Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16876 – 16900
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  675  676  677  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Uncarved Guitar Braces
Uncarved Guitar Braces
5 3-20-2011
Good quality Sitca

Great material to make your own shape braces.

Kjell Sele  Norway
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
5 3-20-2011
Bigsby B7 Vibrato

Just installed a Bigsby B-7 on an epiphone casino. Very simple install. Stewmacs tech. support is awsome! Added the schaler roller bridge also. This is a must do with any bigsby. The epiphone plays and sounds like a dream! Stays in tune,beautiful vibrato effect! Highly recommend this product.

Aenchbacher Guitar Shop  Evans, Ga.
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
5 3-20-2011
A good bang for the buck

I must admit I was surprised by this bridge. I was replacing the original bridge on a lowest-end Squier P-Bass. I did not want to spend the big bucks and go with a hi-tech bridge. I wanted something solid and dependable. Well, this bridge fit the bill! Made of heavier materials than the original bridges, and it is more solidly adhered to the bass with two extra screws (yes, you will need to drill two little holes).

Very easy to adjust, as well. As I also added a bone nut to replace the plastic one, this bass is now very solid, with extremely improved sustain quality. I am very pleased with this purchase, and believe I shall appreciate it for years to come.

Dougie Mac  Centennial, CO Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 3-20-2011
This Really Works Great

Just used thia on a 1970 Es-335, fretboard was really dried out. This brought out the original rich color of the fretboard, without effecting the inlays, frets, binding edges, etc. Does give a slight hint of a shine, but it looks 100% natural. I'll be using this on all my rosewood fretboards.

Cliff G  Plainville, MA
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-20-2011
Clean, clean, clean

In the old days I used to coat the electronics cavities in my basses with Nickel Print. As that has become quite costly and harder to locate, I turned to this tape. I should have done this years ago. This tape is very easy to cut into the proper shapes, and stays put after you've placed it. Needless to say, the protective qualities are why I use it. No more interference from outside sources. Please keep this in stock, I am certain to need more.

Dougie Mac  Centennial, CO Read my reviews (2)
Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
5 3-20-2011
Luthier's Friend ? -- Definitely !

I should have bought this sooner. I was undecided for several months trying to justify the cost verses the few times I might use it. A couple of StewMac gift certificates given to me as birthday presents finally made my mind up. Truth is I have found so many more ways to use this sanding station than I could ever have imagined. The quality of the tool was much higher than I anticipated from viewing the pictures. Great accuracy is easily achieved if you follow the instructions to ensure the fence is truly parallel to the sanding sleeve and don't try to sand too deeply at each pass. I have sanded mahogany, maple, rosewood and ebony all with excellent results. I have also tried it to thickness ivoroid and by using the finest grade sanding sleeve with a small depth of cut managed to get a very consistent thickness tolerance. This is now one of the most prized tools in my workshop.

JMW  Biggleswade, UK Read my reviews (13)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 3-20-2011
Liquid Plasma Sandpaper

Great stuff. Who would have ever thought that sandpaper could be taken from it's paper form and made into a compound which is basically what this is. Use the Colortone compounds from course and work your way up to medium, fine, then finish up with the swirl remover. Our shop has 4 different Stewmac polishing pads for each level. With patience you can a shine like glass as shown in on our Schecter sample photo below. Yes, that's a reflection of clouds in the sky.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 3-20-2011
Size matters!!

These new sizes really make a big difference, mainly because they now fit inside of the Stewmac Colortone rubbing compound tubs. The corner polishing pad is great for corners, namely between the neck and body. Highly recommended. Be sure to use only one pad per Colortone rubbing compound tub. Don't cross mix.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
4 3-20-2011
Good with tung oil top coat

I stained a fretted oak fingerboard dark black. When dry it did come off on my fingers. I top coated the stain with tung oil. It is good now. I will use it again with tung oil depending on the use. I do not plan on using it on violin fingerboards. Time will tell how it will stand up.

P. U. Wallpaper  San Diego, CA
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 3-19-2011
NICE

I have a small shop and not a lot of work bench space so I didn't want to go "all in" on the fret press system so I got this for my drill press. It takes a just a little practice...just like any new tool. After the second fret board I did I am going to MAKE a spot for the fret press system! Works great in the drill press...but go "all in" or buy both the system and the caul.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
2 3-19-2011
Give me a stop collar

Would be a 5 but no stop collar...the sleeve is a poor design.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4 3-19-2011
pretty cool

These are great...first thing I noticed over a standard trust rod is it takes very little to make "micro" adjustments.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
4 3-19-2011
Could be thicker but still great

pretty great tool to make templates out of. I use these to make a complete templete (neck pocket, pup holes, and tremo bridge). I wish they could be thicker though so I could use them on upgrade jobs not just my customs builds.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
5 3-19-2011
Great clamps

These are great clamps and I was VERY surprised at the amount of pressure that you apply with these. So far I used these with two fret board glue ups…I am not sure how long they will last though…but the price is right! I just wish a bought more; I suggest using 1 at every other fret space.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
Binding Router Bearings
Binding Router Bearings
5 3-19-2011
pleasure!

This was every thing I hoped for. It works quite well, and the many bearing sizes make it a pleasure to use.

ward  Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
Golden Age Pickups for Tele
4 3-19-2011
Golden Age Tele Neck in Affinty Squire Tele Specia BS

I use the neck pickup a lot and the original pickup was weak and unbalanced with the bridge PU that I liked, so I got this one. The only problem I had with mounting was stu mac sent some long mounting screws!! If I used those screws they would have gone all the way through the body and sticking out the back. I ended up using the old mounting screws. Latter stu mac sent me some shorter screws in another shipment. I guess they realized the problem!? The pickup sounds fine and fulfilled all my hopes and expectations.
With the 7K Ohm with the height set up within 1/8" of strings, I got the volume, tone and balance I was looking for. Good pickup stu mac, you just need to get your hardware straight!

Bob Scott  North Louisiana
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Replacement Knobs
Schaller Replacement Knobs
5 3-19-2011
Dressed up my Tele

I just put these pearloid replacement knobs on my Tele equipped with Schaller M6 mini tuners and a Stew-mac pearloid pickguard. It's beautiful and as usual, great service from Stew-Mac.

Teleman  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines
Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines, 6-in-line
5 3-19-2011
Old school but the best!

I've been using Schaller M6 and M6L's on all of my guitars for over 30 years.I dress them up with the pearloid knobs and in my opinion they are the best.

Teleman  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Replacement Tuner Screws
Replacement Tuner Screws
5 3-19-2011
Very nice

Screws came quick. They were also a perfect fit.
My son was able to replace the screw that was stripped with ease

Berthide S  Orlando, FL
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
3 3-19-2011
multi Wrench

This is ok. It doesn't seem to work as well as they describe and I have scratched some blots with it. It may be user error LoL. Although after saying that it is a valuable tool for those hard to reach bolts like on your bridge!

Luke1236  Baltimore Read my reviews (7)
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
5 3-19-2011
Martin Adjustable Truss Rod

A great reliable truss rod and easy to install which I have now used in three guitar necks without any problems. The last guitar fully made using the Martin truss rod with all Stewmac parts was my 'Black Eagle'.

Val Starr  Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 3-19-2011
Sweet Tone!

I couldn't be happier with my Golden Age Overwound buckers. Nickel cover at the neck, zebra exposed at the bridge in my '74 SG. Great tone, response, harmonics, you name it, and the added overwound punch. Better than Nashville-made at twice the price.

MRK  Dubuquem IA Read my reviews (2)
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
4 3-19-2011
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Works very well. Improves tune-ability.
An item to be used with caution.

Tecspec  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
5 3-19-2011
Totally helpful!

I really did learn lot's of new stuff about wiring Fenders. As always, I can count on Stew-Mac. Thanks!

mosedrum  Trenton, NJ
Fret Crimper
Fret Crimper
3 3-19-2011
good but not great

This is a nifty little tool, it certainly helps you to crimp frets so they will bind in the slot better. I liked that it had a mild and a heavy crimp size so that you could avoid excessive crimping when applicable. However, the tool is not very complex and should not be priced as much as it is. Its really only worth about half of what I paid.

Jonathan Ferrell  United States
Displaying 16876 – 16900
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  675  676  677  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce