Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16976 – 17000
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  679  680  681  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 3-13-2011
Function AND beauty!

You know these machine heads. There isn't more I could say that hasn't been said. They're rock solid, and the aesthetic of them is just beautiful. No more string tree, no more string winder needed! Heck, even if your tuning stability is currently just fine, if you change strings often - you'll save time, and lots of it! String changes with these are a snap (almost literally). I love these things, SO glad I bought them!!!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 3-13-2011
The best Bridge Pins

These bridge pins are the best I have ever encountered. Hard and durable, beautifully made and nice ivoroid look. I prefer the unadorned and unslotted for even greater durability from string wear. I prefer to add my own dots to match the particular guitar. Great Job Stew Mac.

John Greven  Portland, OR Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 3-13-2011
Well worth the money

I've played for 25 years, and owned a lot of different guitars over the years. For the past five years or so, I've strictly been playing Ibanez Prestige two humbucker equipped guitars, and I missed the single coil Strat sound, as well as the Strat neck. So I finally bought a Deluxe Players Strat, and that's where this Wilkinson comes in.

I love everything about the guitar - except for the bridge. I realized right away that I would not be able to use the whammy bar with the stock Fender bridge. I overnighted this Wilky as well as Sperzel locking tuners. Install was a snap. It's literally six screws and three springs - DONE. Intonation was almost dead accurate out of the box. I restrung the guitar BEFORE I switched out the machine heads, and the Strat stayed in tune even with the stock vintage style classic tuners (the inexpensive ones, made by Ping I believe). I then switched to the Sperzels (be prepared to drill if you do this), and I can NOT make that guitar go out of tune once the strings are broken in. Unbelievable.

The only thing I did notice is that it doesn't quite resonate the same as the stock bridge, but I switched to Fender Bullet strings (I think there's something to that bullet end, as opposed to the ball ends with wraps around it), and the resonance came back. Very solid bridge, I love the adjustable tension pop in trem arm (I can't stand screw in arms - another reason for the upgrade), and the trem arm has NO slop or "wiggle" in it whatsoever once the tension is set right. This is a very fast, very easy, relatively inexpensive upgrade that solves a lot of problems. Not only is tuning stability attained, but intonation is better and string breakage is reduced because the saddles actually have a notch/groove in them, unlike the stamped steel Fender saddles in which the strings can slide side to side on. I highly recommend it!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
3 3-13-2011
Good

Some cork padding applied to both ends seems essential. Why did I buy something that is so easily recreated from a hardware store? To redeem this I plan on using the repair jack to build an Erlewine-esque Neck Jig (save a couple hundred $$)

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Feeler Gauges
Feeler Gauges
4 3-13-2011
Great

If only the sizes got small enough to check action and relief this would be perfect.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

You get what you pay for, but I'm gonna start stealing bones from the dog to save some scratch...

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

Exactly as they describe is how it arrives.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
2 3-13-2011
Gotoh (gold) stop tailpiece

Nicely made, but did not fit the factory stud spacing. Also arrived with one stud all scarred up. Stewart-MacDonald promptly replaced the scarred stud!
Purchased this to replace the tailpiece on an Epiphone Explorer. It did not align with the original anchors - it was wider. My customer did not want to pay for me to plug and re-drill the anchor holes so I have put it into stock pending use on my next 'scratch' build.

Bear  Pennsylvania, USA
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 3-13-2011
Perfect every time !!!

As a Refinisher of older Electric guitars, this tool is just the ticket for the refinishing process, It really works as intended, Luv it !!!

John Youngman  Fort Worth, Texas
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
3 3-13-2011
Fiddel kit

I have recently orderd 3 fiddel kits from you and now the violin top doesn´t fit the bottom. It seems like the pre fabricated bottom wood and violin side wood has lost it´s shape during transport. Now we can´t fit the top to the bottom. This is a huge problem for us first timers. What to do?

bert fahller  sweden
Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
3 3-13-2011
great instructions, bad picture

Dan's Instructions on this DVD are fantastic, as always. You'll get all the information on nutmaking you need to become an expert with some practice and experience.
However, watching the DVD is very tiring because the camerawork is poor. Because of the subtle subject of the DVD, there's lots of closeups but most of the time the area in question is out of focus. You'll be trying to see what Dan is doing on the nut but it's the floral pattern of his shirt that's in focus. It's a nice shirt but I would prefer to see what he's doing with that file.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-13-2011
~Hum-free

Since covering the entire cavity and underside of the the pickguard of my strat (single coil pickups) there has been a dramatic improvement in the susceptibility of the RF and 60Hz hum. Do it! Buy the 2" and simply use scissors to cut to fit. Make sure it connects to ground at some point.

Alan  Maine Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 3-13-2011
Stay In Tune

My old Gibson L-6 had tuning problems. I decided to put on new Grover full sized Romantics that took care of the problem. Easy to install and they look great !

azvisionary  Tempe AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Bell Knob
Bell Knob
5 3-13-2011
fits well

I bought some amber knobs, and they did fit the stock pots on my les paul DC standard 2007. Later I bought some black knobs, along with some 250k pots fro stewmac, and not surprising: they did fit there as well.

Morten Foss  Norway
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-13-2011
Clearcoat

Warm the can, just like the instructions. This clear dries quickly and lays out nicely for minimal sanding.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-13-2011
Amber tint

This is some great stuff... if you use it correctly. Warm the can in hot tap water and be sure to always clear the nozzle after use.

Spray the amber differently than other colors on a maple neck. Use it sparingly or it turns orange... one very light dusting coat. Spray your clear on the amber as soon as it's tacky and it will help blend the amber and even it out completely.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 3-13-2011
Works great

Yeah, you could try different tapes like me and finally realize that this tape is slightly cheaper than other specialty tapes, and works better. I researched this to find out that this is actually Butcher's tape or something almost exactly like it, but it costs more elsewhere and doesn't' come this narrow, which works PERFECTLY for holding down bindings. And I use a lot of wood bindings, and don't always prebend them, this stuff holds, and its on my next order again...

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 3-13-2011
High Quality Bridge

I've used 2 so far, and these are slowly becoming my standard non-trem bridge, along with a tailpiece. Its comfortable to play on, is nicely machined, and can't imagine using any others. For me, I never know what I'm going to make, and whatever that turns out be, I know that I have almost every kind of adjustability, except radius, but you can't have everything.

The only thing I would improve is to make one available in a 16" radius for compound radius fingerboards, but the fact that it's 14 is already cool. Overall, very classy looking, has string spacing adjustability which is great for me because I never know what I'm going to build, whether it be a standard type neck like Fender, or more of a wider shred neck like Ibanez, so this is the best option for me right now. AND, it feels awesome to play on. I ask you, who doesn't love hardware made in Germany?

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-13-2011
Excellent copper tape!

Easy to work, conductive adhesive, big 2" roll.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Saddles for Floyd Rose
Saddles for Floyd Rose
5 3-13-2011
Good service

I do appreciate how fast the order was delivered. thanks for the good service and excellent quality of the products.

jschirino  Miami, Florida
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Oak Grigsby Super Switch
5 3-12-2011
Ultimate Flexibility

The flexibility this switch provides is fantastic and the quality is top notch! I wired my Strat using this switch along with a DPDT on a 500K volume pot (#1216) and a 6 position-2 pole rotary switch (#3511). I get N, NM-parallel, NM-series, NB-parallel, MB-parallel, MB-series and B. The rotary switch allows me to choose from 4 different tone capacitors, to place a capacitor in series with the tone pot to bypass the volume pot (to blend in more highs with low volume settings), or to completely switch out the tone control. Incredible flexibility and it looks totally stock!

Bob Graebner  Kansas City
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
4 3-12-2011
Great little file

This file is easy to use and does a fabulous job of dressing up frets that are either protruding from wood shrinkage or sharp like one may find on less expensive instruments. A must have!

G Mutt  Albuquerque
Scraper Burnisher
Scraper Burnisher
5 3-12-2011
Mystery

For all those who start with the mystery of getting a scraper sharp! Great tool, works all the time, durable steel, worth ten times the money. Love It!!

AlexderK  Austria
Schatten Thumbwheel Controls
Schatten Thumbwheel Controls
5 3-12-2011
Real Stealth

These thumbwheels are smaller, prewired (hence quieter thanks to the sheilding), and less expensive than the ones I bought elsewhere. I paid almost twice as much for Thumbwheels almost twice as big that I had to wire myself. Never again! Save $ and get superior quality. Always shop Stewmac. Without the paper under the pick guard you can't even see them! They work great. There's a real tone difference. Eight solders, 5 minutes and BOOYA! Stewmac Rules!

Jonesy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Snapfile Leveling System
Snapfile Leveling System
5 3-12-2011
Snapfile Leveling System

This is a gem of a tool. Highly recommended.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
Displaying 16976 – 17000
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  679  680  681  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce