Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17001 – 17025
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  680  681  682  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 3-14-2011
Works great, sturdy

This vice is the perfect size to hold nuts for shaping. I'm so glad i bought this as it's very difficult to fit a nut in a clamp or work bench vice. The vice is very heavy. It's so heavy it has great stability without mounting. When you aren't using it just store it out of the way. This was a great purchase and the price is right.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
5 3-14-2011
Nice tool but necesary?

I got these files for shaping bone nuts for my first dulcimer build. i was so into the work that i forgot i had bought these, and used a piece of sticky circular 220 grit sandpaper mounted to the bench top instead, which worked perfectly. i imagine as i continue on with building i will use these files. they are very well built and cut with ease.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 3-14-2011
Works great

I used these to trim the ends of fretwire on my first dulcimer build. They work great. Very sharp and easy to use. A high quality tool. I also found they will cut small screws with ease. I recommend.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
5 3-14-2011
Purfling Madness

This amazing contraption from stewmac.com ranks in my all time top ten tool list, this really is saying something.....

As this tool is a power attachment it should not strictly be on the list, but it saves me 4 hours of solid concentration cutting the channel by hand. (per violin plate) I do 5 or 6 fiddles at a time. you do the math.
It saves me time and money and allows me to get on with the jobs I enjoy.

Ross Violins  Liverpool UK
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 3-14-2011
Best Wraparound out there

Having tried Tonepros, Mannmade, Schaller etc., I tried this Pigtail and found what I was looking for all this time! It's low, light with stinging sustain and very well made. I agree with other reviewers that the continuous string holes make a BIG difference to my Les Paul DC when restringing, A class product.

mike k  cheshire uk
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-14-2011
STEW- MAC PRODUCTS

I have used Stew-Mac products for the last 12 years. They are the best you can buy. The instructions and help from the personnel is tops, many thanks guys. When you are making top of the line, one of a kind guitars, you can not afford to have costly mistakes. That is why I use Stew-Mac products.

RON MILLER  ATHENS, TENNESSEE
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 3-14-2011
These are the necks Fender should be using.

I just bought my fifth compound radius neck!!! That means I've replaced the Fender necks on my four Stratocasters and one Telecaster. The silky feel means no "stickiness" and the compound radius means no fret out even with a pretty low action. And they are a perfect fit to the bodies on all my guitars so fitting them was a piece of cake. I cannot speak highly enough of these necks. You really should try them out.

Tore Hauge  Scotland
African Mahogany Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
5 3-13-2011
fantastic!

This is a incredible piece of wood, I'm building a Les Paul for my year 12 project for year 12. Love the wood thnx - Expect to hear from me in the near future! :)

Guitarlover!  Australia
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-13-2011
Nut Files

I've never bought a guitar on which the nut set up was suitable. Stewmac nut files make that task a breeze....G Lynch

Gerald E Lynch  Newport,NH Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 3-13-2011
'Bucker Mounting ring screws

Tired of the same old look? Change your pup mounting screws. Make this your first foray into customizing your guitar. They come in colors. Hey, they do their job really well holding on your pup rings. Give them some personality. Chrome with black looks good. Gold with black adds a little class. Or just go random, one of each! um, perhaps you should keep your original screws off you '59 Les Paul, in case you want to sell it later. The collector market is very picky about those details.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
5 3-13-2011
'Bucker Springs

They are springs. You mount them and never think of them again. Good quality...but I purchased a few extra because of the "click-ping" effect. You know, 1am, just one new pickup to mount, one spring to go..and your new dream pick-up combination is ready to sing..then...'click-ping'....and that spring flys to that special place reserved for car-keys, contact lenses and the phone number of the girl you met last night at the gig. Never to be seen again. Order more than you need. They come 8 to a pack, but just order more than you need.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 3-13-2011
Mounting screws

Not an exciting purchase, but great range of Pickup mounting screws for those times when your power screwdriver applies too much torque. Good range of materials, eg, chrome black & gold. Good quality. It's the little things that add up to a good guitar. You don't brag about 'em to your mates, but you know they are there doing what they do really well.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 3-13-2011
Metal Bucker Rings

These are good. A class above the generic plastic rings (Rings? These are rectangles!) They look great in black and fitted the PRS style carved top nicely. Fitting the springs which I purchased too was the challenge that it always is, but it was worth it once I saw the quality 'look' that these gave to the guitar. Thanks

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 3-13-2011
Jack plate

A good solid jack plate, a lot more robust than most I've found on cheaper guitars. This one won't bend easily. Nice chrome too, not likely to flake in a hurry.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 3-13-2011
Height screws various

Um....these height screws adjusted the pickup heights...really well when used with the height springs! Not a lot to go wrong here once you get the screw and the spring attached to the pickup, now that took some time!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 3-13-2011
The Perfect Vintage Tuners

Having used every brand of tuning machine with a vintage look over the last 50 years, I can speak from experience that the 18:1 Grover Sta-Tites are the smoothest, most precise, most stable, and overall best functioning open back tuning machines on the planet. I use them on all of my vintage guitar builds and recommend them to all of my customers using the open back style.

John Greven  Portland, OR Read my reviews (2)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 3-13-2011
Function AND beauty!

You know these machine heads. There isn't more I could say that hasn't been said. They're rock solid, and the aesthetic of them is just beautiful. No more string tree, no more string winder needed! Heck, even if your tuning stability is currently just fine, if you change strings often - you'll save time, and lots of it! String changes with these are a snap (almost literally). I love these things, SO glad I bought them!!!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 3-13-2011
The best Bridge Pins

These bridge pins are the best I have ever encountered. Hard and durable, beautifully made and nice ivoroid look. I prefer the unadorned and unslotted for even greater durability from string wear. I prefer to add my own dots to match the particular guitar. Great Job Stew Mac.

John Greven  Portland, OR Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 3-13-2011
Well worth the money

I've played for 25 years, and owned a lot of different guitars over the years. For the past five years or so, I've strictly been playing Ibanez Prestige two humbucker equipped guitars, and I missed the single coil Strat sound, as well as the Strat neck. So I finally bought a Deluxe Players Strat, and that's where this Wilkinson comes in.

I love everything about the guitar - except for the bridge. I realized right away that I would not be able to use the whammy bar with the stock Fender bridge. I overnighted this Wilky as well as Sperzel locking tuners. Install was a snap. It's literally six screws and three springs - DONE. Intonation was almost dead accurate out of the box. I restrung the guitar BEFORE I switched out the machine heads, and the Strat stayed in tune even with the stock vintage style classic tuners (the inexpensive ones, made by Ping I believe). I then switched to the Sperzels (be prepared to drill if you do this), and I can NOT make that guitar go out of tune once the strings are broken in. Unbelievable.

The only thing I did notice is that it doesn't quite resonate the same as the stock bridge, but I switched to Fender Bullet strings (I think there's something to that bullet end, as opposed to the ball ends with wraps around it), and the resonance came back. Very solid bridge, I love the adjustable tension pop in trem arm (I can't stand screw in arms - another reason for the upgrade), and the trem arm has NO slop or "wiggle" in it whatsoever once the tension is set right. This is a very fast, very easy, relatively inexpensive upgrade that solves a lot of problems. Not only is tuning stability attained, but intonation is better and string breakage is reduced because the saddles actually have a notch/groove in them, unlike the stamped steel Fender saddles in which the strings can slide side to side on. I highly recommend it!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
3 3-13-2011
Good

Some cork padding applied to both ends seems essential. Why did I buy something that is so easily recreated from a hardware store? To redeem this I plan on using the repair jack to build an Erlewine-esque Neck Jig (save a couple hundred $$)

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Feeler Gauges
Feeler Gauges
4 3-13-2011
Great

If only the sizes got small enough to check action and relief this would be perfect.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

You get what you pay for, but I'm gonna start stealing bones from the dog to save some scratch...

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

Exactly as they describe is how it arrives.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
2 3-13-2011
Gotoh (gold) stop tailpiece

Nicely made, but did not fit the factory stud spacing. Also arrived with one stud all scarred up. Stewart-MacDonald promptly replaced the scarred stud!
Purchased this to replace the tailpiece on an Epiphone Explorer. It did not align with the original anchors - it was wider. My customer did not want to pay for me to plug and re-drill the anchor holes so I have put it into stock pending use on my next 'scratch' build.

Bear  Pennsylvania, USA
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 3-13-2011
Perfect every time !!!

As a Refinisher of older Electric guitars, this tool is just the ticket for the refinishing process, It really works as intended, Luv it !!!

John Youngman  Fort Worth, Texas
Displaying 17001 – 17025
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  680  681  682  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce