Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17051 – 17075
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  682  683  684  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 3-09-2011
fretting kit first timer

Great products and video education to get you going smoothly and correctly. This was my first refret job on a 78 fender strat i bought in a junk sale and looked like all frets were beat to death with hammer. After getting kit and some SM video teachings i was off and running with no problems at all and now have a strat in factory new condition. thank you stewmac i will be doing more projects in the future.

music man  north port, fl.
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 3-09-2011
Perfect

After trying dozens of times to measure the spacing with a caliper i tried using the string spacing rule, first time i got perfect spacing. Will use this every time i make a new nut!

JonM  Ontario, Ca
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 3-09-2011
The Artist's Palette

I use ColorTone for almost everything including the opaque line. They mix well with everything, and since the density is very consistent, duplicating recipes is a breeze. I HIGHLY recommend purchasing the Stewmac book "Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step" by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie whether you know what you're doing or not. The color plates and recipes inside utilize the ColorTone products, and the results are dead on. When I apply stain directly on the wood, I use a barrier coat and have never had a problem with lifting or bleeding.

Kevin Ferner  Memphis, TN. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
5 3-09-2011
Phenomenal Results in Extreme Conditions

Like many small shop owners, I have not always had the luxury of setting up my full compressor rig depending on where I was. I have gotten unreal results with this handy unit, and even when I have the compressor hooked up I keep some of these for touchups and faceplates. It is also a cost-effective alternative to having a dedicated gun for metallics. The jars come with screw on lids and I keep several of my best custom color mixes such as antique binding toner and black gloss prepared with the colortone line of tints and opaques.

This really saves time and eliminates waste. I have done restoration work with this device for other luthiers and they could not believe it when I told them!

Kevin Ferner  Memphis, TN. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
3 3-09-2011
Colortone Black Gloss Spray Can

We have used this in our shop primarily for blackening headstock faceplates and have always been extremely pleased with the results. I would not recommend this for spraying whole bodies however, as I have twice had cans that splattered droplets on the finish both in upright and angled positions while spraying a whole body. This leads me to believe it was due to faulty nozzles, or extended spray time build up in the nozzle cavity.

Kevin Ferner  Memphis, TN. Read my reviews (3)
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
5 3-09-2011
Micro Miracle!

The Micro-Mesh abrasive sheets give the best and easiest finish to lacquers - especially nitrocellulose. Great product for the guitar maker who still likes a real gloss finish!

Peter, Arteus Guitars  Bonville, Australia
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 3-09-2011
Well built and useful

A very nice set of hard to find saws. Right on par with the rest of Stew Mac's luthier tools, some of which have been on my bench, and used daily for over 20 years. Thank you!

J.H. luthier  TN Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups
4 3-09-2011
Great pickup

I have installed these in many of my customer's instruments, as well as having a complete set in my personal Strat. These are nicely built and have a great vintage tone. (Think 60's strat) Additionally, they are as quiet as any others out there. Good product.

J.H. luthier  TN Read my reviews (2)
Humbucker Bobbin Set
Humbucker Bobbin Set
4 3-09-2011
Cream Screw Side

Would LOVE to have cream colored Screw sides... to make period correct Zebras.

Mike Ripley  Minneapolis, MN USA
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 3-09-2011
Great for a lot of uses

I not only used the vise for working on handles, but use it for holding a whole guitar. I also plan to use it for other woodworking projects.

Rex Shurtleff  Pagosa Springs, CO Read my reviews (3)
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
4 3-09-2011
Dreadnought Kit

La commande du Kit a été parfaitement livrée. Les pièces bien emballées. La vidéo est claire, le manuel est plus prècis et indispensable. Les bois table, fond et éclises sont de qualité. Les barrages sont bien taillés. Le manche est bien profilé. Le montage est facile. Quelques pièces à acheter en plus, pour plus d'esthétique: le pickgard noir non protégé et légèrement rayé,les pins noirs du chevalet pas très élégants. Super Achat.For non French people speaking, It's real a very good purchase: overall rating; between good and excellent

BENMA  Lyon France Read my reviews (2)
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
3 3-09-2011
Oversize Bone Blank

The blank I received was bent and twisted. Not bad, but not good either. Luckily bone is very workable and I didn't need to do that much to get it in shape. My saddle needed almost the full width and depth dimensions so very careful sanding was needed. Tolerance was not good but bottom line is it worked.

Bonehead  Kinnelon, NJ
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
2 3-09-2011
Disappointing

The only Stewmac product I've ever been disappointed with. Nickel covers were too wide to fit standard pickup rings so I had to remove the covers to fit, next the legs are very long and would not fit in a strat body without routing, and finally the tone was dull and lifeless. These are really not up to scratch for the price being asked.

jbjr  australia Read my reviews (2)
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
Grover Quick-release Strap Locks
1 3-09-2011
Low Quality Strap Locks

These things are a major step down from the schallers. The head comes unscrewed causing the lock to be difficult to engage/disengage. This is exactly the problem you try to *solve* by using strap locks.

jchabalk  CA
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
5 3-08-2011
Acrylic router templates

These router guides are very precise and make routing a new body a cinch. Great product!!

Bart Long  Cheyenne, WY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 3-08-2011
This is what Roswell should be famous for!!

My 35 year old Guild D-25 was about to die from a lifting bridge. While doing homework on the fix I found the JLD system on this site. The job was done in 20 minutes. I was stunned, this gizmo flatten the top, fixed the lifting bridge, corrected the action and added violin like sustain. I could not be happier. I'm ordering two more soon.
the folks at JLD were very helpful. My cat lost the special screw, they sent one out fast. Every guitar player should know about this thing

earthtojohn  Au Sable Forks, NY
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 3-08-2011
a question

hi!!! i wanna to know the price is for one piece or the pair?

juan padron  mexico
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 3-08-2011
Have Surpassed My Expectations

I have used these files now for several months to recrown multiple (100+) Stainless Steele and Gold frets without issue. I had reservations about the durability of these files but have actually found them to be very acceptable. I'm satisfied with the price also.

Bo Thompson  MO Read my reviews (6)
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
4 3-08-2011
Good Strings for the Price

I've used the Extra-light and Custom-light strings with good results. They are not Economy strings but not high quality either. Kinda just right for the money.

Bo Thompson  MO Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 3-08-2011
DELICIOUS

I recently picked up an overwound bridge & standard neck set of Golden Age humbuckers for my 1960 Gibson LP RI. The balance across the tonal spectrum is fantastic. No "boomy" or "woofy" sounds when using the neck pickup—more than enough sizzle, sparkle & snap in the bridge. The sound blossoms & blooms out of your speaker cabinet when strumming open chords yet don't shy away from an intensified pick attack when plucking individual notes.

The neck pickup just might be the best vintage sounding neck pickup I've ever played…I’ve always preferred the sound of bridge humbuckers. For the monetary investment, the value here is unsurpassed. I currently have a set of WCR humbuckers in my PRS Tremonti SE which sound great—but with regard to VALUE, the Golden Age series sound PHENOMENAL. When I open up my Marshall JTM45, they ring forever...ESPECIALLY that overwound bridge (MOMMA!). These pickups are what Dimarzio was trying to pull off with the PAF Pro models, which I used in my PRS prior to installing the WCRs. They're wax potted, too, so if you dig on that PAF-sounding vintage tone you can get it here without the wonderful microphonic squeal of period-correct PAFs. I'm going to replace the WCR in the neck of my PRS with another standard Golden Age neck model.

Without question, the Golden Age products are the best $115 (that's WITH S&H) I've ever spent on guitar pickups. PERIOD. :-)

Chuck - Tone Disciple  Overland Park, KS
Customer supplied image for review
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
5 3-08-2011
Stikit

I use this all the time.
Expensive but I couldn't do without it!!!

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
Endpin Jack Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
4 3-08-2011
reamer

Great tool and cuts well although I would prefer a `t` handle instead of using it in a drill.

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
5 3-08-2011
magnets

Really handy for brace repairs.

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
Rubber Binding Bands
Rubber Binding Bands
5 3-08-2011
rubber bands

Very stretchy!!!

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 3-08-2011
fingerbaord clamp

These clamps are great.
Better than using bands etc especially for headstock breaks!!!

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 17051 – 17075
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  682  683  684  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce