Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16576 – 16600
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  663  664  665  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
Grover Strap Buttons for Strap Locks
5 4-01-2011
Works perfectly with Schaller and Fender Strap locks

Its difficult to find somebody who will sell only the buttons. Most places will only sell a packaged set with the strap locks and buttons together. Props to Stew-Mac for coming through.

Dan B  Dayton, OH Read my reviews (4)
Pickguard Bevel Cutter
Pickguard Bevel Cutter
5 4-01-2011
Works perfectly!

Sharp and accurate. Everything it needs to be.

Dan B  Dayton, OH Read my reviews (4)
5-ply Pickguard Material
5-ply Pickguard Material
5 4-01-2011
Excellent Material!

Exactly as described. Great for making vintage-style Gibson pickguards.

Dan B  Dayton, OH Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
5 3-31-2011
Shellac Flakes

This is the first time I've used shellac Flakes but I mixed according to the instructions and got an excellent mixture. I used this to spray as a sealer coat on a Fender Strat and a Telecaster, both of which I done a custom paint job of a base coat and clear coat which actually turned out as good or better than The Custom Shop produces. My friend who was a Nashville picker said he felt like his 2 workhorses were New again.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Behlen Nitrocellulose Lacquer Reducer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Lacquer Reducer
5 3-31-2011
Thinning Nitrocellulose Lacquer

This is the perfect thinner for Behlen Nitro. Cell. Lacquer it helps to burn into touchup jobs as well as laying out a good smooth finish on a new build or a refinish on an older fix up.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
3 3-31-2011
could not use

My neck has a nut slot width of 0.129". Compared to the only width for "fender style" available being 0.125", the price of the nut plus shipping was a big fat waste of money. It's my fault for not measuring the slot width before ordering, but I'm still surprised and saddened that over-sized widths are not available.

Jason G.  Tomball, Tx. Read my reviews (4)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 3-31-2011
String action gauge

How can anyone truly measure action without one of these? Buzzing? You'd be lost without one.

Froggy3018  Aberdeen, NC USA Read my reviews (2)
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
2 3-31-2011
Cheaply made...

I used this with a Bigsby on a custom guitar, finish was pretty good if not excellent, but the screws threatened to strip out, the allen wrench provided didn't hold up to turning them, I got out a hardened steel wrench to finish the setup and intonation, and you can turn the saddles around, there are holes on the other side, but some of them were very hard to screw in, others easy. This has to be made in China, its cheap which could be fine for some, but its really not worth the money.

The only hardware that's worth paying for is precision made stuff. The metal used to make bridges hardly costs that much, its the engineering and quality assembly that are worth paying for. I think they should dump this one TBO, hopefully someone will make a similar but high quality one, the feel when I rested my hand on it was nice and smooth, oh well...

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 3-31-2011
A must for proper set-ups

These gauges are easy to use and make set ups more refined. I highly recommend these!!

Froggy3018  Aberdeen, NC USA Read my reviews (2)
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
Rock-n-Roller Neck Rest
5 3-31-2011
ROCK'n

Works great. Stable. Simple.

Shaun Williams  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 3-31-2011
STRAIGHT AS AN ARROW

Was having problems setting the neck relief on my 6 string bass with 2 truss rods. Bought the straight edge to measure the true relief of the neck not the frets. Works amazing. I now use it to set the neck relief instead of using the string. Easier and more accurate. Should have bought one years ago!

Shaun Williams  Canada Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 3L/3R
4 3-31-2011
Gotoh Tuners for Les Paul Copy

I installed these Gotoh tuners in my Samick Les Pal copy which is essentially an Epiphone Les Paul. Prior to the replacement I couldn't keep my guitar in tune. After every solo I would need to re-tune. A complete turn around after installing these tuners, They were easy to install (exact hole placement as the tuners I was replacing) and now my guitar stays in tune. Relatively inexpensive and they work great! Highly recommended.

Rick M  Savannah Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
4 3-31-2011
Great Inexpensive Replacement Bridge

I bought this bridge for my Samick Les Paul copy which is essentially an Epiphone Les Paul. The bridge fit perfectly over the existing posts (I couldn't get the old ones out without a lot of work so just left the old ones in)and made a huge difference in the sound and intonation on my guitar. I would highly recommend this as a replacement bridge for any Epiphone Les Paul. Price is right and it works as advertised.

Rick M  Savannah Read my reviews (2)
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
5 3-31-2011
The Perfect Tool

I have several old ukuleles--good ones--that have experienced neck shrinkage causing the fret ends to poke out and cut my fingers. This situation takes a lot of the fun out of playing. I contacted StewMac and they recommended the Fret End Dressing File. It arrived today!! I sat with my ukes and this oral thermometer-sized tool for less than 20 minutes....all better!! The Perfect Tool. Thanks, guys.

Uncle Don  Woodstock, Ct Read my reviews (4)
Rubber Binding Bands
Rubber Binding Bands
4 3-31-2011
Very good but...

A very good product, but try not to touch the glue (Elmers or DAP yellow glue)- it will eat the rubber

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Glue Syringe
Glue Syringe
4 3-31-2011
Why no needles included?

Extremely useful. Indispensable for hairline headstock cracks. Would be 5 stars if they came with the needles.

jason.guitartech  Brooklyn
Brazilwood Violin Bow
Brazilwood Violin Bow
5 3-31-2011
Great Bow!

This is a great transitional bow(from inexpensive fiberglass to wood)! Excellent fit and finish, beautiful appointments, well balanced, sounds and plays great!! As always, StewMac did a great job of securely packing and shipping this item in a safe and timely fashion. I would recommend this bow to any fiddler, or violinist looking for a quality bow at a bargain price.

Tony Mora  Los Lunas, NM
Customer supplied image for review
StewMac Super Glue
StewMac Super Glue
5 3-31-2011
Great stuff (10)

This stuff comes sealed in a bag with no possible way of leaking when shipped. I bought the 10 for fretting work and it has wonderful viscosity to get in fret slots after hammering in. I would suggest buying the pipettes in conjunction with the glue for more precise application as it sets pretty fast.

arkimedes38  Chicago, IL
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
5 3-31-2011
CUSTOM GUITAR

The neck I put on my Tele B Bender Custom is one of the best I've used, that action is very slick, as i have short fingers and it's very easy to use. I am very pleased with the neck, and the ebony fingerboard is very smooth.

RICHIE  AUTRALIA
Customer supplied image for review
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
5 3-31-2011
Effective product

I've used the screw mount bridge doctor over the years on several guitars. It is effective and simple to install.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 3-31-2011
Indispensable

Like everything I've purchased from StewMac, this gauge is precise and high quality.

Adam G.  Langhorne, PA
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
4 3-31-2011
Precision

Works very well easy to set depth. Would like to see a bigger clear plastic base add on.

Daniel E  Frisco
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
4 3-31-2011
cost effective fret file

I bought one of these in 1984 and used it on dozens and dozens of fret jobs over the years. It isn't perfect and takes some finesse to use well but the 3 file sizes cover most instruments quite well and for a semi-pro like myself who also owns several guitars, basses, and other fretted instruments which need fret jobs on a regular basis it is a good choice.

I would love a set of diamond files but can't justify the cost for the amount of fret work that I do. I would have just ordered new files for my old handle (another feature) but I lost track of it when I moved back to the midwest from San Francisco.

El Kabong  Manistee, MI
Standard Truss Rod Cover for Guitar
Standard Truss Rod Cover for Guitar
3 3-30-2011
Pretty good

The cover has a pretty nice looking finish, but I gave the product just 3 stars because the cuts are a bit rough.

Oscar Soto  Mexico Read my reviews (2)
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
5 3-30-2011
Perfect Fit, And Great Looks!

One thing that always bothered me about the stock, Gibson toggle-switch rings was that the lettering is too small.

Fixed now!

Dennis  Michigan Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 16576 – 16600
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  663  664  665  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce