Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17201 – 17225
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  688  689  690  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Saddle Screws for ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridges
Saddle Screws for ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridges
1 3-03-2011
Mismatch parts

After getting no answers or help from Gibson, I turned to Stewmac for parts for an old Les Paul. I needed to replace the parts on a ABR bridge, new saddles, screws and wire. Only issue, the screws are to small in size and had too much play, the original screws where recruited once again.

mkj  Sandy, Utah
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
4 3-03-2011
a real time saver

When used with simulated string tension this tool can save time and physical exertion. It's not a cure all but it does work great

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
Pickguard Adhesive Sheet
4 3-03-2011
works great

gets the job done

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridge
ABR-1 Tune-o-matic Bridge
3 3-03-2011
eh

works alright

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
The Key
The Key
3 3-03-2011
works pretty well

Once you get the hang of the quirks, this little tool speeds up the intonation process.

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 3-03-2011
Mega switch is great

The quality is great, installed easily, operates smoothly, and sounds fantastic with H-S-H configuration.

Randy Wood  Cullman, Alabama Read my reviews (4)
Scissor Jack
Scissor Jack
4 3-03-2011
Scissors Jack and Reinforcing Diamonds

The Jack works well in positioning the reinforcing diamonds across a crack in the plate. Both the knob and the extension cable come off too easily. I suggest a spring ball detent to help hold them on.

Jack J  Livermore, CA USA Read my reviews (7)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
5 3-02-2011
No Repair Shop Should Be Without a Bunch of These!

I can't count how many time these little guards have saved me additional fretboard cleanup! They fit around the frets nicely and for the price save me a lot work in the long run. If you do a lot of fret work, these are great!

Phil Secrist, Secrist Guitars  North Ogden, Utah
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 3-02-2011
This stuff is awesome!

I have 5 of the colortone stains and they always work great. They work especially well to help duplicate vintage colors.

Shane  Paul, ID. USA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Rotary Switches
Rotary Switches
5 3-02-2011
Very Versatile, Very Reliable

I used a 4P6T in my Les Paul to control 3 Coil Tapped Humbuckers. I've been beating on it for several years now, and it's still giving me 100% all the time.

67 Fastback  Norwich,CT Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 3-02-2011
Great Tang

After I purchased one of your fret saws (I had been filing down coping saw blades to the right size) I never had any trouble getting the medium fret wire to stay put on a fret board.

JB Stevens  Dixon, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Saddles
5 3-02-2011
absolute recommendation

Wish Fender would put these in all their electric guitars! After reading about Kenny Wayne Sheppard and how he said it helped him, I decided to try them out for myself. Man,vast difference in tone and staying in tune. I am sold, now only if I had Kenny's style,tone,and hands..one can only hope. Highly recommended!!

Mike Angaiak  Chenega Bay, AK
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
5 3-02-2011
Terrific tool

I've used this jig once so far, but the results were excellent. I had a vintage-drilled Strat neck and a set of Fender-Schaller locking tuners. This jig was a big time saver. The conical centering piece worked well even with my hand-reamed holes. The pin spacing proved to be dead accurate. One caveat: torque the jig down good and tight and work slowly. The jig will want to rotate as you drill. I like simple, well-made tools. And this fits the bill.

RAC  New York, NY Read my reviews (3)
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
4 3-02-2011
Amazing Tuners!

I just recently reliced my Fender American Tele, and wanted to go with a vintage tuner. HOLY COW these things are beautiful, easy to install, and hold a tune with out needing to stretch the strings! The ONLY reason I gave them 4 our of 5 stars is because the screws they came with are cheap aluminum and one broke off into my head stock. I bought the replacement screws from the StewMac website and they work great! I highly suggest these tuning pegs to anyone looking for a vintage look. Just order new screws to have peace at mind.

William Nathan  Florida
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
4 3-02-2011
Best Shop online

This shop is great, very good stuff at low price, but when you live outside the USA the ups delivering suck. you have to pay when the guy is at your door, please find another way to post the stuff !!
But i will buy here again and again.
I didn't put 5 stars only because of the UPS delivery!! But it's the best online shop i know !!
Sorry if my english is not good, but i'm French, i try to understandable, but............

FerneL  France
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass
5 3-02-2011
Wiring Kit for Jazz Bass

Excellent wire kit. Everything I needed to wire up my custom Jazz bass. Good parts, sufficient wire supplied and nice price.

Tim Rayner  Omaha, NE USA Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-02-2011
Copper Tape

Easy to work with. Molded nicely. Tape side sticks well

Tim Rayner  Omaha, NE USA Read my reviews (2)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-02-2011
Glad I bought them their files.

What a pleasure to do the job with the right tools. If you are going to be making and installing nuts you have got to use these files. Period.

nickyfzr  Parsippany NJ
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
5 3-02-2011
Makes the Job easier

The binding router guide and bit made the job of binding a Les Paul style body very easy. Slow and easy, a little at a time, and the edges were clean. After a few practice pieces you get the feel. Highly recommended.

John Schurman  Zeeland, Michigan
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Polishing Wheels
5 3-02-2011
Works great

I used these polishing wheels on an ES-335 and they work great. I chucked them directly into my old dremel tool and had no trouble getting a quick mirror finish on the frets. What a great timesaver. I would recommend these to anyone.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 3-02-2011
does what it is supposed to

Great Ferrules! The install was an issue (based on my limited skill set). Once installed they worked great!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
5 3-02-2011
The only available relic tuners for solid heads

I used the relic ones to replace the worn out tuners of my 1926 Gibson oval soundhole archtop L4. This tuners look very genuine, you can hardly see it's replacement. It fits very well and although the shafts are a little bit thicker, you can use the original bushings and also the original screwholes. The new shafts are a bit longer and that is better than the old ones.

Freek van Eijk  Netherlands
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
5 3-02-2011
Amazingly comfortable!

I had a problem with my stock strap button, it had a screw too thin, which on heavy use would enlarge the hole and fall out, making the guitar take a near plummet to its death!
These strap buttons come with a large screw, which took care of my strap hole problem. I also can remove and replace my strap with ease, knowing its just as, if not more, safe as my original strap button and a plastic lock.
I recommend it to all my customers and friends!

Smoke Wood Guitars  Natanya, Israel Read my reviews (5)
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
5 3-01-2011
Calipers

Great tool to have for all the measurements you have to take! I like the inches/mm feature especially!
Easy to use,very handy!

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
5 3-01-2011
Nice!!

I used this to clean the flat/matte finish of my Ibanez RG420. They work pretty well, and they're even friendly with someone with little sanding experience.

I used them on the back of the neck as well, and now it feels like new!!! Highly Recommended

Chris420  Mexico City
Displaying 17201 – 17225
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  688  689  690  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce