Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16626 – 16650
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  665  666  667  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Guitar String Ferrules
Guitar String Ferrules
5 3-30-2011
Profession Ferrules

These are the same thing that you'll find on Fender made Telecasters and the like. Great product, no doubt about that. What StewMac needs to sell is a tool or bit that will route out the holes on the back of a guitar body in order to seat these ferrules properly.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 3-30-2011
Excellent base structure glue

I build open back banjos with block rims. All if my joining of necks and rims blocks are done with Titebond and it is the best for this purpose in my process. I do use it for the peghead overlay too. However, for serviceable joints like attaching fingerboards I use hide glue so the next guy down the road can repair the banjo.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
5 3-30-2011
Carbon is great

I have built banjo necks for over ten years and the only truss rod I use are the SMD carbon filament rods. The oldtime open back banjo necks work great and deliver a beautiful tone. No problems with neck warp, although I do use two rods in each neck and I use split neck construction.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-30-2011
This glue is super

I've used the SMD super glues, accelerators, and removers for years. They are very good and work well,

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
Binding Router Bit Set
Binding Router Bit Set
5 3-30-2011
Great Productivity Product

I used these bits in my stationary router table and they worked great. Clean cuts, accurate, and they accepted the bindings perfectly.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
5 3-30-2011
ColorTone Liquid Stains

Simply an amazing product. Very versatile and easy to use. Fantastic color assortment.
Service at Stewart MacDonald is top notch.

Chico  Canada
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
5 3-29-2011
Amazing!!!

Replaced stock plastic pins on my Blueridge BR-160 with these.. The sound difference is just amazing! I could tell right away. I did have to do some work to get them to fit. They are well worth the price. Plus they are just beautiful. Great upgrade! Im very happy,, Thank you Stew Mac!

James S.  Bolivar, Ohio
Grover Deluxe Keystones
Grover Deluxe Keystones
5 3-29-2011
Great tuners

I replaced metal Grovers on a Heritage 140. They matched one of the holes so I only had to drill one hole for each tuner. The tuner covered the other hole. They stay in tune and give the guitar a vintage look.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
4 3-29-2011
Nice assortment.

I used these on a pickguard and a lacquered strat neck. The scratches came out of the pickguard and the neck plays smoother after sanding off some of the finish. They are a little smaller than I would prefer.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Lokstrap System
Lokstrap System
5 3-29-2011
Good design

I like the price. You can get four or five and keep them in your case, your pocket or leave it on the guitar when your not using the strap. They won't scratch or nick your finish like the ones that stay attached to strap. Just make sure to turn it to lock every time you attach the strap.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 3-29-2011
Good Product

The chrome looks good. I used a drill bit that was a little smaller than the screw and rubbed hand soap on the screw. No problems.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 3-29-2011
THE Tool For Fretting

After reading the poor review from 3/15, I was a little leery about buying this press. But, I decided to simply ask that Stew Mac inspect the press before they send it to me, and they did. 10 years ago, I bought the Stew Mac fret press cauls and tried using them with my drill press. At the time I wasn't thrilled with the results. I put the cauls away in a drawer, and went back to hammering in frets. Recently, after watching a video on advanced fretting (love Dan's videos!) and seeing how well an arbor press works on frets, I decided to buy one.

After fretting 1 neck, I wish I had bought a press years ago! This is THE way to fret necks, quickly, precisely, and consistently.

The press itself is not ready for use right out of the box, but what fun is a tool that doesn't need to be set up!? Just follow the instructions, and you will be fine. It may take a number of attempts before you get the arm in the ideal position relative to the ram, and the spring set perfectly, but you'll get there, I did. The paint is not the best, but it does not adversely affect performance, so I can live with it.

I have no trouble recommending this press to anyone. It's a time saver, and ultimately improves the quality of your work. Regarding the included support table, I can't offer a review. I didn't set it up because I fret necks, not fingerboards by themselves.

Michael Magedanz  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (2)
Scissor Jack
Scissor Jack
5 3-29-2011
Scissor Jack Purchase and review

I found myself struggling quite a bit when it came to re-gluing bracing that was too hard to reach. I even tried to see if my wife could reach the lower bout bracing with the turn buckle style of jack, but there was no way, it was going to happen on this small Giblson guitar, I was working on. I finally decided to get one of the New Scissor Jacks and WOW! what a time saver.

I could really use a few of these to keep on hand for such hard to reach areas. It made the job of re-gluing not only possible, but done in a fraction of the time, even if I was able to reach the brace comfortably.
This is a great product!
Thanks!!

Dennis Kwasnycia  Chatham Ontario Canada
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
5 3-29-2011
Fret Ends; No Problem

I was a bit squeamish about doing this job myself, but after reading on line advice at Stew Mac I went ahead and ordered the small fret dressing file. After masking the fingerboard with Blue masking tape I carefully began filing down the fret ends exposed by my shrinking fingerboard. The small file worked fine, but the medium might be a little better for overall coverage. The file did a great job and I finished this task in under 2 hours. The micro buffing pads and fret end dressing file finished the job nicely.

Wayne Tutzauer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (4)
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-29-2011
20B Glue

I use the Stew Mac 20b glue for all my inlaying in ebony. It works great!
Marvin Walker

BanjoMaker  Kinston, NC Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
White Plastic Binding
White Plastic Binding
5 3-29-2011
Stew-Mac binding and Weld -on a perfect combo

Great Stuff and economical. Keep in mind that weld-on is a solvent glue and works by attacking the binding. Not all glues are a good match - stick with this combo and you'll be happy.

LarryR  Huntley, IL Read my reviews (3)
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 3-29-2011
Perfect combination

I purchased Weld-On Cement from Stew-Mac after failing to find it in stores and found it easy and fast to work with when combined with Stew-Mac binding.

LarryR  Huntley, IL Read my reviews (3)
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
4 3-29-2011
noise killer

I installed a set of kinman pickups in my American Special Telecaster. while putting the picups in, I broke the ground connection at the bottom of the control cavity. Not thinking much of it, I screwed the connection back in, and was greeted with an intermittent popping noise during use. Installing the self adhesive copper was easy and quick, and it completely cured my problem. The guitar sounds great!

telewrestlermark  oswego,USA
3M Double-stick Tape
3M Double-stick Tape
5 3-29-2011
Strong stuff

Works like a charm. Makes routing headstock templates quick and easy.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Rubber Binding Bands
Rubber Binding Bands
5 3-29-2011
Very useful

These things are really great. They don't stick to the glue, don't mark the wood, and clamp wood bindings way tighter than twine.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
5 3-28-2011
Amazing little kit!

I am not a pro at this stuff at all. My brother and I wired this kit up to my Agile PRS Copy. This really makes it sound like a PRS. My brother has a PRS with HFS and vintage Bass pickups in it. I have 59' seymour duncans. I had to do a polarity swap in my magnets to make it work with the kit, but the kit is truly amazing. My guitar plays like a dream, and now it sounds like one too. My brother says it sounds as good, if not better than his PRS. Truly amazing kit. Wouldn't do this alone though. It's a tough kit to wire. It was our first kit to ever do, and it works, but I would have someone with experience help you out if it is your first.

ayoder77  arlington, tx
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 3-28-2011
Good fretwire

I've been using stewmac wire for over 15 years because it is good quality and reasonably priced. It's my go to wire for most fret jobs.

David Shepherd

Level Frets Guitar Works  Wilmington NC
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 3-28-2011
These pipettes are the best!!!

These pipettes are the best!!! Have ordered 3 times from StewMac and each time they get better and better. Great service great products, easy ordering with fast delivery.
Thanks
J Day Sr

bigmike  Saginaw,MI
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
Tortoloid Pickguard Material
4 3-28-2011
Nice but difficult to work

I bought one piece of the dark brown tortoise intending to make 3 small pick guards for flat-top mandolins. There was enough material for my project but I only ended up with 2 guards due to damaging the material while cutting it. When they tell you it will "chip out" they aren't kidding- we're talking big hunks, not chips! I followed the directions about heating it in hot water before cutting, but it cooled off quickly and the damage happened. I found I had to dunk it in the hot water multiple times, cutting with scissors only a little at a time. I feel like this product needs better and more detailed instructions. They just tell you to "warm before cutting" and you can use a hairdryer or hot water. But how hot? Soak for how long? Is hot tap water ok? or should it be hotter than that? How do you know it's hot enough before you start cutting? How about it, Stew Mac? Better instructions, please!

Also, I found those scratches on the back have to be sanded out. They don't just disappear like they say. I know because I practiced on scrap. Using micro-mesh in steps 1500 through 4000 grit worked well for me. Ultimately, though, I did manage to get 2 really nice looking pick guards out of it- much nicer looking than the printed plastic I think. This is a great product, it just really takes getting used to and needs better instructions. With the price of the material, trail and error is expensive!

Don O.  Pennsylvania
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 3-28-2011
Nothing beats the original

I saw this product about a year ago. It was just to much money so I made my own. After a year has passed I wish I had just put up the money. This is thick and will stand on the fretboard. It is super accurate. Just can't beat the original. Another great product StewMac!

dsteiner  Mechanicsburg, PA Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 16626 – 16650
of 20979 reviews
< 1  ...  665  666  667  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce