Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17151 – 17175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  686  687  688  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Binding Laminator
Binding Laminator
4 3-05-2011
simple, quick might be better if...

The first batch of binding I put through this device mostly ended up in the round file. Not because of the tool but because I'd never done this before and the plastic was melting, deforming and just getting plain messy.
I found that using a Q-tip instead of an acid brush allowed me to control the amount and placement (kept it off the sides) of acetone much better. The most significant improvement in how my binding turned out was from clamping the glued binding so it hung vertically, then attaching a heavier clamp (free hanging) on the bottom end while the curing took place.

The device works fine but I wonder if it wouldn't work better with the spring tension in the vertical vs horizontal. Then the jig could have an adjustable opening to line up the binding pieces with each other. Plus, the acetone would tend to remain where it is intended (wouldn't run).

Ctone  Niceville, FL
Herringbone Purfling
Herringbone Purfling
5 3-05-2011
Great Purfling

Picked this up for a recent guitar I built and it was great. Bent easy and I was really happy with how it looks.

John Sepulveda  New York
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
4 3-04-2011
It is ok.

For the price you cannot beat it. However for starters it does not wind the strings that fast and slips around when you are using the bass guitar side. Not bad but I think some other company sells a drill attachment I'll get that next time.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 3-04-2011
It's a great idea but . . .

If you are using this with steel wool I really wouldn't suggest it. For starters you have to get the wool very condensed and small so you don't scratch the fingerboard. However I think I am going to purchase the Dremel multi wheel fret polisher thing and I suspect it will be much more practical. For now I will stick (no pun intended) to painters tape. It allows me to polish fret side to side and up and down.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 3-04-2011
experimental neck

I like the medium fretwire and rosewood finger board I used on this neck made out of cherry. Thought I would give it a try on this curly maple body finished with Colortone blue dye. Thanks stewmac for your always great service and great products

Rob Zacharias  Valley City, Ohio
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-04-2011
Great Product but watch out for Fumes

I love this stuff. It works great, buffs out nicely, and as long as you keep the can warm when spraying in cold weather, it sprays beautifully. Also, only use in low humidity or you will get blushing.

JUST PAY ATTENTION TO THE WARNING LABEL!
The fumes are dangerous and you really need to wear a good respirator mask and have plenty of ventilation while working. If you do that you will have no problems.

Epidrake  NY,NY
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 3-04-2011
The ultimate glue.

I use Titebond, and Titebond 3 for everything I build. I actually prefer Titebond 3 now because it's open-time is a little longer, and it's 100% resistant to water. I've done experiments with all types of wood glues, and this brand is the best. It's stronger than any wood I've ever run into. The wood will always break, not the joint. A 16-oz bottle usually lasts for 2 to 4 guitars, depending on construction. The only time I won't use it is on acoustic neck joints. I use hide glues for that since the neck will eventually have to be reset. I love this stuff, and won't use anything else.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 3-04-2011
Best Bang 4 Buck

Very well built TOM bridge. I was so pleasantly surprised by the tone and sustain that this is the only TOM I use on my builds now. This bridge actually inspired me to try Gotoh's tuners, and they are built great too! There are a few other bridges that are as good, but not as easy on the wallet. Excellent sustain, good looks, bulletproof construction, and great price. Can't beat it.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
4 3-04-2011
Thumbs Up

I use 154 on almost all my electrics, and 148/142 on all the acoustics and banjos I've built. I love the stuff. I wish it came polished a little better, but it's no biggie. Never had a fret pop out with these.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
4 3-04-2011
Nice Replacement

I used a set of these on the bridge of an old Harmony Master Archtop that I was reconditioning. The old thumbwheels had oxidized and pitted and did not function very well. This set put things back into good working order. Simple, but nice.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Stud/Bushing Set for Stop Tailpiece
Stud/Bushing Set for 'Stop' Tailpiece
4 3-04-2011
Basic, but dependable

I purchased a set of these to replace a set of TonePro's Locking Studs that broke when I installed them (read my other review under that product). The head on one them twisted off as I was tightening it. These studs are basic and don't have the locking feature, but they are strong and serve their purpose just fine.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
TonePros Locking Studs
TonePros Locking Studs
3 3-04-2011
Nice, but fragile

I liked these when I first received them. However, in the process of adjusting the bridge height, I broke the head of one these off. It is really a rather small thread size and soft material. The head twisted off as I was tightening it. These are really over-priced for the quality. I decided to order the standard studs to replace these. Although they are not "locking" they are a lot stronger and serve their purpose just fine.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
2 3-04-2011
Less Than Expected

I was disappointed with this one. The head of this hammer was loose when I received it. Not to the point of falling off, but loose enough for me to be afraid that it will fall off with a little use. It is certainly loose enough to affect proper use. I opted not to return it (based on the design, I didn't think another one would be much different). Instead, I will fix it myself and move on. Not the quality I normally find and expect from StewMac.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
StewMac responds

Bryan, we're sorry you received a hammer that was loose. We would be happy to replace it for no cost. Just let us know. Thanks

Essential Engraving Kit
Essential Engraving Kit
4 3-04-2011
Mostly good

Didn't need all the stuff, but most of it was really helpful for my first attempt.

GatorCSM  Tampa, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 3-04-2011
Goto bridge replacement for telecaster

got this for replacement on my hwy 1 tele and it is great. Easy to replace. Easy to set up. No problems what so ever.

Telecaster disaster  Alva, OK
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 3-04-2011
Dual Fret Scale Templates

Very good tool. Thank you.

Very good tool. Thank you.  Palatine,IL USA Read my reviews (2)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 3-04-2011
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade

Thank you.

Very good tool. Thank you.  Palatine,IL USA Read my reviews (2)
Shims for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
Shims for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 3-04-2011
Perfect Floyd Nut Shim

These shims are perfect for getting the correct Floyd Rose nut height. The fact that they are small lets you stack the required shims on either side of the nut to get the precise string height. Plus they are metal, which does not diminish string vibration. Great idea!

Angus M.  Flanders, NJ
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 3-04-2011
stiky stuff

This tape is great for all sorts of little jobs , from using tiny pieces to hold wiring in place until you fit cable clips to marking the bridge position on a tailpiece instrument while working on the saddle. A little heat and it peels away with no residue, great stuff.

col in kendall  bry lancashire uk,
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 3-04-2011
I like these a lot

I got rid of the tradition Kluson-style when I changed the neck because the holes are drilled too large. I later found out you can use a different bushing to compensate--oh well. I like these better. They look traditional, but work like modern tuners, and seem really smooth. I'm giving them 4 instead of 5 stars because I just installed them. They may be 5 star tuners.

Adam M  Torrance, CA Read my reviews (2)
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 3-04-2011
Nicely made, very close to spec.

The style is a composite of different vintages of Martin pins. But, most critically, the taper and the diameter of the shank below the ring match postwar Martin pins.

If you have reamed the bridge on your HD-28VS to properly seat its original pins, and then switch to these because you have also slotted it, the Stew Mac pins will sit higher. But if you check with a caliper and a magnifier, you will see that that is because of the malleability of the plastic Martin pins, not because the original dimensions of the Martin pins don't match. Go ahead and ream the bridge a little more and seat these pins; they're much better quality.

Ted Hutson  USA
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
Premium Wiring Kit for P-Bass
5 3-04-2011
Great product

I used to have really scratchy pots and these solved my problem instantly. Great packaging/shipping and super easy instructions. I highly recommend this set for any Pbass!!!!

growler  los angeles, ca
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 3-04-2011
fret end dressing file

Great tool, rounded edge great idea. Cleaned up a couple of basses, a strat and a tele, and no more rough "necks" for me.

leezbass  USA
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
4 3-04-2011
Great Resource

Ah the cold of winter, time to curl up and learn how to paint. This is a great book, good explanations that so far I am able to understand. I will finish reading it front to back by the time the frost leaves the ground and I am ready for my next paint project. Only complaint I would have (why it is 4 stars vs. 5) is that it tends to lean very heavily on the Fender/Gibson model and I want to see a bit more information on customer colors cause that is where my interests lie. Thanks!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
Rubber Binding Bands
Rubber Binding Bands
5 3-04-2011
rubber bands

The extra long rubber bands give me the flexibility to wrap different mandolins with just the right force, as I am creating some new styles that I am experimenting with new bracing, top and bottom thicknesses, resonator styles, etc. I will get much good from them!

Tom Wekenman  Mississippi
Displaying 17151 – 17175
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  686  687  688  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce