Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16826 – 16850
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  673  674  675  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 3-24-2011
Very nice tuners

I put these on my Alvarez AD60. I got them in black and they look terrific on the guitar. In addition, they are extremely smooth and consistent, and the quality is top notch.

I'm very happy that I ordered these, and I love shopping from Stewart-MacDonald.

PeterB  Cleveland, OH
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 3-24-2011
work great!

Ive used these on many guitars over the years... mark a spot with a center punch, drill and super glue... all good!

smashedguitars  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (18)
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 3-24-2011
wish everyone would use these...

work great! keep the strap buttons from messing up the finish... I wish all the guitars I work on used these...

smashedguitars  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (18)
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Solid Peghead Guitar with Scallop-end
4 3-24-2011
Nice tuners

These have a great vintage look and with a little stain on the buttons and dirt under the gears they pass for original. However, for one job I needed black buttons and had to buy them extra and change them - not easy. Rating would be 5* if there was a black button option.

Colin  Cumbria, UK Read my reviews (6)
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat
3 3-24-2011
Almost, but not quite-

Note that the Fender ashtray will not fit.

kilphody  NY Read my reviews (15)
Saddles for Modern Tele Bridge
Saddles for Modern Tele Bridge
5 3-24-2011
Perfect Replacement

The saddles were perfect replacements for the originals; exact replicas. Stewart-MacDonald is an exceptional company to do business with. Tech people know their stuff (rare now days)and product arrived in 2 days. Outstanding!

Jack La  Bayonet Point, Florida
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
5 3-24-2011
"Quality" Economy Tuners

Don't let the low price scare you, these are excellent quality tuners.

Quiet Bear  Hillsboro, OR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
4 3-24-2011
Worth The Price

these bits were very sharp and worked very well. The directions were easy to follow and understasnd.

Jason White  Hicksville, Ohio
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
5 3-24-2011
Great product with great service

I received this product broken in multiple pieces (this being due to the shipping people).

I wrote a message to Karen to warn her that the people handling this kind of packages don't really take care of them and that it would be wise to use a studier box...she sent me new ones in a heartbeat free of charge, without me even asking! it's the first time I experience such quality in customer service.

Thanks again Karen, the Kerf lining is installed and I'm starting to work on the back and top now :)

t0umart0u  Belgium
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 3-24-2011
Tone Quest Found

Hi Folks, thanks for creating a very great sounding pick up! These produce the "sound" that I have been looking for! I have tried more than a few pickups in the past 14 years and these are the ones that will stay in one of my Les Paul copy. They are the most articulate sounding of all that I have tried, while still retaining the "tone" of a classic PAF PU. The others including the brand with preamps built in are accurate but sterile. These are articulate but still have that PAF vibe that so many are searching for. I will probably try the alnico five set in one of my other Les Paul clones. Have a great day, I think I'll go play that guitar some more! Ken Edge

ken edge  greensboro nc
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 3-24-2011
works great

first time shielding a guitar. this was easy and convenient. it was nice to not have to solder each piece of tape together. just make sure there is a bit of overlap between each piece..checks out great with no resistance.

Calamia guitar works  pa
Customer supplied image for review
Bass String Retainer
Bass String Retainer
5 3-24-2011
Bass String Retainer

I wanted one and stewmac had it.
thanks

Guitar Chiropractor  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 3-24-2011
Franklin Titebond Glue

I'd us this glue to stick the mother-in-law to a bridge if I could get away with it...LOL
This glue is the only glue I use its great.
Thanks stewmac

Guitar Chiropractor  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
5 3-24-2011
Peghead Overlay Veneer

As I expected ! I wanted Peghead Overlay Veneer for a custom Start fretless guitar I am building and Stewmac delivered QUALITY EBONY took me a while to heat bend the Ebony to the Strat head as it was 2.38mm thick but it came out Spot on Thanks guys

Guitar Chiropractor  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
4 3-23-2011
Not just for pros

I hesitated buying this tool, because I only work on my own instruments, and I just don't make very many nuts. (this was only my third) I tend to like my string spread as wide as possible though, and this tool made it so much easier; the last time I made a nut, after all the adjusting and correcting I ended up with the same spread I started with. This time, everything started out properly spaced, and no adjustments or corrections were needed. The ruler was designed for pros, but the occasional repairman (like me) can benefit from it even more, imho. I am giving this a four rather than five star rating only because it can be a bit of a handful to use, but I suppose that it gets easier the more you use it.

Demac  Seward, NE Read my reviews (6)
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 3-23-2011
Best crowning file

Tried a lot of fret files, but this is the best. I agree that the 150 grit can be a little too aggressive, so I will mostly be using the 300 grit I guess. Other than that, there is no file that gives such a control over what you're doing, even when working over the body of the guitar.

VC Guitars  Mortsel, Belgium
Customer supplied image for review
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 3-23-2011
Awesome

These are a wonderful time saver!

AustinGuitarChic  Austin, TX
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
Unslotted Fingerboard for Guitar
5 3-23-2011
Unslotted Fingerboards

Straight, beautiful and cheap, both the rosewood and the ebony.

Boudewijn  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
5 3-23-2011
Give it a chance

I've sprayed a lot of lacquer, but not the Behlen. Frankly, after spraying all of the recommended build coats and sanding as spec'd, I was a little concerned. But after sanding and buffing, the look is spectacular. I haven't seen a factory finish that would be any better.

W.E.Stansell  Atlanta, GA
Making An Archtop Guitar
Making An Archtop Guitar
5 3-23-2011
ouvrage de référence

bonjour,
après avoir pris la décision un peu folle de me lancer dans la fabrication d'une guitare et après de nombreuses recherches de documentations je suis tombé sue cet ouvrage qui est réellement une mine d'or pour l'amateur que je suis.ajoutez y les dvd et de la patience pour se mettre à l'anglais et vous y trouverez toutes les réponses nécessaires.merci monsieur Benedetto!!

lohay pierre  liege belgium
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 3-23-2011
bone collector ?

recently changed the awful plastic nut on a LP Black Beauty copy owned by one of my son's friend. The sustain is there and a good polish make it look like ivory! Worth the 2 hours of patient shaping,filing & string spacing...

Ritchie 29  FRANCE Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
5 3-23-2011
brilliant

very good product, easy to use and does the job just perfect

MPL Guitars UK  UK Read my reviews (3)
Adjustable Archtop Mandolin Bridge
Adjustable Archtop Mandolin Bridge
4 3-23-2011
subject to revision

The ebony is of good quality, the workmanship impeccable. The base is rather flat, even for the 1920 instrument I have whose top has flattened from plastic deformation of the wood after years of string tension. I wonder why one of the outside string bearing areas is not machined to the maximum of compensation. In my experience, the bridge requires being placed at an angle to get proper intonation of the highest and lowest string. I've not yet been able to string up the instrument, so I will have to see how the intonation turns out at a later time.

J D LaBash  Austintown, OH Read my reviews (2)
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
4 3-23-2011
replacement for lost tool

I used a violin/viola and cello size reamers with matching peg shapers for many years to fit friction pegs on lutes and fiddles, but mostly to enlarge peg holes for bushings and to fill holes for re-drilling.

I could not justify the cost of the matching peg shaper, so I cannot comment on fitting friction pegs or tapered dowels.

The reamer is certainly as fine quality as the one I purchased from a violin maker's supply over 30 years ago. It cut smoothly and evenly with no interference from residual filling dowel or lacquer drips after re-drilling and refinishing the face of an old mandolin with non-standard spacing. The handle was not quite the "work of art" of my old German-Made one, but was completely functional and comfortable.

J D LaBash  Austintown, OH Read my reviews (2)
Ebony Bridge Pins
Ebony Bridge Pins
5 3-23-2011
The Saga of the Missing Bridge Pins

1936 0-17M Martin: a mixture of bridge pins when I bought it..... ok lets get it back to original !!!!!!
Being over here in England there is not the same amount of information about vintage guitars however thanks to the Bay Area Vintage Guitar Forum they put me onto Rob. He was very helpful but couldn't manufacture the pins. He said they were size 5 ebony un-slotted pins and recommended StewMac.

I was amazed I ordered them on the Wednesday and had them in my hands on Saturday. Perfect fit and restoring "Susie" to full glory

Thanks Guys

Lukeslidewalker  England
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16826 – 16850
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  673  674  675  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce