Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16951 – 16975
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  678  679  680  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 3-16-2011
Chrome Jack Plate

Good Quality fit and finish. The curve matches the curve of my Les Paul kit guitar. Thanks, StewMac!

Sean M.  Roseville, CA Read my reviews (3)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
3 3-16-2011
Not for 5 or 6 string Basses

nice tool, but it's too short for 5 and 6 string basses

Bigbotom  NYC
Ivoroid Endpin
Ivoroid Endpin
5 3-16-2011
Good Quality

This is a good quality end pin that I would recommend to anyone. Much better than your standard molded plastic.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 3-16-2011
Works great. Don't use there reducer

The lacquer and sealer both work great and go along way. However Stew. Mac. recommends that on the final coat you mix 50/50 lacquer and reducer. bad idea. It sprayed well, but about 10 min. later it blistered all the way back to the wood. I used it on a custom flying V guitar I built and did NOT reduce on the final coat and it turned out GREAT.

I will use it again, not the reducer though. I'll use other lacquer reducer to clean my spray guns.

McNeiley Custom Luthiery  Montana Read my reviews (2)
Battery Box
Battery Box
4 3-16-2011
BATTERY BOX LOVE IT

This battery box works well its easy to change batterys in. The price is a little high but, It works so Its worth a little more money. I will use more of these in the custom guitars and bass guitars I build. Great for mods. to.

McNeiley Custom Luthiery  Montana Read my reviews (2)
Diamond Fret Levelers
Diamond Fret Levelers
2 3-15-2011
Fair

Diamond fractions serve for 1-2 guitars. After this, diamond fret levelers is going to trash...

Shade  Moscow. Ru Read my reviews (3)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
2 3-15-2011
Fret Arbor Press System

First i give it 2 stars for the Idea, Great Idea Awefull Execution!

I Would like Stewmac to understand that this is a direct representation of their quality of work I don't care if you have it made somewhere else!

the press: ok as soon as i pulled it out of the box i could something wasn't right,after a few seconds i noticed the face plate of the ram that holds the guide and lock down was upside down,the face would not sit flush on all 4 sides, after flipping over and seeing that's what was wrong i noticed the paint drips now go up! "NICE". I'm not going to even get in to all the red paint chips i have. Thats right it looses paint like a dog shedding hair, the knob that house's the spring looks like someone grabbed it with pliers!

The Table: Total P.O.S. screws not countersunk even,oil spots everywhere,the item was just dirty it looks like it has been in use for years!!!! Missing parts the arm was missing the screw that holds the press arm. With in 20 minutes of cleaning and setting it up the Stewart macdonald Emblem fell off, just fell off tink tink that was probably the only justice i got out of this. Could i have called stew/mac yes! but i chose to write this instead.

This item looks like someone got a new one and they sent me there used one honest to god that's why i am writing this. Stew/mac need to be more reliable with there equipment, bottom line when i spend 200 Bones on equipment BRAND NEW Equipment I'm going to be the one to scratch and dent it, not the pathetic quality control in ChinA. I have found similar Arbor press's on Ebay for 40$, Stew/Mac I spent 250$ last week and 250$ this week if you dont want me to go somewhere else i suggest YOU LOOK AT YOUR PRODUCT! You are not the only guitar Co. out there nor are you the most affordable. You might have it made in china but its still your PRODUCT

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
StewMac responds

Smokie,
We are truly sorry you had this experience with our Fret Arbor Press. You are correct, every item we ship is a reflection on us and in this case we really let you down. Please accept our sincere apology (and, of course, a full refund or replacement.)




We do our absolute best to check the quality of all the items we offer, but we do sometimes make mistakes. Thank you for speaking up, and rest assured we're already working hard to correct this problem.

Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 3-15-2011
Finally!! Firebird tuners that work.

My 1976 Bi-centennial Firebird out mojo's the new ones with it's tone and feel, and now it can be used live, staying in tune!! All I expected and more. The guitar now balances perfectly, with a lighter headstock! Tuning is easy and precision. Wow!

Dogtowndave  Santa Monica, Calif
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
4 3-14-2011
Made in the USA!

I was proud to buy these because they are made in the USA. I got the deep throat clamps to clamp the fretboard to the top on my first dulcimer build. I wish they had more pressure for this application, but I imagine the pressure will be just right for braces.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
5 3-14-2011
Works great, sturdy

This vice is the perfect size to hold nuts for shaping. I'm so glad i bought this as it's very difficult to fit a nut in a clamp or work bench vice. The vice is very heavy. It's so heavy it has great stability without mounting. When you aren't using it just store it out of the way. This was a great purchase and the price is right.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
5 3-14-2011
Nice tool but necesary?

I got these files for shaping bone nuts for my first dulcimer build. i was so into the work that i forgot i had bought these, and used a piece of sticky circular 220 grit sandpaper mounted to the bench top instead, which worked perfectly. i imagine as i continue on with building i will use these files. they are very well built and cut with ease.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
5 3-14-2011
Works great

I used these to trim the ends of fretwire on my first dulcimer build. They work great. Very sharp and easy to use. A high quality tool. I also found they will cut small screws with ease. I recommend.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
5 3-14-2011
Purfling Madness

This amazing contraption from stewmac.com ranks in my all time top ten tool list, this really is saying something.....

As this tool is a power attachment it should not strictly be on the list, but it saves me 4 hours of solid concentration cutting the channel by hand. (per violin plate) I do 5 or 6 fiddles at a time. you do the math.
It saves me time and money and allows me to get on with the jobs I enjoy.

Ross Violins  Liverpool UK
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
Pigtail Aluminum Wraparound Bridge
5 3-14-2011
Best Wraparound out there

Having tried Tonepros, Mannmade, Schaller etc., I tried this Pigtail and found what I was looking for all this time! It's low, light with stinging sustain and very well made. I agree with other reviewers that the continuous string holes make a BIG difference to my Les Paul DC when restringing, A class product.

mike k  cheshire uk
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-14-2011
STEW- MAC PRODUCTS

I have used Stew-Mac products for the last 12 years. They are the best you can buy. The instructions and help from the personnel is tops, many thanks guys. When you are making top of the line, one of a kind guitars, you can not afford to have costly mistakes. That is why I use Stew-Mac products.

RON MILLER  ATHENS, TENNESSEE
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 3-14-2011
These are the necks Fender should be using.

I just bought my fifth compound radius neck!!! That means I've replaced the Fender necks on my four Stratocasters and one Telecaster. The silky feel means no "stickiness" and the compound radius means no fret out even with a pretty low action. And they are a perfect fit to the bodies on all my guitars so fitting them was a piece of cake. I cannot speak highly enough of these necks. You really should try them out.

Tore Hauge  Scotland
African Mahogany Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
5 3-13-2011
fantastic!

This is a incredible piece of wood, I'm building a Les Paul for my year 12 project for year 12. Love the wood thnx - Expect to hear from me in the near future! :)

Guitarlover!  Australia
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-13-2011
Nut Files

I've never bought a guitar on which the nut set up was suitable. Stewmac nut files make that task a breeze....G Lynch

Gerald E Lynch  Newport,NH Read my reviews (3)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 3-13-2011
'Bucker Mounting ring screws

Tired of the same old look? Change your pup mounting screws. Make this your first foray into customizing your guitar. They come in colors. Hey, they do their job really well holding on your pup rings. Give them some personality. Chrome with black looks good. Gold with black adds a little class. Or just go random, one of each! um, perhaps you should keep your original screws off you '59 Les Paul, in case you want to sell it later. The collector market is very picky about those details.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
5 3-13-2011
'Bucker Springs

They are springs. You mount them and never think of them again. Good quality...but I purchased a few extra because of the "click-ping" effect. You know, 1am, just one new pickup to mount, one spring to go..and your new dream pick-up combination is ready to sing..then...'click-ping'....and that spring flys to that special place reserved for car-keys, contact lenses and the phone number of the girl you met last night at the gig. Never to be seen again. Order more than you need. They come 8 to a pack, but just order more than you need.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 3-13-2011
Mounting screws

Not an exciting purchase, but great range of Pickup mounting screws for those times when your power screwdriver applies too much torque. Good range of materials, eg, chrome black & gold. Good quality. It's the little things that add up to a good guitar. You don't brag about 'em to your mates, but you know they are there doing what they do really well.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 3-13-2011
Metal Bucker Rings

These are good. A class above the generic plastic rings (Rings? These are rectangles!) They look great in black and fitted the PRS style carved top nicely. Fitting the springs which I purchased too was the challenge that it always is, but it was worth it once I saw the quality 'look' that these gave to the guitar. Thanks

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 3-13-2011
Jack plate

A good solid jack plate, a lot more robust than most I've found on cheaper guitars. This one won't bend easily. Nice chrome too, not likely to flake in a hurry.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 3-13-2011
Height screws various

Um....these height screws adjusted the pickup heights...really well when used with the height springs! Not a lot to go wrong here once you get the screw and the spring attached to the pickup, now that took some time!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 3-13-2011
The Perfect Vintage Tuners

Having used every brand of tuning machine with a vintage look over the last 50 years, I can speak from experience that the 18:1 Grover Sta-Tites are the smoothest, most precise, most stable, and overall best functioning open back tuning machines on the planet. I use them on all of my vintage guitar builds and recommend them to all of my customers using the open back style.

John Greven  Portland, OR Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 16951 – 16975
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  678  679  680  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce