Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 17001 – 17025
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  680  681  682  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 3-12-2011
Great little file

This file is easy to use and does a fabulous job of dressing up frets that are either protruding from wood shrinkage or sharp like one may find on less expensive instruments. A must have!

G Mutt  Albuquerque
Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 3-12-2011
Mystery

For all those who start with the mystery of getting a scraper sharp! Great tool, works all the time, durable steel, worth ten times the money. Love It!!

AlexderK  Austria
Schatten Thumbwheel Controls
Schatten Thumbwheel Controls
5 3-12-2011
Real Stealth

These thumbwheels are smaller, prewired (hence quieter thanks to the sheilding), and less expensive than the ones I bought elsewhere. I paid almost twice as much for Thumbwheels almost twice as big that I had to wire myself. Never again! Save $ and get superior quality. Always shop Stewmac. Without the paper under the pick guard you can't even see them! They work great. There's a real tone difference. Eight solders, 5 minutes and BOOYA! Stewmac Rules!

Jonesy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Snapfile Leveling System
Snapfile Leveling System
5 3-12-2011
Snapfile Leveling System

This is a gem of a tool. Highly recommended.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Classic Saddles
5 3-12-2011
String Saver Saddles are just that - and money savers!

For the life of me, I don't know why string saver saddles are not required hardware on any new guitar. I've tried everything and still I would get that "sharp groove or burr" on those steel saddles - and string breakage was for too common. String Savers save your strings - they save you $$ - and they save you that frustration of string breakage at the most inopportune moment!

Smokin'Bill  Cape Coral Florida
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
5 3-12-2011
Stewmac stands behind their stuff!

I recently had a problem with a Jack the Gripper tool that broke. I had it for a while but used it very seldom. When it broke I called your customer service team. They replaced it without any hassle. You pay a little more but the service is unmatched!

Tim Lawson  Baton Rouge, LA
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 3-12-2011
I love Behlen products.. This nirto is superb!

I have been using Behlen on all my guitars for over 10 years now.
I love how it goes on smooth every time. Sands out great.. buffs out great. Gives you that old look finish. Not a plastic watery look like the new stuff they use on guitars.
I will take a nitro finish any day.
And Behlen is my choice of laquers

ADDIE  Calif Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
5 3-12-2011
Great Tremolo!!

Great piece of gear!! I have on 3 Strats.

Rock  Colorado
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
5 3-12-2011
Brush on Superglue

Great product. Higher quality container and brush than comparable retail offerings.

Roy Gallop  Weslaco, Tx,USA
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
5 3-12-2011
Totally worth every cent!

Outstanding quality. Replaced an old Floyd Rose II on an old Kramer Focus and it was a straight up perfect match! I added my own personal touches (D-tuna, and a sound block upgrade) but the bridge alone is a spectacular Floyd!

ChristO  Jeffersonville, IN Read my reviews (2)
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
5 3-12-2011
Solid Product

I recently purchased some of the shielded circuit wire for an old Kramer restoration. The wire is a great quality product and everything appears to be working flawlessly! I ordered quite a bit and it will last me for quite some time. I'd even go so far as to say that the quality was a great improvement over much of the wiring that is factory installed on most of my instruments.

ChristO  Jeffersonville, IN Read my reviews (2)
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 3-12-2011
Weight of Carbon Fibre

Contrary to popular belief, carbon fibre WILL add weight to the neck of your instrument... just not very much weight, because the bar is relatively small compared to the rest of the neck. The math is simple: hard maple weighs ~44lbs/ft3, while the material used to make these inlays weighs ~100-110lbs/ft3. (It also happens to be ~13 times as stiff, which is why we use it.) It may be "light" in comparison to steel, but not wood.

That said, its superb stiffness for a modest weight gain makes it an excellent tool in the guitar-builder's arsenal.

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
Ukulele Bridge with Saddle
5 3-12-2011
Great Bridge!

Very good bridge for my Ukulele "gibson les paul", used this for soprano style and glued it and put two screws on it.
Holds great!

JohnOlav  Norway Read my reviews (2)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 3-12-2011
Good!

Works great on my ukulele!
Will probably buy some for my electric guitar project too!

JohnOlav  Norway Read my reviews (2)
Soprano Ukulele Kit
Soprano Ukulele Kit
5 3-12-2011
The first of many

Congratulations to Stwemac on a first class kit and service. I received my kit in Australia on a Wednesday night and completed the build at 2.30 AM on the Sunday night. IT IS ADDICTIVE. I upgraded to the Grover machine tuners which are well worth the small extra. I also added some ivory inlay on the head which came up great. I will be ordering a tenor kit immediately.

myuke  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Toggle Switch Knob
Toggle Switch Knob
3 3-11-2011
Poor fit but easily fixed

The metric knob was too loose for the switch post on my new Richmond Empire so I wrapped plumber's tape around the post threads (as a previous reviewer suggested). Fits and looks great now.

bluzgtr  Surprise, AZ
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Mini 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs 3L/3R
5 3-11-2011
In Tune

Quite simply, the best tuners I have ever used, and very attractive to boot!

Rude-House-Key  Albuquerque, NM
Foredom Handpiece
Foredom Handpiece
5 3-11-2011
5332 Foredom Handpiece

This is great, the #5332 handpiece has the threads of a dremel (3/4-12). I can now use the dremel attachments on my foredom, like the Precision Router Base, and Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide. I love this handpiece.

mda violins  phx az
Customer supplied image for review
Bridge Clamping Caul
Bridge Clamping Caul
5 3-11-2011
Great for various Bridges

Works well on a variety of bridges.

Brian Herbert  Smithers, BC, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Soundhole Clamps
Soundhole Clamps
5 3-11-2011
Light and firm

Great light clamp that reaches where I need it.
Works well with bridge brace

Brian Herbert  Smithers, BC, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 3-11-2011
Simple product

This product installs very easily and has a very easy to follow diagram / instruction sheet to use for the most common acoustic pickup combinations. 5 - 10 min tops on the installation.

telewacker  grafton, IL Read my reviews (3)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 3-11-2011
Grover Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Ukulele

The Grover Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead works great for the Tenor Ukulele. All you need to do is file the ends shorter so they will not hit together. The price is reasonable and they look sharp!

Wille  Carmichael, CA. USA Read my reviews (2)
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
3-on-Plate Waverly Machines for Slotted Pegheads
5 3-11-2011
3 on a Plate.

When I build a guitar that has the best of everything I can put into it, Waverlys finish things off in a proper fashion.

M.W. Tulloch  Chelsea, Vt. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-11-2011
Fret files

The fret files are great they work fast and actuate. It would be nice if Stewmac gave the suggested sizes to buy for the ukulele strings.

Wille  Carmichael, CA. USA Read my reviews (2)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 3-11-2011
Nice, but think twice!

You need bushings to install this on Gibson Firebird.

Deviron  Russia
Displaying 17001 – 17025
of 20998 reviews
< 1  ...  680  681  682  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce