in Fender Stratocaster.

Cunha, Bruno Henrique  Brasília-DF, Brasil Read my reviews (7)
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
5 2-18-2011
Strap Locks Grover

Very beautiful and made with excellent quality material. Provide strength and security at the time of the show

Cunha, Bruno Henrique  Brasília-DF, Brasil Read my reviews (7)
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 2-18-2011
Pickguard Screws

Perfect for strato guitars that follow the standard Fender. They provide a great finish.

Cunha, Bruno Henrique  Brasília-DF, Brasil Read my reviews (7)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
5 2-18-2011
pocket truss rod wrenches

These are great, especially for unusual truss rod nuts. Used these on an old Peavey DynaBass that I just couldn't get a conventional wrench to work on. lifesaver.

kma  seattle, wa Read my reviews (2)
Neck Joint Steamer
Neck Joint Steamer
5 2-18-2011
Neck Joint Steamer

Kind of expensive but where would you get all the parts. Should last a lifetime.

Clinchriver Instruments  Andersonville Tennessee Read my reviews (4)
Herringbone Guitar Plan
Herringbone Guitar Plan
5 2-18-2011
Herringbone Dreadnought Plan

Great plan reasonable priced. Some of the dimensions are a little hard to find.

Clinchriver Instruments  Andersonville Tennessee Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 17426 – 17450
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  697  698  699  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce