Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16526 – 16550
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  661  662  663  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 4-06-2011
Tusq is tops

All I can say about this material is drop it after dropping plastic and bone and you will be sold for life, it is HEADS AND SHOULDERS above anything else I have ever used.

Deane M  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
4 4-06-2011
Very good!!!!!

very good and very accurate work was perfect

Igor Petinatti  Americana ,São Paulo Brazil
Customer supplied image for review
Black Ice
Black Ice
5 4-06-2011
slick

Worked better than expected. Gives a sweet overdrive that's perfect for blues. I wasn't sure how it would sound, but it put my doubts to rest when i turned it up. Its a gain control on the guitar. Best part, no batteries! Super product, super trick on any guitar. Thanks for selling this little jem.

socket  new jersey Read my reviews (2)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
2 4-06-2011
Not so good for PRS guitars.

I bought this for my PRS CU22. The quality was good, and reliable. But the socket was not appropriate to fit into truss-rod nut. If you see carefully to the photo, the part where the handle is attached looks like a bullet. Because of that, it cannot firmly fit into the truss-rod because it gets bothered by the wood of headstock. So I could adjust, but I made scratch marks on the truss-rod nut in my guitar.

Young  Belleville, ON, Canada
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
5 4-06-2011
Tune-O-Matic Neccessity

These tools are a no-brainer. If you work on these bridges, you just gotta have them.

Armando  Parrish, FL Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 4-06-2011
rock&roll

Installed this P-90 in a Les Paul Jr. kit. The kit came with an inexpensive (CHEAP) pup. Played it one time, had to go! With the Golden Age P-90 installed, this little Jr. clone now has a soul of Rock&Roll!! Love the sound of it!

steve gore  toxey al Read my reviews (3)
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
5 4-06-2011
Binding Bit

I had forgotten just how great this bit performs when new. My first one is now three years old and I just ordered and received the second one. From now on I'll just make it a point buy a new one every year. What a difference! Effortless, clean sharp cutting performance.

J.P. Johnson  Sanford, NC
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 4-06-2011
Fantastic value!!!

If there's a better slothead tuner on the market for less than 2-3 times the price I haven't found it. I've installed a half dozen or so sets in "normal" applications and have always been well satisfied, but I've also drilled out the shafts and used these on various bass projects strung with the large (.155 low E) "weedwackes" now used on so many uprights with no problems at all. In fact, after noticing people on Hofner blogs recommending the solid peghead version as a replacement for the inferior tuners now supplied with the various import Hofner "Beatle" and Club basses, I gave them a try on a friend's Hofner Icon and found them not only a huge improvement, but also a direct drop-in replacement.

bruceleerose  WI Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 4-06-2011
replacing standard Fender tuners

Great fit for my 2008 tele, but bushes were too tight so had to file the holes out. Tuners are brilliant, going to put a set on my Strat now!

Ali slowdrag Rae  Peebles Scotland Read my reviews (2)
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
2 4-06-2011
Needed tuners for Deering

Needed a tuner for busted 5th string tuner on my Deering, but the items from Stew Mac were too tight a fit?
May be down to my ignorance, I guess different producers have different sizes.

Ali slowdrag Rae  Peebles Scotland Read my reviews (2)
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 4-06-2011
LOVE IT

I Love All the Dragon Rasps, coarse fine large or small they are outstanding, I bought the liquid plastic dip from home depot to put on the handle's they will tear your hand up, but in all aspects you can take this thing and rip through a 2X4 with it

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 4-06-2011
not bad

i think the cheaper one does a better job, seams to be less work on the finishing side of things, these seam to leave me more work, But this is just my opinion

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
5 4-06-2011
GREAT GLUE

Didn't know what i was missing tell i tried it best glue for bridge repair. if it was good enough for Gibson it sure is for me. Love it.

larry tatum  malvern ar. 72104 Read my reviews (3)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
4 4-06-2011
not bad

work pretty good, just wish they would bevel the ends so when you hit a high fret it wouldn't rip the sandpaper

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 4-06-2011
Preservation Polish

Excellent. Only product I use on electric & acoustic guitars.

GH  Seattle, WA
Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
5 4-06-2011
good brush for the price

This is a good little brush for the price. Use it for touch ups and bursts works great.

larry tatum  malvern ar. 72104 Read my reviews (3)
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 4-06-2011
Like a new set of eyes

put off buying these for a long time. Wish i hadn't. Now i don't work with out them. invest in the light even in my well light shop it adds extra light right where you need it.

larry tatum  malvern ar. 72104 Read my reviews (3)
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
3 4-06-2011
10-Hole Pickguard

I chose not to use this as it has the 2 extra holes for the neck pickup. I prefer the traditional mount where the pickup is screwed into the body underneath the guard, not the Strat-style guard mount as Fender currently does on the current American Standard series Teles.

Keith K  Green Lake
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 4-06-2011
Desperadoville...USA

One of the most used Tools in my Shop...To do a proper Level, Crown and Polish, it's absolutely crucial to get a good reading on the Fingerboard first, and this Tool is designed for just that...Many will attempt to save a few dollars and make their own, but unless you don't have much value for your time ?...I strongly suggest the purchase of this tool from Stew-Mac.

Desperadoville...USA  Edgewater, Maryland
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
4 4-06-2011
Almost perfect

Good tool, really useful. But why is it so short? I mean, you can't use it on a 7 strings guitar, nor a 5 or 6 string bass.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 4-06-2011
A must have

Great time saver. Worth every dollar if you do repairs for a living.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 4-05-2011
BUY THIS!!!

This is the best thing to happen to my fretwork since I began making guitars 14 years ago. There is nothing like having perfectly level fret-work to make your work sing. If you are on the fence about spending the money on this, save up and get it now or you will regret it in 14 years.

dmbwoodworking  Burlington, Vt Read my reviews (6)
Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
2 4-05-2011
Not really...

I bought two of these brushes and can say that after spending a weekend with them I just bought a professional brush to do the job and set these aside for random hobby tasks. and after having one hose end fitting blow off the air hose at 40 psi, What this brush lacks is the fine adjustments of a more expensive brush.
When dialed down to almost no material, the spray pattern was still just too wide and messy for the 1/2", black to clear fade-in I needed to accomplish(much harder than a sunburst!). I'm sure I could have done it with this brush if I wanted to bad enough and this brush is all many hobbyists would require but for precision detail work I would have to say spend the extra money and get something a little more substantial.
If you want to shoot a water-based finish, try something with a universal needle & tip around 75mm that can shoot more viscous materials, be dialed from pencil lead thickness to a wide cone and be easily disassembled for easy clean-up. This brush is far better than any other brush I looked at in the price range so don't overlook this if you are a do-it-yourselfer that isn't planning on heavy usage.
I gave this 2 star instead of three because one air hose was defective(but repairable) and the spout on the feed-jar cap are molded into the plastic cap unlike higher quality ones and is likely to fail some time down the road

dmbwoodworking  Burlington, Vt Read my reviews (6)
Spring Cavity Cover
Spring Cavity Cover
3 4-05-2011
Almost

The spacing of the screw holes is a little off, I ended up drilling my own new holes. DO NOT plan on using this on any guitar other than the Fender Strat because it will not fit properly.

T-Rich Guitar Restoration  Billerica MA Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 4-05-2011
2 thumbs up

These pick-ups take the pepsi challenge with any of the more expensive models. Great response and sustain. Give your guitar that classic tone.

Dion Garcia  Surprise, AZ USA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 16526 – 16550
of 21036 reviews
< 1  ...  661  662  663  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce