Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16801 – 16825
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  672  673  674  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Resonator Guitar Coverplate for Spider Bridge
Resonator Guitar Coverplate for Spider Bridge
4 3-22-2011
Not bad!

When ordering these cover plates you may want to request that a StewMac tech pick you out one with nice machining and plating. I know I did and received a very nice cover. After 40 years of 'building' I doubt that I would rate my instruments with five stars

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
Gotoh Midsize 510 Tuners with Metal Knobs
5 3-22-2011
Sleek-Smooth-Dependable-Affordable

What else can I say?

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Dan Erlewines Neck Resets
Dan Erlewine's Neck Resets
5 3-22-2011
great mystery exposed

It would have taken me years of destroying guitars to learn this on my own. Now I don't have to ruin any. Also, now I know why my old yamaha can be used to row a canoe and come out better than ever! it's all in the glue..

dave crook  wyoming IL
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
5 3-22-2011
Downcut Inlay Router Bits

I originally bought these bits to cut acoustic guitar bridge slots. Since then I've used them in dozens of other woodworking projects. They are strong for their size (I haven't broken one yet even in tough woods like Wenge) and they stay sharp!

Here's a Wenge, Padauk, and Purpleheart box I'm working on. The inlays are all brass.

BluesRascal  Grand Rapids, MI
Customer supplied image for review
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
5 3-22-2011
Real good double locking trem

I used one of these on my guitar for years. I never had a tuning stability problem. I have since sold the guitar. As I know the new owner I can testify that the trem is still working great after almost 20 years. Stewmac also has some of the best prices I've seen for these trems. Highly recommended if you can't afford an Origninal Floyd.

TonyK  Sumner, WA Read my reviews (4)
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson Guitar
Slotted Fingerboard for Gibson® Guitar
5 3-22-2011
Excellent figerboards

I bought ebony and rosewood fingerboards ant they are very well slotted and radiused, and the wood looks great!
But it would be nice if you also sold wider fingerboards for 7 and 8 string guitars!

Ambrosius Guitars  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 3-22-2011
I love it!

With the right polishing compund it will give you a very professional finish! An unexpensive and easy tool to give shine to your guitars!

Ambrosius Guitars  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
4 3-22-2011
Very nice product

Very nice well constructed product.

The one thing I miss on the 25" scale is a zero fret position (makes locating the end of the FB real easy when setting the nut location).

Another nice suggestion would be a 25th fret. When cutting off the end of the FB after the last fret (24th) do you add .125", .25"... having a location for a 25th fret allows you to keep the same mathematical sequence going. The customer may not be aware of it consciously, but I feel it adds to the appearance on the instrument.

Steven D'Antonio  Bellingham, MA
Customer supplied image for review
Five-Star Head
Five-Star Head
3 3-22-2011
Double Check Sizing!

I ordered the 0100-C clear head for my banjo after measuring carefully. However, the head measured less than 3/8" according to the stewmac height measuring convention. So, though the head is claimed to be a "medium", it was shallower than a "low". Stewmac checked their remaining inventory and they were all like that so I had to request a refund (which they readily agreed to) since this is the only clear head they offered.

I don't know if they will amend the sizing info, or re-stock the heads with correct sizing. But until then, have them double check your requirements before ordering one.

I don't know about the other varieties. Product quality seemed good otherwise.

James B.  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

James B,
Sorry you've had such a time with this head. Since the Five-Star heads are crimped, rather than epoxied like most heads, we have found that you can stretch them to accommodate flathead or archtop tone rings on most popular banjos.

Customer supplied image for review
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
5 3-21-2011
A Must Have

I used this file on a acoustic last week.You can file over the body of any guitar without hitting the body.I couldn't have did the job without it. A must have for sure. I took a marker and marked one side medium and the other wide. That way I know right away what grit I'm sanding with. I love it.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
1 3-21-2011
Narrow/Low wire unusable

The Stewmac narrow low wire for banjo and mandolins is essentially unusable. The nibbers on the tang are rounded not tapered as they are on thicker wires and won't start in the fret slots. It is a very poor design!

mtenney  Maine
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 3-21-2011
Good Material

I have purchased and used the bone saddle and nut material and both have worked very well. I prefer bone saddles and nuts for most of my acoustic work and bone nuts are excellent for many electrics as well. I have only received one piece of bone saddle material that could not be used because it was bowed. All in all, a good material choice.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
4 3-21-2011
Downcut Bits

Pricey? Yep, but a must. They will break before they dull.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
Micro Chisels
Micro Chisels
5 3-21-2011
Micro Chisels

I didn't realize how much I needed these chisels until I bought a set. I find myself reaching for them all the time. Very handy!

Michael Magedanz  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
5 3-21-2011
Wow!!

Being a guitar player of MANY years, but never one to get too into the mechanics of the instrument itself, I was blown away by this guide. So much information, easy to read, it really brakes down the many perceptions I had of the "voodoo" surrounding guitar maintenance and repair. I contains more information than I'll probably ever use, but y'never know.
Thanks for a great tool!

SoundCzech  Gering, NE
Herringbone Purfling
Herringbone Purfling
5 3-21-2011
Perfect!

Perfectly manufactured, high quality, in few words: perfect

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
1 3-21-2011
Dome Knobs Useless - Careful

Recently purchased 2 gold dome knobs. Upon receiving them they appear to be very well made, and they are. However the spline is inset so far into the knob barrel that it did not contact the shaft from the volume pot. After trying this on the guitar I purchased it for, I continued to try it on other guitars. After trying 29 other electric and electric acoustic guitars there WAS NOT ONE that had a long enough shaft to contact the hole in the knob, much less the set screw that is much further up. This unusually deep inset should have been mentioned in the description of the product, and it was not. A very critical piece of info.
I'll probably continue to purchase from Stewart-MacDonald as the service is great as well as the selection. But I'll just be waaaay more careful on future orders.

ferdi47  Port Charlotte, FL
Thompson Belly Reducer
Thompson Belly Reducer
5 3-21-2011
A great tool!

I've been using the belly reducers with great success for about a year. They are well made, and straightforward to work with. They are intended to work best on guitars asembled with hide-glue, but testing on PVA glued guitars has shown good results.
Some dexterity is required while working with hot cauls inside of guitars, but they're easy to get used to.
I've also found the convex (outer) cauls excellent tools to un-cup bridges that have cupped from age or heat. Just heat up both the caul and bridge and then clamp together with just enough force. Don't overtighten though as you run the risk of cracking the bridge.
I plan on ordering a third set for our busy shop here at Folkway Music.

Mark Stutman  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 3-21-2011
Perfect match to the non-overwound

I replaced the stock bridge pickup on my Epi Studio Deluxe Limited Edition with one of these. WOW!! I have been chasing the elusive "perfect tone for me" for a while. This nailed it. Between this and the Golden Age HB in the neck position, I can tweak volume and tone and go anywhere from chimey and clear to dark and growling (with just a little OD).

btp226  Greenfield, NH Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 3-21-2011
Just what I was looking for

I replaced the Classic Humbucker that came stock in the neck on my Epi Studio Limited Deluxe. The old pickup seemed muddy and lifeless. The Golden Age Humbucker really brought things to life. The clarity is like night and day compared to the original pu. Much more responsive to tone/volume tweaking too.

btp226  Greenfield, NH Read my reviews (2)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
5 3-21-2011
uke build

I Chose to upgrade to the Grover gold plated black knobs for my uke build. Set off the ivory inlay. Great price, great tuners and look a million dollars.
Trevor Australia

myuke  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
3 3-21-2011
...slightly more work than not having them...

The respective centre lines should be already marked on the templates. Given that they are produced by some computer controlled machine, and the various holes are drilled in line, why on earth are the lines of centre not marked?

Also the template material is far too thin to allow 1/4" cuts with a flush trim bearing equipped cutter. Mine disappeared over 1/2" down the index hole before the bearing engaged.


Fiddling around drawing accurate centre lines and mounting shims etc should not be necessary. The templates should arrive ready to rock!

RobSm  Merimbula NSW Australia
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 3-21-2011
4mm hex

Works great! i use these in all my builds.
Cheers.

Chad83  Western Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Glue Syringe
Glue Syringe
4 3-21-2011
good for what it is

This will get glue into tight spots. Great for small cracks and not-yet-bad bridges. Plan on one needle per use unless you want to waste a lot of time cleaning them.

Brant  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3 3-21-2011
They need numbering

These 3M Flexible Polishing Papers are excellent, don't get me wrong. What they really need is a ranking system to indicate which is color is the coarsest (green) and which is finest (white). My shop is too busy and I have a lot on my mind to remember that the gradation from course to fine for these papers are: Green, Gray, Blue, Pink, Aqua, White. I suppose remembering the phrase: 'Good Grief Bob Pick Another Wife' might help.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16801 – 16825
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  672  673  674  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce