Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16976 – 17000
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  679  680  681  ...  843 >
Sort reviews by

Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 3-16-2011
Great Tuners

I've had several guitars and basses with Sperzels through the years, so when my old acoustic needed new tuners theses were an obvious choice for me. Easy install, solid tuning, quick string changes... What's not to love?

Gene S  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (2)
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
2 3-16-2011
Not the best value

I followed the instructions on a scrap piece of wood and it was wrong. Tried on foam and found the tick marks are on the wrong side of the template. The offset side for the trem arm was on the wrong side. Figured it out, but could have screwed up a lot.

Wolf_Spirits  Dearborn Heights, MI
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 3-16-2011
Awesome

Great tuners! very tight,and precise. You can tighten a string and just for yuks I pulled way up on the G string (not to stress the neck) and the tuner didn't budge and the string stayed in tune. A bit extreme, but what the hell! Had to see.

Marc Danzeisen  California
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
4 3-16-2011
Shielding single coil guitars

I recently used Stew Mac's copper tape to shield a 1958 Strat and a Tele clone that I built. The results were almost unbelievable. I used the 2" and 3/4" tape. While dealing with the tape was a bit infuriating at first (the adhesive is VERY aggressive) I got used to it and the job went faster after the first couple cavities were done.

Take your time, make sure you are marking asymmetric shapes from the correct side of the tape (don't ask...) and it will work out fine. Use star grounding and solder the overlaps between tape sections. You will be amazed at the results. The Tele that I made has drilled channels rather than routes between the cavities. I used brass tubing through the drill channels and soldered the copper tape to the tubing for continuous shielding.

For any of the "Vintage" mavens shocked at doing anything but drooling on '58 Strats, this is an instrument that was on the road in the '70s with Stevie Wonder, the Ojays and other groups. It has an anatomically correct naked woman in pearl on the fretboard, Corvette metallic blue paint with stars, moons, and another naked lady on the body. Thus, no vintage hangups... The owner thinks of it as a tool. But now the engineers don't say " Hey what's that buzzin' out there? Can you stop that buzzin'??

Joe Dragony Guitars  Carmichael, CA
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 3-16-2011
Kinda hard to fail the "is it a spring?" test.

Only way you could fail this test is if you sent me a rubber chicken instead of tension springs. I do want to add that the only tool you need to install these is angled needle nose pliers. Easy, easy, very easy to install.

J-san  Emporium, PA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 3-16-2011
It's a bar, and it whammies.

It's a very snug, solid fit. Now if I could only find a replacement bar for my Zero Resistance bridge for my Ibanez.. hmmm

J-san  Emporium, PA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 3-16-2011
Fantastic Little File

This is an extremely useful little file for dressing fret ends. I was worried about the fingerboard - but no need. The rounded edge on the file did no damage. In retrospect I'd have purchased the fret beveling file as well - starting with the proper 35 degree bevel would have been a lot easier. I'd recommend this little file to anyone.

Joemac  Anola, MB, CA Read my reviews (6)
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
4 3-16-2011
Very useful

I found the diamond fret leveler (Fine) very useful for finishing and polishing fret ends, as well as smoothing out the string marks from the tops of the frets. It becomes more difficult to use as you move up the fretboard - perhaps a narrower version would be more useful. However, a very useful tool - for lots of things.

Joemac  Anola, MB, CA Read my reviews (6)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 3-16-2011
Required Reading

Every guitar player should own and read this book. Even if you never plan on opening your own shop, there is so much good information for maintenance, repair, and upgrades that this should be required reading. Especially for those of you who play every weekend and do your own maintenance and setup, because, like me, you don't have your own guitar tech yet. This book will pay for itself if you only avoid the repair shop once.

TonyK  Sumner, WA Read my reviews (4)
Neck Mounting Ferrules
Neck Mounting Ferrules
5 3-16-2011
Nice Little Pieces

These are nice little pieces, but they are not 5/8" in diameter. A 15mm Forster is the way to go for a nice tight fit.

MarkWarner  Norman, OK Read my reviews (4)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 3-16-2011
Understring Radius Gauges

A must have for setup.
Strong and very useful.

Giovanni  Milan Italy Read my reviews (10)
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
5 3-16-2011
Gauged Saws

Perfect for nut job or cut little piece of wood, plastic etc.

Giovanni  Milan Italy Read my reviews (10)
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
5 3-16-2011
Well Worth it!

Having wired many guitars I am now wondering why I didn't invest in this wire sooner. High quality and easy to use. That's all you need.

Brandon S.  Philadelphia, PA Read my reviews (6)
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
5 3-16-2011
Great book

Great book, very clear.
I suggest to buy the video too, with both you can do a perfect finish for sure.

Giovanni  Milan Italy Read my reviews (10)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 3-16-2011
String Action Gauge

A must have, very useful.

Giovanni  Milan Italy Read my reviews (10)
Grover Midsize Rotomatics
Grover Midsize Rotomatics 3L/3R
5 3-16-2011
As Advertised

Item was received in the time frame stated. I used these tuners to replace the no name stock tuners on my Ibanez ART100. I must mention here that the specs are invaluable when picking out direct drop-ins, I almost ordered a different brand but noticed that they wouldn't fit.

I am very happy with the tuners. The ratio allows for precise pitch, the quality is super, can't ask for anything more. I picked up my guitar yesterday after it sitting for a week and a half and it was still in tune. Played for 2 or 3 hours, still in tune today. If you buy quality once, you'll never have to buy again.

RSM535  Oklahoma City, OK
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines
Gotoh Keystone-style Machines
5 3-16-2011
Perfect Replacement!

I bought these to replace the flimsy tuners i got with my Epiphone LP 100, they fit in perfectly and you can fell they are way more solid then the stock ones!
I'll probably use them on my next whole build if i cant afford Waverly.

Smoke Wood Guitars  Natanya, Israel Read my reviews (5)
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
5 3-16-2011
excellent results

I was removing the frets on a 1967 fender coronado using a bigger puller than this, and found it hard not to get under the very worn down frets, also it was chipping too much so got these and they have been excellent, less chipping and good results

Jasper Vincent  Brighton, UK Read my reviews (2)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 3-16-2011
Brilliant!

probably my favorite tool at the moment, most accurate way to read a neck that I'm aware of, i use it all the time now. thanks stew mac

Jasper Vincent  Brighton, UK Read my reviews (2)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
4 3-16-2011
reliable plate

Comes with 4 neck screws. The screws did not strip when I installed the neck...that's always a plus in my book. Also, it's SHINY! :)
Only thing missing is perhaps a plastic shim for a more finished look.

Jason G.  Tomball, Tx. Read my reviews (4)
Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 3-16-2011
Advanced Fretting Vol 1 & 2

Great DVDs, it completes my previous Fret Basics. A must have for those who want to do great fret jobs. I really like to see how Bryan Galloup works, very fast, very accurate. Thanks stewmac.

Daniel Mubarac  Manaus, BRAZIL Read my reviews (2)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
4 3-16-2011
Yep, it's a strap button!

I'm currently building a strat-style guitar on the cheap, so I bought these standard strap buttons. They do what they are supposed to do, so they are a good value for the price. The only thing I think that could be improved is if pre-cut felt washers were included.

Jason G.  Tomball, Tx. Read my reviews (4)
Switchcraft Output Jack
Switchcraft Output Jack
5 3-16-2011
Excellent

I bought the gold stereo one to replace an EMG solderless kit jack and a chrome mono to replace in my actual gibson Custom. Just say excellent quality.

Daniel Mubarac  Manaus, BRAZIL Read my reviews (2)
Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck
Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck
5 3-16-2011
Great customer service

The neck I finally ended up with was perfect. However I had to return 4 for various defects. The customer service was great, they kept sending necks until they got it right. I wish the first one was the good one though.

Victory Pete  R.I Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 3-16-2011
best fretwire

I love this fretwire!! It makes your guitars play great!!

kyguitarlover  Ky
Displaying 16976 – 17000
of 21051 reviews
< 1  ...  679  680  681  ...  843 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce