Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16901 – 16925
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  676  677  678  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Plastic Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Plastic Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 3-17-2011
Good replacement plate

My plate broke on my Epiphone Les Paul and I ordered the cream plastic plate to replace it. Beware that this is probably for a Gibson as the screw holes are slightly off on the Epiphone however you can still get it on there. Otherwise completely satisfied!

Katsumi  Indiana
Mandolin Tailpiece
Mandolin Tailpiece
5 3-17-2011
Better quality

Stew Mac tailpieces are of a heavier gauge and better quality plating than others offered. They may cost a little more, but there are no surprises when they arrive.

KColeman  Albuq, NM Read my reviews (6)
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
4 3-17-2011
Low cost tuners

For the price, these are pretty good value for money, and OK for low end student model guitars.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
4 3-17-2011
String winder

Quite effective and fast, but I found it to be a little wobbly if not held firmly in place. The nose just seems a little too long, making it difficult to keep on the tuner knob. Once one get the hang of it though, it works OK. I have not tried the "powered screw driver" option as yet........

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 3-17-2011
Pearl dots -spot on!

Very trouble free and nicely made dots. Cut to high tolerances and fit very well. Just need tweezers to keep track of them!

KColeman  Albuq, NM Read my reviews (6)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-17-2011
Wonderful color match...dries quick, sands easily

I recently acquired 8 new, or almost new Epiphone guitars...mostly Les Pauls. They all had broken headstocks. I needed to glue and splice each one. I have some SM touch-up videos that I used as a guide. I'm very happy with the result. For a first time attempt at color touch-up it's not bad. I have a long way to go to perfect my technique. PLEASE be careful with ventilation and personal protection. I was careless and got an amazing lacquer buzz/hangover. I know better but was excited to finish a particular instrument. Good price, fast shipping!!

Julian Dale Barton  Odenton, Maryland Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 3-17-2011
Best "Super Glue" I've ever used

I've been a Stew Mac customer for at least 20 years. I have purchased cyanoacrylate adhesives from many sources but Stew-Mac's particular formulation is always spot on. I'm a special fan of the water thin variety. I do a lot of woodwind reconstruction plus guitar making and repairs. This collection of glues is perfect. I buy this frequently because I prefer the smaller quantities that remain fresh until I'm finished with them. As always best service in the industry!!

Julian Dale Barton  Odenton, Maryland Read my reviews (2)
Camless Clamps
Camless Clamps
5 3-17-2011
Accurate clamp

These cam clamps are extremely suitable for guitar building, as one can adjust the clamping pressure to suit the application. Normal cam clamps have one setting, which is "tight!". This clamp applies only the pressure that you select and adjust it to.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
4 3-17-2011
Great Product

I'm just getting started building custom solid bodies. I've found some tuners locally and have been satisfied, but these surpassed everything so far. For the price, I don't think I'll find anything better.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 3-17-2011
Versatile attachment

Although designed for radius cutting, I also use it for accurate slotting of back strips, end strips, saddle slots, etc. The fine adjustment makes it particularly accurate for rosette slot cutting when fitting hand made rosettes and decorative strips.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 3-17-2011
super easy install

I love the way this truss rod installs. It really couldn't be easier. Simple set-up on the router table. Love it.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Medium Fretwire
StewMac Medium Fretwire
5 3-17-2011
Perfect fit

Had an old 1980's ovation come in for it's second re fret. The frets went in with no problem at all. I was happy to find the exact match.

Hackl Guitars  Denver, CO Read my reviews (9)
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
5 3-17-2011
neat and tidy kerfing

These kerfing pieces are small and neat, but still effective in holding everything together.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
4 3-17-2011
Works great

The tape worked perfectly. The adhesion seems to be more reliable than I thought it was going to be. I'll use it again. However, I might use spray in tighter spots. Great product.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-17-2011
nut slotting solution

I always used a small triangular and round needle file to slot nuts, but this file is absolutely perfect, as I can do all the string slots, narrow and wide, by simply angling the file a little to widen the string slot. Quick and accurate!

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
4 3-17-2011
perfect fit for Jackson JT580LP

I ordered this to replace a wobbly trem arm on my Jackson Dinky equipped with a JT580LP tremolo. It was a perfect fit.

The only negative thing I can say about it is that chrome finish looks more like a brushed finish. So the look doesn't completely match my trem. But that's fine, the perfect fit is what really matters.

rebar71  Austin, TX
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 3-17-2011
Great replacement machines for Gibson ES 325

I changed the 3 on a plate machines on this guitar over 35 years ago to Grover Rotomatics.
I have just replaced them with these Gotoh 503's! They are well made and of excellent quality for less than $40. They dropped right in the headstock and fit as well as the Grovers. They stay in tune and did not change the acoustics of the instrument.
I did not choose these machines by chance or price. A few months back a customer just would not cough up the extra $5 for Grovers (I have always installed Grovers on my custom builds) so he insisted on these cheaper machineheads !! I was surprised by the quality and tight gear lash, so that is how I made the choice to install them on my own guitar.
The string post are a little short for a Martin headstock, yet are just right for the 70's Gibson with 7 degree angle and 9/16ths thickness!
So the string angle might improve the sonic qualities of the old Gibsons, but as stated I could tell no difference.

Zirho Guitars  USA Read my reviews (2)
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
4 3-16-2011
Peterson StroboClip Tuner

Fast and easy connect and tuning check, so much better than connecting up a cable to a standard tuner, also love the strobe function..

mark daniel  oregon Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
4 3-16-2011
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

The pickups sound great on my les paul, they growl with a very distinctive sound. Quite a nice complement to my Hamer w/Seymore Duncans.

mark daniel  oregon Read my reviews (2)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 3-16-2011
Great Tuners

I've had several guitars and basses with Sperzels through the years, so when my old acoustic needed new tuners theses were an obvious choice for me. Easy install, solid tuning, quick string changes... What's not to love?

Gene S  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (2)
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
2 3-16-2011
Not the best value

I followed the instructions on a scrap piece of wood and it was wrong. Tried on foam and found the tick marks are on the wrong side of the template. The offset side for the trem arm was on the wrong side. Figured it out, but could have screwed up a lot.

Wolf_Spirits  Dearborn Heights, MI
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners
Gotoh Schaller-style Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 3-16-2011
Awesome

Great tuners! very tight,and precise. You can tighten a string and just for yuks I pulled way up on the G string (not to stress the neck) and the tuner didn't budge and the string stayed in tune. A bit extreme, but what the hell! Had to see.

Marc Danzeisen  California
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
4 3-16-2011
Shielding single coil guitars

I recently used Stew Mac's copper tape to shield a 1958 Strat and a Tele clone that I built. The results were almost unbelievable. I used the 2" and 3/4" tape. While dealing with the tape was a bit infuriating at first (the adhesive is VERY aggressive) I got used to it and the job went faster after the first couple cavities were done.

Take your time, make sure you are marking asymmetric shapes from the correct side of the tape (don't ask...) and it will work out fine. Use star grounding and solder the overlaps between tape sections. You will be amazed at the results. The Tele that I made has drilled channels rather than routes between the cavities. I used brass tubing through the drill channels and soldered the copper tape to the tubing for continuous shielding.

For any of the "Vintage" mavens shocked at doing anything but drooling on '58 Strats, this is an instrument that was on the road in the '70s with Stevie Wonder, the Ojays and other groups. It has an anatomically correct naked woman in pearl on the fretboard, Corvette metallic blue paint with stars, moons, and another naked lady on the body. Thus, no vintage hangups... The owner thinks of it as a tool. But now the engineers don't say " Hey what's that buzzin' out there? Can you stop that buzzin'??

Joe Dragony Guitars  Carmichael, CA
Tremolo Tension Spring
Tremolo Tension Spring
5 3-16-2011
Kinda hard to fail the "is it a spring?" test.

Only way you could fail this test is if you sent me a rubber chicken instead of tension springs. I do want to add that the only tool you need to install these is angled needle nose pliers. Easy, easy, very easy to install.

J-san  Emporium, PA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 3-16-2011
It's a bar, and it whammies.

It's a very snug, solid fit. Now if I could only find a replacement bar for my Zero Resistance bridge for my Ibanez.. hmmm

J-san  Emporium, PA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16901 – 16925
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  676  677  678  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce