Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16676 – 16700
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  667  668  669  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 3-30-2011
Great tuners

I replaced some vintage kluson-style tuners with these. These have a vintage feel with the oval knobs, but modern functionality. Nice tuners.

Adam M  Torrance, CA Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Bench Rest
Guitar Bench Rest
1 3-30-2011
regret the purchase

not impressed with the quality verses price. padding is to thin, you could get padding at a.c. more for 5 bucks and make your own neck holder with a wider base with better stability.

RHP  lancaster
Bevel-top Knob
Bevel-top Knob
5 3-30-2011
bevel top knob

never used it... all 6mm knobs work on the emg tone shaper component.

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
5 3-30-2011
Capacitors

awesome.

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
Schaller Locking Tremolo System
5 3-30-2011
schaller floyd rose locking trem

This was of great quality. Great price.

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 3-30-2011
dome knobs

incredible.

gregf  michigan Read my reviews (13)
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
3 3-30-2011
It's the little things...

I haven't got to use them yet. The screws are larger than stock and will become basically permanent to the guitar once installed (you won't be able to switch to the original strap buttons). The screws also are much lower quality than stock or other straplocks I've used. Stock screws won't fit in these buttons. I'll probably try to find screws that fit the buttons and are the size of the original screws. It's disappointing to have to do this with a new product or this reputation.

-Mike  Phoenix, AZ
StewMac responds

Mike,
We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with your purchase. You may return it, unaltered, for a refund
or exchange.

Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
5 3-30-2011
My experience with stew/mac.

extremely quick shipper,very good product I will defiantly use Stewart McDonald again.

gaw  GEneseo,IL.USA
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
5 3-30-2011
Replacement neck

I purchased and replacement neck for my custom swamp ash Im building, and it is fantastic. It came to the door very quickly, has a lovley satin finish on the back of the neck-after applying several coats of nitro to the fret board, it was ready to rock! Love Stew Mac

Michael Powers  Topeka,Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Tuner Bushing Press
Tuner Bushing Press
3 3-30-2011
Nice but heads swivel around too much.

Great tool and great idea but it's still half baked. The heads on this device swivel around too much requiring that they be held by hand in order to keep them from moving out of place when squeezing. In the future, tighten up the rivets that hold the heads onto the claps.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 3-30-2011
Profession Ferrules

These are the same thing that you'll find on Fender made Telecasters and the like. Great product, no doubt about that. What StewMac needs to sell is a tool or bit that will route out the holes on the back of a guitar body in order to seat these ferrules properly.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 3-30-2011
Excellent base structure glue

I build open back banjos with block rims. All if my joining of necks and rims blocks are done with Titebond and it is the best for this purpose in my process. I do use it for the peghead overlay too. However, for serviceable joints like attaching fingerboards I use hide glue so the next guy down the road can repair the banjo.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 3-30-2011
Carbon is great

I have built banjo necks for over ten years and the only truss rod I use are the SMD carbon filament rods. The oldtime open back banjo necks work great and deliver a beautiful tone. No problems with neck warp, although I do use two rods in each neck and I use split neck construction.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-30-2011
This glue is super

I've used the SMD super glues, accelerators, and removers for years. They are very good and work well,

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bit Set
5 3-30-2011
Great Productivity Product

I used these bits in my stationary router table and they worked great. Clean cuts, accurate, and they accepted the bindings perfectly.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 3-30-2011
ColorTone Liquid Stains

Simply an amazing product. Very versatile and easy to use. Fantastic color assortment.
Service at Stewart MacDonald is top notch.

Chico  Canada
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 3-29-2011
Amazing!!!

Replaced stock plastic pins on my Blueridge BR-160 with these.. The sound difference is just amazing! I could tell right away. I did have to do some work to get them to fit. They are well worth the price. Plus they are just beautiful. Great upgrade! Im very happy,, Thank you Stew Mac!

James S.  Bolivar, Ohio
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 3-29-2011
Great tuners

I replaced metal Grovers on a Heritage 140. They matched one of the holes so I only had to drill one hole for each tuner. The tuner covered the other hole. They stay in tune and give the guitar a vintage look.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
4 3-29-2011
Nice assortment.

I used these on a pickguard and a lacquered strat neck. The scratches came out of the pickguard and the neck plays smoother after sanding off some of the finish. They are a little smaller than I would prefer.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
5 3-29-2011
Good design

I like the price. You can get four or five and keep them in your case, your pocket or leave it on the guitar when your not using the strap. They won't scratch or nick your finish like the ones that stay attached to strap. Just make sure to turn it to lock every time you attach the strap.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 3-29-2011
Good Product

The chrome looks good. I used a drill bit that was a little smaller than the screw and rubbed hand soap on the screw. No problems.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 3-29-2011
THE Tool For Fretting

After reading the poor review from 3/15, I was a little leery about buying this press. But, I decided to simply ask that Stew Mac inspect the press before they send it to me, and they did. 10 years ago, I bought the Stew Mac fret press cauls and tried using them with my drill press. At the time I wasn't thrilled with the results. I put the cauls away in a drawer, and went back to hammering in frets. Recently, after watching a video on advanced fretting (love Dan's videos!) and seeing how well an arbor press works on frets, I decided to buy one.

After fretting 1 neck, I wish I had bought a press years ago! This is THE way to fret necks, quickly, precisely, and consistently.

The press itself is not ready for use right out of the box, but what fun is a tool that doesn't need to be set up!? Just follow the instructions, and you will be fine. It may take a number of attempts before you get the arm in the ideal position relative to the ram, and the spring set perfectly, but you'll get there, I did. The paint is not the best, but it does not adversely affect performance, so I can live with it.

I have no trouble recommending this press to anyone. It's a time saver, and ultimately improves the quality of your work. Regarding the included support table, I can't offer a review. I didn't set it up because I fret necks, not fingerboards by themselves.

Michael Magedanz  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (2)
Scissor Jack
Scissor Jack
5 3-29-2011
Scissor Jack Purchase and review

I found myself struggling quite a bit when it came to re-gluing bracing that was too hard to reach. I even tried to see if my wife could reach the lower bout bracing with the turn buckle style of jack, but there was no way, it was going to happen on this small Giblson guitar, I was working on. I finally decided to get one of the New Scissor Jacks and WOW! what a time saver.

I could really use a few of these to keep on hand for such hard to reach areas. It made the job of re-gluing not only possible, but done in a fraction of the time, even if I was able to reach the brace comfortably.
This is a great product!
Thanks!!

Dennis Kwasnycia  Chatham Ontario Canada
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
5 3-29-2011
Fret Ends; No Problem

I was a bit squeamish about doing this job myself, but after reading on line advice at Stew Mac I went ahead and ordered the small fret dressing file. After masking the fingerboard with Blue masking tape I carefully began filing down the fret ends exposed by my shrinking fingerboard. The small file worked fine, but the medium might be a little better for overall coverage. The file did a great job and I finished this task in under 2 hours. The micro buffing pads and fret end dressing file finished the job nicely.

Wayne Tutzauer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
5 3-29-2011
20B Glue

I use the Stew Mac 20b glue for all my inlaying in ebony. It works great! Marvin Walker

BanjoMaker  Kinston, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16676 – 16700
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  667  668  669  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce