Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16551 – 16575
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  662  663  664  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Neck Relief Gauge
Neck Relief Gauge
5 4-02-2011
WHAT A RELIEF

This is fantastic. I have been repairing for 31 yrs and with this device I can have my neck work done in a second. I checked my measurements using feeler gauges and this gauge is right on everytime. The guy who said that the feet are not flat should tell stewmac. Those guys are great. They have always replaced things for me no questions asked. Everyone should by this and the Nut Slotting Gauge. First class tools.

Dr Stephen Barton  South Australia Read my reviews (3)
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
Thin Body Trapeze Tailpiece
4 4-02-2011
Nice For Modifications

Used for a modification to a 1999 PRS Hollowbody II. It fit beautifully over the carve of the body, although I had to slightly widen the center hole to allow the strap button screw to thread cleanly. The metal works cleanly if you need to shorten and re-thread the arms with a tap. I plan to buy more for future projects.

Aaron Hess  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (13)
Mother-of-pearl Nut
Mother-of-pearl Nut
4 4-02-2011
MOP Nut

I bought one of these for my newly refurbished old Ibanez Mando from the 70s (an F-5 copy), but haven't used it yet. I am surprised that it sounds like bone. I have not yet used it as I was tolled by another repairer, a bluegrass mandolinist, that it would sound too thin and annoying. I'll whack it in and see how it goes. Cheers mate. SB

Dr Stephen Barton  South Australia Read my reviews (3)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
4 4-02-2011
Good for keeping existing spec

Experienced luthiers may scoff at using this tool as they can simply eyeball the spacing as well as anything the ruler may tell them. For those folks, perhaps this is not all that useful. However, for those of us learning or less experienced or if you have an existing instrument and you want to make sure the string spacing is exactly the same as the original nut, this can be a very useful tool to ensure you can capture exactly what the instrument had to begin with. Simply takes the guesswork out of the equation.

P Smith  Cary, NC Read my reviews (5)
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
5 4-02-2011
Great for finishing frets

I just used these to sand and polish some older frets that were pretty tarnished. Starting with the lower grit to the higher smoothed out the frets far better and faster than using the old 220-320-400-600-steel wool approach. A lot less messy than using 0000 steel wool! Also, used them to polish the fretboard.

For the review that mentions the pads are too small for larger surfaces, just be aware that there are other sizes of micro mesh that any good woodworking store will carry. I found some that are roughly 3x bigger. Same material and grit selection, just bigger pads. Person at the wood store said they can be rinsed out and reused many times too.

P Smith  Cary, NC Read my reviews (5)
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
4 4-01-2011
Pretty Good

This is a really nice pickguard for a restoring touch, the color is nice, and the quality is very good. The only problem I had was that it was a little off on size. I was hard to fit on but I managed to screw it on. It is fine but don't expect a perfect fit.

T-Rich Guitar Restoration  Billerica MA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Strap Button Felt Washers
Strap Button Felt Washers
5 4-01-2011
Nice Washers

I mean it is a piece of felt after all, so I don't know what could go wrong. But these are really high quality and are better than the little piece of plastic that will sometime come with the guitar.

T-Rich Guitar Restoration  Billerica MA Read my reviews (6)
Precision Straightedges
Precision Straightedges
5 4-01-2011
Not Great but Not Bad

This does pretty good for checking the neck and leveling frets, But I think I should have got the notched leveler. Mainly because you really can do neck, fret, and the fingerboard as well.

Billy-Z-Titan  Chico,CA
Dan Erlewines Fretting Series
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
5 4-01-2011
got my moneys worth

the video was better than i could ever hope for this was the best info that any body would ever want from a video.i will be order more.plus the tools i will need.better tools better fretting job.thanks so much dan.robert

robert dixon  orange tx
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
3 4-01-2011
Great Saw, One Problem

This is a great saw and is very well made with classy polished brass and an over sized blade length. One problem; the depth stop's lowest point is higher than a whole fret itself! I'm not into leaving pockets of air under my frets, so I had to modify the depth stop to go lower. Probably just mine. Annoying.

DanielG  Ventura, CA
Machine-carved Violin Neck
Machine-carved Violin Neck
5 4-01-2011
Wooden shoe violin

Amazing Neck for my flemish wooden shoe violin.

Wooden shoe violin and pipemaker  Kalmthout Belgium Europe
Customer supplied image for review
Dome Knob
Dome Knob
5 4-01-2011
Excellent heft and quality

The only concern I have is that these are slightly smaller diameter than the older ones (the metal dome knobs on my old Stratocaster and my Jackson Soloist are larger diameter), although they still feel great.

Todd T.  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (3)
Golden Age F-style Mandolin Tuners
Golden Age F-style Mandolin Tuners
4 4-01-2011
Perfect tuning machine for Loar copies

Almost perfect copy of the Weaverly Loar F tuners except the knobs. I replaced them to my old Gotoh mother of pearl knobs for the perfect look. The tuning performance of this tuner is more than average.

f-5000  Honolulu
Bevel-top Knob
Bevel-top Knob
4 4-01-2011
Good knobs, good price.

I needed a knob with a position indication for a Variax/Les Paul (ESP Eclipse II) transplant in the original 3-way switch location. The chicken head style would have looked goofy in that location, IMO. This fit the bill perfectly except I wish it were metal.

Todd T.  Omaha, NE Read my reviews (3)
Turbo Tune
Turbo Tune
5 4-01-2011
How did I ever.......

Work on instruments without this tool?! 20 plus years and I finally broke down and got one. Don't wait like I did, treat yourself to one today!

Ray Simonetti Instruments  Spring, TX Read my reviews (5)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-01-2011
Buen resultado

He utilizado el Medium, a partir de lija 1000, con buenos resultados

Jose Luis  Zaragoza, EspaƱa
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
5 4-01-2011
Easy to adjust and very accurate

I ordered this Miter box with the Japanese Saw, together with a Fret Scale template for Classical Guitar. Ordered on Tuesday and everything arrived perfectly in order on Thursday with DHL.
Keep in mind that I live in Europe !!
Miter box and saw work very accurate and making a fretboard was never so easy.
Thanks, good job Stewmac.

Grizzly  Oosthuizen, Netherlands Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Switch Mounting Screws
Switch Mounting Screws
2 4-01-2011
too short

Added these to an order as they are less than a quarter each... unfortunately they are too short for my Ibanez and Kramer guitars... oh well I will use them at some point just a pain in the but as they are 1/16 inch too short, oh well I have been buying up a storm from these guys and this is the first thing that did not fit... great average still

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
String Clamp Screw for Floyd Rose Locking Nut
5 4-01-2011
look like they mean it

it is really just a screw, but Stewmac does not screw around with it... They do what they have to, look good and so far have been lasting great!
The price of 10 is cheaper than the price of 3 at the store (minus shipping) but since I was buying other stuff just throw in a dozen and I am good for years to come, thanks.

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-01-2011
very nice

I have a few projects on the go (just waiting for it to get a bit warmer) so I have been getting my supplies ready.
This polish (swirl remover) works great! I have also got the med polish but will not be able to review that for about a month or so. Great product, speedy delivery thanks again Stewmac you do what you say you are going to do!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
Violin Soundpost Gauge
Soundpost Gauge
5 4-01-2011
Excellent!

This tool is very nicely made, and easy to use while getting accurate measurements for your soundpost. Delivery was fast.

Brent A. Peterson  IL Read my reviews (2)
Soundpost Setters
Soundpost Setters
3 4-01-2011
Useful Tool

Very nice for moving the sound post once it is near position, but you may have to modify the setting end to get it to hold the post while positioning it. A "must have" for adjusting the post. Delivery was excellent.

Brent A. Peterson  IL Read my reviews (2)
Pipettes
Pipettes
5 4-01-2011
Required in the shop

These little jewels are a must have around CIOMIT. The old fashioned way of applying CA was okay, but these make the application more precise and controllable. A definite MUST HAVE!

CIOMIT  Castle Rock, CO
Clear Pickguard Materials
Clear Pickguard Materials
2 4-01-2011
Could be better

I've had issues with this material and instructions, which I don't think are specific enough. The dry install does provide good enough quality. Wet install is difficult on some finishes due to beading, and have to use more wetting agent than suggested. There is also a purplish streaking on the material, and it does not lay flat.
I have suggested to Stew-Mac that they consider selling instead the same material used on cell phone screen covers, which I think would work better, if they can get sheets large enough.

Bob T.  Sciota
Toggle Switch Plate
Toggle Switch Plate
3 4-01-2011
Not bad considering the price but.....

...the gold leaf printing could be better. The washers have adhesive with a liner on the backside. Great idea for keeping the washer from rotating, however I don't want adhesive on my nitro so I removed it (which took a bit of time). Good color on the cream ring, not "pink" like the Gibson USA parts. I had to enlarge the hole slightly to fit the nut on my stock Gibson switch.

Dan B  Dayton, OH Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 16551 – 16575
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  662  663  664  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce