Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16451 – 16475
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  658  659  660  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
2 4-07-2011
Hard to use tool

The concept is good and with the custom baseplate I had made up I have high hopes for this tool.

First, let's be honest. perhaps if I had 20 years of guitar-building experience I could use this tool the way it comes. The reality is that I simply cannot.

As noted by other buyers, this little thing has such a small contact patch that it rocks like crazy and when it rocks, in ANY direction, the cut is uneven.

Thanks to the other buyers, I tried it out on some sample stock first and quickly learned that I did not have enough hand-eye coordination to even THINK about using it on the Martin 000 kit I'm building.

Lucky for me the head machinist here is a guitar nut and heard I was building the Martin. I showed him this tool and explained the problem. He suggested a lexan base with set screws to hold the tool in place (just like a router base). He even had the crew make one up.

The photo shows the Stewmac tool mounted in the lexan base. The machinists cut three flats on the tool to provide a stable base for the set screws and I'm going to give it a try this evening on some scrap stock.

I'll post results if you can stand it.

Weej  Santa Clara, California Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Megaswitch S-Model
Megaswitch S-Model
5 4-07-2011
top quality switch

The Megaswitch S-model is a top of the line component. Far better than what comes standard in most guitars.
It has the best quality, and easiest to access, soldering points of any switch I have used, and I've been playing and repairing guitars for 51 years. A solidly dependable product !

ccbonifield  Monroe, OH
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
5 4-07-2011
Easy to use, even for a beginner.

I am just entering the world of guitar making, and needed to place some synthetic abalone binding. This stuff worked really well for a first-timer using binding. It was viscous enough that it didn't run all over the place, but was still easy to apply. I would place a small amount of cement in a disposable plastic tray, and used a brush to apply it uniformly to about 3-4" of the binding channel at a time. The results were pretty darn good. The photo shows the binding with unfinished top wood.

ParkOLewis  Denver, CO Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
5 4-07-2011
brilliant simplicity

a plastic tube containing a little rounded magnet in two colors. Simple, effective and eminently useful.

Bert van der Moer  Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
Pearl Cutting Saw
Pearl Cutting Saw
5 4-07-2011
Great little saw

This is a great little saw for the fine inlay work. It loads easily with blades which is good 'cause I go through lots of them. The ergonomics are very good for precise cutting: "leave only half of the black line showing".

Rob Woudsma, LoonSong Guitars  Inverary Ontario, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
5 4-07-2011
replacement #1869 for '86 Charvel model 5

Works excellently to prevent string pinching.. lets the string slide like it needs to with a guitar with a behind the nut string lock.

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
5 4-07-2011
Nice!

awesome tool, compresses so you can change the belts easily, gets in tough places.. very cool.

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
5 4-06-2011
It did what was advertised.

I have a Pimentel classical guitar with very fine swirl marks. This product, applied by hand, using the medium, fine, and swirl remover, restored my guitar to a finish I am very proud to have done myself. Thank you Stewmac!

S Bonner  Albuquerque, New Mexico
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
1 4-06-2011
Not as expected

To be fair, these aren't unusable as they come, but to have a nicely fitting neck joint you're going to need to either tape the edges to reduce how oversized these have been cut, or use bearing guided bits on your router to counteract it. A shame really as the rest of the templates have been great! :(

Fusion Guitars  St Columb, UK Read my reviews (2)
StewMac responds

Fusion Guitars,
We're sorry to hear this item didn't meet your expectations. You may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

Pickup Spring Tubing
Pickup Spring Tubing
5 4-06-2011
Simples!

I much prefer to use tubing compared to springs, less faffing around with fiddly installs and in my opinion it looks more professional too!

This stuff is easy to cut and use, not sure what else needs to be said!

Fusion Guitars  St Columb, UK Read my reviews (2)
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
4 4-06-2011
Grover Uke Tuners

To be fair, these tuners were worth the low price. However, I'd pay twice the price for a little better finish quality.

geuley  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (2)
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
5 4-06-2011
Nice Book

This is a great book,I needed something for a Floyd Rose Tremolo and this book had it all,if you want to set up your own guitar,you gotta get this book, Happy playing, chasguitar.

chasguitar  Bristol Ind.
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
Standard Wiring Kit for Stratocaster
3 4-06-2011
Good all except for one important problem

I just installed these parts in my new pickguard. The pots installed without a problem but the screws supplied with the 5-way switch are to short for a 3-ply pickguard. Now I have to find replacement screws in order for it to install.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
4 4-06-2011
GOOD START!

I usually pay $250 for a bone bridge and $150 for a bone saddle. Now I do it myself. This video is excellent to get started. Just remember Dan has been making these for a long time and makes it look easy, don't do your first one on your Martin! Well worth the money just to learn what they do with your guitar!

BigKahuna  Brownsville, OR. Read my reviews (2)
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
1 4-06-2011
Cute but not so sure?

I love the quality and the idea of this little vise but WHAT DO YOU NEED IT FOR?? I bought this when I bought the video and other tools but after watching the Dan Erlewine video I realized you don't need it, just a belt sander. It's still cute though

BigKahuna  Brownsville, OR. Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
Gotoh Mini 510 Locking Tuners
5 4-06-2011
Great replacement for stock tuners

These are excellent tuners to replace my stock tuners on my Made in Mexico Telecaster. They stay in tune and were easy to install.

Definitely worth it.

Macdover  Ottawa, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 4-06-2011
Sustain to Spare with the Gotoh Stop Tailpeice

I just picked up a new Epi Dot 335 a few weeks back with the idea of hot rodding it right from the start. Already having some experience doing all my own repairs and setups for many years, I knew 1 area for improvement would be just from upgrading the Stop Tailpeice.

The aluminum Gotoh is much lighter then the OEM pot metal piece. While some tremelo axes work well with heavier blocks or more mass, it did make sense to me that the light weight Dot would respond better to the lighter component.

Leaving the stock bridge in place I installed the Aluminum Gotoh piece on my Dot, strung it wrap around style and tuned it. Even before plugging it in to my amp I could already hear and feel a sonic and resonance difference for the better. Its amazing how much better sustain it has. And you can feel every cord, so much that the guitar almost feels alive. Its an amazing feel that most guitars Ive owned just don't have.

I will without question purchase the Gotoh stop again for any of my future projects.

TDR  NH USA
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 4-06-2011
quality pots, slick switch

Pots work great. Perfect for coil splitting, tone cap switching, or any other stealth switching you can imagine

socket  new jersey Read my reviews (2)
TUSQ Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
5 4-06-2011
Tusq is tops

All I can say about this material is drop it after dropping plastic and bone and you will be sold for life, it is HEADS AND SHOULDERS above anything else I have ever used.

Deane M  Florida Read my reviews (3)
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
4 4-06-2011
Very good!!!!!

very good and very accurate work was perfect

Igor Petinatti  Americana ,São Paulo Brazil
Customer supplied image for review
Black Ice
Black Ice
5 4-06-2011
slick

Worked better than expected. Gives a sweet overdrive that's perfect for blues. I wasn't sure how it would sound, but it put my doubts to rest when i turned it up. Its a gain control on the guitar. Best part, no batteries! Super product, super trick on any guitar. Thanks for selling this little jem.

socket  new jersey Read my reviews (2)
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
2 4-06-2011
Not so good for PRS guitars.

I bought this for my PRS CU22. The quality was good, and reliable. But the socket was not appropriate to fit into truss-rod nut. If you see carefully to the photo, the part where the handle is attached looks like a bullet. Because of that, it cannot firmly fit into the truss-rod because it gets bothered by the wood of headstock. So I could adjust, but I made scratch marks on the truss-rod nut in my guitar.

Young  Belleville, ON, Canada
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
5 4-06-2011
Tune-O-Matic Neccessity

These tools are a no-brainer. If you work on these bridges, you just gotta have them.

Armando  Parrish, FL Read my reviews (2)
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
5 4-06-2011
rock&roll

Installed this P-90 in a Les Paul Jr. kit. The kit came with an inexpensive (CHEAP) pup. Played it one time, had to go! With the Golden Age P-90 installed, this little Jr. clone now has a soul of Rock&Roll!! Love the sound of it!

steve gore  toxey al Read my reviews (3)
Binding Router Bit
Binding Router Bit
5 4-06-2011
Binding Bit

I had forgotten just how great this bit performs when new. My first one is now three years old and I just ordered and received the second one. From now on I'll just make it a point buy a new one every year. What a difference! Effortless, clean sharp cutting performance.

J.P. Johnson  Sanford, NC
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 16451 – 16475
of 20982 reviews
< 1  ...  658  659  660  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce