Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16851 – 16875
of 20961 reviews
< 1  ...  674  675  676  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
5 3-18-2011
They Work

I buy several sets and custom cut them for each job. They keep the bridge plates in place when doing glue ups.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 3-18-2011
Guild repair

Jack on an old Guild acoustic was crackling and popping. I used one of the Endpin Jacks and returned this guitar back to smooth playing instrument.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 3-18-2011
Felt Washers

I use felt washers on all the guitars I work on. They give a custom look and help protect strap buttons from cracking the finish.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 3-17-2011
Finally, The Guitar sound I've been looking for.

Thanks for bringing my guitar back to life!!! I purchased a new Gibson SG Standard back in 1998. This was the guitar I'd always wanted. Unfortunately the pickups that came with the guitar we too bass heavy and muddy. No big deal, I had a pair of vintage 70's Gibson humbuckers. These pickup were too thin sounding and eventually the guitar sat in the case as a big disappointment.

I purchased a pair of Golden Age Humbuckers from Stewart MacDonald and installed them on St. Patricks day. Wow. Luckier than a four leaf clover. I love this guitar again and it has never sounded better. And for the price, you can't beat 'em.

Thad Sand  Sioux City, Iowa
Mastertone Banjo Plan
Mastertone Banjo Plan
5 3-17-2011
Plan as a Research Document

I bought the plan as a research document. I am interested in the parts and structure of a Gibson-style resonator banjo.

I do not plan to build a banjo.

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-17-2011
Haven't Used It Yet.

I have been putting off inlaying a "D" on a headstock. I'll get to it soon. I expect Stew-Mac's quality.

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (5)
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
5 3-17-2011
Well made and precise

I am really happy with these tuners, they not only look good but in this price range, take the beating.

Richard Newman Handcrafted classical guitars  UK
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
5 3-17-2011
Comfortable feel and simple

I like the Gotoh hardtail because it's easy to "palm" a muted tone. The look is clean and doesn't overwhelm the look of the guitar top. Customers agree.

gary of muenzlerguitars.com  Austin, Texas
The Guitar Hanger
The Guitar Hanger
3 3-17-2011
Needs improvements but great idea

1) Need to be able to set angle for display instead of only looking at edge.
2) Make it so you can keep the hook pointed up so you can hang the hook on a tall structure without needing a ladder
3) Make it so there is a way to retain the cradle part in place (again for hanging the guitar on a higher location).

I would order 2 dozen of these for my shop and rate 5 stars when improvements are made to make then more useful

PES  Islip NY Read my reviews (5)
GHS Bass Boomers
GHS Bass Boomers
3 3-17-2011
Passable strings

Bought with several parts to fix a friends bass and save myself a trip to the store. Wish I would have made the trip. G string feels uneven and the strings have a dull but slightly clanky sound. Diadarrio's or Dunlops are better and slightly less expensive. They're not terrible though and would do in a pinch

Aproud1  Cincy, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
5 3-17-2011
Perfect

Bought for a semi stripped truss rod nut on a gibson bass. Perfect fit and perfect angle to get bite and enough torque for a smooth adjustment. Wrench is well made too.

Aproud1  Cincy, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Standard Truss Rod Cover for Guitar
Standard Truss Rod Cover for Guitar
5 3-17-2011
Works for me

Inexpensive, cut smooth, looks like it was meant to be there.

Aproud1  Cincy, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
Dreadnought Guitar Kit
5 3-17-2011
Couldn't Be Happier

Woods were great. Video, instructions, and plans were great. It all came together as advertised, and the sound is amazing.

Chuck Thomas  Pleasant Grove, UT
Customer supplied image for review
Glue Syringe
Glue Syringe
4 3-17-2011
Very Nice

These are well made and easy to plunge.
The only complaint I have is it would be nice if you offered different gauge needles for thicker glues, etc. and longer needles to get further into hard to reach areas.
Other than that, very nice and great to have around for many applications.

Neal Moser Jr.  California
Plastic Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Plastic Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 3-17-2011
Good replacement plate

My plate broke on my Epiphone Les Paul and I ordered the cream plastic plate to replace it. Beware that this is probably for a Gibson as the screw holes are slightly off on the Epiphone however you can still get it on there. Otherwise completely satisfied!

Katsumi  Indiana
Mandolin Tailpiece
Mandolin Tailpiece
5 3-17-2011
Better quality

Stew Mac tailpieces are of a heavier gauge and better quality plating than others offered. They may cost a little more, but there are no surprises when they arrive.

KColeman  Albuq, NM Read my reviews (6)
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
4 3-17-2011
Low cost tuners

For the price, these are pretty good value for money, and OK for low end student model guitars.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
4 3-17-2011
String winder

Quite effective and fast, but I found it to be a little wobbly if not held firmly in place. The nose just seems a little too long, making it difficult to keep on the tuner knob. Once one get the hang of it though, it works OK. I have not tried the "powered screw driver" option as yet........

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Pearl Dots
Pearl Dots
5 3-17-2011
Pearl dots -spot on!

Very trouble free and nicely made dots. Cut to high tolerances and fit very well. Just need tweezers to keep track of them!

KColeman  Albuq, NM Read my reviews (6)
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 3-17-2011
Wonderful color match...dries quick, sands easily

I recently acquired 8 new, or almost new Epiphone guitars...mostly Les Pauls. They all had broken headstocks. I needed to glue and splice each one. I have some SM touch-up videos that I used as a guide. I'm very happy with the result. For a first time attempt at color touch-up it's not bad. I have a long way to go to perfect my technique. PLEASE be careful with ventilation and personal protection. I was careless and got an amazing lacquer buzz/hangover. I know better but was excited to finish a particular instrument. Good price, fast shipping!!

Julian Dale Barton  Odenton, Maryland Read my reviews (2)
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
StewMac Super Glue Starter Package
5 3-17-2011
Best "Super Glue" I've ever used

I've been a Stew Mac customer for at least 20 years. I have purchased cyanoacrylate adhesives from many sources but Stew-Mac's particular formulation is always spot on. I'm a special fan of the water thin variety. I do a lot of woodwind reconstruction plus guitar making and repairs. This collection of glues is perfect. I buy this frequently because I prefer the smaller quantities that remain fresh until I'm finished with them. As always best service in the industry!!

Julian Dale Barton  Odenton, Maryland Read my reviews (2)
Camless Clamps
Camless Clamps
5 3-17-2011
Accurate clamp

These cam clamps are extremely suitable for guitar building, as one can adjust the clamping pressure to suit the application. Normal cam clamps have one setting, which is "tight!". This clamp applies only the pressure that you select and adjust it to.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
4 3-17-2011
Great Product

I'm just getting started building custom solid bodies. I've found some tuners locally and have been satisfied, but these surpassed everything so far. For the price, I don't think I'll find anything better.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
5 3-17-2011
Versatile attachment

Although designed for radius cutting, I also use it for accurate slotting of back strips, end strips, saddle slots, etc. The fine adjustment makes it particularly accurate for rosette slot cutting when fitting hand made rosettes and decorative strips.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
4 3-17-2011
super easy install

I love the way this truss rod installs. It really couldn't be easier. Simple set-up on the router table. Love it.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 16851 – 16875
of 20961 reviews
< 1  ...  674  675  676  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce