Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17151 – 17175
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  686  687  688  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
5 3-07-2011
Great tool

It really makes the difference on plain strings nut notches, especially on brass nuts, where even a good file can leave a bur.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-07-2011
Get The Right Tool For The Job

Great quality files. I bought files in about 3 goes and I would recommend getting the right sizes early. I found this especially important on the lighter strings as its a far better job with the exact size file. Tip: My lovely wife made me the terrific canvas pouch which the files all fit into so I can just select the right file as I work across the guitar. This saves searching for the file size every time you put them down. Stew Mac could offer such a pouch as an extra accessory!

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
5 3-06-2011
Bending Iron/Extension

I use a bending iron mainly for touch-ups after the side wood comes out of my bending machine. The Stew-mac model is just the ticket. I wish I'd picked it up years ago and ditched the old steel pipe and propane torch I used all that time!

Scot T  Canada
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
4 3-06-2011
8" three corner fret dressing file

Good quality file that cuts well. (Rub with white chalk to help prevent clogging and use a small wire brush to clean)
Strongly recommend buying the Stew Mc fret shields as even though the corners of the file are without teeth, they can still leave a nasty groove.

michael morris  brisbane, australia Read my reviews (2)
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
4 3-06-2011
Plate covers up accident

My ES Artist fell and the original jack cracked the wood at the bottom of the body, bummer. Anyway, this plate in gold fixed the problem. It was big enough to cover the damage, but not wider than the ES Artist body. Worked great.

David Norris  Austin, TX Read my reviews (2)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 3-06-2011
really sharp and strong

To be honest I have only used this for cutting strings but I love it already. It makes even Bass strings feel like butter.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
4 3-06-2011
Very nice locking tuners

Tuners worked great. I would recommend buying the jig that is made to help position the pin hole. The paper jig that comes in the tuner package moved around too much to get a consistent hole drilled for all 6 tuners.

David Norris  Austin, TX Read my reviews (2)
StewMac responds

David,
We're happy to hear you like the tuners. We agree, the tuner pin drill jig will make it much easier to align your drill for accurate mounting pin holes! Thanks for the feedback.

Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Wrench Set
5 3-06-2011
Super!

Since I bought this set I always have the fitting tool for any trussrod and they are a breeze to work with.
If you have to do truss rod adjustments on a regular base these will make your life a LOT easier.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 3-06-2011
Outstanding tutorial!

The great thing about these DVDs is, that Dan shows you EVERYTHING! No secrets, no hidden tricks. And, unlike the free online videos, these DVDs don't promote StewMac tools, Dan shows you how to make your own tools from stuff you can get at a good hardware shop or might find around the house (where possible).
I have been doing minor guitar repair work for years, but these DVDs took my work to an entirely new level and gave me a lot of confidence to do work that I wouldn't have touched before.
Also the instructions are very easy to follow and understand. The language is plain and simple.
If you want to learn how to do fretwork by yourself, these DVDs are worth every cent.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 3-06-2011
Good Quality

I would consider these as good quality standard pots. I have used several of them without any problems and they seem to hold up pretty well.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 3-06-2011
Great Stuff!

It seems to be getting harder and harder to find good adhesives and cements. I originally purchased a tube of this for binding projects, but have come across lots of uses for
Weld-On 16. I don't know of anything that works even as well, let alone any better.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
3 3-06-2011
Not durable

I purchased this as I thought it would be handy for small lubrication jobs. It is a nice idea but the design of this pen is not durable. I never opened it and didn't even have a chance to use it. I put this in a tray with some other small tools and it simply fell apart (pen tip separated from the plastic tube body and the lubricant leaked out). It might be okay if you are very careful with it and handle with care. I was disappointed.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 3-06-2011
Great tool

This is a great tool to have for most dremel work. It is very well designed and made. Provides excellent control for precision hand tool work.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
4 3-06-2011
Good Nut and Saddle Material

I have purchased and used the bone saddle and nut material and both have worked very well. I prefer bone saddles and nuts for most of my acoustic work and bone nuts are excellent for many electrics as well. I have only received one piece of bone saddle material that could not be used because it was bowed. All in all, a good material choice.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
4 3-06-2011
Good Resource

I purchased a couple of the Rosewood blanks, for a special bridge re-building project that I needed to complete. The blanks that I received were very good quality and served my purpose perfectly. A nice resource to have when you don't need more wood.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Banjo Bracket Hooks
Banjo Bracket Hooks
5 3-06-2011
Round Banjo Hooks

They fit great and looked great on the little antique Concertone Banjo Mandolin I was restoring. They highlighted the birdseye maple rim very nicely

Terry Nixon  Davenport,Iowa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
5 3-06-2011
Double edge nut files

I bought all of the nut files and they are awesome,, they do the job well and make it very easy to determine the width of the slots.

Great product,very worth the price.
They are well made, and will last a long time as long as one takes care of them by putting them away after each use.

svisio  san francisco california Read my reviews (2)
Flush-mount Output Jack
Flush-mount Output Jack
5 3-06-2011
Works good

Used them about 10 times and never a problem. A wiring note would be helpful to a new buyer.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
5 3-06-2011
Great tone

I've used the .02s and the.05s and both sound great and produce great tone. Just purchased the .10s to tray and pump the low end even more.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Tele Jack Installation Tool
Tele Jack Installation Tool
5 3-06-2011
Awesome

For those of us who prefer to use the traditional jack cup this tool is amazing. The clips go in and out quickly with minimal setup time. Great tool for the shop or even the gig bag!

Jwalk2507  Bolingbrook il
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 3-06-2011
Just what i was looking for

Exactly what you think it is. I've used all colors and they've all looked and worked great. Easy to use.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
5 3-06-2011
Great Nut

Usually use bone, but tried these for a color match and was pleasantly surprised. Looks cool with a black headstock and is great for blues bending.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 3-06-2011
Great Bone Nut

I've used these nuts on 3, 4, and 6 stringers and they've worked great on all of them. Warm tone. Great sustain, especially on larger diameter strings. Easy to work with and carve.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
5 3-06-2011
Excellent Tuning Machines

These are great tuning machines, built very solid, elegant and not too flashy. They stay in tune well, have a smooth feel to the mechanics and the price is reasonable. They are all I use on my Nylon string instruments.

Bergeson Guitars  Sandpoint, Idaho
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 3-06-2011
Guitar Pots

These are very similar to the old CTS pots. Smooth and well-made. Solder lugs and solderable backs. Metal shaft instead of nylon or plastic. However, the 500K post are only available in "A" taper. We need both "A" and "B" taper pots for guitar work. Hopefully, Stew-Mac will also offer "B" taper pots in the future.

Sullivan  Nashville TN
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 17151 – 17175
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  686  687  688  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce