Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16926 – 16950
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  677  678  679  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
5 3-13-2011
'Bucker Springs

They are springs. You mount them and never think of them again. Good quality...but I purchased a few extra because of the "click-ping" effect. You know, 1am, just one new pickup to mount, one spring to go..and your new dream pick-up combination is ready to sing..then...'click-ping'....and that spring flys to that special place reserved for car-keys, contact lenses and the phone number of the girl you met last night at the gig. Never to be seen again. Order more than you need. They come 8 to a pack, but just order more than you need.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 3-13-2011
Mounting screws

Not an exciting purchase, but great range of Pickup mounting screws for those times when your power screwdriver applies too much torque. Good range of materials, eg, chrome black & gold. Good quality. It's the little things that add up to a good guitar. You don't brag about 'em to your mates, but you know they are there doing what they do really well.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 3-13-2011
Metal Bucker Rings

These are good. A class above the generic plastic rings (Rings? These are rectangles!) They look great in black and fitted the PRS style carved top nicely. Fitting the springs which I purchased too was the challenge that it always is, but it was worth it once I saw the quality 'look' that these gave to the guitar. Thanks

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
5 3-13-2011
Jack plate

A good solid jack plate, a lot more robust than most I've found on cheaper guitars. This one won't bend easily. Nice chrome too, not likely to flake in a hurry.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 3-13-2011
Height screws various

Um....these height screws adjusted the pickup heights...really well when used with the height springs! Not a lot to go wrong here once you get the screw and the spring attached to the pickup, now that took some time!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 3-13-2011
The Perfect Vintage Tuners

Having used every brand of tuning machine with a vintage look over the last 50 years, I can speak from experience that the 18:1 Grover Sta-Tites are the smoothest, most precise, most stable, and overall best functioning open back tuning machines on the planet. I use them on all of my vintage guitar builds and recommend them to all of my customers using the open back style.

John Greven  Portland, OR Read my reviews (2)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 3-13-2011
Function AND beauty!

You know these machine heads. There isn't more I could say that hasn't been said. They're rock solid, and the aesthetic of them is just beautiful. No more string tree, no more string winder needed! Heck, even if your tuning stability is currently just fine, if you change strings often - you'll save time, and lots of it! String changes with these are a snap (almost literally). I love these things, SO glad I bought them!!!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
Ivoroid Bridge Pins
5 3-13-2011
The best Bridge Pins

These bridge pins are the best I have ever encountered. Hard and durable, beautifully made and nice ivoroid look. I prefer the unadorned and unslotted for even greater durability from string wear. I prefer to add my own dots to match the particular guitar. Great Job Stew Mac.

John Greven  Portland, OR Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo
5 3-13-2011
Well worth the money

I've played for 25 years, and owned a lot of different guitars over the years. For the past five years or so, I've strictly been playing Ibanez Prestige two humbucker equipped guitars, and I missed the single coil Strat sound, as well as the Strat neck. So I finally bought a Deluxe Players Strat, and that's where this Wilkinson comes in.

I love everything about the guitar - except for the bridge. I realized right away that I would not be able to use the whammy bar with the stock Fender bridge. I overnighted this Wilky as well as Sperzel locking tuners. Install was a snap. It's literally six screws and three springs - DONE. Intonation was almost dead accurate out of the box. I restrung the guitar BEFORE I switched out the machine heads, and the Strat stayed in tune even with the stock vintage style classic tuners (the inexpensive ones, made by Ping I believe). I then switched to the Sperzels (be prepared to drill if you do this), and I can NOT make that guitar go out of tune once the strings are broken in. Unbelievable.

The only thing I did notice is that it doesn't quite resonate the same as the stock bridge, but I switched to Fender Bullet strings (I think there's something to that bullet end, as opposed to the ball ends with wraps around it), and the resonance came back. Very solid bridge, I love the adjustable tension pop in trem arm (I can't stand screw in arms - another reason for the upgrade), and the trem arm has NO slop or "wiggle" in it whatsoever once the tension is set right. This is a very fast, very easy, relatively inexpensive upgrade that solves a lot of problems. Not only is tuning stability attained, but intonation is better and string breakage is reduced because the saddles actually have a notch/groove in them, unlike the stamped steel Fender saddles in which the strings can slide side to side on. I highly recommend it!

Chris Mc  Fort Wayne, Indiana Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
3 3-13-2011
Good

Some cork padding applied to both ends seems essential. Why did I buy something that is so easily recreated from a hardware store? To redeem this I plan on using the repair jack to build an Erlewine-esque Neck Jig (save a couple hundred $$)

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Feeler Gauges
Feeler Gauges
4 3-13-2011
Great

If only the sizes got small enough to check action and relief this would be perfect.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

You get what you pay for, but I'm gonna start stealing bones from the dog to save some scratch...

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

Exactly as they describe is how it arrives.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
2 3-13-2011
Gotoh (gold) stop tailpiece

Nicely made, but did not fit the factory stud spacing. Also arrived with one stud all scarred up. Stewart-MacDonald promptly replaced the scarred stud!
Purchased this to replace the tailpiece on an Epiphone Explorer. It did not align with the original anchors - it was wider. My customer did not want to pay for me to plug and re-drill the anchor holes so I have put it into stock pending use on my next 'scratch' build.

Bear  Pennsylvania, USA
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
5 3-13-2011
Perfect every time !!!

As a Refinisher of older Electric guitars, this tool is just the ticket for the refinishing process, It really works as intended, Luv it !!!

John Youngman  Fort Worth, Texas
Fiddle Kit
Fiddle Kit
3 3-13-2011
Fiddel kit

I have recently orderd 3 fiddel kits from you and now the violin top doesn´t fit the bottom. It seems like the pre fabricated bottom wood and violin side wood has lost it´s shape during transport. Now we can´t fit the top to the bottom. This is a huge problem for us first timers. What to do?

bert fahller  sweden
Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
3 3-13-2011
great instructions, bad picture

Dan's Instructions on this DVD are fantastic, as always. You'll get all the information on nutmaking you need to become an expert with some practice and experience.
However, watching the DVD is very tiring because the camerawork is poor. Because of the subtle subject of the DVD, there's lots of closeups but most of the time the area in question is out of focus. You'll be trying to see what Dan is doing on the nut but it's the floral pattern of his shirt that's in focus. It's a nice shirt but I would prefer to see what he's doing with that file.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-13-2011
~Hum-free

Since covering the entire cavity and underside of the the pickguard of my strat (single coil pickups) there has been a dramatic improvement in the susceptibility of the RF and 60Hz hum. Do it! Buy the 2" and simply use scissors to cut to fit. Make sure it connects to ground at some point.

Alan  Maine Read my reviews (3)
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
Grover Full-size Rotomatics
5 3-13-2011
Stay In Tune

My old Gibson L-6 had tuning problems. I decided to put on new Grover full sized Romantics that took care of the problem. Easy to install and they look great !

azvisionary  Tempe AZ
Customer supplied image for review
Bell Knob
Bell Knob
5 3-13-2011
fits well

I bought some amber knobs, and they did fit the stock pots on my les paul DC standard 2007. Later I bought some black knobs, along with some 250k pots fro stewmac, and not surprising: they did fit there as well.

Morten Foss  Norway
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-13-2011
Clearcoat

Warm the can, just like the instructions. This clear dries quickly and lays out nicely for minimal sanding.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-13-2011
Amber tint

This is some great stuff... if you use it correctly. Warm the can in hot tap water and be sure to always clear the nozzle after use.

Spray the amber differently than other colors on a maple neck. Use it sparingly or it turns orange... one very light dusting coat. Spray your clear on the amber as soon as it's tacky and it will help blend the amber and even it out completely.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 3-13-2011
Works great

Yeah, you could try different tapes like me and finally realize that this tape is slightly cheaper than other specialty tapes, and works better. I researched this to find out that this is actually Butcher's tape or something almost exactly like it, but it costs more elsewhere and doesn't' come this narrow, which works PERFECTLY for holding down bindings. And I use a lot of wood bindings, and don't always prebend them, this stuff holds, and its on my next order again...

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Roller Bridge
Schaller Roller Bridge
5 3-13-2011
High Quality Bridge

I've used 2 so far, and these are slowly becoming my standard non-trem bridge, along with a tailpiece. Its comfortable to play on, is nicely machined, and can't imagine using any others. For me, I never know what I'm going to make, and whatever that turns out be, I know that I have almost every kind of adjustability, except radius, but you can't have everything.

The only thing I would improve is to make one available in a 16" radius for compound radius fingerboards, but the fact that it's 14 is already cool. Overall, very classy looking, has string spacing adjustability which is great for me because I never know what I'm going to build, whether it be a standard type neck like Fender, or more of a wider shred neck like Ibanez, so this is the best option for me right now. AND, it feels awesome to play on. I ask you, who doesn't love hardware made in Germany?

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-13-2011
Excellent copper tape!

Easy to work, conductive adhesive, big 2" roll.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 16926 – 16950
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  677  678  679  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce