Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16676 – 16700
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  667  668  669  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 3-28-2011
A bit messy!

Works well but is a bit messy to apply. Three coats (third over screw connection) made for good electrical connection. Cleans up with water when wet but don't get it on untreated wood or you will have a bit of sanding to do. Accurately mask all bits you DON'T want painted.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 3-28-2011
Great pickup

I installed the overwound humbucker in the bridge of my 75 Ibanez LP. I wanted something a little hotter than a standard humbucker, but nothing over the top. This pickup was spot on. You can get hot blues and classic rock tones very easily.

TheDeputies  Mount Pleasant, Michigan Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
5 3-28-2011
Great Tone!

I bought these pickups to put in my 80s Yamaha sj550. I mostly play 70s style rock and blues, and these pickups are great for that tone. The coil tap option makes it easy to squeeze as many different tones into one guitar as possible. The notes retain a good amount of clarity even with a cranked tube amp. I strongly recommend these over the big name pickups.

TheDeputies  Mount Pleasant, Michigan Read my reviews (2)
Mini Air Pump
Mini Air Pump
5 3-28-2011
Small device does a great job.

I had problems with saw dust covering up the outlines on the inlay material when cutting inlays. The gentle air stream of this pump pointing directly on the cutting area keeps the lines always visible and speeds up the cutting process enormously. This pump also works great hooked up to the router base when I route the inlay pockets on the fingerboard. And it runs quiet enough so it's not getting annoying over time.

IMU Banjo  Belleville, MI
3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing
3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
5 3-28-2011
They do what they do.

They are necessary for use when upgrading my MIM Strat with split shaft Vintage style tuners...and they work.

Paul J  Tacoma, WA
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 3-28-2011
Archtop Bridge

I purchased this bridge for a restoration of a mid '60s Harmony thin-line archtop electric guitar. A Gotoh Tune-O-Matic bridge and base for this price is a real bargain. Thanks for another top quality product from my friends at Stew-Mac.

Robert Bayer  St. Peters, MO. Read my reviews (11)
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
5 3-28-2011
Just what the doctor ordered.

My son and I are building a Martin kit and we desperately needed a solution for routing out the binding channels. I'm pretty good with a Dremel, but for this application, freehanding was not an option. Enter the Precision Router Set. It's perfect for the application. The bindings on his build look excellent, now that they're installed. The only trouble spots were on the top corners of the rear of the body. I suspect it has something to do with the slight bow in the back. Still, the guide gave me a shallow, uniform cut that I could go back to and make a little deeper to accept the bindings properly. The Precision Router Set is a fine instrument in and of itself.

Martler Guitars  Augusta, Ga.
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Slotted Pegheads
Waverly Guitar Tuners with Vintage Oval Knobs, for Slotted Pegheads
5 3-28-2011
Waverly Tuning Machines

Like putting a Rolex on your guitar!
Mike Franks
MJFranksguitar

MJ Franks  Rochester Hills, MI Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Dan Erlewines Neck Resets
Dan Erlewine's Neck Resets
3 3-28-2011
A good guide for acoustic Guitars

What about Gibson set-neck electric guitars? I missed this subject completely! I actually bought this DVD because of that. All in all this DVD is helpful - but not for me...

aaron  switzerland
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele
5 3-27-2011
Gotoh Modern Bridge for Tele

Great bridge great workmanship quality even in the feel I know this bridge will look and sound great on my new Broadcaster body

Bretho  Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 3-27-2011
Radius Gauges

When selling guitars people often ask the neck radius. It seems to be very important to them. With these you can tell in an instant. I measure at the 12th fret. Very precise.

Peter Coplin  Princeton, New Jersey
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 3-27-2011
Notched Straightedge

For me to be able to give my guitars routine check-ups, this is hands-down my most important tool and was my very first purchase. The information gleaned from this device is what determines what, if any, next-steps are needed in maintaining my guitars. The notched-straightedge gives me both a qualitative and quantitative assessment of the fretboard, an area of the guitar that used to be one of great uncertainty.

With this tool and some feeler gauges, no imperfection or defect goes undetected. A truly brilliant, yet amazingly simple, tool.

Rick A.  Kansas Read my reviews (2)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 3-27-2011
String Action Gauge

While not a luthier, I do want to be able to assess a guitar's action, fretboard condition and setup characteristics, whether I'm buying a guitar or maintaining my own. This is a great tool that provides a quick, accurate measurement of string height. It's a must-have tool in my shop.
My recommendation for taking it to the next level - reproduce the scale in reverse order on the opposite edge or on the back so the gauge can be used from both sides of the neck and you can measure the high-E string at the first fret without looking through 5 strings.

Rick A.  Kansas Read my reviews (2)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 3-27-2011
Solid Tuners, Great Value!

I've bought two guitars with these tuners and just got a gold set for a guitar I'm building. As others have pointed out, they are a great alternative to more expensive vintage-style tuners. But they are great tuners in their own right, the 18-to-1 ratio providing a tactile sensitivity found only in modern tuners. Love 'em!

OddManOut  Carson City, Nv
Customer supplied image for review
Endpin Jack Wrench
Endpin Jack Wrench
5 3-27-2011
Endpin Wrench

Used this to repair a loose endpin on a Martin Acoustic...perfect fit! No more Kung Fu grips for me!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
5 3-27-2011
Abalone Dots 1/4 inch

Dots look ACE and arrived in great condition! They are nice and FLAT! Still waiting on my guitar to come in though... :(

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
5 3-27-2011
Brush on glue

Glue arrived very quickly and is a breeze to use. Great utilitarian product!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
4 3-27-2011
Bad Containers

The medium polishing compound worked great but the container is a piece of crap. Really hard to open and even harder to close. I needed to clamp it in a vise and turn the top with vise grips. Getting the top back on was also a challenge. Really cheap thin plastic container. At this price I would expect something better.

Tonype3  Ohio Read my reviews (2)
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
Adjustable Wraparound Bridge
4 3-27-2011
I liked it!

I used this wrap around bridge on a new build, I had to recess the top to lower the bridge to work, as I used a Fender neck and a flat neck pocket. I used a EMG pickup from Stu Mac, and got a nice soft warm tone. It worked well for the price. However, I did notice that the tolerance between the post and bridge hooks was very sloppy, allowing the bridge to roll forward under string tension, yet it still preformed well enough.

Paul Thompson  Fort Gratiot, Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
1 3-27-2011
Please make them stronger

Most of the things that our shop buys from StewMac are top quality. This is one of the holes in the fabric that really needs to be patched up. When using the knob remover/lifter (also sold by StewMac) half the time the shaft on these weak pots gets pulled up and gets yanked out of the base. These doesn't happen with CTS, Allen Bradley, or other pots I've used in the past. I really think you should either improve their strength or get pots supplied to you from another company. These are the worst I've ever seen. The gritty scratching feel when turning them doesn't inspire confidence to me (or my customers.)

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
5 3-26-2011
Fret press caul and inserts

I've put some kits together,made some bodies,and gave a few guitars a face lift,but to actually make a neck was pretty scarey.The setting of the frets and the truss rod was what made me the most nervous.All the info from Stewmac was extremely helpful,and he fret press caul made the job a breeze.If you already have a drill press this is the way to go.I couldn't believe how smooth the job went.When I'm done with this guitar I will send some pics.It's pretty unique.

James Buckels  Canonsburg,Pa Read my reviews (2)
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
5 3-26-2011
magnificent tool

this tool it´s excellent, i´ll still buying from you guys because i feel so happy with your products, you are the best just take a look at the photo, thank you...fausto antonio

monalizarock  los mochis, sin. mexico Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 3-26-2011
A Must Have!

If you're serious about your guitar or bass you owe it to yourself to get this set up kit. Excellent!!!

Darcy  Yorkton Sk, Canada Read my reviews (4)

Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 3-26-2011
Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

I have used both this version and the allen wrench version on a number of guitars and basses. The spoke nut version is easier to adjust, as you can get more torque on the nut. The allen wrench version tends to feel like it may strip. The spoke nut version is best used with the adjustment at the guitar body end of the neck as there is more wood there. I would not use the spoke version at the headstock end of the neck because of the large rout needed.
The ability to adjust the neck in both directions is essential to an accurate dressing of new frets.
After using the Hot Rod dual-action truss rods, I would not even consider using the old-style one-way truss rod.
Gary Stevens

Gary Stevens  Las Cruces, NM Read my reviews (3)
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Guitar Player Repair Guide
4 3-26-2011
Simply a good read

Although not "fully" detailed on "everything" regarding guitars the details that are included make this a fantastic reference and an enjoyable read.

MIke Gordon  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 16676 – 16700
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  667  668  669  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce