Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16626 – 16650
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  665  666  667  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
Grover Full-size Locking Tuning Machines
5 3-30-2011
Absolutely Great Tuners

These tuning machines are beyond great...I replaced the stock Gibson Deluxe tuners on my Les Paul Studio and it was a huge improvement. These are much more precise, with really smooth turns and no backlash at all (only 1 of the tuners in the package has a minimum amount of backlash when tuning the string down). String replacement is also quicker with these tuners because you won't need to make ties on the strings to avoid them from slipping and won't need to turn the string around the post more than once (even on the high E string) so say goodbye to the peg winder.

Speaking of the post height, it might be an issue for some players because they're indeed very tall, but in my case it doesn't bother me at all, just be sure to check out the technical drawing in the specs section before buying. Another aspect that might bother aesthetic freaks (not me) although it's not a big deal, is that the gold tuners don't quite match the gold Gibson hardware (at least in my guitar), these tuners are just a little bit brighter, it's a very very subtle difference but wanted to let you know. Instructions supplied are pretty difficult to figure out just by reading them but you will understand how to use the tuners after changing a couple of strings. Pricing is pretty good for all of the benefits...5 stars!

Oscar Soto  Mexico Read my reviews (2)
Pickguard for Gibson Les Paul
Pickguard for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 3-30-2011
Not A Perfect Fit!

I ordered the "Custom" (b/w/b) pickguard when I "blacked-out" my Gibson LP Classic Goldtop, but when I tried to install it, it barely fit, without some slight modifications to both the upper area that fits around the neck HB pickup and the bottom screwhole.

It looks great, though!

Dennis  Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
4 3-30-2011
Great, Old-style Screws!

These screws are perfect for adding that "golden-era" look to any Les Paul!

The only bad thing I can say is, they are all the same size, which makes them too short for the higher, half-inch end of vintage-correct pickup mounting rings.

Dennis  Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson Les Paul
Metal Jack Plate for Gibson® Les Paul®
4 3-30-2011
Perfect Replacement!

These are the perfect replacements for the Les Paul! The only problem is, I had to use my stock screws, because the replacements were too big for the holes.

Dennis  Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
5 3-30-2011
Cheap Insurance For Your Guitar

Not the most exciting part to purchase to put on your guitar. However, having a strap slip off, and seeing your 'burst '59 Les Paul hit the floor headstock first can be serious! You still have strap buttons that LOOK like strap buttons,and can be used as strap buttons, so your guitar's appearance stays almost original and it can appear like your theory that nothing worthwhile has been developed in the guitar world since 1952, is correct. But, when you click in the strap-lock equipped strap, your guitar is secure.

These should be standard on all guitars, they are on mine. Excellent quality hardware. The only drawback is when you put them on one guitar, you will want them on all of them, so you can use your favorite strap. They do what their name says...they lock the strap on. Just get some.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
5 3-30-2011
Heavy Duty German Tuners

3 a Side locking tuners. It's good to know that if your guitar is ever caught up in a thermo-nuclear explosion, your tuners will survive. Chromed and heavy! Hidden locating pin does away with mounting screws that seem to strip if you attempt to undo them. 16:1 ratio and s-m-o-o-t-h winding makes tuning accurate. Best of all, you just poke in the string, tighten the large knurled nut and you are tuning. No pre-winding and no extra coils around the peg to make tuning non-linear.

Will they make you play better? No. Do they look vintage? No. One side benefit of their weight, was that balance of my guitar on the strap was improved. The price was good too!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Spool Clamps
Spool Clamps
5 3-30-2011
Great Value

They arrived on time, were of an excellent quality and exactly as described.
I was going to make two dozen of these, but these were actually cheaper in the long run!

Ged  Noosa, Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Seagrave Vinyl Sealer
Seagrave Vinyl Sealer
5 3-30-2011
Vinyl sealer is magic!

Highly recommend using under any lacquer job. Sprays out nice. A very good quality sealer, Thanks for carrying great products Stew Mac

JVan  Granger,IN Read my reviews (17)
Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Wood Glue
5 3-30-2011
Love the glue.......

I am a carpenter by day and Luthier by night and this product is used all the time , day and night. Great stuff bonds wood beatifically easy clean-up.

JVan  Granger,IN Read my reviews (17)
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
Gotoh Large Schaller-style Knob Machines
5 3-30-2011
Nice Upgrade

Perfect replacement for the cheapie tuners that came on one of my favorite guitars. Hold perfect tune, and add a nice upscale touch. Will use on other guitars in the future when time to replace or upgrade.

DrewM  Ann Arbor, MI
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
5 3-30-2011
Great Tool

Fretting made simple. Great machine and easy to use and all frets are seated right the first time! This is a must have if you plan to build any style guitar period.

JVan  Granger,IN Read my reviews (17)
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 3-30-2011
Perfect Saw For The Job

The saw worked very well. Light weight & easy to handle. The blades are certainly "fine"(as in very small) but easy to use. The pearl is uniform in thickness & cuts well.

C & C Luthiers  Black Forest, CO
Customer supplied image for review
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 3-30-2011
Excellent file

A really super little tool.A must have for that truly great fret job. I highly recommend this for your basic kit

Anthony R  Oxford England Read my reviews (2)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
5 3-30-2011
Great tool

It does exactly what it says on the tin a great idea saves a lot of messing would recommend it.

Michael Mulville  Dublin Ireland
Vintage-Style String Retainer
Vintage-Style String Retainer
5 3-30-2011
really?

it's a string retainer, works like a charm. Nuff sed?

timusic  Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
5 3-30-2011
High quality, fair price

I've put these on every guitar I've built, they tune up smoothly and stay put once the strings are set.
Everything I've purchased thru Stew-Mac has been of the highest quality.

timusic  Iowa Read my reviews (2)
Guitar Grease
Guitar Grease
4 3-30-2011
slick it

Good enough for Fender and Les Paul.

seventhson  Lake Wales, Fl. Read my reviews (4)
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
5 3-30-2011
set'em up

Arrived speedily.Packaged perfectly. I know as a general rule, people order tools they are already familiar with. But by using this set up kit I learned more about how to get the job done right. Each item is of excellent quality, performs as advertised, and I would certainly purchase again. Thank you, Wayne

seventhson  Lake Wales, Fl. Read my reviews (4)
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
Golden Age Pickups for P-Bass
5 3-30-2011
Awsome

The Golden Age bass pickup transformed my Squire P bass. It has great clarity and attack. It also has just the right amount of output at 10.5 ohms so when it's pushed hard you'll get a nice little growl out of it. I can't say enough about this pickup. Thumbs up to Stew Mac ! I highly recommend this pickup for anyone building a bass or someone to upgrade there existing pickup. My friends in the band think my bass sounds amazing and it does. Thanks Stew Mac Bravo.

Frank Haines  Warwick RI
Customer supplied image for review
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 3-30-2011
Nice piece

A well-made and sturdy mounting plate. I ordered a black one which engraves very well.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
3 3-30-2011
Pots

Would like see them in solid shaft.

Talago Guitars  Kalispell MT Read my reviews (2)
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
4 3-30-2011
Nut files

Very handy files. I wish the size was etched on the file itself, as it will wear off of the handle.

Talago Guitars  Kalispell MT Read my reviews (2)
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
5 3-30-2011
Hot Rods

When I'm feeling lazy and don't want to make a rod from scratch or the application seems to call for a double acting rod, I always choose a Hot Rod from Stew Mac. I've never had a problem with them and they are a snap to install.

Marty  NY state Read my reviews (2)
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
5 3-30-2011
This is a nice router bit for hot rod style truss rods

I had to purchase a second bit as my first first one was locked in the collet of my router and I chipped it trying to get it out. The bit worked nicely over the years but the collet didn't. The Stew Mac bit is very nice and I'd recommend it to anybody using hot rod truss rods as it fits them nicely.

Marty  NY state Read my reviews (2)
Benedetto Archtop Tailpiece
Benedetto Archtop Tailpiece
5 3-30-2011
La Grande Classe - Epiphone Joe Pass.

Anti-kitch: si vous ne supportez plus le look bling bling de votre Joe Pass ni ses diverses résonnances métalliques cette pièce Benedetto vous séduira. Il faut simplement penser à la mise à terre des cordes en collant du cuivre sous la pièces et en reliant avec la mise à terre de la guitare. Mériterait 10 étoiles tellement cette pièce est belle!

Bluester  Switzerland Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 16626 – 16650
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  665  666  667  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce