Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16501 – 16525
of 21052 reviews
< 1  ...  660  661  662  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

6mm Tremolo Arm
6mm Tremolo Arm
5 4-08-2011
Nice arms for imported tremolos

A lot of the bridges that we get in the shop are imported, namely Takeuchi that comes on Kramer Japan/ESP made guitars. If you're missing an arm for one, this one fits the bill. Nice job on making them.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
5 4-08-2011
Very nice bridge

This one is a very good choice, nice weight, saddle design will prevent string breakage.
It fits perfectly my 72 thinline tele replica

NightFly  Paris, France
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
5 4-08-2011
Great improvement!

I dropped one of these Gotoh bridges onto a Mexican P-Bass, and WOW! What a difference! More lows, more highs, which I didn't expect, and more sustain. A much fuller tone all around, like what I would expect from a much more expensive bass. The Gotoh bridge really brought the Mexican P-Bass to life. I highly recommend it!

Banner Thomas  USA
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 4-08-2011
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

I noticed improved tone and sustain, a quality component with very nice finish at a good price.

stratman33  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 4-08-2011
Great neck plate

Fast shipping, matches with fender guitars

derf  canada
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
Compensated Bridge Saddles for Tele
5 4-07-2011
They do the trick!

I can only say that these really work nicely. In my Baja Telecaster, not only did the sound became a bit snappier and livelier, but the intonation across all strings was practically perfect! Definitely recommended for a tele with that vintage look.

StratCat  Mexico
Cream Plastic Binding
Cream Plastic Binding
5 4-07-2011
Easy to Fit & Finish

I ordered the wrong size (SM replaced it). I cut the old binding as square as I could and then fitted the new piece. The rest was simply glueing and sanding. I used SM binding glue. I am proud of the job and it looks great.

gitfidl_pickr  US
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 4-07-2011
Excellent!

This is the perfect tool for the job. My newest Les Paul came with old school push in bushing tuners.I'm an electronics guy, and messing around with Gibson headstocks makes me nervous. But this tool made it simple and easy. I took my time with a hand drill and everything came out great. And I have it for the future too, for about the same price I would have paid someone to do it. If you feel comfortable with a drill, get this, take your time and be careful.

Gavin  Shenandoah, Virginia Read my reviews (2)
ESP Multi Spanner
ESP Multi Spanner
5 4-07-2011
Great Resource

I am A retired Marine Corps Musical Instrument Repair Technician. I continue my skills in private practice. Your website, newsletter,tools and services are excellent resources for any novice or skilled technician.

Miles Newland  Fresno, California
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
5 4-07-2011
good quality

at least something doesn't burn a hole in my pocket :) but seriously they are nice

jacksondinker  detroit, MI Read my reviews (3)
Black Pickguard Material
Black Pickguard Material
4 4-07-2011
works good

Though for this price you guys should ad the common uses for each thickness, like which one is used for a strat etc... because i was to dumb to measure what i needed it for and went with the medium and it was still very thin. I'm lucky i was making back plates because for a actual pickguard the 2.1 would be a must. So if your like me and don't know how thick 1mm. is, your welcome lol

jacksondinker  detroit, MI Read my reviews (3)
Alpha Control Pots
Alpha Control Pots
5 4-07-2011
what can i say. its a pot

My title says it all, but i want to ad that I highly recommend these over the crap on ebay for a nickel less. When you get it from stew mac you know it's better quality

jacksondinker  detroit, MI Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Rear Peghole Reamer
Rear Peghole Reamer
5 4-07-2011
Excellent!

When I got my latest Les Paul I was surprised that it had the old style push in bushing tuners and needed to be reamed. I'm a good electronics guy, not so much on woodwork, but this reamer made the job extremely easy. I just took it slow and it worked out perfectly! And it's about the same as it would have cost to take it in and have someone else do it, plus now I have the tool to do it in the future as well! I highly recommend this to anyone.

Gavin  Shenandoah, Virginia Read my reviews (2)
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
3 4-07-2011
Not what I hoped for

I was hoping for nice, dark coverage. This seems like a high quality product, but it won't cover up discoloration, just makes all of it smooth and shiny. I wish I could have purchased one oz instead of a big bottle.

J. Barrett  California
Small Guitar Western Red Cedar Soundboard
Small Guitar Western Red Cedar Soundboard
5 4-07-2011
Cedar Sound Boards

I was very impressed by the quality of the cedar soundboards I recently ordered, Even though I got the lower grade of wood, at a very modest cost, they were beautiful, with very nice grain, and many, many, tightly spaced grain lines per inch. Maybe you sent me the higher grade by mistake!? I'm no expert on tap tuning yet, but I had these boards ringing like a gong. I'm looking forward to some great sounding guitars! Thanks StewMac.

Frank B  Youngstown, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites
5 4-07-2011
Grover Tuners

I just love Grover, 18:1 tuners! Grovers are made right here in Ohio, and, in my opinion, are the best tuners you can buy, for the least amount of money. I especially like the 18:1 gear ratio, because they give you extra control when tuning, and allow you to go right to the correct pitch, and stop there.
Also, my Les Paul, with Grover 18:1 tuners, holds it's tune better than any guitar I've ever had. If you're on a budget, get the Grovers! This set of "Stay-Tites" are beautiful, and have a nice, vintage look.

Frank B  Youngstown, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 4-07-2011
Work nice

These pickup height screws are very good for repairs and construction.

Shane  Paul, ID. USA Read my reviews (4)
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
5 4-07-2011
Grrrreat

I have used a number of sets of the Gotoh mini bass tuners and they are fantastic. The price isn't too bad either.

Shane  Paul, ID. USA Read my reviews (4)
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
4 4-07-2011
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

This is a super handy tool! The frets slots are cut while the board is still flat. Once the binding is glued on, and the radius is sanded onto the front, your fret slots are now shallower at each end! Now, you can't see in there to check, because the binding is in the way. What is the easy, and more importantly, accurate, way to determine if the fret slots are still deep enough? Fret slot gauge to the rescue! It's the easy way to verify that your fret slots are still deep enough, and not obstructed by glue, from putting on the bindings. It's far better that the various strips of assorted "stuff" I've used in the past for this job. Considering the very small price tag, this is a must have item if you make fret boards!

Frank B  Youngstown, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Grover Mini Rotomatics
Grover Mini Rotomatics 3L/3R
5 4-07-2011
No problems

These are great for smaller headstocks. Typical grover reliability and performance!

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 4-07-2011
Easy to use

First time I've used Tusq and I have to say, it was so easy to work with. Perfect replacement for an over-done Taylor saddle. Reduces without too much effort and polishes to a fine finish.

JohnL  UK Read my reviews (10)
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
2 4-07-2011
Hard to use tool

The concept is good and with the custom baseplate I had made up I have high hopes for this tool.

First, let's be honest. perhaps if I had 20 years of guitar-building experience I could use this tool the way it comes. The reality is that I simply cannot.

As noted by other buyers, this little thing has such a small contact patch that it rocks like crazy and when it rocks, in ANY direction, the cut is uneven.

Thanks to the other buyers, I tried it out on some sample stock first and quickly learned that I did not have enough hand-eye coordination to even THINK about using it on the Martin 000 kit I'm building.

Lucky for me the head machinist here is a guitar nut and heard I was building the Martin. I showed him this tool and explained the problem. He suggested a lexan base with set screws to hold the tool in place (just like a router base). He even had the crew make one up.

The photo shows the Stewmac tool mounted in the lexan base. The machinists cut three flats on the tool to provide a stable base for the set screws and I'm going to give it a try this evening on some scrap stock.

I'll post results if you can stand it.

Weej  Santa Clara, California Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Megaswitch S-Model
Megaswitch S-Model
5 4-07-2011
top quality switch

The Megaswitch S-model is a top of the line component. Far better than what comes standard in most guitars.
It has the best quality, and easiest to access, soldering points of any switch I have used, and I've been playing and repairing guitars for 51 years. A solidly dependable product !

ccbonifield  Monroe, OH
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 4-07-2011
Easy to use, even for a beginner.

I am just entering the world of guitar making, and needed to place some synthetic abalone binding. This stuff worked really well for a first-timer using binding. It was viscous enough that it didn't run all over the place, but was still easy to apply. I would place a small amount of cement in a disposable plastic tray, and used a brush to apply it uniformly to about 3-4" of the binding channel at a time. The results were pretty darn good. The photo shows the binding with unfinished top wood.

ParkOLewis  Denver, CO Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 4-07-2011
brilliant simplicity

a plastic tube containing a little rounded magnet in two colors. Simple, effective and eminently useful.

Bert van der Moer  Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 16501 – 16525
of 21052 reviews
< 1  ...  660  661  662  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce