Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16826 – 16850
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  673  674  675  ...  839 >
Sort reviews by

Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
Adjustable Truss Rod for Martin
5 3-19-2011
Martin Adjustable Truss Rod

A great reliable truss rod and easy to install which I have now used in three guitar necks without any problems. The last guitar fully made using the Martin truss rod with all Stewmac parts was my 'Black Eagle'.

Val Starr  Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 3-19-2011
Sweet Tone!

I couldn't be happier with my Golden Age Overwound buckers. Nickel cover at the neck, zebra exposed at the bridge in my '74 SG. Great tone, response, harmonics, you name it, and the added overwound punch. Better than Nashville-made at twice the price.

MRK  Dubuquem IA Read my reviews (2)
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
4 3-19-2011
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Works very well. Improves tune-ability.
An item to be used with caution.

Tecspec  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
5 3-19-2011
Totally helpful!

I really did learn lot's of new stuff about wiring Fenders. As always, I can count on Stew-Mac. Thanks!

mosedrum  Trenton, NJ
Fret Crimper
Fret Crimper
3 3-19-2011
good but not great

This is a nifty little tool, it certainly helps you to crimp frets so they will bind in the slot better. I liked that it had a mild and a heavy crimp size so that you could avoid excessive crimping when applicable. However, the tool is not very complex and should not be priced as much as it is. Its really only worth about half of what I paid.

Jonathan Ferrell  United States
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 3-18-2011
it does its job

its a piece of felt. How could they possibly go wrong?

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
5 3-18-2011
Smooth as butter in the sun

Awesome caps, a smooth and flawless tone switch insured!

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 3-18-2011
String gauge

I've used rulers for years to set string height with so so results. The string gauge takes all the guess work out of setups. I should have bought one of these years ago.

Douglas Kratz  Malvern, Arkansas Read my reviews (7)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
2 3-18-2011
Save your money

I would recommend purchasing real Fender or a known brand of tree. These are just 'alright'. The screws appear to cast metal and are very easy to break even with pilot holes.

TubeGlow  Powell, Ohio
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
4 3-18-2011
white bone nuts

Good quality and fast delivery!
The shipping costs could be lower for small items!

Oliver74  Prescott, AZ
ToneRite for Guitar
ToneRite for Guitar
5 3-18-2011
The Tone-rite system

I thought that one day I was going to invent this tool. I used to rig and jig up an electric massage device with a felt damper pad just behind the bridge on acoustic guitars and it really opened up the sound of the instrument. Now I just plug in the Tone-Rite system, I find that a guitar that has not been played for months comes back to life with a 4 to 6 day "Tone-Rite injection" I love it. I tell my customers that I'm going to give your guitar a "Vibe-injection" I simply love it!

Roger Hayes  Livonia, Michigan Read my reviews (2)
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
5 3-18-2011
STEINBERGER TUNERS RAVE

I've been using these tuners for nearly 10 years now. I can't fathom any serious complaint. Lightning fast on the restring. Hold tune regardless of style ( forget slippage issues). A bit slow to string at first but once you get the fundamentals (simple & quick) you won't go back to standard machines.

You do want to make sure the peg holes are spaced correctly. Easy on the wrist, no strain tuning. I can' figure out why these have not become the standard. Honestly they make traditional machines outdated. the 40:1 ration is precision tuning at it's best Oh yeah, techs hate them cause they can't put the old drill with key adapter on to de & re string a guitar. I don't want a drill going close to my headstock anyway ( or a tech for that matter). Ok I' rambling , buy them you'll like.

Martin Vincent  USA
Customer supplied image for review
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 3-18-2011
Gibson Compensated Saddles

Nice Saddle fit in my new Gibson J 200 nice, easy to file down to size. Use a piece of glass with some 220 grit paper to get flat as can be and pick up worked fine.Get 2 one for say 13s and one for 12s.
Great saddle great price and fast fast shipping
Thanks StewMac

Rik  South Carolina
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
Pearl Fretboard Side Dots
4 3-18-2011
Simple to use

The pre-cut side dots really add a nice touch to my instruments and the customers love them. They are very easy to install. Thanks Stewmac!

CSR Guitars  Macon, Ga
Titebond Liquid Hide Glue
Titebond Liquid Hide Glue
5 3-18-2011
Perfect!

We could not miss in my small workshop ...

Riccardo  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 3-18-2011
Allows accurate work

Excellent product, practical, effective ...

Riccardo  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
5 3-18-2011
Ibanez overhaul

I used one of the ebony boards on an Ibanez the end product blew everyone away. The change made this guitar a real gem.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
Acoustic Bridge Locating Pins
5 3-18-2011
They Work

I buy several sets and custom cut them for each job. They keep the bridge plates in place when doing glue ups.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
Fishman Switchjack Endpin Jack
5 3-18-2011
Guild repair

Jack on an old Guild acoustic was crackling and popping. I used one of the Endpin Jacks and returned this guitar back to smooth playing instrument.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 3-18-2011
Felt Washers

I use felt washers on all the guitars I work on. They give a custom look and help protect strap buttons from cracking the finish.

Rob Leake  Brookfield ,IL Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 3-17-2011
Finally, The Guitar sound I've been looking for.

Thanks for bringing my guitar back to life!!! I purchased a new Gibson SG Standard back in 1998. This was the guitar I'd always wanted. Unfortunately the pickups that came with the guitar we too bass heavy and muddy. No big deal, I had a pair of vintage 70's Gibson humbuckers. These pickup were too thin sounding and eventually the guitar sat in the case as a big disappointment.

I purchased a pair of Golden Age Humbuckers from Stewart MacDonald and installed them on St. Patricks day. Wow. Luckier than a four leaf clover. I love this guitar again and it has never sounded better. And for the price, you can't beat 'em.

Thad Sand  Sioux City, Iowa
Mastertone Banjo Plan
Mastertone Banjo Plan
5 3-17-2011
Plan as a Research Document

I bought the plan as a research document. I am interested in the parts and structure of a Gibson-style resonator banjo.

I do not plan to build a banjo.

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (5)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-17-2011
Haven't Used It Yet.

I have been putting off inlaying a "D" on a headstock. I'll get to it soon. I expect Stew-Mac's quality.

George Davidson  Cedar Crest, NM Read my reviews (5)
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
Sloane Classical Guitar Machines with Stippled Bronze Baseplates
5 3-17-2011
Well made and precise

I am really happy with these tuners, they not only look good but in this price range, take the beating.

Richard Newman Handcrafted classical guitars  UK
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
5 3-17-2011
Comfortable feel and simple

I like the Gotoh hardtail because it's easy to "palm" a muted tone. The look is clean and doesn't overwhelm the look of the guitar top. Customers agree.

gary of muenzlerguitars.com  Austin, Texas
Displaying 16826 – 16850
of 20953 reviews
< 1  ...  673  674  675  ...  839 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce