Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16426 – 16450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  657  658  659  ...  840 >
Sort reviews by

8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
5 4-09-2011
Handy tool

Great product. Gets used a lot. Adhesive backed sandpaper goes on and comes off effortlessly.

scottdes  michigan Read my reviews (4)
Plastic Side Dot Material
Plastic Side Dot Material
5 4-09-2011
Easy as pie

Great little item. Lasts forever, quality part.

scottdes  michigan Read my reviews (4)
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
2 4-09-2011
Blunt nipper

I was dissappointed today when I went to do a re fret job on a bound fretboard (Can't be more than the 6th re fret that i've done with this tool)today and found my fret tang nipper had gone completely blunt. To the point where the cutting part has squashed down and bent into a curve. I tried to sharpen it but, after half a re fret job, i found that the same thing happened again. I think that this would be a better tool if the cutting part was made of stronger stuff. To be fair, the tool has already payed for itself but it would be so easy to make it better.

Andy Keeling  Dublin, Ireland Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

Andy,
We apologize for the issues you're having with our nippers. We're sending a replacement set out immediately.

Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
5 4-09-2011
Favorite Shop Tool!

The Guitar Repair Vise is a very versatile tool in my shop! From holding guitars by the neck or body, to clamping a sanding station up off the workbench!
A way to raise and hold a small assembly table that you can easily clamp and work around! The list goes on.
The Guitar Repair Vise is well made and set up with enough extras to make it a valuable shop tool.
But the best part of this vise is, when mine had a problem (that I hadn't noticed when I first ordered it) StewMac was right there for me! They stood 100 percent behind their product and sent out a new replacement vise right away! They even included the return shipping label!
How great is that!
Perfect product! Perfect company!

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
1 4-08-2011
WORST SCREWS EVER

I drilled pilots and screwed them in, not even snug. I put the strings under the trees with light string tension and snappo! Broken screws in my headstock! The rest of the parts are fine. The screws are a JOKE! DO NOT USE THE SCREWS... StewMac, PLEASE discontinue till they fix this.

Whodatpat  College Park MD Read my reviews (6)
StewMac responds

Whodatpat,
We are so sorry to hear you had problems with these screws, and hope that you were able to remove the broken screw from the headstock. We certainly understand your frustration as we've all broken tuner or retainer screws before. You and some of the other reviewers have made a good point: without extra care these small screws are sometimes outmatched by hard maple. In our shops we've had best results using a 5/64" bit for the pilot hole (1/16" is too small). Also, we’ve found it helps to lubricate the threads with wax to help these guys thread properly.

We'll improve the product copy to give better guidance. Hope you'll try these tips, and please don't hesitate to contact us for a full refund or replacement if you run into this sort of trouble again.

Customer supplied image for review
Mandolin Fingerboard
Mandolin Fingerboard
4 4-08-2011
compound radius fingerboard

Very nice fingerboard,accurate compound radius centered well on the board. I have made a few myself and this is a real time saver, well worth it in labor savings.

Michael Wygmans  Grand Rapids, MI
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
4 4-08-2011
Setup stuff

Str8 edge and gauge card are invaluable. Still can't figure out what to do with the radius gauge. Maybe if I ever replace a saddle it could be handy.

Rizinrico  NY NY
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
5 4-08-2011
Is pure magic!

It's amazing sound quality, remove all the noise, my 1997 Gibson SG guitar was another, also just put in my Gibson Flying V 2008.

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
5 4-08-2011
Perfect match

Color match was perfect on 70's Les Paul touch up job after top coating with 3 coats of Mohawk Classic Instrument Lacquer.

customfret  Sparta, TN Read my reviews (2)
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
5 4-08-2011
Great product

These durable papers are a big improvement on traditional sandpaper and the variety of grades offer many uses. I have used them for clearcoat chip repair finishing and polishing out pickguards with excellent results. A real bargain and very useful, thanks Stewmac !

JB Bass  Brick, NJ Read my reviews (9)
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
5 4-08-2011
String Action Gauge a worksaver !

This little multi purpose ruler is just what the doctor ordered for bass and guitar setups. A real timesaver that rests on the frets for more accurate measurements. Well worth the money.

JB Bass  Brick, NJ Read my reviews (9)
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
5 4-08-2011
Nice light stuff

This is nice light gage wire that uses a wrapped foil shield with a bare shield runner wire giving you what looks like 5 wires. You get red, white, green and black shielded wire with the multi conductor wire and simply stripping apart the multi conductor cable will yield you nice pieces of jacketed single conductor wire, perfect for wiring that Jimmy Page multi push pull pot mod to your LP.

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
3 4-08-2011
I don't know who to believe

I used this Seagrave stuff for the first time the other day and it appeared to me to go just fine. Now, actually you need a few years to see how lacquer actually behaves so I can't make any valid assessment right now. Some of my old school luthier friends however say that this Seagrave stuff is not faithful to good old L.McFadden lacquer and has plasticizers in it and other nasty stuff... I simply don't know who to believe?

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
StewMac responds

Billy,
We've determined from our internal testing that the Seagrave product behaves the same as the old Lawrence-McFadden formula.

Customer supplied image for review
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 4-08-2011
I always like some good pots

Good pots, the same as I can get from Mouser, Antique or any other electronics supplier, I believe they are actually made by Alpha... one thing however, watch it in using these with skinny guitars like Gibson Firebirds or SG's, the pots are a bit deep and you will have to compensate for the lack of thickness in these guitars.

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
The Key
The Key
5 4-08-2011
Compra

I received all in perfect time.

frisco  Mexico City
Fine Tuner Screw for Floyd Rose
Fine Tuner Screw for Floyd Rose
5 4-08-2011
Fine Tuner Screws for Floyd Rose Tremolo 2119

These tuners have the smaller dia. knurled head than that of the OFR tuners.

Cannot tell the difference cosmetically to my tuners. They are identical.

Performance is as good, if not better than the original tuners!

Top notch quality BEEFY parts at dirt cheap prices.

Chuck L  Michigan
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 4-08-2011
Quality Nuts

I've been buying these nuts thru Stewmac for years. Great quality and impeccable delivery service.

Michael Carroll of Carroll Guitars  Mesa, Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Strap Buttons
Strap Buttons
5 4-08-2011
Good stuff

We've been using them for years and they're a great product. Even better than the stuff that Fender Japan or Fender USA uses. Highly recommended.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Dunlop Straplok System
Dunlop Straplok System
5 4-08-2011
Excellent guitar strap locks

I like these more than the Schaller ones which are a bit smaller. If these strap locks are good enough for Pete Townshend, they're good enough for any player no matter how much he or she thrashes around.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Locking Roller Bridge
Locking Roller Bridge
5 4-08-2011
I'll use this bridge again

I installed this bridge on my Heritage 575 w/ Bigsby after three unsuccessful efforts with different bridge setups. (tune-o-matics, tune-o-matic with rollers) What finally worked was a StewMac ebony archtop guitar bridge base with this locking roller bridge. Tone is a good as before and the rattles and buzzing have disappeared.

Cheam Peake  Chilliwack Canada
6mm Tremolo Arm
6mm Tremolo Arm
5 4-08-2011
Nice arms for imported tremolos

A lot of the bridges that we get in the shop are imported, namely Takeuchi that comes on Kramer Japan/ESP made guitars. If you're missing an arm for one, this one fits the bill. Nice job on making them.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
Gotoh Hardtail Bridge
5 4-08-2011
Very nice bridge

This one is a very good choice, nice weight, saddle design will prevent string breakage.
It fits perfectly my 72 thinline tele replica

NightFly  Paris, France
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
Gotoh Standard Bass Bridge
5 4-08-2011
Great improvement!

I dropped one of these Gotoh bridges onto a Mexican P-Bass, and WOW! What a difference! More lows, more highs, which I didn't expect, and more sustain. A much fuller tone all around, like what I would expect from a much more expensive bass. The Gotoh bridge really brought the Mexican P-Bass to life. I highly recommend it!

Banner Thomas  USA
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 4-08-2011
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

I noticed improved tone and sustain, a quality component with very nice finish at a good price.

stratman33  Australia Read my reviews (3)
Neck Mounting Plate
Neck Mounting Plate
5 4-08-2011
Great neck plate

Fast shipping, matches with fender guitars

derf  canada
Displaying 16426 – 16450
of 20995 reviews
< 1  ...  657  658  659  ...  840 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce