Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17226 – 17250
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  689  690  691  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
5 3-01-2011
Golden age tuners for a golden age steel

When the original tuners on my 1930 National Style 4 squareneck joined their ohana in the sky, I was at a loss for what to use as replacements. At the time, I went with the Waverley "3 on a plate" tuners as they were the closest option. Though they are notably the finest tuner available, they always seemed out of place on the National. Partly due to the National's misaligned pegholes and the Waverley's .249 post diameter, the Waverley's never really fit.

What a blessing the Golden Age tuners are. Though they are not the same engraving as the original tuners, they drop right in, and the relic finish matches well with the 80 year old well loved nickel plating of my National. In short; I love these tuners and so does my Golden Age National :-)

John Fay  Paauilo, Hawaii
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 6-In-Line
5 3-01-2011
grovers wow!

I've always loved grover tuners, I installed midsized rotomatics on a strat replacement neck and they are great. When you are tuning you can just feel the quality. Grovers give you confidence of tuning

rickey hammond  sun valley, nv Read my reviews (2)
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 3-01-2011
Best upgrade ever!

I just blocked the trem bar on my Fender Strat and added 5 of these springs. The sustain time has doubled. It's the best upgrade i ever did.

b1ackstallion  Denmark
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
5 3-01-2011
impressive

Used this on fret jobs and never needed to break out the saw. It's clean and cuts. Using my figures as a guide i could actually widen fret slots. The price is right and this tool is a must have. Great quality.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
1 3-01-2011
not what you'd expect from stew mac

This brace is not at all well made and is hard to use. The ends keep turning and it falls out under pressure due to the slick surfaces i had to place double sided tape on each end of it to keep in place. This is not the quality i have become accustom to with stew mac, and the price is way to high. You can make one for far less, using a turnbuckle and replacing the hooks with two small bolts for about $4 total. Stew Mac is a great company, this product just falls short of their rep.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
5 3-01-2011
quick and effective

I use these on every fret job and so far no completes. Just take your time and go from one end to the other and they do a great job.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 3-01-2011
they do the job and more

these cutters not only cut close and clean..they also work great for fret bending.. and the price is right.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Guitar Nutdrivers
Guitar Nutdrivers
5 3-01-2011
So much easier!

This set does 99% of all of the jobs I see. The "T" handle makes for even leverage combined with the socket ends, reduce the chance of slippage and consequent damage.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Guitar Shop Starter Kit
Guitar Shop Starter Kit
5 3-01-2011
The best start!

I haven't bought this package but own all of the components of it, which are the essentials for any competent guitar servicer. Great price. Anything else you might need is more of a case-by-case basis or specializing in specific kinds of jobs.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Truss Rod Cover Screws
Truss Rod Cover Screws
2 2-28-2011
Ditto on needing black and how about flathead?

Many truss rod covers have countersunk holes and flatheads would be great. Same goes for coverplate screws. Need better selection

PES  Islip NY Read my reviews (5)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 2-28-2011
Good quality trussrod

I recommend this trussrod, works very well as expected. The 14 1/4" size is also appropriate for short scale electric guitar too, specially Gibson-like set neck guitars. Use the 18" just for long-scale guitars (25 1/2").

Ricardo Fonseca  SP, Brazil Read my reviews (8)
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 2-28-2011
Very good

Very nice tool, works just as expected to fit Grover tuners perfectly using my drill press.

Ricardo Fonseca  SP, Brazil Read my reviews (8)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 2-28-2011
Love 'em!

Dropped a pair into my '74 SG - gold covered at the neck, zebra at the bridge. Couldn't be happier! Certainly as good as anything Gib$on has put in their guitars for the last 40 years.

MRK  Dubuquem IA Read my reviews (2)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 2-28-2011
3M Flex paper

Love the Polishing paper. i used for nuts ,polishing frets,touch up's .

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 2-28-2011
Opaque Super glue

Works very well. Just make sure you blow out the wink.

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
4 2-28-2011
Comfy on the palm

I replaced my Mexican Strat saddles with these (#4756). Fits like a charm. There was a sitar-like note buz coming from the bridge the first few minutes I played. But once they've settle properly on the bridge the buz was gone.
They feel a lot more comfortable under your palm than regular Fender saddles. I was curious about how they affect the tone. So I recorded some clean licks and chords before/after by keeping the same strings and I cannot notice any difference. That's a good thing. The only reason I am not giving the fifth star is because the teflon insert was not consistently pressed in. On some saddle they are flush, on some other they protrude over (creating a gap between the saddle and the insert).
The spec is supposed to be 5.21 mm high but that was the case for 3 of them because the teflon insert is not completely pressed in. This can be compensated with the action screws.

Vile Mary  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
Black and White Laminated Pickguard Materials
5 2-28-2011
What You Expect Pickguard Material To Be

What can I say - it's pick guard material. Worked great to make a full SG Pickguard for a SG Copy I made

Lee M  Northern Neck, VA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
5 2-28-2011
tune o matic

Arrived fast. The bridge is well made excellent sustain. Any parts i need from now on will be ordered from you.

soltero33  florida
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 2-28-2011
Purchasing At Stew Mac

I have always had very good quality and excellent service from everyone, and if there is a problem it is always taken care of professionally. Thank you

Tippin guitars  Marblehead MA
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
3 2-28-2011
Great Idea, However!

I love the idea, unfortunately the thickness of the material hinders it's use. I recently re-fretted a classic Maple fingerboard and the fret slot was thinner than the Teflon material. I tried everything I could to squeeze the material into the slot and it just wouldn't go.

I'm sure it works great with the newer larger fret tang slots but in the classics, it just didn't work out. If a thinner size would be available in the future, I've got the money in hand right now.

2nd Chance Guitars  Hollywood CA Read my reviews (3)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 2-28-2011
Nut Slotting Gauge

This is an great tool, 
 I have checked and adjusted scores of guitars since receiving my gauge all with equal ease. Along with my other Stewart mac tools, nut setting is easy. The one drawback of this tool is the dial which is set up for positive reading clockwise only. A more appropriate scale would have been a 50/50 plus and minus of zero but this is only a minor discomfort.

I however have developed another method of reading the scale which I believe simplifies its use. First tighten the set screw that holds the outer ring so that it grips it without sliding about. Next with two fingers on the string you wish to measure press down either side of the first fret, place the gauge and adjust the outer ring to read Zero while continuing to hold down the string. Release the string and you can read off directly the gap between the fret and string. Note this setting.

Now place the gauge over the second fret and fret the string behind the first fret. The second reading will give you a good indication of the action you require at the nut allowing that the frets have been dressed and the bridge saddle are within normal range.

Using this method you can take direct readings and also evaluate a correct range of adjustment for a nut without much effort. As with many techniques the description takes longer to read and understand than it actually takes to do the job

Using this tool you can quickly evaluate a guitar for a client and set up according to there playing style and unlike other users who have found this gauge to be inconsistent I personally have had repeatability of .001” to be easily obtainable. These gauges are precision items and as such should be treated as so.

As with all setups you should follow a specific set of steps, checking each component in a specific order to eliminate having to repeat some of the operations a second time.

Phillip Murray  France
6 Steel Rule
6" Steel Rule
5 2-28-2011
Sturdy Rule

Great ruler with clear markings... very sturdy. A+

David O'  Katonah, NY Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 2-28-2011
GREAT Package!

The Super Glue Starter Package is a great package that comes with everything you need and detailed instructions on how to use the glues for various guitar related repairs... very impressed!

David O'  Katonah, NY Read my reviews (2)
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 2-28-2011
Works Perfect.

I bought the Pigtail Wraparound Bridge for my Gibson SG Jr. and it did the trick. My guitar was completely intonateable, which was my goal. However, there was too much space where the bridge contacts the posts when using the regular Gibson bridge posts, and it cause the new bridge to sit at an angle. Everything worked fine, but it just didn't look perfect to me yet. So, I ordered the tone pro locking bridge posts and installed them in 2 minutes and everything was perfect.

I loved this set up on my guitar so much, that I used it to record my latest album. Long story short. The Pigtail bridge transformed my guitar from a guitar I used as a spare, to my main guitar. By the way, the sound of my guitar is as good or better. Thanks STEWMAC!

jop3001z  va
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
5 2-28-2011
Great kit for the price

This kit has everything you need to perform a good shielding job on any guitar. Good selection of foil sizes,extra wire and solder. The copper foil is hard to work with if your not a hands on person.

If you do not have a lot of time and patience , I recommend you spend the extra money for the paint instead. Shielding with foil is a tedious job that takes time to get it done correctly, but if you have the skills and the time this is kit will handle any sheilding job you have. You can almost do 2 guitars with it if you are very concise with your cuts and do not waste allot of material. Most 1st time people who try this I recommend getting the large kit instead of the small kit, because you will mess up some stuff and need the extra amount of foil.

Dane  Dublin, GA
Displaying 17226 – 17250
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  689  690  691  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce