Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17376 – 17400
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  695  696  697  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-21-2011
My personal favorite

My personal favorite nut material.

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
5 2-21-2011
The tool that sells itself.

The moment I saw the video of this tool I knew I had to have one.

jLam Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (3)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 2-21-2011
Gretsch, refret

wire was uniform and worked great, I was very pleased with the results.

oldman  Edgewood, New Mexico
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 2-21-2011
Happy Camper

Very pleased with the sounds coming out of my Epi Les Paul now.No kids, it's not about mega output/over drive.Y ou can always add that. It's all about the sweet tone to start with. Trying to get a buddy to buy himself a pair for his Epi SG. Both fine instruments, but the P.U.'s need this kind of replacement. I like.

Freddie West  ca
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 2-20-2011
Fret End Dressing File

Simply put, the best file available for delicate hand dressing fret ends. Very well designed. The size and shape is just right; with a fine cut on both sides.

Lenny C  Blanchardville, WI
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 2-20-2011
The perfect tool for the job

I was skeptical at first buying this tool because I already have nippers but trust me, if you need to pull a bad fret then you are going to need this tool! I challenge anyone that can find a similar tool at their local hardware store.

Mike Thornburg  Wakeman, OH
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
Schaller Non-Tremolo Roller Bridge
5 2-20-2011
Masterpiece

I bought this bridge to replace a cheap six point tremolo on a budget guitar. After the body work, paint, and careful measurements I installed this bridge. It is an absolute masterpiece with more adjustable features than any other I've tried. Rock solid and combined with locking tuners I now have a cheapo guitar that plays, feels and stays in tune like never before. Just awesome.

Nathan K  NC Read my reviews (18)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
3 2-20-2011
A little expensive.

I have nothing bad to say about the quality at all. However I think they are a little expensive for a relatively basic piece of plastic, when you compare to other items that are much more complicated and fractions of a millimeter are imperative (e.g. electronic components).

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 2-20-2011
Look no further.

Excellent quality. I have used dozens between my own guitars and those that I service and repair and have never had one fail. I wouldn't use anything else.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 2-20-2011
Great super glue BUT

Do not even attempt to take the cover off the bottle because it is bonded there permanently whether that was the manufacturers intention or not.

shrinkDave  Miami, FL Read my reviews (3)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 2-20-2011
Double edge fret file

I've only used the small side, but it works good, I'm sure the other bigger side works as well. Gives you what you need for forming a good crown.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
3 2-20-2011
OptiVisor

It took at least 2 minutes before I was cussing the little plastic "Hope they'll stick" pins that hold it together. After replacing them with screws and nuts, I wouldn't want to be without it.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
Mother-of-pearl Nut
Mother-of-pearl Nut
5 2-20-2011
Mother of Pearl nut

Good stuff. Works about the same as bone but polishes up brighter and classier.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 2-20-2011
Flexible polishing papers

They're great for almost any detailed sanding or polishing. I cut strips then glued them together in belts for the dressing stick, Fantastic. The cloth paper folds right in to match the profile you put on the dressing stick.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
3 2-20-2011
Dressing stick

It's a sound idea and worked great after I made up my own belts with more flexible paper. The paper that comes with it is way to stiff for small Banjo frets. I used the new cloth paper from S.M.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 2-20-2011
great bits

I love these bits, even though I'm not a stringed instrument maker, stewmac is my go-to source for these. I make high-end jewelry boxes with lots of inlay, and these bits are the best I've found anywhere for use in inlay work. I also wish ,like someone else has already commented on, that these bits were also available in 1/64'' cutting dimension.

larryw  Texas Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
1 2-20-2011
Finger board guards

Worthless for Banjo. Hangs over edge way to far, gets in the way. Not tight enough on the fret to help much. Bending doesn't help, makes it worse. Use masking tape and save yourself some time and money.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
Truss Rod Cover Screws
Truss Rod Cover Screws
5 2-20-2011
Truss Rod Cover Screws

I really like the slot head screws. I usually relic them some and they look the part for my old vintage guitar project.

Ken's Vintage Guitars.  Ferris, Texas
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
Pre-wired Pickguard Assembly
5 2-20-2011
It's all there!

I had reservations about buying this, but not now. This not only looks good, but sounds excellent,requiring zero adjustment,it went straight in. I'm really impressed.

kieron uk  somerset Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
5 2-20-2011
love this bit of stuff

cor!! A truly beautiful piece of maple that required no planing on front side.

kieron uk  somerset Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Swamp Ash Body Blank
Swamp Ash Body Blank
5 2-20-2011
if i said you had a beautiful body

what a beauty,i was very impressed with this. Nicely joined, a very attractive grain, ideal for my first build project.

kieron uk  somerset Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 2-20-2011
StewMac aerosol paints

Absolutely fantastic! Don't even think about using anything that you can buy at your local hardware store. They have so many solvents in them, to make them easier to remove when used for grafetti, that they never completely dry and 'gas off' forever.

FJS  Santa Fe
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 2-19-2011
Nicely engineered tool

I found this router base to be well designed and easy to use.

gsobonya  nevada city, ca Read my reviews (3)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 2-19-2011
These make inlay a pleasure

The clean cutting edge and solid carbide make cutting an inlay channel a breeze.

gsobonya  nevada city, ca Read my reviews (3)
Megaswitch S-Model
Megaswitch S-Model
5 2-19-2011
The Best

The Megaswitch is made by Schaller and exudes quality in its look and feel. Get one, you'll be glad you did.

Wild William  Baltimore, MD
Displaying 17376 – 17400
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  695  696  697  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce