Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16551 – 16575
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  662  663  664  ...  841 >
Sort reviews by

Dome Knob
Dome Knob
4 4-03-2011
I like it!

I really like this knob,it have nice construction and maybe i will must give five stars!
Thanks stew!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
4 4-03-2011
I like it!

These pots are good quality and resist to time!!!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
Alpha Blend Pots
Alpha Blend Pots
4 4-03-2011
Good piece!

These pots are good quality and resist to time!!!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
4 4-03-2011
Getting these to fit oriental made Pauls-and archtops

When re-doing an Epiphone Hollow-bodied Les Paul, [the "previous tech" had put in a Seymour Duncan, wired it in wrong - the reason for the customer coming to me, etc].....when taking the ring off, I noticed "previous" had screwed the front corner toooooo tight, broke the holder tube hole away from the ring - under there.
I ordered #1508, and a new bridge because one of the saddle screws was wore out too. The Gotoh #1511 bridge was a direct drop on, no need to change the studs(wiping forehead: WHEW!!)just file in the sting grooves a little bit on the saddles, great looking bridge too......That new plastic ring tho was a little narrower width than the stock one - and tooo tall - back to the drawing board. (The description and measurements in the catalog tells ya that it is flat, duh, don't complain if ya can't do a little sandpaper work.)
I had to either (try to)use it by putting some Stikit sandpaper-#5770- on the top of the Paul and sanding it down to the radius of the arched top(a whole bunch of work for us lazy people, haha), with all of this leaving a little bit visible, open gap at the front of the pup pocket(NOT ACCEPTABLE TO ME FOR THIS PRETTY BABY DOLL), OR- back to superglue magic and fix the original and hope it holds. The broken part - a little black tube-ette of plastic had come out when I removed that hold down screw and removed the pup ring. These parts are curing as I type. They wouldn't lay together too good. This plastic doesn't seem to like superglue, I had to use an ice pick laying on top of it, with a pair of pliers for weight to hold it all down. I remembered to put a sheet of "nothing sticks to" teflon-#0487- under all this to avoid sticking to the bench, no duhs on that one.
I notice that the other screw tube holes are scored by being screwed into by the other hold down screws on the pup mounting ring, they could go too! Now to devise a way to re-inforce these other hold-down tubes on this old oriental ring, {comment* - oh to be a plastic injection engineer and help the craft for them, hahahaha!}
This guitar is so beautiful it strikes me funny that I never seen a Gibson Les Paul hollow body like it.....can't wait to plug it into my Super Reverb and Champ to see how it sounds. RP ~

guitrailer guitars  Onward, IN Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
5 4-03-2011
Tuners

The tuners work very well and i would recommend them to any one who wants a good but cheap set o tuners.

Scruffy  Washington Court House Ohio
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
4 4-03-2011
I have to Laugh

Cheap, quick and dirty. Easy to adapt to a myriad of simple in the box tasks. They are not made to do guitar assembly, rather they are made to assist the repair luthier. They are not necessarily D.I.Y. stuff. Frankly DIY's should bring brace repair to the pros if possible. [Not trying to be 'funny']. We don't charge much, and can do a better job the first time....and yes...using these 'bad' tools.

Consider also: Do you know how long it takes to make this tool with hardware store stuff? Too LONG!! Well worth the $10. for sure

GREG GUITARS LLC

doc  southport, nc Read my reviews (11)
StewMac Wide Fretwire
StewMac Wide Fretwire
5 4-03-2011
Nice frets....

Never installed any other fw. I like these.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
4 4-03-2011
Nice

Easy to work, hard enough to last.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
3 4-03-2011
Nice, works ok.. hard to hold onto.

To me, it's just easier to do a good tape job on the fb. These are clumsy to hold while working on the frets. Maybe I'm doing it wrong?

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
5 4-03-2011
Lifetime supply.

Huge bottle of this stuff, and a little goes a long way. Works as advertised.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
5 4-03-2011
Love the scraper!

Very nice. Only wish I'd ordered all the shapes. Going to do that now.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Control Cavity Cover Plate
Control Cavity Cover Plate
5 4-03-2011
Nice.....:)

Used with SM's templates this cover fit like socks on a rooster. I wish SM offered this cover in exotic woods. :)

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Control Cavity Templates
Control Cavity Templates
5 4-03-2011
Another great tool from SM.

Used along with the SM control cover, this is the easiest and neatest install I've done on a control cavity cover.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
4 4-03-2011
Great template

I bought this template to aid in a bass build I was doing for a pal. The neck is from Allparts, the heel is a tad smaller than the temp. I used masking tape to down size the template and it worked great!

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
4 4-03-2011
Great sand paper..........a tad too expensive.

I bought the pkg. The stickum works well on the SM radius blocks to radius fb's. I think the price is a little high considering the amount of sand paper and aerosol glue you could get for the same price. Otherwise great stuff.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
Tune-o-matic Bridge For Archtop Guitar
5 4-03-2011
Smile-o-matic

Another great product guys. Looks fantastic. Very high quality!! Am currently fitting to a 1970's model Melody archtop acoustic, will post some pix when it's done.

Millz Project  Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (2)
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
5 4-03-2011
What a tail(piece)

Awesome product. I am currently restoring a 1970's model melody acoustic archtop using all high quality fixtures. This tailpiece will work superbly for it's desired application. Stewmac forgot to send the mounting screws with the initial item, but happily posted them free of charge when I let them know the oversight. Thanks a lot guys!!

Millz Project  Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (2)
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
5 4-03-2011
The Best Shielding Option

If you have any routing work inside the control cavity this is a great solution. It's much easier than lining an area with copper foil. This is essential for any electronics installation inside a guitar in-which you need to re-shield an area..

Brooks Holland  San Fransisco, CA
Customer supplied image for review
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
Grover Roto-Grip Full-size Locking Guitar Machines
5 4-02-2011
Great Tuners!

I ordered these locking tuners to replace the non-locking tuners on my Dean Cadillac. The difference in this guitar staying in tune has vastly improved. Well worth the money spent. As always, when I placed my order with Stew-Mac it arrived in just a few days, and as always a positive experience. Will definitely order again! Keep up the good work.

dougb907  Wasilla, Alaska
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
5 4-02-2011
Wise Choice!

These fit perfectly in my blue ESP Horizon NT II, screw holes matched up fine. They are solid metal and have a mirror finish. The color of the chrome is neutral silver, while hardware on the Horizon has faint gold tinge in comparison, but not too noticeable. These chrome rings do complete the overall look. Do they affect the sound? Could be my imagination but they seem to add a tiny bit of upper midrange and treble, where the clarity and resonance reside.

Tommy_C  Virginia
Customer supplied image for review
Strat Pickup Flatwork
Strat Pickup Flatwork
5 4-02-2011
Great materials

Great flatwork. Been using them quite a bit and have had no problems. Magnets from stewmac fit very well, and other brands will fit just fine as well. Great option and the right price!!

Carlsenguitar  Tacoma
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 4-02-2011
A Must Have Tool

Everyone needs one of these in their essential toolbox. These make it easy to tighten loose tuning machines and switches. It has already paid for itself.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses
5 4-02-2011
Worth the cost

Dan Erlewine takes his years of knowledge and applies them to these DVD lessons.

I will definitely be buying more in the future.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
Fishman Thinline Undersaddle Pickup
5 4-02-2011
Fishman Thinline

Installed the thinline under saddle in the adjustable bridge of my archtop. I made a new saddle of pau ferro, routed it for an 1/8th" slip-fit saddle. I was completely happy with the result. Stan Tucker

Stan Tucker  Santa Barbara, Ca
Customer supplied image for review
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 4-02-2011
Preservation Polish

The best polish. No Silicone.Brings out the color so well. been repairing guitars for 38 years. this is the best. Buy 6. no more auto polishes. love this stuff.
jack's guitars. Sicklerville,NJ

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16551 – 16575
of 21020 reviews
< 1  ...  662  663  664  ...  841 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce