Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17401 – 17425
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  696  697  698  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

The Key
The Key
1 2-17-2011
Great idea - but not in real life

Nice idea but in real life its a pain to use. I had pictured just putting it on, loosening the set screw, intonating, re-tighten set screw and remove tool.

It turned out for me to be a waste of time. Hard to keep on. Hard to get on and off if you use the last screw hole.

Old Player  Kenai, AK
The Responsive Guitar
The Responsive Guitar
5 2-17-2011
finally there

If you are just fooling around with instruments, don't buy this, too complex, too much information you don't want to know or worry about. However, if you serious about he craft : definitely a must and finally available.
How come so many good guitars nowadays: because of sharing information. How come still so many bad guitars : not enough reading, not enough study !!
Thank you Ervin.

Hugo Valcke stringed instruments  Belgium
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
5 2-17-2011
Great Tool

This tool, along with Guitar Player Repair Guide, made installing a pickup in my Martin a piece of cake. Take from Dan Erlewine himself, jobs like this are always easier when you use the proper tools.

Vic K  Charlotte, NC
Swamp Ash Body Blank
Swamp Ash Body Blank
5 2-17-2011
Excellent!!!!!

If you are needing of a ash body blank don't think twice just buy from stewmac store that you will be happy with the quality of the product. This is the best online store that i ever bought!

Very good quality  Brazil
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
4 2-17-2011
A must

I used this in both the electronics and pickup cavities and it works great. It will go in every instrument i have. Thank you stewmac

Michael Grannis  Phoenix, Az Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 2-17-2011
Great product

I'm not sure how many more guitars I'll make in my life, but I know for sure I'll be using these fretboards. They save a ton of time and look great!

Brandon  Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 2-17-2011
Great glues for guitar work.

These are the glues to buy if you work on guitars.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 2-17-2011
The best sandpaper bar none!

Don't waste time on any other sandpaper. These are perfect for guitar work.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 2-17-2011
Buy both of these babies.

They really help out when doing basic maintenance. They're the perfect height for resting the guitar on the bench to do fret levels and such. They are a little pricey, but you pay for what you get.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 2-17-2011
Good stuff.

Very high quality compound for polishing finishes and whatnot.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 2-17-2011
mandolin make over

I have a mandolin that I was having problems finding the right tuners for.
I bought the Gotoh 1951's in black. I could order them as singles, so I got 4 for each side. They really look good on the light colored head stock, and they are really smooth tuning. No going back and forth to get in tune.
These really work great on mandolin or guitar & at a great price. Thanks
Stew Mac for fast shipment.

Bill's repair  Madisonville,TN. Read my reviews (8)
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 2-17-2011
Can't beat 'em for the price!

I bought the full set with the hotter bridge pickup to replace the stock pups in my '95 mexi strat. This being the first time I've replaced pups I really didn't know how much difference in tone to expect. Wow! what a difference - full, rich and warm with just the right amount of twang. In short it was beyond my expectations and I would purchase them again with hesitation. Kudos also to StewMac's excellent customer service - I was originally shipped the incorrect bridge pickup - I received the replacement the next day (and I'm across the border!)

jswoveland  Victoria, BC
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 2-17-2011
Great file with a downside to it...

I recently purchased this file because the 300 grit was on back order and I needed a new file (my old 300 is pretty worn right now) The 150 grit is great, removes a lot of material with very few strokes, but the downside to it is that it scratches the fret a bit too much, so the time you save re-crowning you spend it removing scratches. Other than that I love them both 150 and 300 grit

Dr Fretgood  Chicago IL
The Key
The Key
4 2-17-2011
Great tool

If the instructions were more detailed I would have given it 5 stars. But setting the intonation on my OFR went VERY fast thanks to this tool.

I set the string lock screws such that I could push them down to remove the tool for the saddles that had to be moved towards the nut to get the intonation right. For me, that solved the string-lock-screw-binding headache that a few folks have shared here.

Johnny  Austin, TX
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
5 2-17-2011
Humbucker rings

Good quality and fit well for my application - replacement for customers damaged rings.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
4 2-17-2011
Stewmac capacitors

Appear to be good quality, I use them regularly, never had a problem. Very Satisfied.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
5 2-17-2011
Good Reference manual to have around

I found this book to be a valuable reference to have on hand within my shop's library. I would recommend it.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
5 2-17-2011
Definite Improvement over Stock

I got a set of these to put on my "prized" Mexi-Strat. I have some more expensive guitars, but this old Mexican was my first Strat and it's my favorite.

The String Savers are easy to install and definitely add sustain. Not only do the notes ring out longer, but the note sustained is fuller and more harmonic. This guitar always stayed in tune pretty well, but it's definitely better now. I don't use the tremolo much, but I do use it and I have no problems keeping in tune. Also they don't look bad. (NOTE: I also added a Tusq Nut at the same time I added the string savers, so the combination could contribute to sustain.)

Intonation was pretty easy. I followed the steps in Dan Erlwine's "Guitar Player Repair Guide" and it was pretty simple.

All in all, a relatively inexpensive, non-invasive mod that has greatly improved the tone of this particular instrument.

Justin Wright  Grayson, GA
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 2-17-2011
Contact Cleaner

I have purchased other contact cleaners and all contact cleaners are not made the same and you get what you pay for. The DeoxIT does the job very well, I am very happy with it and I make sure I always have it on hand in my guitar shop.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
5 2-17-2011
I have been pegged!

I have a number of banjos that have Stew-Mac tuners on them and I am extremely pleased. One set of my 5 star's began to slip and I could not tighten them any further. I called Stew-Mac and was informed that they would replace the set. I was not expecting that. In a few days my new set arrived and I returned the old postage paid by Stew-Mac.

I have always been a fan of theirs and they just keep giving me reasons to continue. They are extremely professional and very personable to boot. I can't say enough.
Regards,
Les Thompson Founding member of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.

Les Thompson  N. Virginia
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 2-17-2011
Potentiometers

This is a good quality potentiometer. I make it a habit of flushing new potentiometers prior to putting them into the circuit, The STEWMAC pots have not let me down yet.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
5 2-17-2011
improved clarity

adding a bone saddle on my old Sigma acoustic brightened and added clarity to its sound. Would recommend having it installed by a guitar shop. Only cost about $30.

Matt H.  Milwaukee
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
5 2-17-2011
Great Product

I switched over to waterbased finishes a few years ago and these products work great. No more toxic fumes and finish buffs easily and looks great.

Brad Windsor  Ojai, California Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 2-17-2011
wide fretwire

I've always liked low- wide fretwire for electric guitars. I also am using them for cigar box guitars. Easy to use and need little finish work. Work great for diatonic scale.

mark g  webster city ia Read my reviews (2)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 2-17-2011
Best used

I have used several different brands of glue for attaching bindings. Weld-On is by far the best holding of all the brands I have used. I have had bindings come loose when I used the other brands, but never with this one. Highly recommend.

Brad Windsor  Ojai, California Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 17401 – 17425
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  696  697  698  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce