Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Ratings and reviews

Ratings and reviews

 
 









 Processing...






Ratings and reviews at stewmac.com!
• Rate your favorite items
• Share your experiences, offer suggestions
• Show a picture of the instrument or project where you used the item
• Read what other luthiers had to say
Sign in now and tell us what you think about our tools and supplies!
Displaying 16426 – 16450
of 21045 reviews
< 1  ...  657  658  659  ...  842 >
Sort reviews by

Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
3 4-11-2011
These scratch very easy.

Perfectly functional and great for a cheap guitar repair or build. They scratch easy..

Whodatpat  College Park MD Read my reviews (6)
Black Plastic Dots
Black Plastic Dots
5 4-11-2011
Simple and professional.

Could not be easier. Get the right drill bit and take your time locating the holes precisely and these will be the thing people look at and say "How did you do that." As opposed to the 100 harder things you pulled off building a guitar.

Whodatpat  College Park MD Read my reviews (6)
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
5 4-11-2011
Great rasp

I am not a very experienced woodworker, but I have to say it works really well when I am shaping the neck on my classical project.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
5 4-11-2011
Great value

With this kit I am able to make perfect nuts and saddles. And that was of course why I bought it.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Tuning Machine Drill Jig for Slotted Pegheads
Tuning Machine Drill Jig for Slotted Pegheads
5 4-11-2011
Perfect jig

It makes the task of getting the tuner holes for classical guitar so much easier.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Rotary Switches
Rotary Switches
4 4-11-2011
Great mod project

I bought this switch to add a coil tap option to my Firebird and clean up its looks by removing the three-way switch. The 3512 switch is a bit taller than the control cavity so I needed to add a ~.080" spacer between the body and the rear cover plate for clearance. The new positions sound great and I am happy with the modification. My order arrived right on time and it was a fun project. Thank you Stew-Mac!

dmh39  Salisbury, Massachusetts USA
Customer supplied image for review
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
5 4-11-2011
High quality

The kit is great. It is good to have such good tools available. And the fretwork book is very clear and instructive.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Kerfed Guitar Linings
Kerfed Guitar Linings
5 4-11-2011
Kerfed lining

Nice pieces of lining. It met all my expectations as it usually does when I order from Stewmac. Thank you so much.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Peghead Overlay Veneer
Peghead Overlay Veneer
5 4-11-2011
Veneer

Nice wood. Well worth the money

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
5 4-11-2011
Just what i was looking for.

I'm just a guitarist, not a luthier but i've been doing some repairs to my Strat and i got the haynes manual for Strats and saw these inside! Took forever to find them online but i found these and though i only really need the 9.5 one i couldn't be happier!!!

Robert LYons  UK
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
5 4-11-2011
Pickup Height Adjustment Screws

Simple. They do the job. They are well priced. Usual excellent quality StewMac gear. Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Standard Posts
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Standard Posts
5 4-11-2011
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge

Once again, Gotoh products are an excellent choice for use (in my case) in a Les Paul style guitar. Great quality at a really good price. Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
5 4-11-2011
Gotoh Stop Tailpiece

Gotoh gear is always good in my experience. Ideal as a replacement part for a Les Paul style guitar.
Top quality at an excellent price.
Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
5 4-11-2011
Sperzel Trim-Lok tuners.

Top Quality from Sperzel. Great price from StewMac. Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
5 4-11-2011
Humbucker mounting ring screws.

Excellent quality, great price. What's not to like ? Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Bleached White Bone Nuts
Bleached White Bone Nuts
5 4-11-2011
White Bone Nut

The best I have used. Excellent quality and at a great price. Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Alpha Push-pull Pots
Alpha Push-pull Pots
5 4-11-2011
Push-pull Pots

I recently bought a couple of these to use in a project Les Paul style guitar.
They are excellent quality, and suit my purpose well.
Very good price. Very good value for money. Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
5 4-11-2011
Capacitors

What can I say ?? They work well. They do the job. Great quality, and a great price. Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics
Grover Mini Locking Rotomatics 3L/3R
5 4-11-2011
Grover Mini Locking Tuners.

Excellent quality, and a great price.
Recommended.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
5 4-11-2011
Sraight Toggle Switch - Les Paul style.

I bought this switch recently to use in a project Les Paul style guitar.
It is excellent quality, and does the job just great! I have no hesitation in recommending any hardware I have bought through StewMac. It is very good quality, at a reasonable price.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
5 4-11-2011
Golden Age Parson Street Humbucker pickups.

I recently bought the Parson Street pickups for a PRS SE Tremonti (Les Paul - style guitar).
I love the guitar, but wasn't quite happy enough with the tone from the stock pickups.
I did a fair bit of research into the options to use, to get a PAF type tone. I looked at several other brand name pickups, and other lesser known brands, but settled on a set of these.

I am very happy with my choice. These are the nicest sounding humbucker pickups of the PAF type, that I have heard.
I've been playing for about 45 years now, and have a reasonable ear for tone.
I have used Seymour Duncan, Dimarzio, and various other lesser known pickups in the past, but this would now be my recommendation for any Jazz / Blues (my style of playing), and rock (80's style). I can't comment on how they sound for heavier styles of rock or metal.

I have found them to be the sweetest sounding pickups, clean and overdriven, that I have played.

Grant Rowlands  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
Fret Arbor Press System
Fret Arbor Press System
3 4-10-2011
Great, but needs work

I read the previous reviews and had some concerns about purchasing. I decided to buy the press mostly because there is nothing else out there like this press. When I received it, I noticed right away that the tool was dirty and grimy from the oil and machining process. As I started to clean it up, I realized a surface clean-up would not do.

Here's my advice if you buy this press: When you receive it, disassemble it. This includes taking off the front plate that houses the gear drive. You will need to clean the body thoroughly. I do a lot of work on bicycles, so I used a degreaser that I use on my chain rings and chain drive. Once the body is cleaned, take off all of the grease and oil on the gear drive assembly. I found the gear drive had a lot of rough spots from the machining. I took the time to grind off the rough spots with a Dremel tool. Once that was polished up, I then used a tap to clean out all the machining gunk in the threads on the body. They're rough and need cleaning. If you don't have tap tools, take a cotton-tipped ear cleaner and clean the threads well. I then degreased and cleaned up every screw. When I put it back together, I used a high quality grease to grease the gear drive. I also used a slight amount on the screw threads so they can easily be removed if need be in the future without fear of rust or corrosion.

When I was putting everything back together, I was able to precisely set the set screws that hold in place the internal gear bar. This significantly stabilized the gear and the arm worked the gear smoothly.

I found the casting to be rough. The machining was rough, too, and I took some extra time to lap the rough machining on the plate where the fretboard table rests. It's work that you don't necessarily have to do, but it really cleans up the machine and creates a flat surface for the table.

The paint is poor. The paint will just fall off the machine. I suppose if one was really bothered by this, you could have it stripped, then powder coated. That would be very nice. Expect the red paint to come off. It looks like crap, but the machine works.

Once it's all cleaned up and greased properly, you should be ready to go. I gave this three stars because although the tool quality isn't the best (rough castings, gears, paint, etc), it's the right idea and works fine once tuned up. I would go with five stars if the basics of tool quality were improved.

If by chance you can cast and properly machine with quality, you've got an opportunity here to make a quality machine that many would purchase and use for a lifetime. If not, if you buy this one, expect to put some work in to it to get it working as well as can be expected.

Moabman  Arvada, CO,
Skin Banjo Head
Skin Banjo Head
5 4-10-2011
Banjo Calf Skin

I am a first time putting on a calf skin head i was a little unsure of my self on doing this but Stew Mac showed me how to do it and do it well there products are the best you can buy they never leave you stranded and you can call and ask as many questions you need to ask. I am like this so well i am thinking of studying to be a luthier search no longer for the best, the best is here

Harv  Arnold Missouri Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
5 4-10-2011
This stuff sticks

I used your binding tape to attach purfling strips around the edges of a demi-lune Federal card table I built. Your tape provided the required holding power to produce a handsome and tight seam.

mario rodriguez  United states Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for Slotted Peghead Guitar with Engraved Bell-end
5 4-10-2011
Excellant 2508 Relic

These fit,work,and look great on my 1941 Martin 00-18G.

Ken Summers  Sebring, Florida
Displaying 16426 – 16450
of 21045 reviews
< 1  ...  657  658  659  ...  842 > /\ Top of Reviews

Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce