Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16476 – 16500
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  659  660  661  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
5 4-06-2011
Simples!

I much prefer to use tubing compared to springs, less faffing around with fiddly installs and in my opinion it looks more professional too!

This stuff is easy to cut and use, not sure what else needs to be said!

Fusion Guitars  St Columb, UK Read my reviews (2)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
4 4-06-2011
Grover Uke Tuners

To be fair, these tuners were worth the low price. However, I'd pay twice the price for a little better finish quality.

geuley  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (2)
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
5 4-06-2011
Nice Book

This is a great book,I needed something for a Floyd Rose Tremolo and this book had it all,if you want to set up your own guitar,you gotta get this book, Happy playing, chasguitar.

chasguitar  Bristol Ind.
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
3 4-06-2011
Good all except for one important problem

I just installed these parts in my new pickguard. The pots installed without a problem but the screws supplied with the 5-way switch are to short for a 3-ply pickguard. Now I have to find replacement screws in order for it to install.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
4 4-06-2011
GOOD START!

I usually pay $250 for a bone bridge and $150 for a bone saddle. Now I do it myself. This video is excellent to get started. Just remember Dan has been making these for a long time and makes it look easy, don't do your first one on your Martin! Well worth the money just to learn what they do with your guitar!

BigKahuna  Brownsville, OR. Read my reviews (2)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
1 4-06-2011
Cute but not so sure?

I love the quality and the idea of this little vise but WHAT DO YOU NEED IT FOR?? I bought this when I bought the video and other tools but after watching the Dan Erlewine video I realized you don't need it, just a belt sander. It's still cute though

BigKahuna  Brownsville, OR. Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
5 4-06-2011
Great replacement for stock tuners

These are excellent tuners to replace my stock tuners on my Made in Mexico Telecaster. They stay in tune and were easy to install.

Definitely worth it.

Macdover  Ottawa, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 4-06-2011
Sustain to Spare with the Gotoh Stop Tailpeice

I just picked up a new Epi Dot 335 a few weeks back with the idea of hot rodding it right from the start. Already having some experience doing all my own repairs and setups for many years, I knew 1 area for improvement would be just from upgrading the Stop Tailpeice.

The aluminum Gotoh is much lighter then the OEM pot metal piece. While some tremelo axes work well with heavier blocks or more mass, it did make sense to me that the light weight Dot would respond better to the lighter component.

Leaving the stock bridge in place I installed the Aluminum Gotoh piece on my Dot, strung it wrap around style and tuned it. Even before plugging it in to my amp I could already hear and feel a sonic and resonance difference for the better. Its amazing how much better sustain it has. And you can feel every cord, so much that the guitar almost feels alive. Its an amazing feel that most guitars Ive owned just don't have.

I will without question purchase the Gotoh stop again for any of my future projects.

TDR  NH USA
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 4-06-2011
quality pots, slick switch

Pots work great. Perfect for coil splitting, tone cap switching, or any other stealth switching you can imagine

socket  new jersey Read my reviews (2)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 4-06-2011
Tusq is tops

All I can say about this material is drop it after dropping plastic and bone and you will be sold for life, it is HEADS AND SHOULDERS above anything else I have ever used.

Deane M  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
4 4-06-2011
Very good!!!!!

very good and very accurate work was perfect

Igor Petinatti  Americana ,São Paulo Brazil
Customer supplied image for review
Black Ice
Black Ice
5 4-06-2011
slick

Worked better than expected. Gives a sweet overdrive that's perfect for blues. I wasn't sure how it would sound, but it put my doubts to rest when i turned it up. Its a gain control on the guitar. Best part, no batteries! Super product, super trick on any guitar. Thanks for selling this little jem.

socket  new jersey Read my reviews (2)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
2 4-06-2011
Not so good for PRS guitars.

I bought this for my PRS CU22. The quality was good, and reliable. But the socket was not appropriate to fit into truss-rod nut. If you see carefully to the photo, the part where the handle is attached looks like a bullet. Because of that, it cannot firmly fit into the truss-rod because it gets bothered by the wood of headstock. So I could adjust, but I made scratch marks on the truss-rod nut in my guitar.

Young  Belleville, ON, Canada
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
5 4-06-2011
Tune-O-Matic Neccessity

These tools are a no-brainer. If you work on these bridges, you just gotta have them.

Armando  Parrish, FL Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 4-06-2011
rock&roll

Installed this P-90 in a Les Paul Jr. kit. The kit came with an inexpensive (CHEAP) pup. Played it one time, had to go! With the Golden Age P-90 installed, this little Jr. clone now has a soul of Rock&Roll!! Love the sound of it!

steve gore  toxey al Read my reviews (3)
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
5 4-06-2011
Binding Bit

I had forgotten just how great this bit performs when new. My first one is now three years old and I just ordered and received the second one. From now on I'll just make it a point buy a new one every year. What a difference! Effortless, clean sharp cutting performance.

J.P. Johnson  Sanford, NC
Customer supplied image for review
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
Grover 18:1 Sta-Tite Slotted Peghead Guitar Machines
5 4-06-2011
Fantastic value!!!

If there's a better slothead tuner on the market for less than 2-3 times the price I haven't found it. I've installed a half dozen or so sets in "normal" applications and have always been well satisfied, but I've also drilled out the shafts and used these on various bass projects strung with the large (.155 low E) "weedwackes" now used on so many uprights with no problems at all. In fact, after noticing people on Hofner blogs recommending the solid peghead version as a replacement for the inferior tuners now supplied with the various import Hofner "Beatle" and Club basses, I gave them a try on a friend's Hofner Icon and found them not only a huge improvement, but also a direct drop-in replacement.

bruceleerose  WI Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
4 4-06-2011
replacing standard Fender tuners

Great fit for my 2008 tele, but bushes were too tight so had to file the holes out. Tuners are brilliant, going to put a set on my Strat now!

Ali slowdrag Rae  Peebles Scotland Read my reviews (2)
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
2 4-06-2011
Needed tuners for Deering

Needed a tuner for busted 5th string tuner on my Deering, but the items from Stew Mac were too tight a fit?
May be down to my ignorance, I guess different producers have different sizes.

Ali slowdrag Rae  Peebles Scotland Read my reviews (2)
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 4-06-2011
LOVE IT

I Love All the Dragon Rasps, coarse fine large or small they are outstanding, I bought the liquid plastic dip from home depot to put on the handle's they will tear your hand up, but in all aspects you can take this thing and rip through a 2X4 with it

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
4 4-06-2011
not bad

i think the cheaper one does a better job, seams to be less work on the finishing side of things, these seam to leave me more work, But this is just my opinion

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
5 4-06-2011
GREAT GLUE

Didn't know what i was missing tell i tried it best glue for bridge repair. if it was good enough for Gibson it sure is for me. Love it.

larry tatum  malvern ar. 72104 Read my reviews (3)
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
4 4-06-2011
not bad

work pretty good, just wish they would bevel the ends so when you hit a high fret it wouldn't rip the sandpaper

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
5 4-06-2011
Preservation Polish

Excellent. Only product I use on electric & acoustic guitars.

GH  Seattle, WA
Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
5 4-06-2011
good brush for the price

This is a good little brush for the price. Use it for touch ups and bursts works great.

larry tatum  malvern ar. 72104 Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 16476 – 16500
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  659  660  661  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce