Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17276 – 17300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  691  692  693  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 2-25-2011
My second Build.

Just completed my second build of a Stew Mac Dreadnought kit. The second effort has been so much easier and I have developed the confidence to add my personal touches this time. This one is for grandson number one and with five more I guess I'll be busy over the next few years. The Stew Mac kits are beautifully presented in a fashion that makes a make a home build really achievable.

James Bell  Kooralbyn Australia
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
5 2-25-2011
Great Set!

Perfect set for all your crowning needs. The quick dual grit change is a plus. Handled my last stainless job well with a little extra effort. Nickle jobs are a breeze. A fantastic tool set.

John T.  Augusta, GA
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 2-25-2011
Wow!

Holy Cow!!!!! I can see!! Makes the intricate stuff sooo much easier.

Jeff Anderson  Bristol, CT Read my reviews (2)
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
5 2-25-2011
Nice!!

I have an older Takamine elec/acoustic. With a little shaping & sanding, it's like I have a brand new guitar. The tone is rich & creamy now!!

Jeff Anderson  Bristol, CT Read my reviews (2)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 2-25-2011
Titebond

First time user.Repaired a broken neck.
The joint is now as strong as the rest of the guitar. Easy clean up, easy sanding , and had a good tack when the wood was clamped.

Riclin  Niagara Falls, Ont. Canada Read my reviews (5)
Robo-Sander
Robo-Sander
5 2-25-2011
Amazing results!!

i mounted the Robo-Sander on my drill press, shapes neck's fast and perfectly!
also, if you add a large ledge to your drill press you can use it to final shape bodies easily!

Smoke Wood Guitars  Natanya, Israel Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 2-25-2011
Fretboard finishing oil

Two guitars received a thorough cleaning and an application of this product. I was amazed at the difference! Both guitars were dirty and one had a slight amount of corrosion on the frets. Both look like new. I use this on all my rosewood necked guitars. You will like this product!

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 2-25-2011
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners

A grandson dropped my classical guitar and broke a tuner. I purchased this tuner set and installed them. They fit well, and tuned perfectly. Well worth the price!

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 2-25-2011
Preservation Polish

I used this polish on a Fender bass and a Gibson ES-125 which looked terrible. After using this polish, both looked brand new. I highly recommend this product!

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
4 2-25-2011
Vintage Tele Pickgaurd.

This is a nice touch to add to the newer re-issues MIM Fender Tele's. They're making 'em better these days. You will need to thoroughly shield the cavity and back of pickguard.
My Tele looks so much better w/out the 3-ply Bl/Wh/Bl. p-guard. However,it's the thickness that supplies the shielding. I have noticed the new ones now come shielded. I have the Ash body,vintage alnico noiseless pick-ups,Butterscotch blonde. It's a great guitar.(Pictured before p-guard change.)

EASLEY MEMPHIS GUITAR SCHOOL  MEMPHIS,TN.
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
5 2-25-2011
swampy

My project was to build a one piece swamp ash stratalike,with as much authentic vintage vibe as possible. Using golden age pickups was the right choice. I wired the thing up, ala dan armstrongs ``invisible switch`` for infinite tonal choice,with a treble bleed in circuit,as shown on dan erlewine`s video: how to wire a strat. RESULT ,it's a tone swampthing. I could not be a happier man,these are truly awesome sounding pickups. Many thanks to the stewmac team.
william hill, england.

william hill  england Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 2-25-2011
ukulele

exactly what I need for this project...

philippe chedotel  france
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
3 2-25-2011
Decent but not sure they are right for me

I installed these on a Schecter C1 Diamond Series, and am currently playing through an Egnater Rebel 30 Combo. These are good pickups, but not sure they are right for me. The bridge pickup doesn't have the highs that I'm looking for, unless I set the treble to almost 10, and increase the gain. Pretty certain its not the amp - I've played around with the settings on it and still can't get the tone I'm looking for. Note - these are 4 conductor, and I currently have them set up to split coil. I am going to modify the wiring to straight humbuckers to see if that helps.

I know very little about guitar wiring, so I don't know if that will make a difference. I may also change the tone capacitor. Stewart Mac has great stuff - I may have just made the wrong selection for my guitar.

rf  Atl, Ga USA Read my reviews (3)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 2-25-2011
Critical for detail work

If you are not using this while doing detail work like fretting and small repairs your work will be sub-standard. I found jobs that I thought were acceptable and with the visor I could can now do much better work.

PES  Islip NY Read my reviews (5)
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
5 2-25-2011
excellent quality

excellent quality, glues is very powerful, but you need experience, we have to work very quickly

Sergey  Moscow, RUS
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
4 2-25-2011
Great Tool would like to see more....

This tool really gets the job done quickly and easily. I would like to have a better selection of widths and also an extra fine version and then would give it 5 stars

PES  Islip NY Read my reviews (5)
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
5 2-24-2011
Deoxit does the job

I use Deoxit all the time. I specialize in fixing up old cheap guitars that almost always have noisy pots. A few quick shots with this stuff and they come back to life. I use it on amps too. Here is an old Hagstrom 1 that came to life once the pots were cleaned.

PES  Islip NY Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
2 2-24-2011
Bent towards bridge from tremolo

I constructed a Warmoth Stratocaster with a Gotoh Wilkinson bridge. After installing these tuners, stringing up some 10-46 strings, and using my whammy for a week, the tuner posts that stick up through the headstock gradually bent towards the bridge: they are now no longer at a right angle to the headstock, especially the posts for the big strings - low E, A, and D. The tuner's structure did not hold up to the pressure of a Gotoh trem, it seems. I would have thought a Gotoh worked with a Gotoh, you know?

My buddy, who built his Strat with the same bridge and tuners I used, had this exact same problem.

That being said, these tuners seemed well constructed before the trem did them in, they looked awesome, and they'd probably be suitable for a Tele or hardtail Strat.

Stewmac's customer service is great - they are sending me some locking Grovers I chose and letting me mail these bent Gotohs back to Athens on their bill.

Twobears  Cleveland, OH
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
5 2-24-2011
String Saver Saddles

These worked great. Our customer loved them.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 2-24-2011
Electrosocket! The ultimate connection!

I have used these on guitars, basses, speaker cabinets on walls, anyplace that I would like to have an audio connection. They have never failed me.

Ken Landis  Gap, PA Read my reviews (12)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 2-24-2011
Optivisor

This wonderful unit is the best thing since a zippered fly.
There are cheaper imitations out there but this is the best because of the LED lights.
Thank you StewMac

Murray Green  Saskatchewan Canada
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 2-24-2011
Very handy tool.

It is a little on the small side but if it were any bigger I wouldn't be able to use it on other smaller instruments.

jLam Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Skin Banjo Head
Skin Banjo Head
5 2-24-2011
MandoBanjo

Great quality skin for my 1921 MandoBanjo looks great sounds better

Larry Inman  DeSoto KS Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 2-24-2011
Abounding Sound

Good product consistent quality and they transfer sound better than anything else on my 1917 L1 Gibson

Larry Inman  DeSoto KS Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Freehand Holder
Freehand Holder
4 2-24-2011
Free handholder

Works great for my shop, I'm a small custom shop building Mandolins, Dobro's, and guitars.
Thanks for your great products
John

John Mitchell  Port Ludlow, Washington Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 17276 – 17300
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  691  692  693  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce