Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17076 – 17100
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  683  684  685  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 3-10-2011
Buffing made easy.

All you need is one of these, a drill, and some ColorTone Polishing Compound, and get ready for the shine. (just to be clear one pad per compound grit)

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Butterbean Knobs, for Solid Pegheads
5 3-10-2011
really needed

I was having problems with my guitar staying in tune. Every time I would tune it seemed like my old tuners would slip. I have read a lot of reviews on Waverly Tuners and thought I would try them. They really do what they say about them. Their price is higher, but if you like to keep your guitar in tune you need to try these.

Bill's repair  Madisonville,TN. Read my reviews (8)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 3-10-2011
Great Stuff

Medium, Fine, Swirl Remover. You can use the Medium by itself to buff out light scratches, and sanded down drop fills. Follow it with the Fine and the Swirl Remover, and WOW.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 3-10-2011
A must have

I have used this on every guitar I've laid hands on since I got it. Great for pickup installations, can even help identify correct pickup polarity for vintage instruments.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
Trade Secrets Book
Trade Secrets Book
5 3-10-2011
Tons of useful information

These books are chocked full of useful info. True they are not put together like a text book. It's more of a scrap book of articles and ideas. There is a table of contents which list all the articles, as well as an alphabetical index in the back with page numbers. Bottom line, these are great to have around.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
5 3-10-2011
What service!

I just received my tenor ukulele today. I haven't had a chance to start building yet but everything looks good and everything looks to be good quality. What stuns me is that I only ordered it Monday evening, and it arrived at my home this morning, Thursday. To the middle of the Canadian prairies! What incredible service! I can't believe it! This won't be my last order, that's for certain.

idjster  Canada
F5 Mandolin Kit
F5 Mandolin Kit
5 3-10-2011
First class operation

I was very impressed with the speed I received my kit in only a matter of days ! I am also very happy I took the suggestion given out from you guys to add Dan MacRostie's dvd to the kit ! Its been invaluable

A little more info on voicing the instrument would have been really helpful but all in all I'll be coming back for more.

Thanks to everyone involved !

Dave Mcclure  Edmonton Can. Read my reviews (2)
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
2 3-10-2011
Grover Roto Grip Locking tuners

Grover Roto Grip locking tuners have a problem that possibly Grover and Stew Mac are not aware of. Grover needs to alter the adjusting grip knob to add a channel and a set screw to prevent the post, gear, and grip knob from slipping downward whereby the string hole and the string post, the post gear and the entire locking grip knob assembly can slip out while changing strings.

I installed a set for a customer, and without noticing, the entire post, gear and grip knob was lowered, and did in fact come out completely. The assembly was pushed back in and with string tension, it did not slip downwards. A locking feature in an 18:1 tuner is a great idea and asset, but having installed the Grover stewmac Grover 0877-g (or 0877) auto locking 18:1 Grover Tuners, the auto locking units are far superior to the Roto Grip tuners.

Paul D. Broussard  Kaplan, Louisiana in Vermilion Parish
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 3-10-2011
Makes slotting thoughtless

These make slotting a board quick and easy. I use this with a shopmade miter box and it works great. I only gave it 4 stars due to the cost, but still worth it if you plan to slot multiple boards.

Brian T.  Syracuse, NY Read my reviews (2)
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
5 3-10-2011
Best Sandpaper around

I've tried several papers, including one that the rep said beat anything that 3M made, and this one is tops. It clogs less, lasts longer, and cuts smoother than any other paper. It's worth the price for a project that needs the best, but I use slightly lower grade paper for other projects where the item won't be under massive scrutiny.

Brian T.  Syracuse, NY Read my reviews (2)
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
5 3-10-2011
Fantastic device

A fantastic and time-saving device, use it all the time. This is my second Nut Slotting Gauge, as I managed to drop my previous one on my work bench. It must have landed somehow on the top end as it became very stiff and practically useless. So take care!

J Larres  Finland Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 3-10-2011
Great Purchase

I recently bought a Gotoh tuner from S-M. Found them to be the best price with very fast shipping. Will definitely shop with them first next time. Was a joy doing business with S-M.

CA  Texas
TV Jones PowerTron Pickups
TV Jones Power'Tron Pickups
5 3-10-2011
TV Jones PowerTron

I put a bridge position TV Jones PowerTron in my Warmoth tele to compliment the coil tapped 57 Classic in the neck position. The TV Jones is a relatively dark sounding pickup but that is what I was looking for. It also is not high gain so if you're looking for a real screamer pickup, this isn't it.

It has very nice, percussive and tight bottom end to it but still has plenty of definition on the top end. I am very pleased with it and I think I, finally, found the pickup for this tele. It is the one that is used in Fender's La Cabronita series tele guitars and it's a nice match up.

Chris Lester  New Hampshire
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 3-10-2011
Quality

StewMac ALWAYS has the part, quality and a wide assortment of things I need. I needed the 9.5 radius sander and they had it. Worked perfect.

Tilt  Greenbrier,Tn
Customer supplied image for review
Wiring Kit for Gibson SG
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
4 3-10-2011
Good kit for the price

This kit had everything I needed to rewire my Tele Deluxe, save for one small issue - not enough wire. I'm sure on an SG that isn't a problem at all as the selector switch is near the rest of the pots. Good kit though.

Garrett Suggs  Myrtle Beach, SC Read my reviews (2)
3PDT Stomp Switch
3PDT Stomp Switch
5 3-10-2011
Just what it says it does...

This switch is built well. I was able to re-wire my Memory Man so that the indicator light would only come on with the effect engaged. It's worked like a charm. And of course, the customer service was excellent.

Garrett Suggs  Myrtle Beach, SC Read my reviews (2)
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 3-10-2011
Great Product - Great Price

I use these tuners on my StrumSticks. They perform and look great!

Dulcimers by Jeff  Hazard, Kentucky Read my reviews (2)
Snapfile Leveling System
Snapfile Leveling System
5 3-10-2011
Fantastic Freakin' File!

If you do a lot of guitar repair then you most likely have many tools in your shop. This needs to be one of them! Immediately when this snap file arrived I knew it was going to be good. The feel, the design, the precision. I almost like doing fret work now. Almost.

Shannon D.  Jamestown, MO. Read my reviews (2)
Megaswitch S-Model
Megaswitch S-Model
5 3-10-2011
Switchcraft output jack

I've bent more 5 way switches than i care to mention on my own strats so the heavy construction made me want to buy this. When i went to wire it in the board is so well printed and spaced out that you'll find this a doddle regardless of your soldering skill. Brilliant !!

Murphy Guitars  Cork, Ireland
Laminated Wood Purfling
Laminated Wood Purfling
5 3-10-2011
purfling

great product I have used them for years on over 25 guitars.

dennis slavens  el cajona, ca
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
1 3-10-2011
BAD STRAPLOCK

Well after using the Grover straplock in one show I was left with a piece of it in my hand and the other in the guitar in other words, the thing fell apart on me in the start of my Australian tour, what a pity.

sergio dias  henderson nevada
Jaws3
Jaws3
1 3-10-2011
The one tool I sent back.

I bought one of these a while ago (before the rating system). I couldn't get a single fret seated properly with it. I ended up spending about an hour trying to make this tool work the way it's supposed to and decided to ditch it and just hammer the frets in. I will say that SM is awesome about returns. They had no issue taking it back. I've been thinking about getting one of the other Jaws tools, but this one just doesn't seem to want to work unless the slots are quite loose, at least looser than I like to work with.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 3-10-2011
Best deep panel jack ever.

I've found that these jack seem much less problematic than any other deep panel jack I've used - including other Switchcraft models. Not only are they great for acoustic guitars, but they're awesome for replacing faulty electric guitar (mono and stereo) versions. They just seem to function longer. Keep several in stock.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review

Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 3-10-2011
Love the nut, but...

Dear StewMac,
If this rod were thinner I would use it on everything. As a guy who's been doing repairs longer than building, this rod made sense for the adjustment nut alone and so I use them in most of my builds. I do from time to time need to build something with a very thin neck and have found that I cannot use these rods for those projects. The LMI rods are just as good and 1/16" thinner by design. If they had a spoke nut I would be buying them only. Other than that, I've been using these for years and never had any problems with them.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
4 3-10-2011
Fantastic Product!

Essential for any guitar tech! No reason to buy the radius gauges, these ones does it all. The only thing I'm missing, as with all radiused Stewmac products is one for the Ibanez 430mm radius.

Robbin StÃ¥hl  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 17076 – 17100
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  683  684  685  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce