Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17126 – 17150
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  685  686  687  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-05-2011
High quality copper tape

I always get mine from Stewmac because, like all their other electronic items, it is high quality. Great stuff!

Archiguitarchi  North, Alabama Read my reviews (5)
Mini Toggle Switches
Mini Toggle Switches
5 3-05-2011
Quality-quality-quality

The only way to describe the electronic gear sold at Stewmac is "quality", and these switches are no exception. I use them for phase switching and coil tapping. You should too.

Archiguitarchi  North, Alabama Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-05-2011
Quality Super Glue

In my limited experience, the only way I've been able to obtain really good super glue products is either through model airplane building supply sources or here at Stewmac. P.I.C. glues are pretty much the same everywhere, but the quality is in the packaging. These bottles are excellent. The bottles stay clean longer without getting all crusty, the glue maintains its viscosity longer, and it dispenses well. TOP NOTCH stuff.

Archiguitarchi  North, Alabama Read my reviews (5)
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
5 3-05-2011
Binding Router Guide

Haven't used it to set a binding yet but did have to use it to remove a back. It worked good even though the back was ruined, it still saved me many hours of removing with a razor saw.

Dan Randle  Coos Bay, OR Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
5 3-05-2011
Good job, now finish what you started.

I put a set of these tuners on an old Oscar Schmidt Stella I had. What a great product! It is so nice not having to keep retuning that thing every 5 minutes. Now I play it more than ever. The Tuners were a perfect fit, look beautiful, and work great. StewMac needs to finish what they started and manufacture these tuners with relic brass plating and black knobs. I am patiently waiting...

nabob100robert  New Orleans, Louisiana
Binding Laminator
Binding Laminator
4 3-05-2011
simple, quick might be better if...

The first batch of binding I put through this device mostly ended up in the round file. Not because of the tool but because I'd never done this before and the plastic was melting, deforming and just getting plain messy.
I found that using a Q-tip instead of an acid brush allowed me to control the amount and placement (kept it off the sides) of acetone much better. The most significant improvement in how my binding turned out was from clamping the glued binding so it hung vertically, then attaching a heavier clamp (free hanging) on the bottom end while the curing took place.

The device works fine but I wonder if it wouldn't work better with the spring tension in the vertical vs horizontal. Then the jig could have an adjustable opening to line up the binding pieces with each other. Plus, the acetone would tend to remain where it is intended (wouldn't run).

Ctone  Niceville, FL
Herringbone Purfling
Herringbone Purfling
5 3-05-2011
Great Purfling

Picked this up for a recent guitar I built and it was great. Bent easy and I was really happy with how it looks.

John Sepulveda  New York
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
4 3-04-2011
It is ok.

For the price you cannot beat it. However for starters it does not wind the strings that fast and slips around when you are using the bass guitar side. Not bad but I think some other company sells a drill attachment I'll get that next time.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
4 3-04-2011
It's a great idea but . . .

If you are using this with steel wool I really wouldn't suggest it. For starters you have to get the wool very condensed and small so you don't scratch the fingerboard. However I think I am going to purchase the Dremel multi wheel fret polisher thing and I suspect it will be much more practical. For now I will stick (no pun intended) to painters tape. It allows me to polish fret side to side and up and down.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 3-04-2011
experimental neck

I like the medium fretwire and rosewood finger board I used on this neck made out of cherry. Thought I would give it a try on this curly maple body finished with Colortone blue dye. Thanks stewmac for your always great service and great products

Rob Zacharias  Valley City, Ohio
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-04-2011
Great Product but watch out for Fumes

I love this stuff. It works great, buffs out nicely, and as long as you keep the can warm when spraying in cold weather, it sprays beautifully. Also, only use in low humidity or you will get blushing.

JUST PAY ATTENTION TO THE WARNING LABEL!
The fumes are dangerous and you really need to wear a good respirator mask and have plenty of ventilation while working. If you do that you will have no problems.

Epidrake  NY,NY
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 3-04-2011
The ultimate glue.

I use Titebond, and Titebond 3 for everything I build. I actually prefer Titebond 3 now because it's open-time is a little longer, and it's 100% resistant to water. I've done experiments with all types of wood glues, and this brand is the best. It's stronger than any wood I've ever run into. The wood will always break, not the joint. A 16-oz bottle usually lasts for 2 to 4 guitars, depending on construction. The only time I won't use it is on acoustic neck joints. I use hide glues for that since the neck will eventually have to be reset. I love this stuff, and won't use anything else.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
5 3-04-2011
Best Bang 4 Buck

Very well built TOM bridge. I was so pleasantly surprised by the tone and sustain that this is the only TOM I use on my builds now. This bridge actually inspired me to try Gotoh's tuners, and they are built great too! There are a few other bridges that are as good, but not as easy on the wallet. Excellent sustain, good looks, bulletproof construction, and great price. Can't beat it.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
4 3-04-2011
Thumbs Up

I use 154 on almost all my electrics, and 148/142 on all the acoustics and banjos I've built. I love the stuff. I wish it came polished a little better, but it's no biggie. Never had a fret pop out with these.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
Archtop Bridge Post and Thumbwheel Set
4 3-04-2011
Nice Replacement

I used a set of these on the bridge of an old Harmony Master Archtop that I was reconditioning. The old thumbwheels had oxidized and pitted and did not function very well. This set put things back into good working order. Simple, but nice.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Stud/Bushing Set for Stop Tailpiece
Stud/Bushing Set for 'Stop' Tailpiece
4 3-04-2011
Basic, but dependable

I purchased a set of these to replace a set of TonePro's Locking Studs that broke when I installed them (read my other review under that product). The head on one them twisted off as I was tightening it. These studs are basic and don't have the locking feature, but they are strong and serve their purpose just fine.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
TonePros Locking Studs
TonePros Locking Studs
3 3-04-2011
Nice, but fragile

I liked these when I first received them. However, in the process of adjusting the bridge height, I broke the head of one these off. It is really a rather small thread size and soft material. The head twisted off as I was tightening it. These are really over-priced for the quality. I decided to order the standard studs to replace these. Although they are not "locking" they are a lot stronger and serve their purpose just fine.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Fretting Hammer
Fretting Hammer
2 3-04-2011
Less Than Expected

I was disappointed with this one. The head of this hammer was loose when I received it. Not to the point of falling off, but loose enough for me to be afraid that it will fall off with a little use. It is certainly loose enough to affect proper use. I opted not to return it (based on the design, I didn't think another one would be much different). Instead, I will fix it myself and move on. Not the quality I normally find and expect from StewMac.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
StewMac responds

Bryan, we're sorry you received a hammer that was loose. We would be happy to replace it for no cost. Just let us know. Thanks

Essential Engraving Kit
Essential Engraving Kit
4 3-04-2011
Mostly good

Didn't need all the stuff, but most of it was really helpful for my first attempt.

GatorCSM  Tampa, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 3-04-2011
Goto bridge replacement for telecaster

got this for replacement on my hwy 1 tele and it is great. Easy to replace. Easy to set up. No problems what so ever.

Telecaster disaster  Alva, OK
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
5 3-04-2011
Dual Fret Scale Templates

Very good tool. Thank you.

Very good tool. Thank you.  Palatine,IL USA Read my reviews (2)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
5 3-04-2011
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade

Thank you.

Very good tool. Thank you.  Palatine,IL USA Read my reviews (2)
Shims for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
Shims for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 3-04-2011
Perfect Floyd Nut Shim

These shims are perfect for getting the correct Floyd Rose nut height. The fact that they are small lets you stack the required shims on either side of the nut to get the precise string height. Plus they are metal, which does not diminish string vibration. Great idea!

Angus M.  Flanders, NJ
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 3-04-2011
stiky stuff

This tape is great for all sorts of little jobs , from using tiny pieces to hold wiring in place until you fit cable clips to marking the bridge position on a tailpiece instrument while working on the saddle. A little heat and it peels away with no residue, great stuff.

col in kendall  bry lancashire uk,
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 3-04-2011
I like these a lot

I got rid of the tradition Kluson-style when I changed the neck because the holes are drilled too large. I later found out you can use a different bushing to compensate--oh well. I like these better. They look traditional, but work like modern tuners, and seem really smooth. I'm giving them 4 instead of 5 stars because I just installed them. They may be 5 star tuners.

Adam M  Torrance, CA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 17126 – 17150
of 20977 reviews
< 1  ...  685  686  687  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce