Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17176 – 17200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  687  688  689  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
Replacement Neck for Tele Guitar
5 3-04-2011
Tele Neck

I bought a Tele neck back in '92 thru StewMac and it's still one of my best playing necks! No warping twisting or fret problems even thru many moves round the world! StewMac really does their home work on getting the best possible and hard to get items to supply everyone in need of it!! Thanks guys!! :) I would definitely recommend buying anything from the guys there!!

Shannon  Davenport, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 6-In-Line
4 3-04-2011
Nice.

I LOVE these tuners, but here's what I don't like about them first. I have the 6-in-line set, and the posts are different heights! They should make that an option. Not everyone puts these on a tele/strat. It's not a deal breaker, but it bugs me a little. And, they are a little heavier than non-locking tuners. On a marginally balanced guitar, it does make a little difference(almost nil).

Okay, time for the rave instead of rant: They are SMOOTH as silk! 16:1 ratio is really nice. The locking feature saves so much time, and is so much more stable than wrapping strings. They are built like a tank, and look awesome. I guess next time if I don't want staggered posts I'll buy 2 sets, and mix & match so my tuners don't look weird!

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 3-04-2011
Great tuners, for a great price!

I usually install Schaller or Grover tuners in my guitars, but I took a chance on these about 8 months ago. I had a set of old Grovers from the '80s on my flying V that I built in 2007, and the guitar was dropped in early 2010. I bent a tuner shaft real bad. I decided since the tuners were chrome and the rest of my hardware was black, to get new tuners. I'm real glad I did. These are excellent. Even compared to tuners 2 or 3 times their price! The finish is great, they stay in tune forever, and the build quality is very nice. BUY THEM.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
4 3-04-2011
It works

I've installed this in 3 guitars and it helped kill hum in all of them quite well. Very easy to install, and sticks for a long time.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Flush-mount Output Jack
Flush-mount Output Jack
4 3-04-2011
I dig it

Very well made. It added the finishing touch to my most recent electric. The only thing I could whine about, is that the jack doesn't provide as much resistance to me accidentally unplugging my guitar as my other jacks do. I could probably get inside the jack and bend the contact, but I will just leave it until the jack needs maintenance in a few years. Other than that it's excellent, and looks great.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies
5 3-04-2011
Ooh, shiny.

I'm very impressed with these. I installed one on my latest superstrat a few months ago, and it came out beautifully. Very nice chrome finish with no flaws whatsoever. It matched my Kahler trem, tuners, and other hardware very well. I'm impressed.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 3-04-2011
Great Stuff!

I've used 4 of these in my builds now. 2 in electrics, 1 in an acoustic, and 1 in a banjitar. Never had a problem with any of them, and they can even be removed/replaced if your truss rod slot is cut correctly.

Just as another reviewer has noted, I have seen a small amount of rust on some of the rods. I usually put a few drops of 3-in-1 oil on the threads before installation just to keep corrosion to a minimum. I really love that these are 2-way rods, and can be used to correct a back-bow if necessary. And, the price on these rods is great! Most shops charge the same amount for a chintzy 1-way rod. The only thing I could think of improving would be to use stainless steel so the rods don't rust, and maybe offer a few more lengths too. Thanks for reading my review!

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 3-04-2011
King

It probably is the simplest truss rod to use in any guitar, acoustic or electric. It works very well, simple to use and reliable.

gabriel.v.savoie  Montréal Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 3-04-2011
Great

One of my best mate in guitarmaking.

gabriel.v.savoie  Montréal Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
5 3-04-2011
Back in Black! (I hope this hasn't been done already)

I brushed this stain onto my Ebony fingerboard and now it's black, black, black! I am making a Strat copy and I have some pics. I don't know if I have a shot of the fingerboard but I'll post some kind of pic at any rate. Yayy for Stewart - MacDonald!

unclebryan  Louisville, Kentucky USA
Customer supplied image for review
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 3-03-2011
Foam Saves the Day

I purchased a used P bass body that was in rough shape cosmetically . I tried polishing by hand with some Stewmac preservation polish , and it came out ok but I wanted a little more shine . I ordered two 3410 pads and some swirl remover compound. I polished the body twice and the body came out incredibly well ! I finished up with the preservation polish and it's like brand new. Don't hesitate, buy these ! Worth the money !

Rich Guitars  Mineola
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
Pearl and Abalone Inlay Blanks
5 3-03-2011
Abalone Pearl Butterfly Ornament

While searching for a source of abalone pearl, by far the most popular material for my line of art ornaments, I found the Stewart-MacDonald website. I was impressed by their prices, selection, information, and by the positive reviews from customers. My first order arrived promptly and I was very impressed with the quality and coloration of the abalone pearl blanks. I also purchased a selection of black pearl blanks which were also excellent. Two thumbs up for StewMac!

K.E. Ayers  Columbus, OH
Customer supplied image for review
8 Radius Blocks Essential Set
8" Radius Blocks Essential Set
5 3-03-2011
fast and accurate

i was kind of iffy about these blocks, but after using one all i can say is wow Does the work fast and accurate, no guess work. Do yourself a favor and buy a set of each 4 and 8 inch blocks. You will not regret it.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R
5 3-03-2011
Tremendous Tuners!

I chose these simple tuning machines because I build travel guitars & I want to keep my cost down and still have a product that works well. These tuning machines have not failed!

JB Stevens  Dixon, CA Read my reviews (2)
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
Kluson Waffleback Guitar Machines
4 3-03-2011
Wafflebacks

Firstly the service, delivery etc from Stewmac was excellent. The product arrived swiftly and safely.
The Tuners (20 of 'em)were to replace an identical set on a 1975 Emmons Push Pull Pedal steel guitar. So they had to be screwed into an aluminum keyhead.
My luthier's main issue with these was that the sizing is slightly different (he said imperial to metric equivalent) this meant that the screw holes had to be redrilled to fit the existing holes in the keyhead, as well as some expected grinding to accomodate the "stepped" keyhead. He reported that "the little gold inserts rotated with the drill bit and had to be carefully removed".
All up 5 hours was spent installing them.
In situ, the keys behave as expected and are a vast improvement on the original keys which were worn/wearing out. There is a slight amount of slack if tuning down and raising to pitch but it is a negligible amount.
I am delighted with the result (but my luthier has sworn he will never touch another pedal steel in his life) :)

mrBun  Sydney Australia Read my reviews (2)
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 3-03-2011
Fingerboard Clamps

Really slick!! A whole bunch easier than fighting mechanical clamps.

Joe Comroe  Longview Tx. Read my reviews (2)
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 3-03-2011
No pain in the neck!

I use these truss rods in all my guitar necks. They are easy to install and they work great. My necks are meaty and these truss rods can adjust them easily.

Trident Guitars  Berkley, Michigan Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
3 3-03-2011
Good color match, but.....

I have found that this stain doesn't mix well with lacquer causing blotching and uneven drying. As a rub on stain it is ideal, but make sure you allow ample drying time or the lacquer top coat will pull it out of the wood causing inconsistency in color. Perhaps better instructions on bottle would make this a more user friendly product.

stephan  Pittsburgh
Studs and Bushings for Floyd Rose
Studs and Bushings for Floyd Rose
5 3-03-2011
Studs for an upgrade.

I recently installed these replacement post and bushings on a customers guitar. They were larger inserts than original (not a factory floyd trim) and it was a little tricky centering the perfect marks to install (no fault of these bushings) ,but once i got every thing doweled redrilled and the inserts installed the adjustments were much more precise than on any other "Floyd" I have ever done!! Well done Stu mac.

B-MAN'S TECH  DALLAS TX
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 3-03-2011
Great Bridge for MANY reasons!

I use this bridge on all my custom builds with string through the body construction, not just with vibrato systems! I like to build with a 14 degree radius, which is already built into the bridge without having to cut the saddles on a standard 12" radius TOM. The design of the saddles, being open at the ends, also allows you to mount your string ferrules closer to the bridge without the string resting on the back of the bridge (something that always bothered me with a "nashville" and a string through setup).

Also, the dual setscrew locking design allows for a greater range of intonation offset. This bridge makes a great upgrade for an Eppiphone guitar with a 14 degree radius and at a lower cost than other "locking" bridges. Whenever a customer with an Eppi starts talking about a bridge upgrade, I show them one of these on one of my customs. Its my secrete weapon!

H.E.L. Guitars  Mifflintown, PA
Customer supplied image for review
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 3-03-2011
I'll never look back

I've used a number of different inlay bits over the years and these are far and away the best I've used. Well worth the money and very nice. The clean cut and precision have me hooked!

John Tuttle  MInnesota Read my reviews (2)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-03-2011
Nut files!!

For a long time i expected to get these wonderful files, they worth each cent, i used in the day i received them in a guitar and the result came immediately, in the past i used to work with some jewellery files, another world....really fantastic.

Gilson Russo  São Paulo Brasil Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
3 3-03-2011
good tools, not enough sizes

These work great, if you don't need to cut a nut slot for a .016" string. The taper is too steep on these to simply rock the .012" to get a good fit for a .016" string. You inevitably end up with a slot that's too loose. This problem would be solved if they started selling the .016" double edge file again, or made the taper a little shallower on the .012".

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
5 3-03-2011
Pearl cutting jig is awesome!

I bought this setup knowing it was going to simplify my inlay work, but I was absolutely amazed at how easily it cuts through abalone. It takes a little more time to saw through thicker MOP but as long as you keep applying the cutting lubricant, your results will be fantastic. My only complaint is that the lubricant builds up on the work piece and I find it hard sometimes to follow the pattern. But I haven't even hooked up the little blower yet, so that may resolve the issue. Overall, I'm very pleased with this kit.

toddler68  Cincinnati, OH
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
1 3-03-2011
I'll stick with coils of fretwire

I pre-grind fret ends, so it's important that I over-bend the fretwire by a precise amount in relation to the fretboard of the guitar at hand. Different 2' lengths of fretwire from the same tube of stew-mac fretwire would bend to different radii when sent through the fret-bender at the same setting. This meant that I over-bent and thus wasted a lot of fretwire and time. The problem is that Stew Mac gave me multiple batches (like yarn "dye lots") of fretwire in the same tube. I think that this isn't a problem for most folks but it's problematic for me. Also, the wire was pretty dirty requiring a good cleaning.

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 17176 – 17200
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  687  688  689  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce