Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17101 – 17125
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  684  685  686  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Clear Pickguard Materials
Clear Pickguard Materials
5 3-07-2011
I like it

This stuff has been great, not only for putting pick-guards and golpeadora on guitars, but I've also used it to fit pick guards to a variety of more 'exotic' axes: cuatro; li'liu; bajo sexto; tiple -- not to mention ukes.

I do recommend that you get a 2-4" medium rubber roller (can be had from an art or printers' supply shop) and use it to firmly seat the material while rolling out any air bubbles. And use -sharp- scissors to get a clean edge.

Other than that, easy to work with, durable, and next to invisible when properly applied.

All I'd like now is to see it come in a couple of different thicknesses.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
1 3-07-2011
25k Volume pots

If you're looking for Vol / Tone pots for your EMG's , don't bother ordering these. The shafts are too short and the pots are so so quality.

william coleman  Los Angeles CA
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 3-07-2011
Beautiful Product

Gorgeous abalone. Perfectly cut for a snug, seamless fit.

Jason Barone  Palm Coast, FL
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
5 3-07-2011
don't leave home without it

fast and accurate really helps to make sure your frets slots are deep enough. Helps you follow the curve of the fret boards

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
5 3-07-2011
perfection

these inserts and not only great for pressing radiused frets but they are awesome for radiusing your fret wire as well.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 3-07-2011
Fret Not ...these frets are great

these frets are just right. High quality, and a great fit for any guitar. I used to use 6100's but now these are my fret wires of choice.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 3-07-2011
Do yourself a favor!

Make this one a priority. Okay, I must admit I had my reservations. I know you have bought at least a couple of luthier trinkets that didn't turn out to be as handy as you thought they would be. BUT THIS ISN'T GOING TO BE ONE OF THEM!!! I'd give this one 10 stars if I could. I absolutely hate messing with feeler gauges etc., not to mention my eyesight isn't what it used to be.

It's just ridiculous how easy this tool makes measuring string height and nut/saddle set-ups. I just plotted, on paper to a .000 inch, the before/after string height on an acoustic at the 1st, 6th, & 12th frets and it only took a total of less than 5 minutes for both. AND THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME USE! My customer is somewhat of a techy and his mind is going to be blown.

Also, this will make an excellent general diagnostic tool for purposes I haven't even considered yet. How about for checking a newly pressed fret for consistency with the fretboard radius for just one example. No, not all diagnostics are absolutely necessary, but it sure helps one to "know" the guitar better. That 'has' to translate into a better job in the long run.

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (14)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 3-07-2011
Settup Kit is a high quality set of necessary tools.

Used as directed in video, make quick professional results every time.

Ron Street  Read my reviews (2)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 3-07-2011
Thoroughly Recommended

Bought to replace the stock Kluson style tuners on my Tanglewood TRP-73 Rosewood Reserve Parlour acoustic. Perfect fit straight out of the box, no bushings or modification needed.

These tuners have a really smooth, high-quality feel to them and hold their tune perfectly, not to mention looking very pleasing too. Thoroughly recommended.

Ryan Robinson  Oxford
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 3-07-2011
Best value

These tuners work great and look sweet!!
I would tell anyone to get them!! They are A bargain if you ask me. Installation was a small pain, but I got them in.

Matt Dupre  Saint Amant, Louisiana, US
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
5 3-07-2011
Great tool

It really makes the difference on plain strings nut notches, especially on brass nuts, where even a good file can leave a bur.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-07-2011
Get The Right Tool For The Job

Great quality files. I bought files in about 3 goes and I would recommend getting the right sizes early. I found this especially important on the lighter strings as its a far better job with the exact size file. Tip: My lovely wife made me the terrific canvas pouch which the files all fit into so I can just select the right file as I work across the guitar. This saves searching for the file size every time you put them down. Stew Mac could offer such a pouch as an extra accessory!

Pete Davis  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
5 3-06-2011
Bending Iron/Extension

I use a bending iron mainly for touch-ups after the side wood comes out of my bending machine. The Stew-mac model is just the ticket. I wish I'd picked it up years ago and ditched the old steel pipe and propane torch I used all that time!

Scot T  Canada
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
4 3-06-2011
8" three corner fret dressing file

Good quality file that cuts well. (Rub with white chalk to help prevent clogging and use a small wire brush to clean)
Strongly recommend buying the Stew Mc fret shields as even though the corners of the file are without teeth, they can still leave a nasty groove.

michael morris  brisbane, australia Read my reviews (2)
Oval Jack Plate
Oval Jack Plate
4 3-06-2011
Plate covers up accident

My ES Artist fell and the original jack cracked the wood at the bottom of the body, bummer. Anyway, this plate in gold fixed the problem. It was big enough to cover the damage, but not wider than the ES Artist body. Worked great.

David Norris  Austin, TX Read my reviews (2)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 3-06-2011
really sharp and strong

To be honest I have only used this for cutting strings but I love it already. It makes even Bass strings feel like butter.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
4 3-06-2011
Very nice locking tuners

Tuners worked great. I would recommend buying the jig that is made to help position the pin hole. The paper jig that comes in the tuner package moved around too much to get a consistent hole drilled for all 6 tuners.

David Norris  Austin, TX Read my reviews (2)
StewMac responds

David,
We're happy to hear you like the tuners. We agree, the tuner pin drill jig will make it much easier to align your drill for accurate mounting pin holes! Thanks for the feedback.

Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Wrench Set
5 3-06-2011
Super!

Since I bought this set I always have the fitting tool for any trussrod and they are a breeze to work with.
If you have to do truss rod adjustments on a regular base these will make your life a LOT easier.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 3-06-2011
Outstanding tutorial!

The great thing about these DVDs is, that Dan shows you EVERYTHING! No secrets, no hidden tricks. And, unlike the free online videos, these DVDs don't promote StewMac tools, Dan shows you how to make your own tools from stuff you can get at a good hardware shop or might find around the house (where possible).
I have been doing minor guitar repair work for years, but these DVDs took my work to an entirely new level and gave me a lot of confidence to do work that I wouldn't have touched before.
Also the instructions are very easy to follow and understand. The language is plain and simple.
If you want to learn how to do fretwork by yourself, these DVDs are worth every cent.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 3-06-2011
Good Quality

I would consider these as good quality standard pots. I have used several of them without any problems and they seem to hold up pretty well.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 3-06-2011
Great Stuff!

It seems to be getting harder and harder to find good adhesives and cements. I originally purchased a tube of this for binding projects, but have come across lots of uses for
Weld-On 16. I don't know of anything that works even as well, let alone any better.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
3 3-06-2011
Not durable

I purchased this as I thought it would be handy for small lubrication jobs. It is a nice idea but the design of this pen is not durable. I never opened it and didn't even have a chance to use it. I put this in a tray with some other small tools and it simply fell apart (pen tip separated from the plastic tube body and the lubricant leaked out). It might be okay if you are very careful with it and handle with care. I was disappointed.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 3-06-2011
Great tool

This is a great tool to have for most dremel work. It is very well designed and made. Provides excellent control for precision hand tool work.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
4 3-06-2011
Good Nut and Saddle Material

I have purchased and used the bone saddle and nut material and both have worked very well. I prefer bone saddles and nuts for most of my acoustic work and bone nuts are excellent for many electrics as well. I have only received one piece of bone saddle material that could not be used because it was bowed. All in all, a good material choice.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
4 3-06-2011
Good Resource

I purchased a couple of the Rosewood blanks, for a special bridge re-building project that I needed to complete. The blanks that I received were very good quality and served my purpose perfectly. A nice resource to have when you don't need more wood.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 17101 – 17125
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  684  685  686  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce