Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16501 – 16525
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  660  661  662  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
5 4-06-2011
Like a new set of eyes

put off buying these for a long time. Wish i hadn't. Now i don't work with out them. invest in the light even in my well light shop it adds extra light right where you need it.

larry tatum  malvern ar. 72104 Read my reviews (3)
Tele Pickguard
Tele Pickguard
3 4-06-2011
10-Hole Pickguard

I chose not to use this as it has the 2 extra holes for the neck pickup. I prefer the traditional mount where the pickup is screwed into the body underneath the guard, not the Strat-style guard mount as Fender currently does on the current American Standard series Teles.

Keith K  Green Lake
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
5 4-06-2011
Desperadoville...USA

One of the most used Tools in my Shop...To do a proper Level, Crown and Polish, it's absolutely crucial to get a good reading on the Fingerboard first, and this Tool is designed for just that...Many will attempt to save a few dollars and make their own, but unless you don't have much value for your time ?...I strongly suggest the purchase of this tool from Stew-Mac.

Desperadoville...USA  Edgewater, Maryland
Customer supplied image for review
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
4 4-06-2011
Almost perfect

Good tool, really useful. But why is it so short? I mean, you can't use it on a 7 strings guitar, nor a 5 or 6 string bass.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
String Spacing Rule
String Spacing Rule
5 4-06-2011
A must have

Great time saver. Worth every dollar if you do repairs for a living.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
5 4-05-2011
BUY THIS!!!

This is the best thing to happen to my fretwork since I began making guitars 14 years ago. There is nothing like having perfectly level fret-work to make your work sing. If you are on the fence about spending the money on this, save up and get it now or you will regret it in 14 years.

dmbwoodworking  Burlington, Vt Read my reviews (6)
Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
2 4-05-2011
Not really...

I bought two of these brushes and can say that after spending a weekend with them I just bought a professional brush to do the job and set these aside for random hobby tasks. and after having one hose end fitting blow off the air hose at 40 psi, What this brush lacks is the fine adjustments of a more expensive brush.
When dialed down to almost no material, the spray pattern was still just too wide and messy for the 1/2", black to clear fade-in I needed to accomplish(much harder than a sunburst!). I'm sure I could have done it with this brush if I wanted to bad enough and this brush is all many hobbyists would require but for precision detail work I would have to say spend the extra money and get something a little more substantial.
If you want to shoot a water-based finish, try something with a universal needle & tip around 75mm that can shoot more viscous materials, be dialed from pencil lead thickness to a wide cone and be easily disassembled for easy clean-up. This brush is far better than any other brush I looked at in the price range so don't overlook this if you are a do-it-yourselfer that isn't planning on heavy usage.
I gave this 2 star instead of three because one air hose was defective(but repairable) and the spout on the feed-jar cap are molded into the plastic cap unlike higher quality ones and is likely to fail some time down the road

dmbwoodworking  Burlington, Vt Read my reviews (6)
Spring Cavity Cover
Spring Cavity Cover
3 4-05-2011
Almost

The spacing of the screw holes is a little off, I ended up drilling my own new holes. DO NOT plan on using this on any guitar other than the Fender Strat because it will not fit properly.

T-Rich Guitar Restoration  Billerica MA Read my reviews (6)
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 4-05-2011
2 thumbs up

These pick-ups take the pepsi challenge with any of the more expensive models. Great response and sustain. Give your guitar that classic tone.

Dion Garcia  Surprise, AZ USA Read my reviews (4)
Seagrave Vinyl Sealer
Seagrave Vinyl Sealer
1 4-05-2011
Not recommended

Very thin, telegraphs,runs, even smell odd. However Seagraves top coat is excellent.

Liquidguitars  Ojai Ca. Read my reviews (10)
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
4 4-05-2011
Need Tools

The finished product was wonderful, but if you don't have all the tools already to make this project fly, you'll spend as much extra on tools as the initial cost of the kit. The DVD was very helpful but again, it was filmed in a professional Ukelele shop using their high end tools that I imagine most of the buyers of this kit don't have available to them.

Orson  Seattle
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
Tremolo Arm for Floyd Rose
5 4-05-2011
I just found the whammy bar i wanted to replace! LOL

Well, i lost my whammy bar to the Floyd Rose 1000 series on my ESP LTD Deluxe EC-1000(The grey eclipse with the Floyd Rose). Well, i bought item 1269 to replace my whammy bar but guess what? I just found the whammy bar i lost like two days ago. Well the bar i bought from StewMac, it fits PERFECTLY!!!!

I'm Mexican  Pittsburg, CA, USA
Customer supplied image for review
Electrosocket Jack Mount
Electrosocket Jack Mount
5 4-04-2011
A must for workhorse Telecasters

The Electrosocket fixes what some argue is the only design flaw of the Telecaster. The clip inside the guitar will always eventually work loose from the wood in the cavity through use. Many times people will think the jack just needs to be "tightend", but in almost every case the clip inside needs to be replaced. Without the knowledge and proper tools replacing the original Tele jack clip can be frustrating and even destructive to the instrument.
The Electrosocket solves this problem by being installed and attached from the outside and eliminating the clip all together. It seems to be sturdier that the original jack mount and the ones I've installed have yet to fail. Personally, I've played over 100 shows and countless rehearsals with no problem. The Electrosocket is really the ideal solution for the working/touring/regular playing musician.
On vintage and collector instruments I would recommend using the original clip to keep the guitar correct and hold value. Stew Mac makes a great tool to aid installation (item number 4321).
The only other detractor is that some people would want one in a shiny finish. The brushed aluminum and flat finishes are fine for a lot of folks, but some definitely want more sparkle.

Twin Cities Guitar Service  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Tele Jack Installation Tool
Tele Jack Installation Tool
5 4-04-2011
Awesome Tool

A great tool that takes all the awkwardness out of replacing the Telecaster jack clip. As a repair person this is an essential tool that saves time and eliminates the problem of marring the jack hole during installation. Working on Teles frequently, this tool paid for itself the day it arrived in the mail.
For workhorse Teles I have been talking customers into using the Electrosocket which is a great alternative, but for vintage instruments nothing less than original style parts will do. If you only have to use it once, it may not be for you but if you work on guitars regularly it's a must have.

Twin Cities Guitar Service  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
A Master Class In Acoustic Guitar Making
A Master Class In Acoustic Guitar Making
5 4-04-2011
Great DVD

loved the DVD everything you need to build a good guitar... wish he would have explained what grades of sand paper he was using during the DVD.

Cool  Ohio
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-04-2011
Why did I wait so long?

These little beauties are an absolute treat - they've saved me so much time already and they help me produce a better setup every time. So much easier than fighting with the ruler! And being such a reasonable price, I wonder why I didn't get them earlier!

Dave Sparrow  Evesham, UK
StewMac Tinted Super Glue
Stewmac Tinted Super Glue
4 4-04-2011
Great stuff when it's fresh

I love this opaque colored C.A. product. Really handy for many repairs and filling purposes. Great with inlay and ebony. The problem I've had is a short shelf life, or perhaps I got a bad batch (twice). Otherwise I'd give it 5 stars. I've thrown out new bottles that were too thick or hardened up. Stewmac has been good to take care of me on this. My advice is to buy it only when you're going to use it.

Mark's Luthierie  Oswego, NY Read my reviews (3)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
5 4-04-2011
In a bind

I was setting up a Jackson GC-37BC it needed a lot of work when I got to the truss rod to make an adjustment none of my wrenches fit so I ordered the 9/32 from STEWMAC and it arrived quickly so I could finish the job ASAP for my customer. No Backorders Good Job STEWMAC ALL Your Tools A-1 Thanks

Ricki Leigh  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
2 4-04-2011
Pretty, but poor fit

I agree with the other reviewers that this is a charming tailpiece.

However, the part that should sit flush against the sides of your instruments IS flat rather than curved (as is needed for a good fit), as another reviewer pointed out. Its construction also ensures that it cannot be easily bent into a curve. This means that this tailpiece won't fit your mandolin well unless it is triangle-shaped instead of mandolin-shaped.

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Grover Super Rotomatics
Grover Super Rotomatics
5 4-04-2011
Great quality

Grover tuners are high quality, reliable tuners for any price. I feel that they perform and look as good as the extremely high priced tuners on the market. The Rotomatics also have a choice of tuner buttons that are available to custom coordinate the design of your guitar. I always go to Stew Mac first they are terrific people to work with.

Denrdo  Queensbury NY 12804
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
5 4-04-2011
Amazing Pups!

I ordered a couple of these overwound, nickelcover humbuckers and got it within 4 workdays, which was quite fast I think.
I got to install them yesterday and when I plugged it in it sounded so beautiful! I also ordered two push/pull pots for my 2 volume, 1 Tone setup LTD EC-500, and it's so versatile now with coil-tap on both pickups. It's A LOT better than those boring EMG's that were on before!

I strongly recommend these if you're your short on money but still want quality. No buzz/hum, Fantastic tone, and good looks + easy to install.

Only problem was that I had to look up a diagram on the internet, but that's no biggie at all. I don't expect Stewmac to include all the different weird diagrams there are.
Gotta love stewmac

Per Jonsson  Västervik, Sweden
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
4 4-04-2011
Double check your readings

I have used both these tools every day since receiving them but I would say to make sure you double check your readings especially with the nut gauge. Cheers for some helpful tools guys it has cut time off nut work and setups.

SOL Guitars  Australia
GHS Guitar Boomers
GHS Guitar Boomers
4 4-03-2011
So Ready to play

i love this strings,always put in my guitar,the sound is great,good life, by this price i no more comments!
I put on almost all the guitars passing my luthieri!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
Mini Toggle Switches
Mini Toggle Switches
4 4-03-2011
Make the job!

This switch is well constructed and beauty!
it Made the job!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
5 4-03-2011
True Mega switch!

This switch is impressive,perfect how much possible. Excellent construction,high quality materials and beautiful! I has buy some leveler japanese switches but when i putting they side to side the Japanese seems like a toy!
Not can expect much less from Schaller! I just think the mega switch will must have knobs in models more charmous like the japanese!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 16501 – 16525
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  660  661  662  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce