Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17276 – 17300
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  691  692  693  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
5 2-28-2011
tune o matic

Arrived fast. The bridge is well made excellent sustain. Any parts i need from now on will be ordered from you.

soltero33  florida
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 2-28-2011
Purchasing At Stew Mac

I have always had very good quality and excellent service from everyone, and if there is a problem it is always taken care of professionally. Thank you

Tippin guitars  Marblehead MA
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
3 2-28-2011
Great Idea, However!

I love the idea, unfortunately the thickness of the material hinders it's use. I recently re-fretted a classic Maple fingerboard and the fret slot was thinner than the Teflon material. I tried everything I could to squeeze the material into the slot and it just wouldn't go.

I'm sure it works great with the newer larger fret tang slots but in the classics, it just didn't work out. If a thinner size would be available in the future, I've got the money in hand right now.

2nd Chance Guitars  Hollywood CA Read my reviews (3)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 2-28-2011
Nut Slotting Gauge

This is an great tool, 
 I have checked and adjusted scores of guitars since receiving my gauge all with equal ease. Along with my other Stewart mac tools, nut setting is easy. The one drawback of this tool is the dial which is set up for positive reading clockwise only. A more appropriate scale would have been a 50/50 plus and minus of zero but this is only a minor discomfort.

I however have developed another method of reading the scale which I believe simplifies its use. First tighten the set screw that holds the outer ring so that it grips it without sliding about. Next with two fingers on the string you wish to measure press down either side of the first fret, place the gauge and adjust the outer ring to read Zero while continuing to hold down the string. Release the string and you can read off directly the gap between the fret and string. Note this setting.

Now place the gauge over the second fret and fret the string behind the first fret. The second reading will give you a good indication of the action you require at the nut allowing that the frets have been dressed and the bridge saddle are within normal range.

Using this method you can take direct readings and also evaluate a correct range of adjustment for a nut without much effort. As with many techniques the description takes longer to read and understand than it actually takes to do the job

Using this tool you can quickly evaluate a guitar for a client and set up according to there playing style and unlike other users who have found this gauge to be inconsistent I personally have had repeatability of .001” to be easily obtainable. These gauges are precision items and as such should be treated as so.

As with all setups you should follow a specific set of steps, checking each component in a specific order to eliminate having to repeat some of the operations a second time.

Phillip Murray  France
6 Steel Rule
6" Steel Rule
5 2-28-2011
Sturdy Rule

Great ruler with clear markings... very sturdy. A+

David O'  Katonah, NY Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 2-28-2011
GREAT Package!

The Super Glue Starter Package is a great package that comes with everything you need and detailed instructions on how to use the glues for various guitar related repairs... very impressed!

David O'  Katonah, NY Read my reviews (2)
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 2-28-2011
Works Perfect.

I bought the Pigtail Wraparound Bridge for my Gibson SG Jr. and it did the trick. My guitar was completely intonateable, which was my goal. However, there was too much space where the bridge contacts the posts when using the regular Gibson bridge posts, and it cause the new bridge to sit at an angle. Everything worked fine, but it just didn't look perfect to me yet. So, I ordered the tone pro locking bridge posts and installed them in 2 minutes and everything was perfect.

I loved this set up on my guitar so much, that I used it to record my latest album. Long story short. The Pigtail bridge transformed my guitar from a guitar I used as a spare, to my main guitar. By the way, the sound of my guitar is as good or better. Thanks STEWMAC!

jop3001z  va
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 2-28-2011
Great kit for the price

This kit has everything you need to perform a good shielding job on any guitar. Good selection of foil sizes,extra wire and solder. The copper foil is hard to work with if your not a hands on person.

If you do not have a lot of time and patience , I recommend you spend the extra money for the paint instead. Shielding with foil is a tedious job that takes time to get it done correctly, but if you have the skills and the time this is kit will handle any sheilding job you have. You can almost do 2 guitars with it if you are very concise with your cuts and do not waste allot of material. Most 1st time people who try this I recommend getting the large kit instead of the small kit, because you will mess up some stuff and need the extra amount of foil.

Dane  Dublin, GA
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 2-28-2011
Great

This stuff is pretty cheaply prices for how much you get. I already made 2 pickguards out of it (an LP Special style from a epi LP jr, and a LP style) and still have over half of it.

In addition to that, right before I cut it I read that pickguards tend to chip when being cut. I used a scroll saw and an old blade and it cut just as well as wood. No chips, rough surfaces, etc.

Adam  New York Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 2-27-2011
Great tool !!!

I love these sanding sticks. You can get all around the fret easily. No more using your fingernail and plain sandpaper to get the edges. A lot more control with these sticks. I have 4 of them. It's a great price too.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 2-27-2011
On the Level with the Fret Rocker

A must have for me. I use it on every
board that has frets. Very high quality. A must-have recommendation!
Worth the cost.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
5 2-27-2011
Perfect Fret End Bevels!

I love the ease of using this tool. My fret ends look perfect after a simple steel wool polish once I have used this excellent tool.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 2-27-2011
Accurate control, High quality.

These files put an accurate groove for the string to rest/slide on. I am very pleased with these.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Diamond Fret File
Diamond Fret File
5 2-27-2011
Diamonds are a Fret's best friend!

Simple: Without a doubt the best file for crowning frets;In my experience nothing comes close. I highly recommend these.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 2-27-2011
Cool!!!

Very cool!!! It´s very easy to dress the frets with this stick.

Rodolfo  Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Read my reviews (5)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
5 2-27-2011
Great!!!

Very nice hammer!!! It´s very comfortable. I can seat the frets firmly and don´t damage it.

Rodolfo  Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 2-27-2011
Great option for finishing without the expensive equipment!!

I have used this product for refinishing necks and bodies. My most recent project was a sunburst using Vintage Amber for the base, Cherry Red and for the first inner ring and Red Mahogany for the edge, sides and back. Made sure to put the cans in hot water to bring up the temp first and it came out perfect. Followed up with Clear Coat and finishing with a wet sanding and buffing process. Looks like a custom finish. Great Product!!

Steve Remy  Washington, DC
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 2-27-2011
Electro socket Jack Mount

Should have done this years ago. Looks, and works like a charm. No more loose jack mounts as this jewel does what is is supposed, and looks killer doing it. Took about 5 minutes to install and works much better than the previous one.

Stratfanatic  Summerville, S.C. Read my reviews (4)
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
5 2-27-2011
Jazz bass wiring kit

Excellent product for anyone who just needs the basic electronics for a bass with 2 pickups and a pot for tone. Worked great for my Ibanez p-j, even though it's intended for a jazz bass. Much larger and of higher quality than the stock electronics. Thank you Stew-Mac!

greenohio822  Canton, OH
Customer supplied image for review
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 2-27-2011
GREAT LEARNING EXP

My first guitar building exp. I learned a lot and I found the wood to be superb. The sound I'm getting,couldn't be more excited. Check it out!

Grumplehorn  America
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
4 2-27-2011
Quality is not what you expect... but it does the Job

Waited a month and I got it today. First thing i noticed when i opened the box was Made In China. Then red flakes of paint throughout the box. As I went to set it up i noticed that the hex bolt for adjusting the ram had been stripped(not a big deal i just tapped in a star head bit with a little larger head and adjusted the arm. It works fine and definitely makes the job faster then hammering them in. I pressed 24 frets in in about 30 minutes and i am not what you would call a person who hurries. I like to take my time make sure it done right the 1st time.

Okay that said, Stew mac is a great company I just hope to see less made in china stuff in the future.. and will continue to buy my shop tools and supplies from them. Their customer service is unbeatable and they are some of the most honest people i have encountered. They don't push what you don't need. As my shop grows i may purchase another press
i just hope the next says the next one is made in the USA or Just better made..... God Bless and Best wishes

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
1 2-26-2011
Very disappointed

I bought both the book and the DVD. One section of the book did not recommend wipe-staining the instrument, but the recipe I picked said to wipe stain the instrument. I bought the DVD, which did not address this at all. When I ordered the supplies I needed, I told the salesperson the recipe# I was using, and he was totally at a loss as to what to suggest. The airgun I bought came without instructions or a schematic, and when I tried to clean it for its first use, I broke a small plastic part crucial to its operation. Now I have to return it, and I'm another week or more plus shipping costs over budget and behind schedule.

Stewmac are nice guys, but apparently cater to experienced luthiers. Very, very disappointed. This should have been an exciting project, and it is turning into a nightmare.

Franko  Katy, TX
StewMac responds

Franko,
We're sorry you had this disappointing experience with us. We do our best to provide sound technical advise to beginners and pros alike, but in this case it seems we really let you down. We hope you will accept our sincere apology (and a replacement airgun, which we will send today.) Please try our technical support line again in the future, and we'll do our best to meet your needs.

String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 2-26-2011
guitar upgrade

your service is superb, your tools are first rate. thank you stewart macdonald

robin ellis  shrewsbury shropshire england
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 2-26-2011
Nice Screws.

Great.

Leroy  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 2-26-2011
tite bond glue

I bought the tight bond I have say its the best glue that there is. I built a finger board and glued it in with this glue, sanded it down, and the feel of the glue after sanded its like nothing. There for I am buying a lot of items for my shop from stewart Macdonald

thanks to all at Stewart Macdonald for all of the building material
mike

mixupmart  bedford
Displaying 17276 – 17300
of 21028 reviews
< 1  ...  691  692  693  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce