Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17251 – 17275
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  690  691  692  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 2-28-2011
Great

This stuff is pretty cheaply prices for how much you get. I already made 2 pickguards out of it (an LP Special style from a epi LP jr, and a LP style) and still have over half of it.

In addition to that, right before I cut it I read that pickguards tend to chip when being cut. I used a scroll saw and an old blade and it cut just as well as wood. No chips, rough surfaces, etc.

Adam  New York Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 2-27-2011
Great tool !!!

I love these sanding sticks. You can get all around the fret easily. No more using your fingernail and plain sandpaper to get the edges. A lot more control with these sticks. I have 4 of them. It's a great price too.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
5 2-27-2011
On the Level with the Fret Rocker

A must have for me. I use it on every
board that has frets. Very high quality. A must-have recommendation!
Worth the cost.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
5 2-27-2011
Perfect Fret End Bevels!

I love the ease of using this tool. My fret ends look perfect after a simple steel wool polish once I have used this excellent tool.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 2-27-2011
Accurate control, High quality.

These files put an accurate groove for the string to rest/slide on. I am very pleased with these.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Diamond Fret File
Diamond Fret File
5 2-27-2011
Diamonds are a Fret's best friend!

Simple: Without a doubt the best file for crowning frets;In my experience nothing comes close. I highly recommend these.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 2-27-2011
Cool!!!

Very cool!!! It´s very easy to dress the frets with this stick.

Rodolfo  Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Read my reviews (5)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
5 2-27-2011
Great!!!

Very nice hammer!!! It´s very comfortable. I can seat the frets firmly and don´t damage it.

Rodolfo  Rio de Janeiro - Brazil Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 2-27-2011
Great option for finishing without the expensive equipment!!

I have used this product for refinishing necks and bodies. My most recent project was a sunburst using Vintage Amber for the base, Cherry Red and for the first inner ring and Red Mahogany for the edge, sides and back. Made sure to put the cans in hot water to bring up the temp first and it came out perfect. Followed up with Clear Coat and finishing with a wet sanding and buffing process. Looks like a custom finish. Great Product!!

Steve Remy  Washington, DC
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 2-27-2011
Electro socket Jack Mount

Should have done this years ago. Looks, and works like a charm. No more loose jack mounts as this jewel does what is is supposed, and looks killer doing it. Took about 5 minutes to install and works much better than the previous one.

Stratfanatic  Summerville, S.C. Read my reviews (4)
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
5 2-27-2011
Jazz bass wiring kit

Excellent product for anyone who just needs the basic electronics for a bass with 2 pickups and a pot for tone. Worked great for my Ibanez p-j, even though it's intended for a jazz bass. Much larger and of higher quality than the stock electronics. Thank you Stew-Mac!

greenohio822  Canton, OH
Customer supplied image for review
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 2-27-2011
GREAT LEARNING EXP

My first guitar building exp. I learned a lot and I found the wood to be superb. The sound I'm getting,couldn't be more excited. Check it out!

Grumplehorn  America
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
4 2-27-2011
Quality is not what you expect... but it does the Job

Waited a month and I got it today. First thing i noticed when i opened the box was Made In China. Then red flakes of paint throughout the box. As I went to set it up i noticed that the hex bolt for adjusting the ram had been stripped(not a big deal i just tapped in a star head bit with a little larger head and adjusted the arm. It works fine and definitely makes the job faster then hammering them in. I pressed 24 frets in in about 30 minutes and i am not what you would call a person who hurries. I like to take my time make sure it done right the 1st time.

Okay that said, Stew mac is a great company I just hope to see less made in china stuff in the future.. and will continue to buy my shop tools and supplies from them. Their customer service is unbeatable and they are some of the most honest people i have encountered. They don't push what you don't need. As my shop grows i may purchase another press
i just hope the next says the next one is made in the USA or Just better made..... God Bless and Best wishes

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
1 2-26-2011
Very disappointed

I bought both the book and the DVD. One section of the book did not recommend wipe-staining the instrument, but the recipe I picked said to wipe stain the instrument. I bought the DVD, which did not address this at all. When I ordered the supplies I needed, I told the salesperson the recipe# I was using, and he was totally at a loss as to what to suggest. The airgun I bought came without instructions or a schematic, and when I tried to clean it for its first use, I broke a small plastic part crucial to its operation. Now I have to return it, and I'm another week or more plus shipping costs over budget and behind schedule.

Stewmac are nice guys, but apparently cater to experienced luthiers. Very, very disappointed. This should have been an exciting project, and it is turning into a nightmare.

Franko  Katy, TX
StewMac responds

Franko,
We're sorry you had this disappointing experience with us. We do our best to provide sound technical advise to beginners and pros alike, but in this case it seems we really let you down. We hope you will accept our sincere apology (and a replacement airgun, which we will send today.) Please try our technical support line again in the future, and we'll do our best to meet your needs.

String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 2-26-2011
guitar upgrade

your service is superb, your tools are first rate. thank you stewart macdonald

robin ellis  shrewsbury shropshire england
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Pickguard Screws for Fender
5 2-26-2011
Nice Screws.

Great.

Leroy  Australia Read my reviews (2)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 2-26-2011
tite bond glue

I bought the tight bond I have say its the best glue that there is. I built a finger board and glued it in with this glue, sanded it down, and the feel of the glue after sanded its like nothing. There for I am buying a lot of items for my shop from stewart Macdonald

thanks to all at Stewart Macdonald for all of the building material
mike

mixupmart  bedford
Kershner Banjo Tailpiece
Kershner Banjo Tailpiece
5 2-26-2011
Kirshner Tailpieces

You absolutely can't go wrong with a Kirshner. You can pay a lot more for a "boutique" tailpiece but you'll only be paying more for a tailpiece that does the same thing as the Kirshner.

dickinnorwich  Norwich, CT
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
5 2-26-2011
Ibex Convex Finger Plane 36mm

Indispensable tool for creating a carved top by hand. Sharp enough out of the box. Very efficient after a little practice.

Boudewijn  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Tuner Drill Jigs
Tuner Drill Jigs
5 2-26-2011
Tuner Drill Jig

Excellent tool. Easy to use with perfect results, every time.

Boudewijn  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
5 2-26-2011
great piece of wood!

Nice grain, well made. I'll be buying more!

nathan t  CAN
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
5 2-26-2011
Elite Amber Banjo Head

I recently installed this head on a Bart Reiter Special open back banjo. I examined an installed head on another of Barts works a Galax banjo, and fell in love. I was able to contact Bart via email and he helped me out with the model of head that would properly fit my banjo. After the banjo head was installed, the banjo really responded well! I love the tone and "pop" it has! Stew-Mac has awesome service too, a great price, and quick shipping. Highly recommend the head.

PeteBtL  Plymouth, WI
Customer supplied image for review
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
3 2-26-2011
ghs boomers

These strings are just ok, I wasn't impressed.

Paul Thompson  Fort Gratiot, Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 2-26-2011
amazing quality

i was amazed at the quality of this piece of ebony, as well as the price. it was squared perfectly at both ends and is a uniform black. i was surprised to find that it was actually longer than 20 inches, which was cool because i could fit more frets than i had planned for. if anyone needs ebony, get this stuff. thanks stew mac!

Jim C  CA
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 2-26-2011
Better way to use

I work in the acoustic set-up department at Collings and use this tool everyday. However, I find the instructions and Dan's video as the wrong way to use this tool. Instead of just checking to see the difference between pushing down on both sides of the gauge and an open measurement, you should be interested in the difference between what reading you get when pushing down on both sides of the gauge and what the gauge reads when fretting between the 2nd and 3rd frets. Because what you're really interested in is how much clearance you have over the first fret, when fretting the 3rd fret. The wound strings should have between .003 to .005, while the B string might need .004 or .005 and the high E could be as low as .002.

Billy Parks  Wimberley, Texas
Displaying 17251 – 17275
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  690  691  692  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce